Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Competition

Jan 09, 2015:
Isabel Coixet's Nobody Wants the Night to Open the 65th Berlinale

The 65th Berlin International Film Festival will open on February 5 with the world premiere of Nobody Wants the Night, the most recent work by Spanish director Isabel Coixet. It will participate in the international competition.

The Spanish-French-Bulgarian co-production takes place in 1908, in the Arctic seclusion of Greenland. The adventure film focuses on courageous women and ambitious men who put anything at stake for love and glory.

Juliette Binoche in Nobody Wants the Night by Isabel Coixet

The ensemble cast includes international stars such as French actress and Academy Award winner Juliette Binoche (Camille Claudel 1915, The English Patient), Japanese actress Rinko Kikuchi (Babel, The Brothers Bloom) and Irish film artist Gabriel Byrne (The Usual Suspects, Miller's Crossing). Filming took place in Bulgaria, Norway and Spain.

“I'm very pleased that Nobody Wants the Night will open the 2015 Berlinale. Isabel Coixet has created an impressive and perceptive portrait of two women in extreme circumstances,” says Dieter Kosslick, director of the Berlinale. “It will also be the first film to be screened in Dolby Atmos® in our Berlinale Palast.”

Six films by Isabel Coixet have already been presented in various sections of past Berlinale programmes, including My Life Without Me (2003) and Elegy (2008) in Competition. In 2009 Isabel Coixet was member of the festival’s International Jury.


Press Office
January 9, 2015

Download PressRelease, PDF (145 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Wettbewerb

09.01.2015:
Isabel Coixets Nobody Wants the Night eröffnet die 65. Berlinale

Mit der Weltpremiere von Nobody Wants the Night wird am 5. Februar 2015 der jüngste Film der spanischen Regisseurin Isabel Coixet die 65. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin eröffnen. Er wird im Wettbewerb präsentiert.

Die spanisch-französisch-bulgarische Ko-Produktion spielt 1908 in der arktischen Abgeschiedenheit Grönlands und ist ein Abenteuerfilm über mutige Frauen und ehrgeizige Männer, die für Liebe und Ruhm alles aufs Spiel setzen.

Juliette Binoche in Nobody Wants the Night von Isabel Coixet

Zum internationalen Star-Ensemble gehören die französische Oscarpreisträgerin Juliette Binoche (Camille Claudel 1915, Der englische Patient), die japanische Schauspielerin Rinko Kikuchi (Babel, Brothers Bloom) und der irische Filmkünstler Gabriel Byrne (Die üblichen Verdächtigen, Miller’s Crossing). Die Dreharbeiten fanden in Bulgarien, Norwegen und Spanien statt.

„Ich freue mich, mit Nobody Wants the Night die Berlinale 2015 zu eröffnen. Isabel Coixet zeigt ein beeindruckendes und einfühlsames Portrait zweier Frauen in einer Extremsituation“, sagt Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick. „Er wird zudem der erste Film sein, der in unserem Berlinale Palast in Dolby Atmos® gezeigt wird.“

Isabel Coixet war bereits sechsmal im Programm der Berlinale vertreten, darunter im Wettbewerb mit ihren Filmen Mein Leben ohne mich (2003) und Elegy (2008). 2009 war sie Mitglied der Internationalen Jury.


Presseabteilung
9. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (149 KB)