Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Culinary Cinema
10 Years of Film & Food

The exploration of the term “taste”, its relationships to our basic need to eat, and hunger as a political question were the themes of the workshop "Hunger, Food & Taste" at Berlinale Talents 2006, when the Berlinale became the first A-festival worldwide to make food a topic of focus. In 2007, the Berlinale debuted its section Culinary Cinema and created the new format "Film, Food & Talk", in which chefs prepared food inspired by the films shown each night.

From the start, slow food activists like Alice Waters and Carlo Petrini were involved in the development of the programme.

For Alice Waters, food is more than just nutrition; it's "a way of life". When she opened her restaurant Chez Panisse in 1971 in Berkeley, California, the search for good taste took centre stage. She found it with farmers and producers who worked according to organic principles. The defence of small-scale producers against the power of industrial food producers is at the core of the slow food philosophy.

It's here that an intersection with the festival arises: The Berlinale is also committed to smaller, independent productions. "It's high time for a discussion on food as the most important means of survival," wrote Dieter Kosslick in 2007. "The fight for good, healthy food is just as important as the fight for the diversity of independent film. Culture and agriculture are two sides of the same coin."

Stars of both film set and stovetop soon discovered the new format and helped make Culinary Cinema an interdisciplinary platform. Following his successful appearance at the documenta, Ferran Adrià came to the mirror tent across from Martin-Gropius-Bau in 2008. In 2009, the programme opened at Friedrichstadt-Palast with FOOD, INC.. An audience of 1,800 watched the premiere of the film - which is still relevant today - that delves into the dark side of the food industry. Prominent film personalities like Tilda Swinton (Io Sono L'Amore | I Am Love), Jean Reno (Comme un chef | The Chef) and Nigel Slater (Toast) were among the guests at Culinary Cinema in the years that followed. In 2012, the internationally recognised Michelin-starred chef Andoni Luis Aduriz presented his film Mugaritz B.S.O. (D: Felipe Ugarte, Juantxo Sardon) and a corresponding dinner. L’Amour des Moules (Mussels in Love) by Willemiek Kluijfhout brought Michelin-starred chef Niels Henkel to the Culinary Cinema kitchen. And in 2014, the Spanish Roca brothers (then chefs of number one on the list of the 50 best restaurants worldwide) came with their film El Somni (The Dream, Co-director: Franc Aleu) and prepared the dinner that followed.

Since the inception of Culinary Cinema, the discourse on the meaning of food has gained more meaning. Parallel with the economy, the gap continues to widen between poverty and wealth, between hunger and abundance. The food industry conceals its irresponsible exploitation of resources. Food becomes trivial and taste standardised. In response, a culinary opposition has formed - made up of top chefs, food activists and last but not least, regular people re-discovering the pleasure of cooking homemade food.

Responsible enjoyment is not a contradiction in terms' is the Culinary Cinema mantra. "Because whoever enjoys without thought, acts irresponsibly, but whoever does not understand how to enjoy becomes hard to swallow," says Carlo Petrini.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Kulinarisches Kino
10 Jahre Film & Food

Die Erforschung des Begriffs „Geschmack“, seine Beziehungen zum Grundbedürfnis des Essens und der politischen Frage des Hungers war Thema des Workshops „Hunger, Food and Taste“ der Berlinale Talents 2006 und gab als erstes A-Festival der Welt dem Thema Food einen Platz.
2007 eröffnete die Berlinale das Kulinarische Kino und schuf das neue Format „Film, Food & Talk". Das Essen bereiten Köche zu, die sich vom jeweiligen Film des Abends inspirieren lassen.

Von Anfang an waren auch Slow-Food-Aktivisten wie Alice Waters und Carlo Petrini an der Entwicklung des Programms beteiligt.

Für Alice Waters bedeutet Essen mehr als nur Ernährung; es ist eine Lebensart, „a way of life“. Bei der Gründung ihres Restaurants Chez Panisse 1971 in Berkeley, Kalifornien, stand die Suche nach dem guten Geschmack im Mittelpunkt. Sie fand ihn bei den Bauern und Produzenten, die nach „Bio“-Prinzipien arbeiteten. Die Verteidigung der kleinen Erzeuger gegen die Macht der Nahrungsindustrie ist auch Kern der Slow-Food-Philosophie.

Hier ergibt sich die Schnittmenge mit der Berlinale, die sich auch für die Stärkung der kleineren, unabhängigen Produktionen einsetzt. „Endlich sollte eine Diskussion darüber aufkommen, dass Lebensmittel die wichtigsten Überlebensmittel sind“, schrieb Dieter Kosslick 2007. „Der Kampf um gutes, gesundes Essen ist so wichtig wie der Kampf für die Vielfalt des unabhängigen Films. Kultur und Agrikultur sind zwei Seiten der gleichen Münze.“

Die Stars der Küche und des Kinos entdeckten schnell das neue Format und machten das Kulinarische Kino zu einer interdisziplinären Plattform. 2008 kam nach seinem Erfolg auf der documenta Ferran Adrià in das Spiegelzelt gegenüber dem Martin-Gropius-Bau. 2009 eröffnete FOOD, INC. das Programm im Friedrichstadt-Palast. 1.800 Zuschauer sahen die Premiere des bis heute aktuellen Films über die dunklen Seiten der Lebensmittelindustrie. In den folgenden Jahren waren u.a. Tilda Swinton (Io Sono L'Amore | Ich bin die Liebe), Jean Reno (Comme un chef) und Nigel Slater (Toast) zu Gast. 2012 präsentierte der international ausgezeichnete Sternekoch Andoni Luis Aduriz seinen Film Mugaritz B.S.O. (Regie: Felipe Ugarte, Juantxo Sardon) und das entsprechende Menü. L’Amour des Moules von Willemiek Kluijfhout brachte 2013 Sternekoch Niels Henkel zum Kochen. 2014 kamen die spanischen Roca-Brüder (damals Platz 1 der Liste der 50 besten Restaurants der Welt) mit ihrem Film El Somni (Co-Regie: Franc Aleu) und stellten sich außerdem für das Menü an den Herd.

Der Diskurs über die Bedeutung des Essens hat seit der Gründung des Kulinarischen Kinos an Bedeutung gewonnen. Wie in der Wirtschaft klafft in der Ernährung die Schere zwischen Armut und Reichtum, zwischen Hunger und Überfluss immer weiter auseinander. Die Nahrungsindustrie verschleiert den unverantwortlichen Umgang mit den Ressourcen. Essen wird trivial, Geschmack genormt. Dagegen formiert sich eine kulinarische Opposition aus Spitzenköchen, Food-Aktivisten und nicht zuletzt den Menschen, die die Freude wiederentdecken, selbst zu kochen.

Genuss und Verantwortung sind keine Widersprüche, lautet das Mantra des Kulinarischen Kinos. „Denn wer ohne Verstand genießt, handelt verantwortungslos, wer aber nicht versteht zu genießen, wird ungenießbar“, sagt Carlo Petrini.