Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Homage

Der Himmel über Berlin

Wings of Desire

## ## ##
Wings of Desire marked Wim Wenders’ “homecoming” and was his first film in Germany after an eight-year stay in America. The film’s main characters are guardian angels; benevolent, invisible beings in trench coats, who can hear the thoughts of mortals and attempt to comfort them. One of them, Damiel, falls in love with beautiful trapeze artist Marion and wishes to become human, even if it means renouncing his immortality. Peter Falk, playing himself, a former guardian angel who lived through Damiel’s imminent leap out of eternity, encourages him to take the step.
The film is narrated from the point of view of the angels, who see the world in black and white. Only when Damiel becomes human does the world of colours and tastes reveal itself to him. He is forced to abandon his old friend Cassiel to loneliness.
Wings of Desire was honoured with the Best Director Award in Cannes and received the Filmband in Gold Award in Germany, as did the film’s legendary cameraman Henri Alekan. The film has achieved cult status all around the world and was remade under the title City of Angels, featuring Nicolas Cage and Meg Ryan in the lead roles. (Wim Wenders Stiftung. A Foundation)

Germany (Federal Republic from 1949) / France 1987, 128 min

by

Wim Wenders

with

Bruno Ganz
Solveig Dommartin
Otto Sander
Curt Bois
Peter Falk
Hans Martin Stier
Elmar Wilms
Sigurd Rachman
Beatrice Manowski
Lajos Kovács
Bruno Rosaz
Laurent Petigand
Bernhard Eisenschitz
Erika Rabau
Crime & The City Solution

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Hommage

Der Himmel über Berlin

Wings of Desire

## ## ##
Der Himmel über Berlin markierte Wim Wenders’ Heimkehr und war sein erster Film in Deutschland nach achtjährigem Aufenthalt in Amerika. Die Hauptfiguren des Films sind Schutzengel, freundliche unsichtbare Wesen in Trenchcoats, die den Gedanken der Sterblichen zuhören können und versuchen, sie zu trösten. Einer von ihnen, Damiel, verliebt sich in die schöne Trapezkünstlerin Marion und hat den Wunsch, ein Mensch zu werden, auch wenn er dafür seine Unsterblichkeit aufgeben muss. Peter Falk, der sich selbst spielt, aber auch einen ehemaligen Engel, der Damiels Absprung aus der Ewigkeit schon hinter sich hat, ermutigt ihn zu seinem Schritt.
Der Film ist aus der Perspektive der Engel erzählt. Sie sehen die Welt in Schwarz-Weiß. Erst als Mensch eröffnen sich Damiel die Farben und Geschmäcker. Er lässt seinen alten Freund Cassiel allein zurück.
Der Himmel über Berlin wurde in Cannes mit dem Regiepreis ausgezeichnet und in Deutschland mit dem Filmband in Gold, ebenso wie sein legendärer Kameramann, Henri Alekan. Der Film wurde ein Kultfilm in der ganzen Welt und unter dem Titel City of Angels mit Nicolas Cage und Meg Ryan in den Hauptrollen neu verfilmt. (Wim Wenders Stiftung)

Deutschland (BRD ab 1949) / Frankreich 1987, 128 Min

von

Wim Wenders

mit

Bruno Ganz
Solveig Dommartin
Otto Sander
Curt Bois
Peter Falk
Hans Martin Stier
Elmar Wilms
Sigurd Rachman
Beatrice Manowski
Lajos Kovács
Bruno Rosaz
Laurent Petigand
Bernhard Eisenschitz
Erika Rabau
Crime & The City Solution