Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Forum

Jan 15, 2015:
Forum 2015: Looking Forward, Looking Back

The 45th Berlinale Forum will show a total of 43 films in its main programme, of which 31 are world premieres and 10 international premieres. This year’s programme will be opened by what is probably Canadian director Guy Maddin’s most rampant and anarchic film to date. The Forbidden Room comes across like an apparently chaotic, yet always significant eroto-claustrophobic nightmare that never seems to want to end. Its countless fantastic plotlines are inspired by real, imaginary and photographic memories of films from the silent era now lost, to which the half-damaged nitrate print aesthetic also pays fabulous homage.

Reflections upon classic motifs from film, art and literary history, which often radically re-interpret them in the process, form one common thread running through the 2015 Forum programme. The Chinese production K by Emyr ap Richard and Darhad Erdenibulag thus tries its hand at Kafka’s novel fragment “The Castle” and transposes the land surveyor’s struggle against opaque bureaucratic structures into the Inner Mongolia of the present.

For his part, French director Rabah Ameur-Zaïmeche interprets the Bible in bracingly topical fashion. Shot before the bewitchingly beautiful backdrop of the Algerian desert, Histoire de Judas (The Story of Judas) doesn’t just remove the wedge others have driven between Jesus and Judas, its sensual, austere account of the last days of Christ also prunes down the story to human size, defying any attempts to create religious divisions.

Jem Cohen’s most recent film Counting tips its hat to the work of Chris Marker and takes a personal, essayistic stroll through different metropolises of our world in 15 chapters: New York, Moscow, St. Petersburg, Istanbul, Porto, with cats somehow everywhere you look.

Many of this year’s films concern existential crises, finding one’s bearings or looking for self-assurance. This applies to the subject of migration, for example, such as in the Danish-Serbian found footage film Flotel Europa by Vladimir Tomic or Silvina Landsmann’s documentary Hotline, which explores the suffering of African refugees stranded in Israel. Yet the same themes equally appear in the seemingly idyllic world of self-satisfied Western societies.

The German film Hedi Schneider steckt fest (Hedi Schneider is Stuck) by director Sonja Heiss shows particular daring by tackling a serious subject with an unerring grasp of comedy. A model family’s happy world falls to pieces from one day to the next when the carefree Hedi, played by Laura Tonke, suddenly starts suffering panic attacks. Without warning, the happiness the protagonists once took for granted is now tantalisingly out of their reach, rendering their world both fragile and uncertain.

Nina, the protagonist of Sacha Polak’s Zurich, also goes off the rails in the aftermath of a shocking event. The young woman goes to ground in the anonymous world of motorways and service stations, restless and constantly on the move to avoid ever having to look back. The director is so close to her movements that a sense of true intimacy emerges, allowing the viewer to almost take part in the grieving process.

The two best friends in Alex Ross Perry’s new film Queen of Earth, Catherine (Elisabeth Moss) and Virginia (Katherine Waterston), have also reached a turning point. Last year, Virginia wasn’t doing well, while it’s Catherine that’s suffering this time round. The lakeside cabin owned by Virginia’s parents seems the perfect place for a week of mutual wound licking. It won’t be an easy ride.

Ella Manzheeva’s Chaiki (The Gulls) is set in a small town in the Republic of Kalmykia on the shores of the Caspian Sea, telling the story of a young woman incapable of escaping her own tiny little world. When her husband, who makes his living from illegal fishing, doesn’t return from a risky boat trip, it offers Elza the opportunity to move beyond familiar territory. In this debut film, the director stages landscapes, living rooms, corridors and streets as points of visual entry into Elza’s inner life.

A similar approach can also be employed within the realm of the documentary, as Joaquim Pinto and Nuno Leonel demonstrate in Rabo de Peixe (Fish Tail). Edited together from unique footage shot between 1999 and 2001 on the Azores, this tender film creates a portrait of the local fishermen there, the work they still do by hand and a life that only still exists in these images. The intoxicating shots of the sea, boats, black beaches and white houses equally allude to states of mind.

One key geographical focus of the 2015 Forum programme is formed by new Latin American cinema. Films from Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia and Mexico grapple with institutional, political and family violence and show people looking for individual answers to social upheavals.

Marcelo Pedroso’s visually and aurally stunning avant-garde satire Brasil S/A (Brazilian Dream) draws on experimental editing techniques of a political bent to channel images both surreal and documentary from the Brazil of the last decades to create an ecstatic cinematic experience. In Marcio Reolon und Filipe Matzembacher’s directorial debut Beira-Mar (Seashore), a young man travels to his family’s seaside house in order to deal with a delicate inheritance matter, accompanied by an old friend. This gentle Brazilian film tells of a long winter weekend, awakening sexuality and new intimacy. Chilean director Dominga Sotomayor’s Mar, which was shot in Argentina, also creates a complex picture of society which surfaces only piece by piece from the story of a young couple whose holiday calm is disturbed by an unexpected arrival.

Sergio Castro San Martín’s La mujer de barro (The Mud Woman) from Chile accompanies the taciturn Maria to a previous place of work where she was once the victim of a violent act. When the story threatens to repeat itself, she takes her fate into her own hands. Violencia (Violence), Jorge Forero’s directional debut, consists of three strikingly shot individual episodes. A prisoner chained up in the jungle, a teenager looking for work and a high-ranking officer in a militia: one day, three men, three locations, all connected by the sheer ubiquity of violence in Colombia. Mexican director Joshua Gil’s La maldad (Evilness) tells the story of an old man who still has big plans. His unwavering resolve takes him to the big city, where the demands for political change grow ever louder.

This year’s Special Screenings will be announced in an additional press release.

The films of the 45th Forum:

Abaabi ba boda boda (The Boda Boda Thieves) by Yes! That’s Us, Uganda / South Africa / Kenya / Germany - WP
Al-wadi (The Valley) by Ghassan Salhab, Lebanon / France / Germany / Qatar / United Arab Emirates
Balikbayan #1 (Memories of Overdevelopment Redux) by Kidlat Tahimik, The Philippines - WP
Beira-Mar (Seashore) by Filipe Matzembacher, Marcio Reolon, Brazil - WP
Ben Zaken by Efrat Corem, Israel - IP
Brasil S/A (Brazilian Dream) by Marcelo Pedroso, Brazil - IP
Ce gigantesque retournement de la terre (This Gigantic Furrowing of the Ground) by Claire Angelini, France - WP
Chaiki (The Gulls) by Ella Manzheeva, Russian Federation - WP
Cheol won gi haeng (End of Winter) by Kim Dae-hwan, Republic of Korea - IP
Counting by Jem Cohen, USA - WP
Dari Marusan by Izumi Takahashi, Japan - IP
The Days Run Away Like Wild Horses Over the Hills by Marcin Malaszczak, Germany / Poland / USA - WP
Le dos rouge (Portrait of the Artist) by Antoine Barraud, France - IP
Exotica, Erotica, Etc. by Evangelia Kranioti, France - WP
Flotel Europa by Vladimir Tomic, Denmark / Serbia - WP
The Forbidden Room by Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson, Canada
Freie Zeiten (After Work) by Janina Herhoffer, Germany - WP
Futaba kara toku hanarete dainibu (Nuclear Nation II) by Atsushi Funahashi, Japan - IP
Der Geldkomplex (The Money Complex) by Juan Rodrigáñez, Spain - WP
Il gesto delle mani (Hand Gestures) by Francesco Clerici, Italy - WP
H. by Rania Attieh, Daniel Garcia, Argentina / USA - IP
Hedi Schneider steckt fest (Hedi Schneider is Stuck) by Sonja Heiss, Germany / Norway - WP
Histoire de Judas (The Story of Judas) by Rabah Ameur-Zaïmeche, France - WP
Hotline by Silvina Landsmann, Israel / France - WP
K by Emyr ap Richard, Darhad Erdenibulag, People’s Republic of China / United Kingdom - WP
Koza by Ivan Ostrochovský, Slovakia / Czech Republic - WP
Madare ghalb atomi (Atom Heart Mother) by Ali Ahmadzadeh, Iran - WP
La maldad (Evilness) by Joshua Gil, Mexico - WP
Mar by Dominga Sotomayor, Chile / Argentina - IP
Mizu no koe o kiku (The Voice of Water) by Masashi Yamamoto, Japan - IP
La mujer de barro (The Mud Woman) by Sergio Castro San Martín, Chile / Argentina - WP
Nefesim kesilene kadar (Until I Lose My Breath) by Emine Emel Balcı, Turkey / Germany - WP
La nuit et l'enfant (The Night and the Kid) by David Yon, France, Qatar - WP
Queen of Earth by Alex Ross Perry, USA - WP
Rabo de Peixe (Fish Tail) by Joaquim Pinto, Nuno Leonel, Portugal - WP
La sirène de Faso Fani (The Siren of Faso Fani) by Michel K. Zongo, Burkina Faso / France / Germany / Qatar - WP
Sueñan los androides (Androids Dream) by Ion de Sosa, Spain / Germany - IP
Superwelt (Superworld) by Karl Markovics, Austria - WP
Thamaniat wa ushrun laylan wa bayt min al-sheir (Twenty-Eight Nights and A Poem) by Akram Zaatari, Lebanon / France - WP
Über die Jahre (Over the Years) by Nikolaus Geyrhalter, Austria - WP
Viaggio nella dopo-storia (Journey into Post-History) by Vincent Dieutre, France - WP
Violencia (Violence) by Jorge Forero, Colombia / Mexico - WP
Zurich by Sacha Polak, The Netherlands / Germany / Belgium - WP


Press Office
January 15, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (172 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Forum

15.01.2015:
Forum 2015: Der Blick zurück, der Blick nach vorn

Das 45. Berlinale Forum zeigt insgesamt 43 Filme im Hauptprogramm, davon 31 als Welt- und zehn als internationale Premiere. Die diesjährigen Special Screenings werden in einer weiteren Pressemitteilung bekannt gegeben.

Eröffnet wird das diesjährige Programm mit dem bisher wohl anarchischsten, entfesseltesten Film des Kanadiers Guy Maddin. The Forbidden Room kommt als nicht enden wollender, scheinbar chaotischer, aber doch stets bedeutungsvoller erotisch-klaustrophobischer Alptraum daher. Die zahllosen fantastischen Handlungsstränge des Films sind inspiriert von realen, eingebildeten und fotografischen Erinnerungen an verschollene Werke der Stummfilmzeit, denen auch die Ästhetik halbzerstörter viragierter Filmkopien fabelhaft huldigt.

Die Besinnung auf klassische Motive der Film-, Kunst- und Literaturgeschichte, oft in radikalen Neuinterpretationen, zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch das Programm des Forums 2015. So nimmt sich die chinesische Produktion K von Emyr ap Richard und Darhad Erdenibulag Kafkas Romanfragment „Das Schloss“ an und verlegt die Auseinandersetzung des tapferen Landvermessers mit einer undurchschaubaren Bürokratie kurzerhand in die Innere Mongolei der Jetztzeit.

Überaus aktuell legt der französische Regisseur Rabah Ameur-Zaïmeche die Bibel aus. Sein in betörend schöner algerischer Wüstenkulisse gedrehter Spielfilm Histoire de Judas (The Story of Judas) entfernt nicht nur den Keil, den andere zwischen Jesus und Judas getrieben haben, seine auf menschliches Maß gestutzte, sinnlich-genügsame Erzählung der letzten Tage Jesu widersetzt sich jeglichen Spaltungsversuchen zwischen den Religionen.

Eine Verbeugung vor dem Werk von Chris Marker ist Jem Cohens jüngstes Werk Counting, ein persönlicher, essayistischer Streifzug durch Metropolen unserer Welt in 15 Kapiteln: New York, Moskau, St. Petersburg, Istanbul, Porto… Und immer wieder erscheinen Katzen im Bild.

Von existenziellen Krisen, Selbstvergewisserung und Neuorientierung handeln zahlreiche der diesjährigen Filme. Das gilt für das Thema Migration, etwa in dem dänisch-serbischen Found-Footage-Film Flotel Europa von Vladimir Tomic oder dem Dokumentarfilm Hotline von Silvina Landsmann, der sich mit den Leidenswegen von in Israel gestrandeten afrikanischen Flüchtlingen beschäftigt. Es betrifft aber auch die vermeintlich heile Welt der selbstzufriedenen westlichen Gesellschaften.

Die deutsche Regisseurin Sonja Heiss geht mit ihrem Spielfilm Hedi Schneider steckt fest (Hedi Schneider is Stuck) ein besonderes Wagnis ein. Mit treffsicherem Gespür für Komik nimmt sie sich eines ernsten Themas an. Die fröhliche Welt einer mustergültigen Kleinfamilie gerät unvermittelt aus den Fugen, als die unbekümmerte Hedi, gespielt von Laura Tonke, plötzlich Panikattacken erleidet. Das Glück, das die Protagonisten des Films für selbstverständlich hielten, erscheint urplötzlich unerreichbar, die Welt fragil und ungewiss.

Auch Nina, die Hauptfigur von Sacha Polaks Spielfilm Zurich, wird durch ein schockartiges Ereignis aus der Bahn geworfen. Die junge Frau taucht in der anonymen Welt der Autobahnen und ihrer Raststätten unter, bleibt rastlos in Bewegung, um nicht zurückzuschauen. Die Regisseurin folgt ihr dabei aus nächster, fast schon intimer Nähe und lässt den Zuschauer die Trauerarbeit unmittelbar miterleben.

An einem Wendepunkt sind auch Catherine (Elisabeth Moss) und Virginia (Katherine Waterston) angelangt, die besten Freundinnen in Alex Ross Perrys neuem Spielfilm Queen of Earth. Letztes Jahr hatte Virginia es nicht leicht, jetzt leidet Catherine. Die Hütte am See von Virginias Eltern ist der ideale Ort, um eine Woche lang die Wunden zu lecken. Einfach wird es nicht.

In einer kleinen Stadt in Kalmückien am Kaspischen Meer spielt Chaiki (The Gulls) von Ella Manzheeva. Sie erzählt von einer jungen Frau, der es nicht gelingt, ihrer kleinen Welt zu entfliehen. Als ihr Mann, der von illegalem Fischfang lebt, von einer riskanten Bootstour nicht zurückkehrt, bietet sich für Elza die Gelegenheit, das vertraute Territorium hinter sich zu lassen. Die Regisseurin inszeniert in ihrem Debütfilm Landschaften, Wohnzimmer, Flure und Straßen als visuelle Zugänge zu Elzas Innenleben.

Mit dieser Methode lässt sich auch dokumentarisch arbeiten, wie Joaquim Pinto und Nuno Leonel in Rabo de Peixe vorführen. Montiert aus einzigartigen Aufnahmen, die zwischen 1999 und 2001 auf den Azoren entstanden sind, porträtiert dieser Dokumentarfilm voller Zärtlichkeit die Fischer, deren Handarbeit und ein Leben, das nur noch in jenen Bildern existiert. Die berauschenden Aufnahmen des Meeres, der Boote, der schwarzen Strände und der weißen Häuser beschreiben auch Gefühlslagen.

Einen geografischen Schwerpunkt im Forumsprogramm 2015 bildet das junge lateinamerikanische Kino. Filme aus Brasilien, Argentinien, Chile, Kolumbien und Mexiko setzen sich mit institutioneller, politischer und familiärer Gewalt auseinander und porträtieren Menschen, die auf gesellschaftliche Umbrüche individuelle Antworten suchen.

Die bild- und tongewaltige avantgardistische Satire Brasil S/A (Brazilian Dream) von Marcelo Pedroso verdichtet in einer experimentellen, politisch akzentuierten Montage reale und surreale Bilder aus dem Brasilien der letzten Jahrzehnte zu einem rauschhaften Kinoerlebnis. In dem Regiedebüt Beira-Mar (Seashore) von Marcio Reolon und Filipe Matzembacher reist ein junger Mann ins Ferienhaus der Familie am Meer, um eine heikle Erbangelegenheit zu klären. Ein alter Freund begleitet ihn. Behutsam erzählt der brasilianische Film von einem langen Winterwochenende, erwachender Sexualität und neuer Intimität. Auch der in Argentinien entstandene Spielfilm Mar der Chilenin Dominga Sotomayor entwickelt aus der vordergründig privaten Geschichte eines jungen Paars, das im Urlaub vom Auftauchen der Mutter gestört wird, ein komplexes Gesellschaftsbild.

Der chilenische Spielfilm La mujer de barro (The Mud Woman) von Sergio Castro San Martín begleitet die wortkarge Maria zurück an den Arbeitsort, an dem sie einst Schlimmes erlebt hat. Als sich die Geschichte zu wiederholen scheint, nimmt sie ihr Schicksal in die Hand. Aus drei eindringlich inszenierten Episoden besteht Violencia, das Regiedebüt von Jorge Forero. Ein angeketteter Gefangener mitten im Dschungel, ein Jugendlicher auf der Suche nach Beschäftigung, ein hochrangiger Offizier bei einer Miliz: ein Tag, drei Männer, drei Schauplätze, ihr Bindeglied die allgegenwärtige Gewalt in Kolumbien. Der mexikanische Regisseur Joshua Gil erzählt in La maldad (Evilness) von einem alten Mann, der noch große Pläne hat. Seine Entschlossenheit führt ihn in die Stadt, wo Forderungen nach politischer Veränderung immer lauter werden.

Die Filme des 45. Forums:

Abaabi ba boda boda (The Boda Boda Thieves) von Yes! That’s Us, Uganda / Südafrika / Kenia / Deutschland - WP
Al-wadi (The Valley) von Ghassan Salhab, Libanon / Frankreich / Deutschland / Katar / Vereinigte Arabische Emirate
Balikbayan #1 (Memories of Overdevelopment Redux) von Kidlat Tahimik, Philippinen - WP
Beira-Mar (Seashore) von Filipe Matzembacher, Marcio Reolon, Brasilien - WP
Ben Zaken von Efrat Corem, Israel - IP
Brasil S/A (Brazilian Dream) von Marcelo Pedroso, Brasilien - IP
Ce gigantesque retournement de la terre (This Gigantic Furrowing of the Ground) von Claire Angelini, Frankreich - WP
Chaiki (The Gulls) von Ella Manzheeva, Russische Föderation - WP
Cheol won gi haeng (End of Winter) von Kim Dae-hwan, Republik Korea - IP
Counting von Jem Cohen, USA - WP
Dari Marusan von Izumi Takahashi, Japan - IP
The Days Run Away Like Wild Horses Over the Hills von Marcin Malaszczak, Deutschland / Polen / USA - WP
Le dos rouge (Portrait of the Artist) von Antoine Barraud, Frankreich - IP
Exotica, Erotica, Etc. von Evangelia Kranioti, Frankreich - WP
Flotel Europa von Vladimir Tomic, Dänemark / Serbien - WP
The Forbidden Room von Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson, Kanada
Freie Zeiten (After Work) von Janina Herhoffer, Deutschland - WP
Futaba kara toku hanarete dainibu (Nuclear Nation II) von Atsushi Funahashi, Japan - IP
Der Geldkomplex (El complejo de dinero) von Juan Rodrigáñez, Spanien - WP
Il gesto delle mani (Hand Gestures) von Francesco Clerici, Italien - WP
H. von Rania Attieh, Daniel Garcia, Argentinien / USA - IP
Hedi Schneider steckt fest von Sonja Heiss, Deutschland / Norwegen - WP
Histoire de Judas (The Story of Judas) von Rabah Ameur-Zaïmeche, Frankreich - WP
Hotline von Silvina Landsmann, Israel / Frankreich - WP
K von Emyr ap Richard, Darhad Erdenibulag, Volksrepublik China / Großbritannien - WP
Koza von Ivan Ostrochovský, Slowakische Republik / Tschechische Republik - WP
Madare ghalb atomi (Atom Heart Mother) von Ali Ahmadzadeh, Iran - WP
La maldad (Evilness) von Joshua Gil, Mexiko - WP
Mar von Dominga Sotomayor, Chile / Argentinien - IP
Mizu no koe o kiku (The Voice of Water) von Masashi Yamamoto, Japan - IP
La mujer de barro (The Mud Woman) von Sergio Castro San Martín, Chile / Argentinien - WP
Nefesim kesilene kadar (Until I Lose My Breath) von Emine Emel Balcı, Türkei / Deutschland - WP
La nuit et l'enfant (The Night and the Kid) von David Yon, Frankreich, Katar - WP
Queen of Earth von Alex Ross Perry, USA - WP
Rabo de Peixe (Fish Tail) von Joaquim Pinto, Nuno Leonel, Portugal - WP
La sirène de Faso Fani (The Siren of Faso Fani) von Michel K. Zongo, Frankreich / Burkina Faso / Deutschland / Katar - WP
Sueñan los androides (Androids Dream) von Ion de Sosa, Spanien / Deutschland - IP
Superwelt (Superworld) von Karl Markovics, Österreich - WP
Thamaniat wa ushrun laylan wa bayt min al-sheir (Twenty-Eight Nights and A Poem) von Akram Zaatari, Libanon / Frankreich - WP
Über die Jahre (Over the Years) von Nikolaus Geyrhalter, Österreich - WP
Viaggio nella dopo-storia (Journey into Post-History) von Vincent Dieutre, Frankreich - WP
Violencia (Violence) von Jorge Forero, Kolumbien / Mexiko - WP
Zurich von Sacha Polak, Niederlande / Deutschland / Belgien - WP


Presseabteilung
15. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (172 KB)