Berlinale: Yearbook


65th Berlin International Film Festival
February 05 - 15, 2015

“Hats off to Dieter Kosslick, the curators have made an incredible selection. It’s been incredibly difficult to decide on the prizes (…) there were so many quality films that it was hard not to award many, many of the films.”

Jury President Darren Aronofsky during the Award Ceremony on February 14, 2015

Best of Berlinale 2015

A pink dress. A little girl. Beaming with joy, she raises the Golden Bear aloft. The auditorium rings with deafening applause, a wave of enthusiasm. The audience’s exuberant appreciation slowly brings the little girl to tears. She is overcome, wipes her face, almost in embarrassment. She goes up to the rostrum, gives a final broad grin and then, in the maelstrom of emotions, her voice fails her.

A screenwriter with all possible artistic licence at their disposal could not have better written the scene which played out on the stage of the Berlinale Palast on Saturday, February 14, 2015 at around 8.30 pm. The little girl’s name is Hanna Saedi and she is the niece of the man who, in spite of his continuing absence, has been one of the most present filmmakers at the Berlinale of recent years: Jafar Panahi. He is the Iranian director who won the Silver Bear for Best Script (Pardé | Closed Curtain) in 2013 and whose seat on the 2011 International Jury had to remain empty because his country’s government had placed him under house arrest and banned him from pursuing his profession. Both restrictions were still in force in 2015 but, in spite of these attempts to silence him, Panahi’s film Taxi made it to Berlin and created this image of the little girl raising a golden trophy into the air. Reality meets the dreams of the cinema – or, as President of the International Jury Darren Aronofsky put it when explaining the jury’s decision: “Panahi created a love letter to cinema. His film is filled with love for his art, his community, his country, and his audience.”

Dieter Kosslick at the Award Ceremony of the Independent Juries

Amidst all the beauty of the moment one should not forget the situation in which this award ceremony took place. A situation which meant that giving the top prize to a filmmaker who, for years, has been suffering under the repressions of a regime which wants to see him silenced, was both very special and an “important signal against the constraining of art” (Andreas Borcholte, Spiegel Online, February 14, 2015): on January 7, 2015 Islamists virtually obliterated the editorial department of the French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo in a bloodbath; on the very day that the Bears were being presented, a man shot at a Copenhagen cafe in which a panel discussion on the topic of "art, blasphemy and free speech" was being held. The separation between cinema and the real world was more fragile than ever. And so, during the presentation of the Prizes by the Independent Juries on the afternoon of February 14, Festival Director Dieter Kosslick urged the audience not to forget the outside world, the realities beyond the hubbub of the festival: “In his short speech, he finds brave, even angry words for the connection between planet Berlinale and the rest of the world; for the fact that the festival is only worth anything at all if the one is concerned with the other.” (Marie Rövekamp, Tilman Strasser, Der Tagesspiegel, February 14, 2015). Kosslick, who extended his commitment as Festival Director until 2019 only in November, appeared liberated and, already at the festival opening, made the cheeky promise that he will only show good films from now on because it is stipulated in his contract. He has been proven right.

An Uncompromising Eye for Quality

Because in 2015 everything came together. Art embraced cinema embraced politics. Strong subject matters were packed into even stronger films: “This year the Competition astonished with a remarkably multi-faceted, multi-voiced programme. It tackled the topics of freedom, abuse, sexual oppression, exploitation – all highly political. But regular viewers were not left heavy-hearted in their cinema seats after the screenings. The subtlety of approach, the artfulness and occasionally even the comic were remarkable” (Wenke Husmann, Die Zeit, February 15, 2015).

Happy winners: Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay

No wonder the International Jury found it difficult to select the winners from amongst so many high-quality films. This resulted in two ties: Radu Jude (Aferim!) and Małgorzata Szumowska (Body) were each awarded a Silver Bear for Best Director; Evgeniy Privin and Sergey Mikhalchuk (Pod electricheskimi oblakami | Under Electric Clouds) and Sturla Brandth Grøvlen all won Silver Bears for their outstanding cinematography. Brandth Grøvlen was responsible for Victoria, the German Competition entry by Sebastian Schipper, a 140 minute tour de force through night-time Berlin, all captured in a single take. South America took home the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize (El Club | The Club by Pablo Larraín) and the Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize (Ixcanul | Ixcanul Volcano by Jayro Bustamante). The award for Best Script went to Patricio Guzmán for his documentary essay El botón de nácar (The Pearl Button). With an unabashed openness, these films brought repressed traumas and conflicts of their societies to the big screen or – like Andrew Haigh in 45 Years – the unspoken and unacknowledged in the microcosm of a marriage which is suddenly overwhelmed by the past. His main actors Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay shone so brightly in this drama that both had their thespian achievements recognised with a Silver Bear. The critics were captivated by this fantastic selection of films “which confirm the Berlinale’s age-old reputation as a politically relevant festival and which are, at the same time, not just topically well-intentioned but also consistently strong on an aesthetic level. Meanwhile, there was not a single wavering in the choice of the winning films, not one bad decision, but instead a totally uncompromising eye for quality.” (Jan Schulz-Ojala, Der Tagesspiegel, February 16, 2015).

The International Jury on the Red Carpet: Darren Aronofsky, Claudia Llosa, Martha De Laurentiis, Festival Director Dieter Kosslick and Bong Joon-ho

The International Jury came in for special praise from all sides. President Darren Aronofsky was accompanied by Daniel Brühl, Bong Joon-ho, Martha De Laurentiis, Claudia Llosa, Audrey Tautou and Mad Men creator Matthew Weiner. During the closing evening they did not want to be called up to the stage individually because they had made all their decisions jointly. Likeable, competent, trustworthy. Rolling Stone spoke of “the first jury with whom you’d like to go for a beer” (Hannah Bahl, Rolling Stone, February 6, 2015).

Berlinale in Series

There were no Bears for US cinema which, in 2015, had rather a weak showing in all sections. The problems appear to be systemic, as Darren Aronofsky explained in an interview with Dieter Kosslick two weeks before the festival began: in an environment in which Hollywood produces more and more prequels, sequels and reboots of fancifully costumed superhero characters, filmmakers are turning to alternative possibilities of storytelling – and to one in particular: the serial formats which have been experiencing a huge boom in recent years, firstly in television and later on the internet. The Berlinale once again intensified its commitment to the serial and, as part of the newly established Berlinale Special Series section, screened seven new productions as cinema premieres. From ambitious German works like Blochin (Blochin - The Living and the Dead) and Deutschland 83 to ‘doyen’ Vince Gilligan who featured with Breaking Bad spin-off Better Call Saul. The European Film Market observed the Drama Series Day and the Berlinale Co-Production Market also devoted itself to the discipline. Generation screened the first five episodes of the Danish production Heartless. The immense success of the series is almost certainly connected to the new methods of distribution, namely, distribution over the internet. In response to this trend, in 2015 the World Cinema Fund initiated its own Video-on-Demand portal where selected projects it has supported are being made available to a, if possible, worldwide audience.

Natalie Portman

There was the Hollywood glamour of the stars, but that formed only a part of the festival’s true quality and was not essential to it. Dieter Kosslick clearly defined the 65th Berlinale and recalled producer Karl Baumgartner, who was honoured with the Berlinale Camera last year and who died shortly after the 2014 festival: “Speaking to Screen as the festival enters its final days, Kosslick recalled that “many of the films shown this year reflect his philosophy: ‘Baumi’ was the pioneer of those so-called ‘little’ films which make a really big impression, and he was a great inspiration for so many filmmakers through his co-productions”’ (Martin Blaney, Screen Daily, February 12, 2015). But naturally the amounts of data transmission surged dangerously when Natalie Portman and Christian Bale arrived for the premiere of Terence Malick’s Knight of Cups or Cate Blanchett and Lily James stepped onto the Red Carpet for Cinderella, remade by Kenneth Branagh. The ‘celebrity and me’ selfie has well and truly replaced the classic autograph as favourite medium of the fans. The Berlinale created a social media hub: a curated website which brought together the best posts not just from the audience – because the stars themselves also wildly snapped away on their way into the premiere cinemas. The image of the image of the image extended kaleidoscopically to the nth degree.

Stories from the Archive

The 65th Berlinale shone with individual films, with the breadth of its thematic and aesthetic range, but also with common threads woven through the works in the sections. The new, prominent significance of archive in the digital age was particularly striking. A plethora of films in Panorama, Forum and Forum Expanded worked with original material including Une Jeunesse Allemande (A German Youth) from French director Jean-Gabriel Périot which recounted the journey of the RAF leaders right up to Stammheim prison using exclusively archive footage. And here, too, the topic of historiography pushed itself to the foreground, the repressed was addressed and made visible. Historical footage was confronted with present-day images in a multiplicity of ways, whether in the context of History with a capital H as in Ce gigantesque retournement de la terre (This Gigantic Furrowing of the Ground) by Claire Angelini, which dealt with the Normandy battlefields in Forum, or as personal, individual history in Sag mir Mnemosyne (Tell me Mnemosyne) in Perspektive Deutsches Kino in which filmmaker Lisa Sperling undertook a journey to the locations where her uncle worked as a cinematographer decades before.

Director Lisa Sperling and her team

‘Place’ was the predominant subject matter in Perspektive Deutsche Kino, something already evidenced by the titles of the selected works: Der Bunker (The Bunker), Ein idealer Ort (A Perfect Place), Freiräume (Unoccupied)... Section head Linda Söffker saw a young generation at work which is slowly liberating itself from the inflexible and complicated German film funding system and bravely self-financing its films. "Beyond the system" could have been its motto, since the demonstrations by students of the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin – based in the Filmhaus at the festival’s centre – against the restaffing of the post of director by the government seemed like an echo of the films made by the 2015 Perspektive directors seeking their own way beyond the long march through the institutions.

In the run-up to the festival, Panorama curator Wieland Speck was in fighting form like never before, placing the topic of abuse right at the top of the agenda in his film selection. He, too, advocated cinema as a political instrument which must face up to the realities of the external world in all openness and not just get bogged down in itself. With Danielův Svět (Daniel’s World) by Veronika Lišková, he showed a documentary about a male paedophile which was, as he emphasised, the “ultimate taboo-breaker”. Taboos must urgently be broken, and his 2015 programme could make an important contribution to this. In saying this, he was also placing himself in the tradition of a particular concept of cinema, one out of which the winners of the Berlinale Camera in 2015 also come. Naum Kleiman, former director of the Moscow Eisenstein archive, explicitly understands cinematography as a weapon in the fight for a better, more open society. This was strikingly in evidence in Tatiana Brandrup’s film homage Cinema: A Public Affair which was screened after the award presentation. Marcel Ophüls was recognised as “one of the most significant filmmakers, chroniclers and enlighteners of the current age” and The Memory of Justice, his monumental work about the Nuremberg Trials and their consequences, was screened in tribute in Berlinale Special.

Awarded with a Berlinale Camera 2015: Marcel Ophüls and Naum Kleiman

The Memory of Justice was shown in a restored version and was thus part of the Berlinale’s efforts to preserve cinema heritage in the digital age. The Berlinale Classics offered an expedition through film history via fresh copies, from E A Dupont’s 1925 Varieté to Ian Fleming’s 1964 Goldfinger. The Retrospective presented a colourful spectacle of a very special kind which can only unfold in all its glory in the darkness of the cinema, screening a selection of films made in Technicolor, the film colour process which bestowed the preternaturally glamourous glow upon Hollywood from the mid-1930s onwards which is still the stuff of legend to this day. Something which Wim Wenders, who was awarded the Honorary Golden Bear in 2015 and had the Homage devoted to him, has also tackled in his works. Small wonder then that the presentation of the honour was followed by a screening of Der amerikanische Freund (The American Friend).

Three Anniversaries: Forum Expanded, Berlinale Shorts and Culinary Cinema

Forum Expanded celebrated its tenth anniversary and section head Stefanie Schulte Strathaus cast an amazed look at the transformation of media during this decade – taking a certain degree of pride in what the section itself has achieved with its continuing work towards its curatorial goal: the dissolution of the borders between fine art, performance, installation and cinema. Along with Forum section head Christoph Terhechte, she was delighted to be returning to the Akademie der Künste on Hanseatenweg after a 14-year absence. This enabled them to gather the whole breadth of the twin sections’ components – screenings, exhibitions, panels – together under one roof, and to enhance the meshing of the diverse elements.

The head of Forum Expanded Stefanie Schulte Strathaus and Dieter Kosslick

There were also two other anniversaries to celebrate: short films at the Berlinale turned 60. Berlinale Shorts curator Maike Mia Höhne provided a laconic overview of the last six decades: “Well, in the 60s there was a conspicuously large amount of documentaries, then the East Europeans arrived on the scene with an incredible number of animations, then there were the notorious 90s with its narrative jokes. And then came the 2000s where it’s really one fiction after another, and each one stronger than the last, I’d almost say, if you take each by itself.’ (Interview with Deutschlandradio Kultur, February 9, 2015). And Culinary Cinema has already reached its tenth year and recognised both Alice Waters and Carlo Petrini as two of the spiritual parents of the section with a Berlinale Camera.

There were two changes in personnel: Mattijs Wouter Knoul moved from Berlinale Talents to the European Film Market and took over the director’s post from Beki Probst who moved up to the post of EFM President. The vacant position of Berlinale Talents programme director was filled by Florian Weghorn who successfully continued his predecessor’s work under the motto of "2015: A Space Discovery".

As in previous years the cinemas were full right until the end of Berlinale Publikumstag. The most eye-catching and defining image of the 2015 Berlinale had, by then, already been in all the papers: it showed a little girl, overcome with the emotion of the moment, standing in for her uncle Jafar Panahi whose voice, in spite of the repressive measures of the Iranian regime, was loudly heard. And with this he demonstrated what cinema is capable of at its best. As Anke Sterneborg in Süddeutsche Zeitung wrote: “a vital and liberating act of resistance” (February 7, 2015). And that probably held true – considering the current political context – for the entire 2015 festival.

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 505,771
Tickets sold 335,979
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests (press excl.) 16,572
Countries of origin 128
   
Press  
Journalists 3,760
Countries of origin 82
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 405
Total amount of public screenings 1,060
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 8,628
Number of films 748
Number of screenings 1,014
EFM-Stands
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
179
Number of exhibitors 489
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 525
Countries of origin 52
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 300
Countries of origin 75
   
Annual budget € 22 million
The Berlin International Film Festival receives € 6.5 million in institutional funding from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Berlinale: Chronik


65. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
05. - 15. Februar 2015

„Hats off to Dieter Kosslick, the curators have made an incredible selection. It’s been incredibly difficult to decide on the prizes (…) there were so many quality films that it was hard not to award many, many of the films.“

Jury-Präsident Darren Aronofsky bei der Preisverleihung am 14. Februar 2015

Best of Berlinale 2015

Ein rosa Kleid. Ein kleines Mädchen. Sie reckt den Goldenen Bären freudestrahlend in die Höhe. Der Saal applaudiert lautstark, eine Welle der Begeisterung. Unter den überschwänglichen Ovationen des Publikums kommen dem Mädchen langsam die Tränen. Sie ist überwältigt, wischt sich übers Gesicht, fast ein wenig beschämt. Sie läuft zum Rednerpult, ein letztes breites Grinsen, dann versagt ihr die Stimme unter dem Ansturm all der Emotionen.

Ein Drehbuchautor mit allen Freiheiten der Kunst hätte die Szene nicht besser schreiben können, die sich am Samstag, den 14. Februar 2015 gegen 20:30 Uhr auf der Bühne des Berlinale Palastes abspielte. Das kleine Mädchen trägt den Namen Hana Saedi und ist die Nichte des Mannes, der trotz seiner beständigen Abwesenheit einer der präsentesten Filmemacher der Berlinale der letzten Jahre war: Jafar Panahi. Jener iranische Regisseur, der 2013 den Silbernen Bären für das Beste Drehbuch (Pardé | Closed Curtain) gewonnen hatte und dessen Platz in der Internationalen Jury 2011 leer bleiben musste, weil ihn die Regierung seines Landes mit einem Hausarrest und einem Berufsverbot belegt hatte. Beides galt auch noch 2015, doch trotz dieser Versuche, Panahi zum Schweigen zu bringen, hatte es sein Film Taxi nach Berlin geschafft und sorgte für dieses Bild eines kleinen Mädchens, das eine goldene Trophäe in die Luft reckt. Die Wirklichkeit trifft die Träume des Kinos - oder wie der Präsident der Internationalen Jury Darren Aronofsky die Entscheidung begründete: „Panahi created a love letter to cinema. His film is filled with love for his art, his community, his country, and his audience.“

Dieter Kosslick bei der Preisverleihung der Unabhängigen Jurys

Bei all der Schönheit des Augenblicks darf man die Situation, in der diese Preisverleihung stattfand, nicht vergessen. Sie machte den Hauptpreis für einen Filmemacher, der unter den Repressalien eines Regimes, das ihn mundtot sehen will, seit Jahren zu leiden hat, noch einmal ganz besonders und zu einem „wichtigen Signal gegen die Beschränkung der Kunst“ (Andreas Borcholte, Spiegel Online, 14.02.2015): Am 7. Januar 2015 hatten Islamisten die Redaktion der französischen Satirezeitschrift Charlie Hebdo in einem Blutbad nahezu ausradiert, am Tag der Bären-Verleihung selbst schoss ein Mann auf ein Café in Kopenhagen, in dem eine Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema „Kunst, Gotteslästerung und Freie Rede“ stattfand. Die Trennung zwischen Kino und der wirklichen Welt war brüchig wie nie. Und so mahnte Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick bei der Verleihung der Preise der unabhängigen Jurys am Nachmittag des 14. Februar das Außen, die Realitäten jenseits des Festivaltrubels, nicht zu vergessen: „Mutige, ja zornige Worte findet er bei seiner kurzen Ansprache für den Zusammenhang zwischen dem Planeten Berlinale und dem Rest der Welt. Dafür, dass das Festival nur etwas taugt, wenn das eine mit dem anderen etwas zu tun hat“ (Marie Rövekamp, Tilman Strasser, Der Tagesspiegel, 14.02.2015). Kosslick hatte im November erst sein Engagement bis 2019 verlängert, wirkte befreit und gab schon zur Eröffnung keck das Versprechen, dass er ab jetzt nur noch gute Filme zeige, weil das vertraglich so festgelegt worden sei. Er sollte Recht behalten.

Kompromissloser Sinn für Qualität

Denn 2015 stimmte einfach alles. Kunst küsst Kino küsst Politik. Starke Themen, in noch stärkere Filme gepackt: „Diesmal verblüffte der Wettbewerb mit einem bemerkenswert vielschichtigen, vielstimmigen Programm. Es gab die Auseinandersetzung mit Freiheit, Missbrauch, sexueller Unterdrückung, Ausbeutung – hochpolitisch alles. Aber dennoch lag man als Dauergast nicht irgendwann bleischwer im Kinosessel. Bemerkenswert war die Subtilität in der Umsetzung, das Kunstvolle und mitunter sogar Komische“ (Wenke Husmann, Die Zeit, 15.02.2015).

Strahlende Gewinner: Charlotte Rampling und Tom Courtenay

Kein Wunder, dass sich die Internationale Jury schwertat, unter den vielen hochklassigen Filmen die Gewinner zu küren, was zwei Ex-aequo-Entscheidungen zur Folge hatte: Radu Jude (Aferim!) und Małgorzata Szumowska (Body) bekamen jeweils einen Silbernen Bären für die Beste Regie, Evgeniy Privin und Sergey Mikhalchuk (Pod electricheskimi oblakami | Under Electric Clouds) sowie Sturla Brandth Grøvlen jeweils einen Silbernen Bären für ihre herausragende Kamera. Brandth Grøvlen zeichnete verantwortlich für den deutschen Beitrag Victoria von Sebastian Schipper, eine 140-Minuten-Tour-de-Force durch das nächtliche Berlin, die in nur einer einzigen Plansequenz komponiert worden war. Südamerika heimste den Silbernen Bären Großer Preis der Jury (El Club | The Club von Pablo Larraín) und den Silbernen Bären Alfred-Bauer-Preis ein (Ixcanul | Ixcanul Volcano von Jayro Bustamante). Der Preis für das Beste Drehbuch ging an Patricio Guzmán für sein Dokumentarfilm-Essay El botón de nácar (Der Perlmuttknopf). Mit unverhohlenem Blick brachten diese Filme verdrängte Traumata und Konflikte ihrer Gesellschaften auf die Leinwand oder – wie Andrew Haigh mit 45 Years – das Unausgesprochene, Uneingestandene in der Mikrostruktur Ehe, welche plötzlich von der Vergangenheit überwältigt wird. Seine beiden Hauptdarsteller Charlotte Rampling und Tom Courtenay brillierten in diesem Drama so sehr, dass beide mit dem Silbernen Bären für ihre darstellerische Leistung ausgezeichnet wurden. Die Kritik war begeistert über diese fantastische Auswahl an Filmen, „die den Uralt-Nimbus der Berlinale als politisch relevantes Festival bestätigen – und zugleich nicht nur thematisch gut gemeint, sondern auch durchweg ästhetisch stark sind. Gleichzeitig nicht ein einziges Wackeln bei der Wahl der Gewinnerfilme, keinerlei Fehlentscheidung, sondern kompromissloser Sinn für Qualität“ (Jan Schulz-Ojala, Der Tagesspiegel, 16.02.2015).

DIe Internationale Jury auf dem Roten Teppich: Darren Aronofsky, Claudia Llosa, Martha De Laurentiis, Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick und Bong Joon-ho

Ein Sonderlob von allen Seiten erhielt die Internationale Jury. Zum Präsidenten Darren Aronofsky gesellten sich Daniel Brühl, Bong Joon-ho, Martha De Laurentiis, Claudia Llosa, Audrey Tautou und der Mad-Men-Erfinder Matthew Weiner. Am Abschlussabend wollten die Akteure nicht einzeln auf die Bühne geholt werden, weil man ja alle Entscheidungen gemeinsam getroffen habe. Sympathisch, kompetent, glaubwürdig; der Rolling Stone sprach von der „ersten Jury, mit der man gerne ein Bier trinken würde“ (Hannah Bahl, Rolling Stone, 06.02.2015).

Berlinale in Serie

Keinen Bären gab es für das US-amerikanische Kino, das 2015 in fast allen Sektionen eher schwach vertreten war. Die Schwierigkeiten schienen systemisch, wie Darren Aronofsky in einem Interview mit Dieter Kosslick zwei Wochen vor Festivalbeginn erklärte: In einem Umfeld, in dem in Hollywood mehr und mehr Pre-, Sequels und Reboots von fantasievoll kostümierten Superheldenfiguren produziert werden, wenden sich die Filmemacher alternativen Möglichkeiten des Erzählens zu – und einer ganz besonders: den seriellen Formaten, die schon seit Jahren einen ungeheuren Aufschwung erlebt hatten, zunächst im Fernsehen, später im Internet. Die Berlinale verstärkte noch einmal ihr Bemühen um das Serial und zeigte im Rahmen der neu eingerichteten Reihe Berlinale Special Series sieben neue Produktionen als Kinopremieren. Von ambitionierten deutschen Werken wie Blochin und Deutschland 83 bis hin zum „Altmeister“ Vince Gilligan, der mit dem Breaking-Bad-Spin-Off Better Call Saul vertreten war. Der European Film Market beging den Drama Series Day und auch der Berlinale Co-Production Market widmete sich dem Thema. Generation zeigte die ersten fünf Folgen der dänischen Produktion Heartless. Der immense Erfolg der Serien hängt mit Sicherheit auch mit den neuen Vertriebswegen zusammen, sprich der Distribution über das Internet. Um auf diesen Trend zu reagieren, initiierte der World Cinema Fund 2015 ein eigenes Video-on-Demand-Portal, auf dem ausgesuchte geförderte Projekte einem (möglichst) weltweiten Publikum angeboten werden.

Natalie Portman

Es gab den Hollywood-Glanz der Stars, aber er machte nur einen Teil der eigentlichen Qualität des Festivals aus, er war nicht wesentlich. Dieter Kosslick ordnete die 65. Berlinale klar ein und erinnerte an den im letzten Jahr mit der Berlinale Kamera ausgezeichneten Produzenten Karl Baumgartner, der kurz nach dem Festival 2014 verstorben war: „Speaking to Screen as the festival enters its final days, Kosslick recalled that ‚many of the films shown this year reflect his philosophy: ‚Baumi‘ was the pioneer of those so-called ‚little‘ films which make a really big impression, and he was a great inspiration for so many film-makers through his co-productions“ (Martin Blaney, Screen Daily, 12.02.2015). Aber natürlich schwollen die Datenmengen bedrohlich an, als Natalie Portman und Christian Bale zur Premiere von Terence Malicks Knight of Cups kamen oder Cate Blanchett und Lily James über den Roten Teppich für Cinderella liefen, den Kenneth Branagh neu verfilmt hatte. Das „Celebrity+Ich“-Selfie löste das klassische Autogramm als Leitmedium der Fans endgültig ab. Die Berlinale richtete ein Social Hub ein, eine kuratierte Website, die die besten Posts nicht nur des Publikums versammelte. Denn auch die Stars selbst knipsten wie wild auf ihrem Weg in die Premierenkinos. Die Blickachsen spannten sich kaleidoskopisch in Beobachtungen zweiter, dritter und vierter Ordnung auf.

Geschichten aus dem Archiv

Die 65. Berlinale glänzte, in Einzelfilmen, in all ihrer thematischen und ästhetischen Breite, aber auch in roten Fäden, die quer durch die Werke der Sektionen liefen. Die neue, herausragende Bedeutung des Archivs im digitalen Zeitalter fiel ins Auge. Eine Fülle von Filmen in Panorama, Forum und Forum Expanded arbeitete mit Originalmaterial, bis hin zu Une Jeunesse Allemande (Eine Deutsche Jugend) des Franzosen Jean-Gabriel Périot, der den Weg der RAF-Köpfe bis nach Stammheim nur mit Hilfe von Archivaufnahmen erzählte. Und auch hier drängte das Thema der Geschichtsschreibung in den Vordergrund, das Verdrängte wurde aufgegriffen, präsent gemacht. Historische Aufnahmen sahen sich in einer Vielzahl von Facetten konfrontiert mit den Bildern von heute, sei es im Kontext der großen GESCHICHTE wie in Ce gigantesque retournement de la terre (This Gigantic Furrowing of the Ground) von Claire Angelini, die sich im Forum mit dem Kriegsschauplatz Normandie auseinandersetzte, oder als individuell-persönliche Geschichte wie in Sag mir Mnemosyne, in dem sich die Filmemacherin Lisa Sperling in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino auf eine Reise zu den Orten begibt, an denen ihr Onkel als Kameramann vor Jahrzehnten gearbeitet hat.

Regisseurin Lisa Sperling mit ihrem Team

„Orte“ waren 2015 das beherrschende Thema der Perspektive Deutsche Kino, das sich schon an den Titeln der gezeigten Werke ablesen lies: Der Bunker, Ein idealer Ort, Freiräume... Sektionsleiterin Linda Söffker sah eine junge Generation am Werk, die sich langsam aus den starren und komplizierten deutschen Förderstrukturen zu lösen beginnt und mutig auf eigene Rechnung filmt. „Jenseits des Systems“ hätte die Überschrift lauten können – die Demonstrationen von Studenten der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin, die ja inmitten des Festivalzentrums im Filmhaus beheimatet ist, gegen die Neubesetzung des Direktorenpostens durch die Politik wirkte wie ein Echo auf die Werke der Regisseure in der Perspektive 2015, die sich ihren Weg abseits des langen Marsches durch die Institutionen suchten.

Panorama-Kurator Wieland Speck gab sich im Vorfeld des Festivals kämpferisch wie nie und setzte das Thema Missbrauch ganz oben auf die Agenda seiner Filmauswahl. Auch er propagierte das Kino als politisches Instrument, das sich den Gegebenheiten der äußeren Welt in aller Offenheit stellen müsse und nicht in sich selbst versinke dürfe. Mit Danielův Svět (Daniel’s World) von Veronika Lišková zeigte er einen Dokumentarfilm über einen pädophilen Mann, den „Tabusprenger überhaupt“, wie er betonte. Und die Tabus müssten dringend aufgelöst werden, sein Programm 2015 könne einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten. Damit stellte er sich auch in die Tradition eines bestimmten Verständnisses von Kino, aus der auch jene stammen, die 2015 mit der Berlinale Kamera geehrt wurden. Naum Kleiman, der ehemalige Leiter des Moskauer Eisenstein-Archivs, versteht die Kinematographie explizit als Waffe im Kampf für eine bessere, offenere Gesellschaft. Eindrucksvoll zu sehen war das in Tatiana Brandrups filmischer Hommage Cinema: A Public Affair, die im Anschluss an die Preisverleihung gezeigt wurde. Marcel Ophüls wurde als „einer der bedeutendsten Filmemacher, Chronisten und Aufklärer der Gegenwart ausgezeichnet“, zur Ehrung wurde sein Monumentalwerk The Memory of Justice (Nicht schuldig?) über die Nürnberger Prozesse und ihre Folgen als Berlinale Special gezeigt.

2015 ausgezeichnet mit der Berlinale Kamera: Marcel Ophüls und Naum Kleiman

The Memory of Justice wurde in einer restaurierten Fassung gezeigt und war so Teil der Bestrebungen der Berlinale, das Filmerbe in die digitale Zeit zu retten. Die Berlinale Classics boten einen Streifzug durch die Filmgeschichte anhand frischer Kopien: von E. A. Duponts Varieté von 1925 bis zu Ian Flemings Goldfinger (James Bond 007 – Goldfinger) von 1964. Die Retrospektive bot ein Farbspektakel ganz besonderer Art, das sich allein im Dunkel des Kinosaals zur vollen Pracht entfaltet: Gezeigt wurde eine Auswahl von Filmen, die im Technicolor-Verfahren entstanden sind, jenes Farbfilmsystems, das Hollywood ab Mitte der 1930 Jahre jenen Schein des Übernatürlich-Glamourösen bescherte, von dem noch heute die Legenden erzählen. Und mit dem sich auch Wim Wenders, der 2015 mit dem Goldenen Ehrenbären ausgezeichnet wurde und dem die Hommage gewidmet war, in seinen Werken auseinandergesetzt hatte. So war es nicht verwunderlich, dass zur Übergabe der Ehrenauszeichnung Der amerikanische Freund gezeigt wurde.

Drei Jubiläen: Forum Expanded, Berlinale Shorts und Kulinarisches Kino

Das Forum Expanded feierte sein zehnjähriges Jubiläum und Sektionsleiterin Stefanie Schulte Strathaus blickte verblüfft auf den medialen Wandel in dieser Dekade zurück – mit einem gewissen Stolz auf die eigene, kontinuierliche Arbeit, die das kuratorische Ziel der Sektion erreicht hatte: die Grenzen zwischen Bildender Kunst, Performance, Installation und Kino aufzulösen. Glücklich war sie, wie der Sektionsleiter des Forums Christoph Terhechte, in die Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg nach 14-jähriger Absenz zurückkehren und die ganze Bandbreite der Zwillingssektion – Screenings, Ausstellungen, Panels – unter einem Dach versammeln und so die unterschiedlichen Elemente besser verzahnen zu können.

Die Leiterin des Forum Expanded Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Dieter Kosslick

Zwei weitere Jubiläen gab es zu feiern: Der Kurzfilm bei der Berlinale wurde 60. Berlinale-Shorts-Kuratorin Maike Mia Höhne gab lakonisch einen Überblick über die letzten sechs Dekaden: „Also, in den 60ern sind es auffällig viele Dokumentarfilme, dann kommen die Osteuropäer dazu mit unglaublich vielen Animationen, dann kommen die berühmten 90er mit dem erzählten Witz. Und dann kommen diese 2000er, wo's wirklich eine Fiktion nach der nächsten ist, und eine stärker als die andere ist, will ich fast sagen, also jede für sich“ (Interview mit Deutschlandradio Kultur, 09.02.2015). Und auch das Kulinarische Kino beging bereits das zehnte Jahr und zeichnete mit Alice Waters und Carlo Petrini gleich zwei der geistigen Eltern der Reihe mit einer Berlinale Kamera aus.

Personelle Neuerungen gab es zwei: Mattijs Wouter Knoul wechselte von den Berlinale Talents zum European Film Market und übernahm den Direktorenposten von Beki Probst, die zur EFM-Präsidentin aufrückte. Den vakanten Posten als Programmleiter der Berlinale Talents übernahm Florian Weghorn und setzte die Arbeit seines Vorgängers unter dem Motto „2015: A Space Discovery“ erfolgreich fort.

Wie in den letzten Jahren auch waren die Kinos vollbesetzt, bis zum Berlinale Publikumstag. Das prägnanteste und prägendste Bild der Berlinale 2015 war zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon in allen Zeitungen zu sehen: Es zeigte ein kleines Mädchen, überwältigt von all der Emotion des Augenblicks und in Vertretung ihres Onkels Jafar Panahi, dessen Stimme trotz der Gewalt des iranischen Regimes lautstark zu hören war. Damit zeigte er auf, was das Kino im besten Falle zu leisten imstande ist. Wie Anke Sterneborg in der Süddeutschen schrieb: „Ein vitaler und befreiender Akt des Widerstands“ (07.02.2015). Und das galt – mit Blick auf den tagespolitischen Kontext – vielleicht für das ganze Festival 2015.

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 505.771
Verkaufte Eintrittskarten 335.979
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher (ohne Presse) 16.572
Herkunftsländer 128
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 3.760
Herkunftsländer 82
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 405
Anzahl Vorführungen 1.060
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 8.628
Anzahl Filme 748
Anzahl Screenings 1.014
Stände auf dem EFM
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
179
Anzahl Aussteller 489
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 525
Herkunftsländer 52
   
Berlinale Talents  
Teilnehmer 300
Herkunftsländer 75
   
Jahresbudget € 22 Mio.
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin erhalten eine institutionelle Förderung in Höhe von € 6,5 Mio. von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.