Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Short Notes

Apr 23, 2014:
The Berlin International Film Festival Mourns the Death of Michael Glawogger

Prize-winning Austrian director, screenwriter and cinematographer Michael Glawogger has died while filming in Africa.

“We grieve the loss of a great filmmaker and documentarian whose versatile and compelling work has never failed to impress us. His view of the world will not be forgotten,” says Festival Director Dieter Kosslick.

Glawogger made several documentary films on the social aspects of globalisation, including: Whore’s Glory, Megacities and Working Man’s Death. The latter was awarded Best Documentary at the German Film Awards 2007.

Michael Glawogger was also a successful fictional film director: his drama Slumming celebrated its world premiere in the Competition of the Berlinale 2006, and Das Vaterspiel (Kill Daddy Good Night) was in the programme of the Panorama section of the Berlin International Film Festival in 2009.

Michael Glawogger's contribution on the Russian National Library in the omnibus film Cathedrals of Culture was presented at this year's Berlinale. This 3D project explores the spirit of six buildings, and how they reflect our culture as well as preserve collective memory.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Kurzmeldungen

23.04.2014:
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin trauern um Michael Glawogger

Der preisgekrönte österreichische Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Kameramann Michael Glawogger ist bei Dreharbeiten in Afrika gestorben.

„Wir trauern um einen großen Filmemacher und Dokumentaristen, dessen vielseitiges und eindrückliches Schaffen uns immer wieder von Neuem beeindruckt und dessen Blick auf die Welt in Erinnerung bleiben wird“, sagt Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick.

Glawogger hat zahlreiche dokumentarische Filme über soziale Aspekte der Globalisierung gemacht, darunter Whore’s Glory, Megacities und Working Man’s Death, der als bester Dokumentarfilm beim Deutschen Filmpreis 2007 ausgezeichnet wurde.
Auch als Spielfilmregissur reüssierte Michael Glawogger: Sein Drama Slumming feierte im Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2006 die Weltpremiere, und 2009 war er mit Das Vaterspiel in der Sektion Panorama bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin im Programm.

Zuletzt war Glawogger auf der diesjährigen Berlinale mit einem Beitrag über die Russische Nationalbibliothek in dem Omnibusfilm Kathedralen der Kultur präsent. Das 3-D-Filmprojekt über die Seele von Bauwerken erkundet, wie sie unsere Kultur reflektieren und unser kollektives Gedächtnis bewahren.