Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Jan 19, 2015:
Prize Ceremony: Oskar Sulowski Wins “Made in Germany – Perspektive Fellowship”, Funded by Berlinale Co-partner Glashütte Original

Today, German watchmaker Glashütte Original, co-partner of the 65th Berlinale, and the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section awarded for the fourth time the “Made in Germany – Perspektive Fellowship” to a young German filmmaker at the Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen.
The EUR 15,000 fellowship for the development of a screenplay is funded by the watch manufacturer from Saxony to support young talented German directors in implementing their upcoming projects.

Oskar Sulowski (in the centre), winner of the "Made in Germany – Perspektive Fellowship", with the Perspektive section head Linda Söffker, Dieter Pachner (Vice President Sales, Glashütte Original), jury members Angelina Maccarone and Jenny Schily, Festival Director Dieter Kosslick and jury member Jochen Laube (from left to right)

Jury members Angelina Maccarone (author and director), Jenny Schily (actress) and Jochen Laube (producer) selected Rosebuds, a treatment by Oskar Sulowski, from the projects submitted. Eligible for the fellowship were directors who had presented a film in Perspektive Deutsches Kino last year. In addition to the cash prize for the “Made in Germany – Perspektive Fellowship”, the winner received a trophy that had been manufactured at Glashütte Original’s watchmaking school. And when Oskar Sulowski continues work on his project, he will now also be accompanied by a mentor.

Film journalist Knut Elstermann opened the ceremony, and afterwards hosted the talk with the press, Perspektive Deutsches Kino head Linda Söffker, the jury members and the talented young winner. Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick and Dieter Pachner, Glashütte Original’s Vice President of Sales Worldwide, congratulated Oskar Sulowski personally and presented him with the prize. Sulowski then thanked Glashütte Original for funding the fellowship, as well as the jury and the Berlinale.

Statement of the jury:
“When brothers Maciek and Aleks, the one a petty criminal and the other a junkie, meet Katharina, a young Catholic, they are confronted in a rather unorthodox way with themselves and their lives. What in such brevity sounds like a cliché turns out to be a profoundly comic constellation. Rosebuds touches upon all the big questions of life: birth and death as well as the search for meaning in between. With unconventional narrative powers, Oskar Sulowski draws us into the story. Laid-back but never undercooled, the author displays a genuineness and emotional precision that we hope he will be able to maintain in realizing his film.”

For more information and photos of the prize ceremony, please contact:

Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Press Coordination
Silvia Müller
Tel. +49.30.259.20.462

Glashütte Original
Public Relations
Michael Hammer
Tel. +49.35053.46.242



Press Office
January 19, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (153 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

19.01.2015:
Preisverleihung: Oskar Sulowski ist der Gewinner des „Made in Germany – Förderpreis Perspektive“ der Perspektive Deutsches Kino, gestiftet von Berlinale Co-Partner Glashütte Original

Die deutsche Uhrenmanufaktur Glashütte Original, Co-Partner der 65. Berlinale, und die Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino haben heute, am 19. Januar 2015, in der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen zum vierten Mal den „Made in Germany – Förderpreis Perspektive“ für junge Filmemacher vergeben.
Der mit 15.000 € dotierte Preis, ein Stipendium zur Drehbuchentwicklung, wird von der sächsischen Uhrenmanufaktur gestiftet und unterstützt junge deutsche Regietalente bei ihren zukünftigen Filmprojekten.

Oskar Sulowski (Mitte), der Gewinner des "Made in Germany - Förderpreis Perspektive", mit der Leiterin der Perspektive Deutsches Kino Linda Söffker, Dieter Pachner (Vice President Sales, Glashütte Original), den Jury-Mitgliedern Angelina Maccarone und Jenny Schily, Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick und Jury-Mitglied Jochen Laube (von links nach rechts)

Unter allen eingereichten Projekten, deren Autoren im Vorjahr einen Film in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino zeigten, wählten die Juroren Angelina Maccarone (Autorin und Regisseurin), Jenny Schily (Schauspielerin) und Jochen Laube (Produzent) das Treatment Rosebuds von Oskar Sulowski aus. Gemeinsam mit dem Preisgeld des „Made in Germany – Förderpreis Perspektive“ erhielt der Gewinner eine Statuette, die in der manufaktureigenen Uhrmacherschule von Glashütte Original gefertigt wurde. Darüber hinaus wird Oskar Sulowski von einem Mentor in seiner weiteren Projektentwicklung begleitet.

Der Filmjournalist Knut Elstermann eröffnete die festliche Veranstaltung und moderierte im Anschluss an die Preisverleihung ein Pressegespräch mit der Sektionsleiterin der Perspektive Deutsches Kino Linda Söffker, den Juroren und dem Nachwuchsregisseur. Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick und Dieter Pachner, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von Glashütte Original, gratulierten Oskar Sulowski persönlich und überreichten ihm den Preis. Sulowski bedankte sich anschließend beim Preisstifter Glashütte Original, den Juroren und der Berlinale.

Die Begründung der Jury im Wortlaut:
„Die beiden Brüder Maciek und Aleks, ein Kleinkrimineller und ein Junkie, werden von der jungen Katholikin Katharina auf unorthodoxe Weise mit sich selbst und ihrer Geschichte konfrontiert. Was in der Verkürzung nach Klischee klingt, entfaltet sich in Rosebuds zu einer abgründig komischen Familienaufstellung, bei der alle großen Fragen des Lebens berührt werden: Geburt, Tod, und die Frage nach dem Sinn dazwischen. Mit seiner unkonventionellen erzählerischen Kraft zieht uns Oskar Sulowski in diese Geschichte hinein. Lässig, aber nie cool findet er zu einer Wahrhaftigkeit und einer Präzision der Gefühle, die wir ihm auch bei der filmischen Umsetzung wünschen.“

Weitere Informationen und Bildmaterial zur Preisverleihung bekommen Sie auf Anfrage bei:

Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Pressekoordination
Silvia Müller
Tel. +49.30.259.20.462

Glashütte Original
Pressebüro
Michael Hammer
Tel. +49.35053.46.242



Presseabteilung
19. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (153 KB)