Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Les Choses et les Mots de Mudimbe

Mudimbe's Order of Things

## ##
Les Mots et les Choses de Mudimbe is a portrait of the Congolese intellectual V-Y Mudimbe, one of the most important living African philosophers and writers. Mudimbe was born in 1941 in Likasi, then the Belgian Congo and today the Democratic Republic of the Congo. At first he studied economics in Kinshasa, later getting his doctorate in Romance Philology in Paris. The linguistic genius – he speaks around 10 languages and can read in another 8 – has taught at a large number of prestigious universities in the world, in France, Belgium, Mexico, Canada, Great Britain, Israel, and Germany. In 1979 Mudimbe emigrated to the USA, where he is still Professor Emeritus at Duke University. In his work, which has received numerous awards, Mudimbe is concerned with the past and present of Africa between tradition and European influence, and with the processes of breakup and destruction caused by colonialism, missionary activity, and development aid. For instance, his novel Shaba deux, which came out in 1978, treats the horrible events under the Mobutu dictatorship. His novel Le Bel Immonde (1976) appeared in German in 1982 under the title Auch wir sind schmutzige Flüsse and in English in 1989 as Before the Birth of the Moon. His monographs The Invention of Africa (1988) and The Idea of Africa, in which he attempts to liberate Africa from its positioning as the ‘absolute other’ in Western thought, are considered classics and their significance is often compared to Edward Said’s Orientalism.
The film is an unusual portrait by one of the the most well-known filmmakers in Cameroon. An “introduction, abduction, seduction” (Dorothee Wenner) into Mudimbe’s work and thought. Organized like a book, in which new chapters are continually being opened up, introduced each time with handwritten text panels, the film inserts itself into this highly complex thought, this biography that practically covers the whole globe. The house where Mudimbe lives becomes a structure that houses this life and thought, and thus the film. Only at the very end does the camera come to rest in a shot that can be taken as inviting. Precisely in its tenacity, the film unfolds into an architecture of alternating perspectives, it creates configurations, it traces assemblages that embody the knowledge and thought of Mudimbe: never conclusive, always in connection (Édouard Glissant would say rélations). The house, Mudimbe’s stories and references, and thus the film are filled with books, photos – of family and companions and friends – memories, diplomas, countless objects, statues, and technical devices. Encompassing an entire century, but still open to everything, the old as well as the new. It’s about Hegel, Derrida, Aristotle, about Hannah Arendt, Clifford Geertz, Pierre Bourdieu, and – as is clear from the title – about Foucault; about the Berlin Africa Conference, about the philosophical emergence of thinking about ‘Rasse’ during the German colonial period Rwanda/Burundi. About African philosophers and a critical investigation of occidental production of knowledge. And what it’s about over and over again is: how knowledge arises, is taught, how it is conveyed. Mudimbe creates fascinating cross connections, a way of ‘reading,’ of analyzing the past and the present, constantly critical, constantly curious. His own private histories also come into play, as the son of parents from different ‘ethnicities,’ educated by the Benedictines (a comparison of different religions also comes up). His thought, his teaching, his research is not an end in itself, “but he also means himself when he says that it’s actually better ‘for the system’ if philosophers are dead – otherwise they cause trouble.” (Dorothee Wenner)
Bekolo once again shows himself to be a delightful portrait filmmaker. Like in his magnificent – radically short – portrait of Djibril Diop Mambéty (La grammaire de ma grand-mère, F 1996), he creates a mise-en-scène from speech and the ever present possibility of contradicting it, of the “possible encounters ... with the question of what film can say and how it can narrate something together with someone, with other things and people” (Brigitta Kuster). An unusual film, as fascinating as its object/subject, opulent, sensitive, clever, and radical. Another station of delightful postcolonial, cosmopolitan filmmaking.
(Nanna Heidenreich)

Cameroon 2014, 243 min

by

Jean-Pierre Bekolo

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Les Choses et les Mots de Mudimbe

Mudimbe's Order of Things

## ##
Les Mots et les Choses de Mudimbe ist ein Porträt des kongolesischen Universalgelehrten Valentin-Yves Mudimbe, einem der wichtigsten lebenden afrikanischen Philosophen und Autoren. Mudimbe wurde 1941 in Likasi, damals Belgisch-Kongo, der heutigen Demokratischen Republik Kongo geboren. Er begann zunächst ein Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Kinshasa und promovierte dann in Romanischer Philologie in Paris. Das Sprachgenie – er spricht etwa 10 Sprachen, in 8 weiteren liest er – hat an fast allen namhaften Universitäten der Welt gelehrt, in Frankreich, Belgien, Mexiko, Kanada, Großbritannien, Israel und Deutschland. 1979 emigirierte Mudimbe in die USA, wo er noch heute Professor Emeritus an der Duke University ist. In seinem Werk, das mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet wurde, befasst Mudimbe sich mit Geschichte und Gegenwart Afrikas zwischen Tradition und europäischem Einfluss und den Prozessen von Auflösung und Zerstörung, verursacht durch Kolonialisierung, Missionierung und Entwicklungshilfe. Sein Roman Shaba deux, der 1978 erschien, behandelt beispielsweise die grausamen Ereignissen unter der Mobutu-Diktatur. Sein Roman Le Bel Immonde (1976) ist 1982 auf deutsch unter dem Titel Auch wir sind schmutzige Flüsse erschienen. Seine Monografien The Invention of Africa (1988) sowie The Idea of Africa (1994), in denen er versucht, Afrika von der Setzung als ‚absolutes Anderes‘ im westlichen Denken zu befreien, gelten als Klassiker und werden in ihrer Bedeutung oft mit Edward Saids Orientalismus verglichen.
Der Film ist ein ungewöhnliches Porträt von einem der bekanntesten Filmemacher Kameruns. Eine „Einführung, Entführung, Verführung“ (Dorothee Wenner) in das Werk und das Denken Mudimbes. Angelegt wie ein Buch, in dem stets neue Kapitel aufgeschlagen werden, jeweils mit handschriftlichen Texttafeln eingeführt, lässt sich der Film im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes ein, auf ein höchst komplexes Denken, eine geradezu weltumspannende Biographie. Das Haus, in dem Mudimbe wohnt, wird zur behausenden Architektur dieses Lebens und Denkens und damit des Films: die Kamera wird es erst zum Schluss verlassen, in einer Einstellung verharrend, die als Einladung zu verstehen ist. Der Film entfaltet sich gerade in seiner Beharrlichkeit einer Architektur wechselnder Perspektiven, schafft Anordnungen, verfolgt Sammlungen, die das Wissen und das Denken Mudimbes verkörpern: niemals abgeschlossen, stets in Verbindung (‚Rélations‘, würde Édouard Glissant das nennen). So sind das Haus, Mudimbes Erzählungen und Verweise, und damit der Film angefüllt mit Büchern, Fotos – von Familie und Weggefährten und Freunden –, Erinnerungen, Diplomen, zahllosen Objekten, Statuen, und technischen Geräten. Ein ganzes Jahrhundert umspannend, und dabei stets offen für alles, für Altes wie Neues. Es geht um Hegel, Derrida, Aristoteles, um Hannah Arendt, Clifford Geertz, Pierre Bourdieu – und der Titel verrät es – um Foucault; um die Berliner Afrika Konferenz, um die philosophische Entstehung des ‚Rasse’gedankens während der deutschen Kolonialperiode Ruanda/Burundi. Um afrikanische Philosophen und um eine kritische Untersuchung okzidentaler Wissensproduktion. Darum geht es vor allem und immer wieder: wie Wissen entsteht, gelehrt wird, wie es sich vermittelt. Mudimbe stellt faszinierende Querverbindungen her, eine stets kritische, stets neugierige Weise, Geschichte und Gegenwart zu ‚lesen‘, zu analysieren. Dabei kommt auch seine private Geschichte ins Spiel, als Sohn von Eltern verschiedener ‚Ethnien‘, von den Benediktinern ausgebildet (der Vergleich verschiedener Religionen kommt ebenfalls zur Sprache). Sein Denken, seine Lehre, seine Forschung ist für ihn nicht Selbstzweck, so
Dorothee Wenner, „aber meint wohl auch sich selbst, wenn er sagt, dass Philosophen ‚fürs System‘ eigentlich stets besser tot sind – sonst rühren sie auf.“
Bekolo zeigt sich erneut als kongenialer Porträt-Filmemacher. Wie schon bei seinem ähnlich ungewöhnlichen – radikal kurzem – Porträt Djibril Diop Mambétys (La grammaire de ma grand-mère, F 1996) kreiert er ein Mise-en-scène der Rede und stets möglichen Gegenrede, der “möglichen Begegnungen ... mit der Frage, was Film vermag und wie er mit jemandem, mit anderen und anderem zusammen etwas erzählt“ (Brigitta Kuster). Ein ungewöhnlicher Film, faszinierend wie das Objekt/Subjekt seiner Erzählung, opulent, sensibel, klug und radikal. Eine weitere Station postkolonialen, kosmopolitischen Filmschaffens.
(Nanna Heidenreich)

Kamerun 2014, 243 Min

von

Jean-Pierre Bekolo