Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Short Notes

Jan 13, 2015:
In Memory of Francesco Rosi the Berlinale Will Present Uomini Contro

Plakat Hommage / Poster Homage
Detail of the official poster of the Homage "Francesco Rosi" 2008

The award-winning Italian director and screenwriter Francesco Rosi passed away Saturday at the age of 92. Rosi was one of the most important representatives of European post-war cinema.

"The loss of Francesco Rosi is the loss of an outstanding filmmaker. With their explosive power, Rosi’s films are still persuasive today. His works are classics of politically engaged cinema," comments Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

In his works, Rosi reflected critically on political, economic and intellectual developments in Italy, often triggering intense public reactions.

Rosi first found his own personal style and established himself internationally with Salvatore Giuliano (1961/62). The film won the Silver Bear for Best Director at the Berlinale in 1962. The Berlinale dedicated its 2008 Homage to Francesco Rosi, showing 13 of his films and honouring him with the Honorary Golden Bear for his life achievements.

In Salvatore Giuliano, Il caso Mattei (The Mattei Affair, 1971/72, which won the Palme d'Or in Cannes) and Lucky Luciano (1972/73), he explored how economic and political power structures were intertwined with the Mafia. He exposed hushed-up building scandals in his hometown of Naples in Le mani sulla città (Hands Over the City, 1963), which won the Golden Lion in Venice. In the late 1970s, Francesco Rosi broke new ground, both aesthetically and thematically. In Cristo si è fermato a Eboli (Christ Stopped at Eboli, 1978/79) and Tre fratelli (Three Brothers, 1980/81), Rosi turned his attention to the inner lives of his characters.

In memory of Francesco Rosi, the 65th Berlin International Film Festival will present Uomini Contro (Many Wars Ago, 1970) in the upcoming programme. Rosi's anti-war drama takes place on the mountainous Austrian-Italian front during World War I.


Press Office
January 13, 2015

Download Obituary, PDF (145 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Kurzmeldungen

13.01.2015:
Im Gedenken an Francesco Rosi zeigt die Berlinale Bataillon der Verlorenen

Plakat Hommage / Poster Homage
Ausschnitt aus dem offiziellen Plakat der Hommage „Francesco Rosi“ 2008

Der mehrfach preisgekrönte italienische Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Francesco Rosi ist am Samstag im Alter von 92 Jahren verstorben. Rosi gehört zu den wichtigsten Vertretern des europäischen Nachkriegskinos.

„Mit Francesco Rosi haben wir einen herausragenden Filmemacher verloren. Rosis Filme überzeugen bis heute mit ihrer explosiven Kraft und gehören zu den Klassikern des politisch engagierten Kinos“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

In seinen Filmen reflektierte Rosi kritisch die politischen, wirtschaftlichen und geistigen Entwicklungen Italiens und löste damit oft heftige öffentliche Reaktionen aus.

Mit Salvatore Giuliano (Wer erschoss Salvatore G.?, 1961/62) fand er seinen persönlichen Stil und es gelang ihm der internationale Durchbruch: Der Film wurde auf der Berlinale 1962 mit dem Silbernen Berliner Bären für die beste Regie ausgezeichnet. 2008 widmete die Berlinale Francesco Rosi eine Hommage mit 13 Filmen und verlieh ihm den Goldenen Ehrenbären für sein Lebenswerk.

In Salvatore Giuliano, Il caso Mattei (Der Fall Mattei, 1971/72, in Cannes mit der Goldenen Palme ausgezeichnet) und Lucky Luciano (1972/73) untersuchte er die engen Verflechtungen ökonomischer und politischer Mächte mit der Mafia. Für Le mani sulla città (Hände über der Stadt, 1963) erhielt er in Venedig den Goldenen Löwen. Ende der 1970er Jahre ging Francesco Rosi ästhetisch und thematisch neue Wege. In Cristo si è fermato a Eboli (Christus kam nur bis Eboli, 1978/79) und Tre fratelli (Drei Brüder, 1980/81) wendete er sich dem Innenleben seiner Figuren zu.

Die 65. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin werden im Gedenken an Francesco Rosi in ihrem aktuellen Programm Uomini Contro (Bataillon der Verlorenen) aus dem Jahr 1970 zeigen. Rosis Antikriegsfilm spielt zur Zeit des Ersten Weltkriegs an der österreichisch-italienischen Gebirgsfront.


Presseabteilung
13. Januar 2015

Download Nachruf, PDF (147 KB)