Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Additional Information

Jun 23, 2014:
Berlin International Film Festival Again Supporting “Berlinale in Sendai”

The Berlin International Film Festival is supporting the “Berlinale in Sendai” event for the second time. The event will take place on July 26 and 27 in Sendai City, a municipality in the Tohoku region that was severely damaged by the earthquakes and tsunami in March 2011.

For “Berlinale in Sendai”, the Berlinale section Generation is curating a programme with two emphases: films that entertain, and films that focus on coping positively in problematic living situations. The objective is to support and encourage inhabitants and those aiding them to continue their committed efforts to rebuild the region.

The project is once again being organised by the “Berlinale in Sendai” Executive Office, with support from the inhabitants of Sendai and numerous volunteers and sponsors from all over Japan.

“Culture provides the opportunity to convey a global sense of community. This year’s programme is our way of contributing to that feeling anew. We’re very pleased to support ‘Berlinale in Sendai’ again in 2014,” comments Festival Director Dieter Kosslick.


Press Office
June 23, 2014

Download Press Release, PDF (124 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Zusätzliches

23.06.2014:
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin unterstützen erneut „Berlinale in Sendai“

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin unterstützen zum zweiten Mal „Berlinale in Sendai“. Die Filmreihe wird am 26. und 27. Juli in Sendai City präsentiert, einer Stadt in der japanischen Region Tohoku, die im März 2011 von den schweren Erdbeben und dem Tsunami stark zerstört wurde.

Die Berlinale-Sektion Generation kuratiert für „Berlinale in Sendai“ ein Programm mit zwei Schwerpunkten: unterhaltsame Filme und Filme, die einen positiven Umgang mit problematischen Lebenssituationen aufzeigen. Damit möchte die Berlinale die Bevölkerung und die Helfer in der Region unterstützen und ermutigen, den Wiederaufbau weiterhin so engagiert zu betreiben.

Das Projekt wird erneut vom „Berlinale in Sendai“ Executive Office organisiert und von den Einwohnern Sendais sowie zahlreichen Freiwilligen und Unterstützern aus ganz Japan ermöglicht.

„Kultur bietet die Möglichkeit, ein globales Gefühl von Gemeinschaft zu vermitteln. Mit dem diesjährigen Filmprogramm möchten wir noch einmal zu diesem Gefühl beitragen und freuen uns, ‚Berlinale in Sendai‘ auch 2014 zu unterstützen“, kommentiert Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick.


Presseabteilung
23. Juni 2014

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (126 KB)