Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Jan 20, 2015:
“Books at Berlinale” in its tenth year: Eleven new, international novels offer material for film producers

On February 10, 2015, film producers can discover eleven new books suitable for film adaptation at “Books at Berlinale”. The pitching and get-together afterwards will take place for the tenth year running as part of the Berlinale Co-Production Market. Immediately following the books presentation, producers can meet the copyright owners - noted and internationally active publishing representatives and literary agents - to discuss filming rights and network within the world of publishing.

Approximately 130 books from more than 25 countries were submitted to this year's “Books at Berlinale”. The eleven selected titles - exciting new publications, bestsellers and/or award-winners with very high potential for film adaptation - hail from publishing houses and agents in the UK, Denmark, Germany, France, Italy, Finland, the Netherlands, Austria and Sweden.

Their genres span the spectrum: from intense, intimate chamber play to dramatic period epic, from dark thriller to ambiguous comedy, and from fantastic children's tale to complex family drama.

Since 2006, “Books at Berlinale” has been organised by the Berlinale in cooperation with the Frankfurt Book Fair. Festival Director Dieter Kosslick comments: “In its tenth edition, ‘Books at Berlinale’ shows itself to be an important cultural event that fosters cooperation between film producers, publishers and literary agents. Together with the Frankfurt Book Fair, we were able to create an active network here that continues to expand over the years.”

Film producers interested or active in the realm of book adaptations, as well as publishers and literary agents, can register to participate in the event until February 6 at .

“Books at Berlinale” will take place at the Berlin House of Representatives as part of the Berlinale Co-Production Market, whose main partners are the Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM) and Creative Europe - MEDIA. The Berlinale Co-Production Market is part of the European Film Market (EFM).

The following literary material has been selected for “Books at Berlinale” 2015:
(in alphabetical order of presenting companies)

The Imaginary (A.F. Harrold), Bloomsbury Publishing, UK

The Rocks (Peter Nichols), Conville & Walsh Literary Agency, UK

The Day I Learned to Fly / Der Tag, an dem ich fliegen lernte (Stefanie Kremser), Gattys Global, Germany

The Man Who Didn’t Want to Go Home (Roger Pihl), Kontext Agency, Sweden

We, the Drowned (Carsten Jensen), Leonhardt & Høier Literary Agency, Denmark

Aberland (Gertraud Klemm), Literaturverlag Droschl, Austria

The Temptation to Be Happy (Lorenzo Marone), Meucci Agency, Italy

Pretty Girl-13 (Liz Coley), Place des Editeurs, France

The Trap / Die Falle (Melanie Raabe), Random House Germany, Germany

Storm Sisters: The Sinking World (Mintie Das), Rovio Entertainment, Finland

Kicking the Bucket (Marion Pauw), Shared Stories, Netherlands



Press Office
January 20, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (160 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

20.01.2015:
„Books at Berlinale“ im zehnten Jahr: elf neue, internationale Romane als Stoffe für Filmproduzenten

Am 10. Februar können Filmproduzenten bei „Books at Berlinale“ elf neue Stoffe für Literaturverfilmungen entdecken. Das Pitching mit anschließendem Get-Together findet zum nunmehr zehnten Mal im Rahmen des Berlinale Co-Production Market statt. Hier können die geladenen Produzenten direkt nach der Präsentation der Bücher deren Rechteinhaber – renommierte, international aktive Verlagsvertreter und Literaturagenten - kennenlernen, um über die Verfilmungsrechte zu verhandeln und um ihre Kontakte zur Buchwelt zu pflegen und auszubauen.

Rund 130 Bücher aus mehr als 25 Ländern wurden dieses Jahr für „Books at Berlinale“ eingereicht. Die elf ausgewählten Bücher – spannende Neuerscheinungen, Bestseller und/oder Preisträger mit bestem Verfilmungspotential – kommen von Verlagen und Agenturen aus Großbritannien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Finnland, den Niederlanden, Österreich und Schweden.

Das Spektrum der Genres reicht dabei vom intensiven Kammerspiel bis zum dramatischen Historien-Epos, vom düsteren Thriller zur doppelbödigen Komödie und vom fantastischen Kinderstoff bis hin zum komplexen Familien-Drama.

Bereits seit 2006 wird „Books at Berlinale“ von der Berlinale in Kooperation mit der Frankfurter Buchmesse organisiert. Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick: „Books at Berlinale präsentiert sich in seiner zehnten Auflage als wichtige Initiative der Zusammenarbeit von Filmproduzenten, Verlagen und Literaturagenturen. Gemeinsam mit der Frankfurter Buchmesse konnten wir hier ein aktives Netzwerk schaffen, das sich über die Jahre kontinuierlich erweitert.“

Filmproduzenten, die im Bereich Literaturverfilmungen aktiv sind oder sein möchten, können sich ebenso wie weitere Verlage und Literaturagenten noch bis zum 6. Februar unter für die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung anmelden.

„Books at Berlinale“ findet im Abgeordnetenhaus von Berlin im Rahmen des Berlinale Co-Production Market statt, dessen Hauptpartner die Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM) und Creative Europe - MEDIA sind. Der Berlinale Co-Production Market ist Teil des European Film Market (EFM).

Die folgenden Stoffe sind für „Books at Berlinale” 2015 ausgewählt worden:
(in alphabetischer Reihenfolge der präsentierenden Firmen)

The Imaginary (A.F. Harrold), Bloomsbury Publishing, Großbritannien

The Rocks (Peter Nichols), Conville & Walsh Literary Agency, Großbritannien

The Day I Learned to Fly / Der Tag, an dem ich fliegen lernte (Stefanie Kremser), Gattys Global, Deutschland

The Man Who Didn’t Want to Go Home (Roger Pihl), Kontext Agency, Schweden

We, the Drowned (Carsten Jensen), Leonhardt & Høier Literary Agency, Dänemark

Aberland (Gertraud Klemm), Literaturverlag Droschl, Österreich

The Temptation to Be Happy (Lorenzo Marone), Meucci Agency, Italien

Pretty Girl-13 (Liz Coley), Place des Editeurs, Frankreich

The Trap / Die Falle (Melanie Raabe), Random House Germany, Deutschland

Storm Sisters: The Sinking World (Mintie Das), Rovio Entertainment, Finnland

Kicking the Bucket (Marion Pauw), Shared Stories, Niederlande



Presseabteilung
20. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (158 KB)