Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Retrospective & Homage

Jan 16, 2015:
Berlinale Classics: Digital Premieres of Goldfinger and In Cold Blood - Final Programme Now Confirmed

The Berlinale Classics, which was launched two years ago as part of the Retrospective section of the Berlin International Film Festival, will be showing a total of five films in this year’s programme. High-quality restored and reconstructed films in digitally remastered versions form the basis for this forum, which closely collaborates with national and international film partners who are especially committed to the digital restoration of film classics. In addition to three German films, two international productions will complete this year’s series.

Shirley Eaton and Sean Connery in Goldfinger by Guy Hamilton

One of the highlights of the Berlinale Classics programme will be Goldfinger (1964), probably the most famous of James Bond films, with Sean Connery and Gert Fröbe in the leads. The international premiere of the digitally restored version will screen in 4K DCP. Responsible for the restoration were Eon Productions Ltd. (London), and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios (Beverly Hills/CA). Sir Ken Adam, two-time Academy Award winner and production designer of the film - and to whom the special exhibition “Bigger Than Life” is currently dedicated at the Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen in Berlin - will attend the screening and introduce Goldfinger personally.

The world premiere of the digitally restored version of Richard Brooks’ film In Cold Blood (1967) will also screen in 4K DCP in the Berlinale Classics series. Adapted from the eponymous novel by Truman Capote, this feature film reconstructs the true events of a murder case in the USA. The digital restoration was done, as commissioned by Sony Pictures Entertainment, based on the work’s original negative at Colorworks in Los Angeles.

On February 6, 2015, the Berlinale Classics series is opening with the premiere of the new digital version, made by the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung, of E. A. Dupont’s silent film classic Varieté. A new musical score has been composed by the cult band The Tiger Lillies, who will perform live during the screening.

As Rainer Rother, head of the Retrospective and artistic director of the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen, remarks: “In practice, the possibilities of digital restoration play an ever bigger and more dominant role for archives and copyright holders. This year’s Berlinale Classics programme is proof that efforts to present film heritage under the altered conditions of what is today a largely digital presentation creates an opportunity for new and extraordinary encounters with film classics. Each of the works selected has brought its own challenges. At the screenings, the films will be introduced to the audience by their respective restorers.”

Neun Leben hat die Katze (The Cat Has Nine Lives)
Directed and presented by Ula Stöckl, FRG 1968
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2015, 7 PM, CinemaxX 8
World premiere of the digitally restored version in 2K DCP

Goldfinger
Directed by Guy Hamilton, Great Britain 1964
Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015, 7:30 PM, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Presented by Sir Ken Adam
International premiere of the digitally restored version in 4K DCP

Jahrgang 45 (Born in ’45)
Directed and presented by Jürgen Böttcher, GDR 1966
Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015, 11 AM, CinemaxX 8
World premiere of the digitally restored version in 4K DCP

In Cold Blood
Directed by Richard Brooks, USA 1967
Sunday, Feb. 8, 2015, 7 PM, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Presented by Grover Crisp (Sony Pictures Entertainment)
World premiere of the digitally restored version in 4K DCP

Varieté
Directed by Ewald André Dupont, Germany 1925
Friday, Feb. 6, 2015, 7 PM, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
World premiere of the digitally restored version in 2K DCP
Music and performance: The Tiger Lillies


Press Office
January 16, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (186 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Retrospektive & Hommage

16.01.2015:
Berlinale Classics: Goldfinger und In Cold Blood als Digitalfilmpremieren – Finales Programm der Reihe steht fest

Das Gesamtprogramm der Berlinale Classics, die seit zwei Jahren im Rahmen der Retrospektive der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin gezeigt werden, hat sich auf insgesamt fünf Filme komplettiert. Hochwertig restaurierte Filme und Rekonstruktionen in neu bearbeiteter digitaler Fassung bilden die Basis für dieses Forum, das eng mit nationalen und internationalen Filmpartnern kooperiert, die sich besonders für die digitale Restaurierung von Filmklassikern einsetzen. Neben drei deutschen Filmen wird die Reihe 2015 durch zwei internationale Produktionen ergänzt.

Shirley Eaton und Sean Connery in Goldfinger von Guy Hamilton

Als eines der Highlights des Berlinale-Classics-Programms wird Goldfinger, der wohl bekannteste Film aus der James-Bond-Reihe aus dem Jahr 1964, in den Hauptrollen Sean Connery und Gert Fröbe, in einer internationalen Erstaufführung der digital restaurierten Fassung im Vorführformat 4K DCP präsentiert. Für die Restaurierung zeichnen die Eon Productions Ltd., London und die Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer-Studios (Beverly Hills/CA) verantwortlich. Sir Ken Adam, zweimaliger Oscar-Gewinner und Production Designer des Films, dem auch die derzeit laufende Sonderausstellung „Bigger Than Life“ der Deutschen Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen in Berlin gewidmet ist, wird Goldfinger persönlich vorstellen.

Richard Brooks’ Film In Cold Blood (Kaltblütig) von 1967 wird bei den Berlinale Classics als Weltpremiere der digital restaurierten Fassung im Vorführformat 4K DCP gezeigt. Der Spielfilm entstand nach der gleichnamigen Romanvorlage von Truman Capote und rekonstruiert die wahren Ereignisse eines Mordfalls in den USA. Die digitale Restaurierung, basierend auf dem Originalnegativ des Werks, ist im Auftrag von Sony Pictures Entertainment bei Colorworks, Los Angeles, entstanden.

Zum Auftakt der Berlinale-Classics-Reihe wird am 6. Februar 2015 der Stummfilmklassiker Varieté von E. A. Dupont in der von der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung neu erstellten digitalen Fassung uraufgeführt. Die neue Filmmusik hat die Kultband The Tiger Lillies geschrieben, die diese live bei der Premiere einspielen wird.

Rainer Rother, Leiter der Retrospektive und Künstlerischer Direktor der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen: „Die Möglichkeiten digitaler Restaurierung spielen in der Praxis von Archiven und Rechteinhabern eine immer größere, ja dominierende Rolle. Die Berlinale-Classics-Filme dieses Jahres belegen, dass die Anstrengungen, das Filmerbe unter den veränderten Bedingungen der in der Regel digitalen Vorführung zu präsentieren, beeindruckende Wieder-begegnungen mit Filmklassikern ermöglichen. Die ausgewählten Filme haben dabei je eigene Herausforderungen gestellt. Einführungen der jeweils verantwortlichen Restauratoren stellen sie einem breiteren Publikum vor.“

Neun Leben hat die Katze
Von Ula Stöckl, BRD 1968
Dienstag, 10.02.2015, 19:00 Uhr, CinemaxX 8
Präsentiert von Ula Stöckl
Weltpremiere der digital restaurierten Fassung
im Vorführformat 2K DCP

Goldfinger
Von Guy Hamilton, Großbritannien 1964
Samstag, 07.02.2015, 19:30 Uhr, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Präsentiert von Sir Ken Adam
Internationale Erstaufführung der digital restaurierten Fassung
im Vorführformat 4K DCP

Jahrgang 45
Von Jürgen Böttcher, DDR 1966
Samstag, 07.07.2015, 11:00 Uhr, CinemaxX 8
Präsentiert von Jürgen Böttcher
Weltpremiere der digital restaurierten Fassung
im Vorführformat 4K DCP

In Cold Blood (Kaltblütig)
Von Richard Brooks, USA 1967
Sonntag, 08.02.2015, 19:00 Uhr, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Präsentiert von Grover Crisp (Sony Pictures Entertainment)
Weltpremiere der digital restaurierten Fassung
im Vorführformat 4K DCP

Varieté
Von Ewald André Dupont, Deutschland 1925
Freitag, 06.02.2015, 19:00 Uhr, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Weltpremiere der digital restaurierten Fassung
im Vorführformat 2K DCP
Musik und Performance: The Tiger Lillies


Presseabteilung
16. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (160 KB)