Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

May 28, 2014:
Matthijs Wouter Knol to Be New Head of European Film Market

Matthijs Wouter Knol

On June 1, 2014, Matthijs Wouter Knol from the Netherlands will become the new head of the Berlinale’s European Film Market (EFM). Since 2008, Knol has been the programme manager of Berlinale Talents (formerly known as the Berlinale Talent Campus), and is well acquainted with both the Festival and the EFM.

Long-standing EFM head Beki Probst will become president of the EFM. In her new function, she will draw on her extensive experience and use her international network to establish Knol as new EFM head. She will also provide him with support and advice.

“Matthijs Wouter Knol will inspire new areas of business and the development of the European Film Market. With Knol, a professional is joining us who knows the festival well. He will strategically strengthen the synergies that have developed between the festival and the EFM,” says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

Knol was born in the Netherlands in 1977 and studied contemporary history at Leiden University and at the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome. He worked as a freelance journalist until 2001 before joining Pieter van Huystee Film, a renowned and internationally award-winning production company in Amsterdam. After becoming head of development in 2004, he focused on developing, financing and internationally co-producing documentary film projects. As the associate producer of various documentary films, he worked with acclaimed filmmakers, such as Heddy Honigmann and Mani Kaul. With Arte he also co-produced the DVD edition of Johan van der Keuken’s digitally re-mastered works, which was awarded the Prix “Cahiers du Cinéma” in 2006.

In 2007, Knol started working for the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA), spreading his activity between the co-production and sales markets, and the IDFAcademy training programme. As head of the latter, he initiated the IDFAcademy Summer School. In 2008, he became head of Berlinale Talents (formerly known as the Berlinale Talents Campus).


Press Office
May 28, 2014

Download Press Release, PDF (142 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

28.05.2014:
Matthijs Wouter Knol wird neuer EFM-Direktor

Matthijs Wouter Knol

Am 1. Juni 2014 übernimmt der Niederländer Matthijs Wouter Knol die Leitung des European Film Market (EFM) der Berlinale. Knol war seit 2008 Programm-Leiter von Berlinale Talents (ehemals Berlinale Talent Campus) und ist mit dem Festival und dem EFM bestens vertraut.

Die langjährige EFM-Direktorin Beki Probst steht künftig dem EFM als Präsidentin vor. In ihrer neuen Funktion wird sie ihre umfangreichen Erfahrungen und ihr internationales Netzwerk einsetzen, um den neuen EFM-Direktor einzuführen und ihm beratend zur Seite zu stehen.

„Matthijs Wouter Knol wird die Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsfelder und die Weiterentwicklung des European Film Market vorantreiben. Mit ihm haben wir einen festivalerfahrenen Profi an Bord, der die Synergien aus der engen Verknüpfung von Festival und EFM strategisch ausbauen wird“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Knol wurde 1977 in den Niederlanden geboren und studierte Neuere Geschichte an der Universität Leiden und dem Königlichen Niederländischen Institut zu Rom. Bis 2001 war er als freiberuflicher Journalist tätig, danach arbeitete er für Pieter van Huystee Film, einer renommierten und international ausgezeichneten Produktionsfirma in Amsterdam – seit 2004 als Head of Development. Der Schwerpunkt seiner Tätigkeit lag dabei auf der Entwicklung, Finanzierung und internationaler Ko-Produktion von Dokumentarfilmen. Als Associate Produzent diverser Dokumentarfilme arbeitete er mit renommierten Filmemachern wie Heddy Honigmann und Mani Kaul zusammen. Außerdem war er Ko-Produzent der DVD-Edition von Johan van der Keukens digital überarbeitetem Gesamtwerk in Zusammenarbeit mit ARTE, die 2006 von Cahiers du Cinéma ausgezeichnet wurde.

Ab 2007 arbeitete Knol für das Internationale Dokumentarfilmfestival Amsterdam (IDFA), wo er den Co-Produktionsmarkt mitverantwortete und dem Trainingsprogramm IDFAcademy vorstand. Als Leiter dieses Programms rief er die IDFAcademy Summer School ins Leben. 2008 übernahm er die Programmleitung von Berlinale Talents (ehemals Berlinale Talents Campus).


Presseabteilung
28. Mai 2014

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (140 KB)