Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Panorama

Jan 20, 2015:
Panorama Dokumente: 18 Documentaries Complete the Line-up of Panorama 2015

Une jeunesse allemande (A German Youth) by Jean-Gabriel Périot

Panorama Dokumente will open with the world premiere of the French-Swiss-German co-production Une jeunesse allemande (A German Youth) by Jean-Gabriel Périot in Cinestar 7 on February 6 at 5.00 pm. Using archive material, the film traces without bias or commentary the developments leading up to the “German Autumn” in late 1977. The gradual radicalisation of leaders of the Red Army Faction (RAF) is made palpable in excerpts from, e.g., Holger Mein’s film Freiheit für Teufel (Freedom for Teufel) and Ulrike Meinhof’s Bambule (Rampage). The film examines the expulsion of a large number of undergraduate students from the German Film and Television Academy (dffb) for their radicalism, as well as the independent student workers’ cinema, ROSTA Kino, and the directors’ revolt at the “EXPRMTL (Knokke Experimental Film Festival)” in Belgium.

Reassessing our understanding of history

Une jeunesse allemande opens up a new view of history, and in doing so joins the previously announced and annotated El hombre nuevo (The New Man) by Aldo Garay and Iraqi Odyssey by Samir.
Tell Spring Not to Come This Year by Saeed Taji Farouky and Michael McEvoy addresses the fatal situation in Afghanistan now that all international troops have left the country. And Censored Voices by Mor Loushy traces the bitter taste of triumph. Young Israeli soldiers return home after the Six-Day War and immediately talk on tape about their experiences: the country is in a flush of victory. Now the director shows these same men listening to what they once said.
A statement by Katrin Seybold, who died in 2012, opens her final work: “The films I make need to be made. When people are dead, then they’re dead, and all we have left are Gestapo reports, the reports of the perpetrators.” Die Widerständigen „also machen wir das weiter ...” (The Resistors “their spirit prevails ...”) consists of interviews about the resistance movement against the Nazis. The film was finished by Seybold’s friend and colleague Ula Stöckl, whose legendary 1968 film, Neun Leben hat die Katze (The Cat Has Nine Lives), is screening in this year’s Berlinale Classics.

Music films and special artist portraits have a tradition in the Panorama. Nina Simone went from being a talented jazz and classical pianist to a highly political human rights activist. In the film What Happened, Miss Simone?, Liz Garbus weaves together film documents, interviews and, of course, the music of this inimitable singer to create an atmospheric portrait. Brett Morgen also includes a great deal of music in Cobain: Montage of Heck, an intimate glimpse into the life and work of the founder of the grunge band Nirvana, Kurt Cobain.

Inuk Silis Høegh’s Sume - Mumisitsinerup Nipaa (Sumé - The Sound of a Revolution) shows how the rock musicians of this band from Greenland devoted themselves in the mid 1970s to opposing Danish colonisers and brought about the revival of Greenlandic, their native tongue. And, as already announced, in around 1980 one of the most creative musical chapters in West Berlin took place, as documented in B-Movie: Lust and Sound in West-Berlin by Jörg A. Hoppe, Klaus Maeck and Heiko Lange.

Two extraordinary artists, both filmmakers whose world careers began in Berlin, are Jia Zhang-ke and Walter Salles: the latter is presenting an affectionate portrait of his colleague Jia Zhang-ke, Um homem de Fenyang (Jia Zhang-ke, a Guy from Fenyang), which includes many excerpts from his films that make recent upheavals in Chinese society more tangible. Besides the previously announced portrait of Fassbinder – Lieben ohne zu fordern (Fassbinder – To Love without Demands) by Danish filmmaker Christian Braad Thomsen, the Panorama is presenting two rediscoveries: one about Yvonne Rainer, the incredibly inspirational but also, by nature, modest dancer, choreographer and filmmaker, whose film MURDER and murder won the TEDDY Award in 1997 (Feelings Are Facts: The Life of Yvonne Rainer by Jack Walsh). The other is about Annemarie Schwarzenbach, whose modern European attitudes, writings on travelling the world, and stunning, highly androgynous look in the 1920s are still fascinating today not only to the queer and gender community (Je suis Annemarie Schwarzenbach / My Name is Annemarie Schwarzenbach by Véronique Aubouy).

Two more works have joined the line-up of films that focus on self-determination and sexuality: Danish director Jannik Splidsboel’s Misfits shows how there are several thousand churches in the Bible Belt of the USA but only one gay-lesbian youth centre. For many it is the only safe haven from a socialisation based on religious fundamentalism. Splidsboel presented How Are You about the artists Elmgreen&Dragset in the Panorama 2011. In Haftanlage 4614 (Prison System 4614), Jan Soldat, who showed his short film Zucht und Ordnung (Law and Order) in the Panorama 2012, explores the longings and desires revealed by “prison fetishists”: these inmates are voluntarily behind bars.

The Panorama Publikums-Preis PPP (the Panorama’s audience award) will be presented for the seventeenth time to the best fictional and the best documentary feature respectively in CinemaxX 7 on the last day of the festival (Berlinale Kinotag), on February 15 at 5.00 pm. After the ceremony, the winning fictional film will be screened, followed by the best documentary at 8.00 pm. Organized in collaboration with tip magazine and radio1, Berlinale’s largest jury cast over 31,000 votes last year.

Conceived to promote German cinematic art, the Heiner Carow Prize will be awarded for the third time to a documentary, fictional or essay film from the Panorama section in cooperation with the DEFA Foundation. After the ceremony, which will be held at 5.00 pm on February 12 at Kino International, Heiner Carow’s Coming Out (GDR 1989) will be shown.

The following titles complete the list of Panorama films published in the first two Panorama Press Releases.

Panorama Dokumente

Censored Voices – Israel / Germany
By Mor Loushy
European premiere

Cobain: Montage of Heck – USA
By Brett Morgen
International premiere

Die Widerständigen „also machen wir das weiter ...” (The Resistors “their spirit prevails ...”) - Germany
By Ula Stöckl, Katrin Seybold
World premiere

Feelings Are Facts: The Life of Yvonne Rainer - USA
By Jack Walsh
World premiere

Haftanlage 4614 (Prison System 4614) - Germany
By Jan Soldat
World premiere

Je suis Annemarie Schwarzenbach (My Name is Annemarie Schwarzenbach) - France
By Véronique Aubouy
World premiere

Jia Zhang-ke, um homem de Fenyang (Jia Zhang-ke, a Guy from Fenyang) - Brazil
By Walter Salles
European Premiere

Misfits – Denmark / Sweden
By Jannik Splidsboel
World premiere

Sume - Mumisitsinerup Nipaa (Sumé - The Sound of a Revolution) – Greenland / Denmark / Norway
By Inuk Silis Høegh
European premiere

Tell Spring Not to Come This Year – Great Britain
By Saeed Taji Farouky, Michael McEvoy
World premiere

Une jeunesse allemande (A German Youth) - France / Switzerland / Germany
By Jean-Gabriel Périot
World premiere

What Happened, Miss Simone? - USA
By Liz Garbus
International premiere

Previously announced Panorama Dokumente films:
B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin by Jörg A. Hoppe, Klaus Maeck, Heiko Lange, Germany (WP)
Danielův Svět (Daniel’s World) by Veronika Lišková, Czech Republic (IP)
El hombre nuevo (The New Man) by Aldo Garay, Uruguay / Chile (WP)
Fassbinder – Lieben ohne zu fordern (Fassbinder – To Love without Demands) by Christian Braad Thomsen, Denmark (WP)
Iraqi Odyssey by Samir, Switzerland / Germany / Iraq / United Arab Emirates (EP)
The Yes Men Are Revolting by Laura Nix, Andy Bichlbaum, Mike Bonanno, USA (EP)

(WP= World premiere, IP= International premiere, EP = European premiere)

Please note: Stories of Our Lives by Kenyan filmmaker Jim Chuchu is now screening in the main programme of Panorama.



Press Office
January 20, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (192 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Panorama

20.01.2015:
Panorama Dokumente: 18 Filme vervollständigen das Panorama 2015

Une jeunesse allemande von Jean-Gabriel Périot

Eröffnet wird am 6. Februar im Cinestar 7 um 17:00 Uhr mit der Weltpremiere der französisch-schweizer-deutschen Co-Produktion Une jeunesse allemande von Jean-Gabriel Périot, in dem die Entwicklung zum Deutschen Herbst mit Archivmaterial unvoreingenommen nachgezeichnet wird. Die langsame Radikalisierung der führenden Köpfe der RAF wird auch spürbar gemacht durch Filmausschnitte von u.a. Holger Meins' Freiheit für Teufel und Ulrike Meinhofs Bambule. Der Rauswurf eines Großteils des ersten Studienganges der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie (dffb) wegen politischer Radikalität ist ebenso Thema wie die Gründung der unabhängigen Produktion ROSTA Kino und der Aufstand der Regisseure beim EXPRMNTL (Knokke Experimental Film Festival).

Geschichtsverständnis neu erfassen

Une jeunesse allemande öffnet den Blick in die Geschichte, dessen sich auch die bereits gemeldeten und kommentierten Filme El hombre nuevo von Aldo Garay und Iraqi Odyssey von Samir annehmen. Tell Spring Not to Come This Year von Saeed Taji Farouky und Michael McEvoy geht auf die fatale Lage in Afghanistan nach dem Rückzug der Armeen der Welt ein.
Censored Voices von Mor Loushy spürt dem bitteren Geschmack des Sieges nach: Junge israelische Soldaten kehren nach dem Sechstagekrieg nach Hause zurück und sprechen ihre Erlebnisse, ihre Gedanken auf Band. Ein Land im Siegestaumel: Heute hören die Soldaten von damals ihrer direkten Einschätzung nur Tage nach der Rückkehr noch einmal zu. „Die Filme, die ich mache, müssen gemacht werden, denn wenn die Menschen tot sind, sind sie tot, dann haben wir nur noch die Gestapo-Protokolle, die Protokolle der Täter, das geht doch nicht“ - diese Äußerung der 2012 verstorbenen Regisseurin Katrin Seybold steht zu Beginn ihres letzten Films Die Widerständigen „also machen wir das weiter..." mit Gesprächen zum Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus, den ihre langjährige Freundin und Kollegin Ula Stöckl jetzt fertigstellte.

Musikfilme und besondere Künstlerportraits haben im Panorama Tradition. Nina Simone wurde von einer begabten Jazz- und Klassikpianistin zur hochpolitischen Menschenrechtsaktivistin. In ihrem Film What Happened, Miss Simone? webt Liz Garbus ein Stimmungsbild aus Filmdokumenten, Interviews und natürlich der Musik der großen Sängerin. Ebenfalls mit viel Musik arbeitet Brett Morgen in Cobain: Montage of Heck und gewährt einen intimen Einblick in Leben und Werk des Gründers der Grunge-Band Nirvana.

Inuk Silis Høegh’s Sume - Mumisitsinerup Nipaa ist ein Portrait über die grönländischen Rock-Musiker der Band Sume die sich Mitte der 1970er-Jahre dem Widerstand gegen die dänischen Kolonisatoren verschrieben hatten und dabei wie nebenbei für ein Wiedererwachen der nativen grönländischen Sprache sorgten. Zeitlich im Anschluss, um 1980, befindet sich Westberlin in einer seiner kreativsten Musikphasen, ein Kapitel, dass der bereits in der ersten Pressemitteilung (16. Dezember 2014) gemeldete Film B-Movie: Lust and Sound in West-Berlin von Jörg A. Hoppe, Klaus Maeck und Heiko Lange erlebbar macht.

Zwei besondere Künstler, beides Filmemacher deren Weltkarriere in Berlin begann, sind Jia Zhang-ke und Walter Salles: Letzterer präsentiert sein liebevolles Portrait des Kollegen, Jia Zhang-ke, um homem de Fenyang, mit vielen Filmausschnitten, in denen die Umbrüche der chinesischen Gesellschaft spürbar werden. Neben dem bereits angekündigten Fassbinder – Lieben ohne zu fordern des Dänen Christian Braad Thomsen zeigt Panorama zwei Wiederentdeckungen: zum einen Yvonne Rainer, die große, inspirierende, aber auch natürlich bescheidene Tänzerin, Choreografin und Filmemacherin, deren Film MURDER and murder den Teddy Award 1997 bekam (Feelings Are Facts: The Life of Yvonne Rainer von Jack Walsh), und Annemarie Schwarzenbach, deren modern-europäische Attitüde, ihre Weltreiseliteratur und ihr ästhetisch inspirierendes, hochandrogynes Abbild aus den 1920er-Jahren heute auch die queere und die Genderszene fasziniert (Je suis Annemarie Schwarzenbach von Véronique Aubouy).

Zu den Filmen, zu deren Sujets die selbstbestimmte Sexualität gehören, kamen zwei weitere Werke hinzu: In Misfits des Dänen Jannik Splidsboel gibt es inmitten des US-amerikanischen Bibel Belts zwar mehrere tausend Kirchen, aber nur ein schwul-lesbisches Jugendzentrum: für viele die Rettung aus der fundamentalreligiösen Sozialisation. Splidsboel präsentierte How Are You im Panorama 2011 über die Künstler Elmgreen&Dragset. Jan Soldat, der im Panorama 2012 seinen Kurzfilm Zucht und Ordnung zeigte, nähert sich in Haftanlage 4614 den Sehnsüchten und Wünschen, wie sie der „Fetisch Gefängnis“ zutage bringt: Die Insassen sind freiwillig hinter Schloss und Riegel.

Der Panorama Publikums-Preis PPP wird zum 17. Mal jeweils für den besten Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm am Kinotag, den 15. Februar, im CinemaxX 7 um 17:00 Uhr verliehen. Im Anschluss kommt der Spielfilm zur Aufführung, gefolgt von der Präsentation des Dokumentarfilms um 20:00 Uhr. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem tip magazin und radio1 wurden im letzten Jahr von der größten Jury der Berlinale über 31.000 Stimmen abgegeben.

Zum dritten Mal wird der Heiner-Carow-Preis in Zusammenarbeit mit der DEFA-Stiftung zur Förderung der deutschen Filmkunst im Panorama an einen Dokumentar-, Spiel- oder Essayfilm vergeben. Im Anschluss an die Verleihung am 12. Februar wird um 17:00 Uhr Coming Out von Heiner Carow (DDR 1989) im Kino International aufgeführt.

Titelliste der Panorama Dokumente in Ergänzung zur Panorama-Pressemitteilung vom 16.12.2014:

Panorama Dokumente

Censored Voices – Israel / Deutschland
Von Mor Loushy
Europäische Premiere

Cobain: Montage of Heck – USA
Von Brett Morgen
Internationale Premiere

Die Widerständigen „also machen wir das weiter..." (The Resistors "their spirit prevails...") – Deutschland
Von Ula Stöckl, Katrin Seybold
Weltpremiere

Feelings Are Facts: The Life of Yvonne Rainer – USA
Von Jack Walsh
Weltpremiere

Haftanlage 4614 (Prison System 4614) – Deutschland
Von Jan Soldat
Weltpremiere

Je suis Annemarie Schwarzenbach (My Name is Annemarie Schwarzenbach) – Frankreich
Von Véronique Aubouy
Weltpremiere

Jia Zhang-ke, um homem de Fenyang (Jia Zhang-ke, a guy from Fenyang) – Brasilien
Von Walter Salles
Europäische Premiere

Misfits – Dänemark / Schweden
Von Jannik Splidsboel
Weltpremiere

Sume - Mumisitsinerup Nipaa (Sumé - The Sound of a Revolution) – Grönland / Dänemark / Norwegen
Von Inuk Silis Høegh
Europäische Premiere

Tell Spring Not to Come This Year – Großbritannien
Von Saeed Taji Farouky, Michael McEvoy
Weltpremiere

Une jeunesse allemande (A German Youth) – Frankreich / Schweiz / Deutschland
Von Jean-Gabriel Périot
Weltpremiere

What happened, Miss Simone? – USA
Von Liz Garbus
Internationale Premiere

Bereits gemeldete Panorama Dokumente
B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin von Jörg A. Hoppe, Klaus Maeck, Heiko Lange, Deutschland (WP)
Danielův Svět (Daniel’s World) von Veronika Lišková, Tschechische Republik (IP)
El hombre nuevo (The New Man) von Aldo Garay, Uruguay / Chile (WP)
Fassbinder – Lieben ohne zu fordern (Fassbinder – To Love Without Demands) von Christian Braad Thomsen, Dänemark (WP)
Iraqi Odyssey von Samir, Schweiz / Deutschland / Irak / Vereinigte Arabische Emirate (EP)
The Yes Men Are Revolting von Laura Nix, Andy Bichlbaum, Mike Bonanno, USA / Deutschland / Frankreich / Dänemark / Niederlande (EP)

(WP= Weltpremiere, IP= Internationale Premiere, EP = Europäische Premiere)

Hinweis: Stories of Our Lives von Jim Chuchu, Kenia, wird nun im Panorama Hauptprogramm gezeigt.



Presseabteilung
20. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (189 KB)