Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Dec 10, 2014:
It’s Playtime! – Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2015

The first seven films for the 2015 Perspektive Deutsches Kino programme have now been invited. So far they include five full-length fictional features and two shorter ones. “On panels, in blogs and in trade journals, people are talking about how things are happening in German cinema. We want to tap this trend and present extraordinary films in which different styles are explored in new ways,” Linda Söffker remarks about the selection to date. “Things will be magical, lively, sad, even gory and emotionally hard, but also fun and entertaining: It’s playtime!”

David Scheller, Oona von Maydell, Daniel Fripan uand Pit Bukowski in The Bunker by Nikias Chryssos

Several directors in the programme have crossed a variety of genres in their works. Taking an interdisciplinary approach, they combine elements from different kinds of films to create a new style.

Nikias Chryssos’ first full-length feature, Der Bunker (The Bunker, prod: Kataskop Film, Heidelberg; co-prod: Geißendörfer Film- und Fernsehproduktion, Cologne), creates a world of its own, somewhere between an absurd comedy, a horror film, a melodrama and a B movie. Jakob M. Erwa’s HomeSick (prod: Mojo:pictures Jakob M. Erwa Filmproduktion, Berlin), the second full-length feature in the programme, combines, among other things, some of the elements of a thriller with impressionistic arthouse cinema. And Michael Krummenacher’s second full-length film, Sibylle (Like a Cast Shadow, prod: Passanten Filmproduktion, Munich; co-prods: BR and HFF, both Munich), is a mix of drama, mystery, psychological thriller and horror film. All three movies revolve around (at least) one psychotic character who, as a result of paternal severity, discipline, fear or the pressure to achieve, makes those around them miserable – until more-or-less ordinary family life escalates into a horror trip.

In her directorial debut, Im Spinnwebhaus (Spiderwebhouse, prod: Tellux Film, Stuttgart; co-prod: SWR, Baden-Baden) Mara Eibl-Eibesfeldt also quite cleverly bridges very different poles. She turns a social drama into a modern, black-and-white fairy-tale that hovers on the line between reality and childlike fantasy. A single mother (Sylvie Testud) who fails to live up to the role model of a loving and caring mother, and so disappears for a time, triggers a tale about the strong bond that develops between her three left-behind children.

In two Perspektive films, Anne Ratte-Polle plays title roles. First she is Sibylle (see above), and then she is Wanja in Carolina Hellsgård’s first full-length feature of the same name. In Wanja (prod: Flickfilm, Berlin; co-prod: Storytellers, Hamburg), Ratte-Polle plays a 40-year-old woman who after years in prison is suddenly thrown back into life and then – far removed from crime and drugs – seeks a new life for herself. Carolina Hellsgård has presented her short films at many international festivals, where they have won a number of prizes as well. Wanja is her full-length feature debut.

Two remarkable, medium-length films have also been invited: Anatol Schuster’s Ein idealer Ort (A Perfect Place, prod: WirFilm, Munich; co-prod: HFF, Munich) and I Remember (prod: Trimaphilm, Munich; co-prod: HFF, Munich) by Janna Ji Wonders. Anatol Schuster’s graduation film examines how places and spaces have lives of their own. This is a topic that pervades many of the invited films and is often reflected in their titles (The Bunker, Spiderwebhouse, HomeSick, A Perfect Place). Musician and filmmaker Janni Ji Wonders found inspiration for her film in both a short story written by Zoran Drvenkar and a piece by singer-songwriter Boo Hewerdine, titled “I remember”. She has relocated the song’s nostalgic atmosphere to Bolinas and Bodega Bay, the costal towns in California where she grew up.

The complete Perspektive Deutsches Kino programme will be announced in January.


Press Office
December 10, 2014

Download Press Release, PDF (109 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

10.12.2014:
It’s Playtime! – Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2015

Die ersten sieben Filme sind für das Programm der Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2015 eingeladen: Bislang sind es fünf lange und zwei kürzere Spielfilme. „Es tut sich was im deutschen Film, heißt es überall auf Podien, in Blogs und Fachzeitschriften. Wir wollen dem Affen Zucker geben und auffällige Spielfilme zeigen, in denen unterschiedliche Stilrichtungen neu erkundet werden“, beschreibt Sektionsleiterin Linda Söffker ihre bisherige Auswahl. „Es wird märchenhaft, energiegeladen, traurig, blutig, psychisch anstrengend, auch lustig und vor allem spielerisch – Let’s play!“

David Scheller, Oona von Maydell, Daniel Fripan und Pit Bukowski in Der Bunker von Nikias Chryssos

Mehrere Regisseurinnen und Regisseure des Programms haben sich für die Form des Cross Genre entschieden. Sie arbeiten interdisziplinär und verbinden Elemente verschiedener Genres zu einem neuen Stil. Der erste Langspielfilm von Nikias Chryssos, Der Bunker (P: Kataskop Film, Heidelberg; Co-P: Geißendörfer Film- und Fernsehproduktion, Köln), erschafft seine eigene Welt zwischen absurder Komödie, Horrorfilm, Melodram und B-Movie. HomeSick (P: Mojo:pictures Jakob M. Erwa Filmproduktion, Berlin), der zweite lange Spielfilm von Jakob M. Erwa, bedient sich u.a. verschiedener Regeln des Thrillers, kombiniert mit impressionistischem Arthouse-Kino. Und der zweite lange Spielfilm von Michael Krummenacher, Sibylle (P: Passanten Filmproduktion, München; Co-P: BR und HFF München), ist eine Mischung aus Drama, Mystery, Psychothriller und Horror. Alle drei Filme erzählen von (mindestens) einem psychotischen Charakter, der, ausgelöst durch Strenge, Disziplin, Angst oder Leistungsdruck, seiner Umwelt das Leben zur Hölle macht und einen – mehr oder weniger normalen – Familienalltag zum Horror steigert.

Auch Mara Eibl-Eibesfeldt spannt in ihrem Debütfilm Im Spinnwebhaus (P: Tellux Film, Stuttgart; Co-P: SWR, Baden-Baden) sehr gekonnt einen Bogen zwischen verschiedenen Polen. Sie kleidet ein Sozialdrama in ein modernes Märchen in schwarz-weiß und bewegt sich an der Grenze von brutaler Realität und kindlicher Fantasie. Eine alleinerziehende Mutter (Sylvie Testud), die es nicht schafft, ihrem Rollenbild als liebende und sich sorgende Mutter gerecht zu werden, und deshalb für einige Zeit verschwindet, ist der Auslöser für die Erzählung um den festen Zusammenhalt ihrer drei zurückgelassenen Kinder.

Anne Ratte-Polle verkörpert gleich in zwei Filmen der Perspektive die titelgebende Hauptrolle, einmal als Sibylle (siehe oben) und einmal als Wanja im gleichnamigen ersten Langspielfilm von Carolina Hellsgård. In Wanja (P: Flickfilm, Berlin; Co-P: Storytellers, Hamburg) spielt sie eine 40-jährige Frau, die nach jahrelanger Haft zurück ins Leben geworfen wird und nun – fernab von Kriminalität und Drogensucht – einen neuen Weg für sich sucht. Carolina Hellsgård war mit ihren Kurzfilmen schon auf vielen internationalen Festivals zu sehen und gewann dort Preise, Wanja ist nun ihr Debütfilm.

Zwei auffällige mittellange Filme sind zudem eingeladen: Ein idealer Ort (P: WirFilm, München; Co-P: HFF München) von Anatol Schuster und I Remember (Trimaphilm, München; Co-P: HFF München) von Janna Ji Wonders. Anatol Schusters Hochschulfilm greift das Thema des Eigenlebens von Orten und Räumen auf, das sich durch viele bisher eingeladene Filme des Programms zieht und sich oft schon im Titel spiegelt (Bunker, Spinnwebhaus, HomeSick, Ein idealer Ort). Die in Kalifornien aufgewachsene Musikerin und Regisseurin Janna Ji Wonders hat sich zu ihrem Film von einer Kurzgeschichte des Autors Zoran Drvenkar und von dem Song des Singer-Songwriters Boo Hewerdine „I remember“ inspirieren lassen. Sie verortet die sehnsuchtsvolle Stimmung des Songs in die kalifornischen Küstenorte Bolinas und Bodega Bay, wo sie einen Teil ihrer Jugend verbracht hat.

Das gesamte Programm der Perspektive Deutsches Kino wird im Januar bekannt gegeben.


Presseabteilung
10. Dezember 2014

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (27 KB)