Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Mizu no koe o kiku

The Voice of Water

## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Cinema Impact was the name of a workshop launched by Masashi Yamamoto in 2012. It produced fifteen short films, including one directed by Yamamoto himself about a Zainichi (a Korean living in Japan) who is exploited by a shady sect and made into their figurehead. The success of other Cinema Impact films encouraged the director to expand this short prologue into a feature-length film.
Mizu no koe o kiku is set in Okubo, Tokyo’s Koreatown, where Minjon receives outcasts of all kinds and listens to their stories of woe, responding to them with flowery Korean platitudes they are unable to understand. Her act is so successful that a group of canny businesspeople make use of her standing to found the God’s Water sect. Enter Minjon’s father, who is being pursued by brutal debt collectors and seeks help from his estranged daughter.
Yamamoto doesn’t just manage to fuse satire, yakuza trash and a moral message with his trademark sympathy for the underdogs of Japanese society, he also takes his protagonist seriously, ultimately allowing her to rebel against the very system she created, turn toward the shamanism of her ancestors and embrace her Korean roots.

Japan 2014, 129 min

by

Masashi Yamamoto

with

Hyunri
Shuri
Natsuko Nakamura
Akihiro Kamataki
Kei Oda
Hayate Matsuzaki
Riku Hagiwara
Izumi Minai
Jun Murakami

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Mizu no koe o kiku

The Voice of Water

## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Cinema Impact nannte sich der Workshop, den Masashi Yamamoto 2012 ins Leben rief. Es entstanden 15 kurze Filme, darunter auch ein von Yamamoto selbst inszenierter über eine Zainichi (in Japan lebende Koreaner), die von einer zwielichtigen Sekte als Symbolfigur missbraucht wird. Der Erfolg anderer Cinema-Impact-Filme ermutigte den Regisseur, dem Prolog einen abendfüllenden Film folgen zu lassen.
Die Geschichte spielt in Tokios Koreatown Okubo, wo Minjon Outcasts aller Art empfängt, sich von ihrem Leid erzählen lässt und mit blumigen Allgemeinplätzen in koreanischer Sprache antwortet. Die Masche ist bald derart erfolgreich, dass clevere Geschäftsleute mit ihr die Sekte "God's Water" gründen. Auftritt Minjons Vater, der von brutalen Geldeintreibern verfolgt wird und bei seiner entfremdeten Tochter Hilfe sucht.
Yamamoto gelingt es nicht nur, Satire, Yakuza-Trash und Moritat mit der für ihn zum Signet gewordenen Sympathie für die Underdogs der japanischen Gesellschaft zu verbinden, er nimmt auch seine Hauptfigur ernst, die schließlich gegen das selbstgeschaffene System rebelliert, sich dem Schamanismus ihrer Vorfahren zuwendet und auf ihre koreanischen Wurzeln besinnt.

Japan 2014, 129 Min

von

Masashi Yamamoto

mit

Hyunri
Shuri
Natsuko Nakamura
Akihiro Kamataki
Kei Oda
Hayate Matsuzaki
Riku Hagiwara
Izumi Minai
Jun Murakami