Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Additional Information

Jan 21, 2015:
Berlinale Now Equipped with Dolby Atmos

For the 65th Berlin International Film Festival, the Berlinale Palast will be equipped with the new immersive Dolby Atmos sound system. For films mixed with this technology sound comes alive from all directions with clarity and depth. The first film to benefit from this groundbreaking technology will be the festival’s opener: the world premiere of director Isabel Coixet’s Nobody Wants the Night, with Juliette Binoche, Rinko Kikuchi and Gabriel Byrne.

“Filmmakers use Dolby Atmos to place and move individual sounds anywhere in the room, including above the audience. This multidimensional sound experience makes viewers feel as if they are inside the film and part of action, not just watching it,” explains Andreas Spechtler, President, Dolby International.

During a screening, a dynamic signal can now be assigned with precision to each of the 100 loudspeaker systems built into the Berlinale Palast. The speaker setup consists of 90 systems for surround sound and two five-channel systems delivering sound from the screen. In addition the two amplifier racks with, 32 four-channel power amplifiers will be installed that have a total capacity of about 45 kW. Audio routing, that is, the distribution of signals to each individual system, occurs digitally, of course.

“We are proud to support the 65th Berlin International Film Festival and be its official provider of sound. The Berlinale will be able to give its guests an immersive experience with astonishing richness and detail that only Dolby Atmos can deliver,” adds Andreas Spechtler.

The Berlinale trailer, which is shown prior to each screening, will also be re-mixed in Dolby Atmos and Dolby Surround 7.1 by ROTOR Film Babelsberg in collaboration with Dolby, and composers Xaver von Treyer and Johannes Koeniger.

“I’m very pleased that with Dolby’s support the Berlinale Palast will be equipped with the latest Atmos sound technology. I’m sure professional visitors as well as film fans in general will be thrilled with the sensational surround sound at the Berlinale Palast,” says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.



Press Office
January 21, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (140 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Zusätzliches

21.01.2015:
Berlinale Palast ausgestattet mit Dolby Atmos

Zu den 65. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin wird der Berlinale Palast erstmalig mit dem immersiven Sound-System Dolby Atmos ausgestattet. Mit einem reinen und tiefen Klang aus allen Richtungen wird der Sound der in Dolby Atmos abgemischten Filme zum Leben erweckt. Der erste Film, der von dieser technischen Neuerung profitieren wird, ist der Eröffnungsfilm Nobody Wants the Night mit Juliette Binoche, Rinko Kikuchi und Gabriel Byrne von Regisseurin Isabel Coixet, der auf der Berlinale seine Weltpremiere feiern wird.

„Filmemacher nutzen Dolby Atmos, um Töne und Effekte individuell überall im Raum zu platzieren und zu bewegen, sogar über den Köpfen des Publikums. Dieses multidimensionale Klangerlebnis erweckt beim Publikum das Gefühl, Teil des Films und nicht nur Zuschauer zu sein“, erläutert Andreas Spechtler, President, Dolby International.

Jedem der im Berlinale Palast verbauten 100 Lautsprecher kann somit bei der Aufführung präzise ein dynamisches Signal zugewiesen werden. 90 Lautsprecher werden für Surround-Beschallung und zwei 5-kanalige Lautsprecher für die Frontbeschallung installiert. In den zwei Verstärkerzentralen werden zusätzlich 32 4-Kanal-Verstärker-Endstufen verbaut, die eine Leistung von insgesamt rund 45 kW bereitstellen. Das Audio-Routing, also die Signalverteilung zu jedem einzelnen System, erfolgt selbstverständlich digital.

„Wir freuen uns, die 65. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin als offizieller Partner im Bereich Sound mit innovativen Lösungen unterstützen zu dürfen. Mit Dolby Atmos kann die Berlinale ihren Gästen ein unvergessliches Klangerlebnis mit erstaunlichem Detail und beeindruckender Tiefe bieten“, sagt Andreas Spechtler.

Auch der Berlinale-Trailer, der vor jeder Filmvorführung läuft, wird von ROTOR Film Babelsberg in Zusammenarbeit mit Dolby und den Komponisten Xaver von Treyer und Johannes Koeniger in Dolby Atmos und 7.1 Surround Sound neu abgemischt.

„Ich freue mich darüber, dass der Berlinale Palast nun dank Dolbys Unterstützung mit der neuesten Soundtechnik Atmos ausgestattet wird. Ich bin mir sicher, dass die Fachbesucher ebenso wie alle Filmfans von dem sensationellen Raumklang im Berlinale Palast begeistert sein werden“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.



Presseabteilung
21. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (210 KB)