Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

World Cinema Fund

Oct 27, 2014:
World Cinema Fund Celebrates Its 10th Anniversary and Launches an Additional Funding Project: WCF Europe

On its 10th anniversary, the World Cinema Fund (WCF) looks back at a successful and productive decade. Since its establishment, it has backed a total of 119 projects from 41 countries: it has granted production funds 84 times and given distribution funds to 35 films for release in German cinemas. In 2015, the WCF will expand its funding programme to include a special project: WCF Europe.

Founded in 2004, the WCF was initiated by the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin international Film Festival. It quickly established itself as one of the leading institutions in the field of international film funding for high-quality productions. In 2005, the Goethe-Institut came on board as cooperation partner and the German Federal Foreign Office stepped in to help cover administrative costs. As of 2015, the Foreign Office will increase its commitment and so become an additional main partner.

Der WCF concentrates on backing the production and distribution of films from Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, the Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia, as well as Mongolia, Nepal, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Funds are given to German co-producers of WCF films: without exception, WCF funds have to be spent in WCF funding regions and countries.
The goal is to promote high-quality filmmaking in regions with a poor infrastructure for film, while fostering cultural diversity in German cinemas as well as supporting collaboration between German producers and partners in WCF regions and countries. All WCF films completed to date have screened at cinemas and/or in the programmes of renowned festivals. Many have also won prizes, proof of the worldwide success of the initiative.

WCF-funded projects include, for instance, La Teta Asustada (Milk of Sorrow), which won the Berlinale Golden Bear in 2009; and Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives, winner of Cannes’ Golden Palm in 2010.

“When the German Federal Cultural Foundation launched the World Cinema Fund with the Berlin International Film Festival ten years ago, it quickly became clear that we would not be alone for long with our idea. And that’s exactly what happened: not only do the many outstanding international awards attest to the WCF’s high standards in production funding, but German cinema has also profited from its distribution funding programme. The World Cinema Fund is a success story: over the years it has grown and extended its reach. And for the time being, the Federal Cultural Foundation has secured its financing of the World Cinema Fund until 2018. The terms are good and will allow us to continue our work successfully,” says Hortensia Völckers, Artistic Director of the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

Alongside its funding activities, the WCF annually organises a “WCF Day” during the Berlinale. In panel discussions, film cultures and infrastructures in individual countries or regions are debated. Moreover, since 2007, in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut, there have been “Spotlights” with WCF-funded films and workshops in the funding regions. In 2011, the WCF also implemented two training courses in the field of sound and editing for contemporary film productions at so-called “WCF Factories” in Burundi and Burkina Faso.

Thanks to the support of the European Commission’s Creative Europe sub-programme MEDIA, the World Cinema Fund is expanding its portfolio and launching a special project for its 10th anniversary, titled WCF Europe.

In 2015 and 2016, WCF Europe will supplement the existing programme of the World Cinema Fund and back further co-productions between European producers, and directors and producers from WCF regions and countries. Applications may be submitted by European producers from MEDIA sub-programme countries and production firms in WCF Europe regions (WCF regions and countries, as well as the Ukraine, Belarus and Moldavia), that can document that they are already collaborating on their current project with a European partner.

Distribution funds will be granted to films that are being released jointly by three distributors: at least one must be from Europe and one from a WCF region or country. Funding for the coming two years will total 300,000 euros.

The Berlinale and its World Cinema Fund are also delighted that the German Federal Foreign has increased its commitment and is now involved as additional main partner.

“The WCF’s success is proof of its topicality, and commitment to world cinema and cultural diversity. We thank Hortensia Völckers and the Federal Cultural Foundation for backing us all these years. I would also like to welcome the German Federal Foreign Office on board as another important partner. Funds from the Foreign Office allow us to pursue the goal of contributing internationally to partner-based cooperations and co-productions. Many thanks to the Foreign Office for this,” comments Berlinale Director Berlinale Dieter Kosslick.

For further information, please go to:
http://www.berlinale.de/en/branche/world_cinema_fund/wcf_profil/index.html


The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival in cooperation with the Federal Foreign Office and with further support by the Goethe Institute.



Press Office
October 27, 2014

Download Press Release, PDF (270 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

World Cinema Fund

27.10.2014:
World Cinema Fund feiert 10. Jubiläum und startet zusätzliches Förderprojekt WCF Europe

Zum zehnten Jubiläum blickt der World Cinema Fund (WCF) auf ein erfolgreiches und produktives Jahrzehnt zurück. Seit seiner Gründung wurden insgesamt 119 Projekte aus 41 Ländern gefördert: 84 Mal gab es Produktionsförderung und bei 35 Filmen wurde Verleihförderung für den deutschen Kinostart vergeben. 2015 erweitert der WCF seine Förderung um das Sonderprogramm WCF Europe.

Der WCF wurde 2004 als Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele gegründet und hat sich schnell als eine der führenden Institutionen im Bereich der internationalen Filmförderung anspruchsvoller Produktionen etabliert. 2005 kam das Goethe-Institut als weiterer Kooperationspartner hinzu, und das Auswärtige Amt unterstützte bei den Verwaltungskosten. Mit dem Jahr 2015 verstärkt das Auswärtige Amt sein Engagement und kommt als weiterer Hauptförderer hinzu.

Der WCF fördert die Produktion und den Verleih von Filmen aus den Schwerpunktregionen Afrika, Lateinamerika und Karibik, Mittlerer Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien, dem Kaukasus und den Ländern Mongolei, Nepal, Bangladesch, Sri Lanka. Förderempfänger sind die deutschen Koproduzenten der WCF-Filme: Die WCF-Förderbeträge müssen aber ausnahmslos in den WCF-Förderregionen und -Ländern ausgegeben werden.
Ziel ist es, das anspruchsvolle Filmschaffen in filminfrastrukturell schwachen Regionen zu fördern, zur kulturellen Vielfalt in den deutschen Kinos beizutragen und die Zusammenarbeit deutscher Produzenten mit Partnern in den WCF-Regionen und -Ländern zu unterstützen. Alle bisher produzierten WCF-Filme liefen im Kino und/oder in den Programmen renommierter internationaler Filmfestivals, werden regelmäßig ausgezeichnet und belegen den weltweiten Erfolg der Initiative.

Zu den WCF-geförderten Projekten gehören u.a. La Teta Asustada (Eine Perle Ewigkeit), der 2009 den Goldenen Bären der Berlinale gewann, und der Goldene Palme-Gewinner von Cannes 2010: Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (Uncle Boonmee erinnert sich an seine früheren Leben).

„Als die Kulturstiftung des Bundes mit den Internationalen Filmfestspielen vor zehn Jahren den World Cinema Fund ins Leben riefen, war bald klar, dass wir mit unserer Idee nicht lange allein bleiben würden. Und so ist es gekommen: Nicht nur die vielen hervorragenden internationalen Auszeichnungen haben die Güte der Produktionsförderung durch den WCF unter Beweis gestellt, auch das deutsche Kino hat durch die Verleihförderung davon profitiert. Der World Cinema Fund ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte: Er wächst und erweitert seinen Wirkungskreis. Und die Kulturstiftung kann den World Cinema Fund erst einmal bis 2018 finanziell absichern. Das sind gute Bedingungen für eine erfolgreiche Weiterarbeit”, sagt Hortensia Völckers, die Künstlerische Direktorin der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Neben der Fördertätigkeit veranstaltet der WCF jährlich zur Berlinale einen „WCF-Day“, der sich in Paneldiskussionen mit den Filmkulturen und -infrastrukturen einzelner Länder oder Regionen auseinandersetzt. Seit 2007 gibt es außerdem in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut „Spotlights“ mit WCF-geförderten Filmen und Workshops in den Förderregionen. Darüber hinaus hat der WCF 2011 im afrikanischen Burundi und Burkina Faso zwei Trainingsmaßnahmen, sogenannte „WCF Factories“ im Bereich Ton und Schnitt bei aktuellen Filmproduktionen durchgeführt.

Zum zehnten Jubiläum erweitert der World Cinema Fund sein Portfolio und startet dank der Unterstützung des Creative Europe MEDIA-Programms der europäischen Kommission WCF Europe.

WCF Europe wird zunächst 2015 und 2016 das Programm des bereits bestehenden World Cinema Fund ergänzen und zusätzliche Koproduktionen zwischen europäischen Produzenten und Regisseuren und Produzenten aus den WCF-Regionen und -Ländern fördern. Antragsberechtigt sind sowohl europäische Produzenten aus den MEDIA Subprogramm-Ländern als auch Produktionsfirmen aus WCF Europe-Regionen (WCF-Regionen und -Länder sowie Ukraine, Weißrussland und Moldawien), die für das aktuelle Projekt bereits eine Zusammenarbeit mit einem europäischen Partner nachweisen können.
Außerdem wird es eine Verleihförderung für Filme geben, die gemeinsam von insgesamt drei Verleihern - davon zumindest einem Europäer und einem aus einer WCF-Region bzw. einem WCF-Land - herausgebracht werden. Die Fördermittel für die kommenden beiden Jahre umfassen 300.000 €.

Die Berlinale und ihr World Cinema Fund freuen sich zudem, dass sich das Auswärtige Amt verstärkt und somit nun als weiterer Hauptförderer engagiert.

„Der Erfolg zeigt die Aktualität des WCF, der sich dem Weltkino und der kulturellen Diversität verpflichtet hat. Wir danken Hortensia Völckers und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes für ihre langjährige Unterstützung und begrüßen mit dem Auswärtigen Amt einen weiteren wichtigen Partner. Die Förderung des Auswärtigen Amtes unterstützt das Ziel, an partnerschaftlichen Kooperationen und Koproduktionen international mitzuwirken. Herzlichen Dank an das Auswärtige Amt“, kommentiert Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Weitere Informationen unter:
http://www.berlinale.de/de/branche/world_cinema_fund/wcf_profil/index.html


Der World Cinema Fund ist eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, in Kooperation mit dem Auswärtigen Amt sowie weiterer Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut.



Presseabteilung
27. Oktober 2014

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (195 KB)