Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Retrospective 2014:
Aesthetics of Shadow

The Retrospective 2014 focuses on light in film. Audiences will have an opportunity to discover lighting styles in Japanese, American and European films between 1915 and 1950. Section head Rainer Rother emphasises the mutual nature of influences, and invites audiences to have a look at seldom screened but seminal works, as well as experience real classics anew. For the second year running, the Retrospective was curated in cooperation with the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York.

Anna May Wong and Marlene Dietrich in Shanghai Express (USA 1932) by Josef von Sternberg

The point of departure when putting together this yearʼs Retrospective was the publication "The Aesthetics of Shadow. Lighting and Japanese Cinema" by Daisuke Miyao, Associate Professor at the University of Oregon. What fascinated you about his research on Japanese film history, and how did you collaborate?

Daisuke Miyao is interested in cinematic light and investigates Japanese film history from an aesthetic point of view. For him, lighting design is also part of Japanese cultural history, and he describes it as a phenomenon that has its origins in Japanese society. At the same time, he points out a number of connections to American and European cinema.
In discussions with our colleagues from the MoMA in New York, we pursued the connections drawn by Miyao further in order to develop this yearʼs Retrospective together. What happens when lighting is no longer a preexisting condition, when technology allows film artists to intentionally model the set and characters to their specifications? We pose this question when looking at certain genres and from various thematic angles, and at the same time, we want to highlight the complex, reciprocal nature of influences on a transnational level.
Our selection of films is an opportunity for audiences to view them from a very specific angle – an opportunity based on the sensitivity of the viewer, and one that will hopefully allow a fresh viewing experience.

Skilfull Production through the Use of Light

"Bright and cheerful Shochiku cinema" was the slogan in the 1920s for the Japanese film studio Shochiku, one of the oldest film studios worldwide. With this slogan in mind, what was the lighting style typical to early Japanese film? And how did it come about that Shochiku invited Japanese filmmaker Henry Kotani, then living in the US, to modernise filmmaking with lighting effects and reflectors?

In the 1910s and early 1920s, a kind of mainstream-lighting was prevalent both in Hollywood and in Japan. According to Miyao, production in early Japanese film was always oriented toward the traditions of the Kabuki theatre. Regarding light, this meant equal lighting across the entire stage and the eschewing of shadow, to a large extent. The three-point lighting developed in Hollywood was also practiced in Japan in the 1920s. And there were attempts to break away from that using more expressive lighting styles in both countries – not only in the duality of light and shadow, but in every form of intentional atmosphere creation using light.

Fannie Ward and Sessue Hayakawa in The Cheat (USA 1915) by Cecile B. DeMille

As is commonly the case for film studios, economic considerations were initially decisive for Shochiku in these attempts. The goal was to increase the competitive capacity of their films, and they could profit from new cinematographic expertise. Starting in 1910, Japanese filmmaker Henry Kotani worked with director Cecil B. DeMille and his cinematographer Alvin Wyckoff in Hollywood. Wyckoff and DeMille developed the so-called “Lasky lighting”, named after the production company Jesse L. Lasky Feature Play Co. Inc. The use of reflectors made selective lighting possible, as well as sharply contoured shadows. A very early example for this is The Cheat (USA 1915). Shochiku was interested in Kotaniʼs knowledge, even though the expressive use of light didnʼt exactly fit the Shochiku philosophy. Nasake no hikari (Light of Compassion, Japan 1926), one of the few surviving Kotani films, will be screened in Germany for the first time ever at the upcoming Berlinale.

In addition, there was a social transformation process visible in Japan in the 1920s. On one hand, there was a commitment to Japanese traditions in Kabuki theatre, in painting and architecture. On the other, rapid modernisation processes were taking place. It was around then that neon light first showed up in Tokyo, and these glowing signs evoked a strong fascination – not least for filmmakers.

George O'Brien and Janet Gaynor in Sunrise – A Song of Two Humans (USA 1927) by Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau

Daisuke Miyao describes the attempts at integrating these different and sometimes conflicting currents and ideas throughout the run of cinematic development, also dwelling on outside influences. Besides the aesthetics of Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau, whose masterpiece Sunrise – A Song of Two Humans (USA 1927) will be screened, these also include the shadow worlds of Josef von Sternberg, for example in Shanghai Express (USA 1932), thus especially German-American influences.

How has lighting in Japanese film changed over the years? The political relationship between Japan and the US underwent dramatic changes, and the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941 was a turning point in the Second World War.

With regards to Japan, the play with shadow is definitely considered a cultural peculiarity. They say that traditional Japanese houses were a source of inspiration for lighting design. So even during times of war, the aesthetics of shadow can still be fostered as a distinct achievement. The Hollywood model doesnʼt play an explicit role anymore.
Besides that, there is a certain tendency towards minimalism already applied in the war film genre. High-key lighting would only contradict the intended plausibility and integration into propaganda. Kajiro Yamamotos Hawai Mare oki kaisen (‘The War at Sea from Hawaii to Malay’, Japan 1942), for example, was made in collaboration with the Japanese Army, and almost seems like a documentary. Aesthetic design was particularly important during its making.
Miyao asserts that while a continuity of the aesthetics of shadow was clearly identifiable, the reasons for it were definitely subject to certain trends.

Shining Stars and Flashing Swords

Douglas Fairbanks, Marguerite De La Motte and Robert McKim in The Mark of Zorro (USA 1920) by Fred Niblo

Youʼve already mentioned economic motives. How did the development of the star system foster certain styles and aesthetics?

The idea of putting the actors at the centre of publicity is slightly older than the idea of putting stars in a certain light. The development of a star system throughout the 1910s can definitely be looked at within the context of the technical and aesthetic developments designed to highlight the actors and their attractiveness for the audience.
Cecil B. DeMilleʼs 1915 film The Cheat is a good example again. He used lighting techniques to transform the Japanese Hollywood actor Sessue Hayakawa into a film icon. Or take Kazuo Hasegawa, also known by the name Chojiro Hayashi, who became the greatest film star in Japan, not least due to the sophisticated lighting concepts for his face. In Tsuruhachi Tsurujiro (Tsuruhachi and Tsurujiro, Mikio Naruse, 1938), he appears in a lateral glamour light that bears a striking resemblance to the lighting styles for Greta Garbo in the film Flesh and the Devil (Clarence Brown, 1926). A very distinct lighting design was developed for Marlene Dietrichʼs films: in Shanghai Express, Josef von Sternberg uses a steeply falling main light. And the films featuring Douglas Fairbanks Sr., a very popular actor in Japan, also display a particular lighting. Even more interesting is his film The Mark of Zorro (Fred Niblo, USA 1920), but with regards to the genre aspect and the influences of American swashbucklers on Japanese jidaigeki films, the period dramas.

Saburo Sawai, Naoe Fushimi, Yoshito Yamaji and Chojiro Hayashi in Yukinojo henge (An Actor’s Revenge, Japan 1935) by Teinosuke Kinugasa

À propos. Which genres play a role in this yearʼs Retrospective?

We intentionally left out some genres that are especially well-known for the use of lighting and play with shadow, so there arenʼt any horror films as such, nor are there any films noirs. We were more interested in the question of which styles and aesthetics mutually influenced each other.
In the jidaigeki films, when the swords flash in the dark, and the heroes see action, a kind of dramatic lighting – common in Hollywood films – is impossible to miss. A good example is Yukinojo henge (An Actorʼs Revenge, Teinosuke Kinugasa, Japan 1935-1936/1952) with Chojiro Hayashi/Kasuo Hasegawa in the starring role.
With regards to war films, we also concentrated on a juxtaposition of Japanese and American films. For example, the portrayals of the 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor in Hawai Mare oki kaisen (Japan 1942) and in Air Force (Howard Hawks, USA 1943) display national peculiarities, both from an ideological standpoint as well as in the use of shadow versus light.
The street film genre is represented, with works from various cinematographic traditions. Besides selected Japanese films, these include Sunrise, directed in 1927 by F.W. Murnau, Le Quai des brumes (Port of Shadows, Marcel Carné, France 1938), filmed by the emigrated German cinematographer Eugen Schüfftan, and Dirnentragödie (Bruno Rahn, Germany 1927) by Guido Seeber, the grand old master of cinematography.

Painting with Light and Shadow

The Retrospective also includes the screening series "Light and Rhythm", "Towards Realism" and "Painting with Shadows". What principles of design were particularly attractive for these?

Machiko Kyo and Masayuki Mori in Ugetsu monogatari (Tales of the Rain and Moon, Japan 1953) by Kenji Mizoguchi

We have a very charming musical in the programme, Oshidori utagassen (Singing Lovebirds, Masahiro Makino, Japan 1939), in which the manipulation of light and shadow becomes something of a rhythmic principle. The same goes for Berlin. Die Sinfonie der Großstadt (Berlin. Symphony of a Great City, Walther Ruttmann, Germany 1927), and the avant-garde films that we have in the "Light and Rhythm" section.

"Towards Realism" is a collection of films that sound out the boundary between reality and fiction. The approach to Xanadu in the first sequences of Citizen Kane (Orson Welles, USA 1941) could be described as an excerpt from the beginning of a horror film. There is an alternation between light and dark throughout the film, expertly filmed by cinematographer Gregg Toland. The The Naked City (USA 1948) by Jules Dassin, filmed exclusively on-location, is also worth a look.

Under the heading "Painting with Shadows" weʼre showing Faust. Eine deutsche Volkssage (Faust, Germany 1926) by F.W. Murnau, as well as Stagecoach (USA 1939) by John Ford, which might seem strange at first in this context. Westerns arenʼt necessarily interesting to film critics for their use of light and shadow. But we want to make Stagecoach visible as a film that works with light and shadow in an expert way. The same can be said of Ugetsu Monogatari (Tales of the Rain and Moon, Japan 1953) by Kenji Mizoguchi, and La Belle et la Bête (Beauty and the Beast, France 1946) by Jean Cocteau.

Are discussion events also planned for the Retrospective 2014? Which guests are expected?

Weʼre especially pleased to welcome Daisuke Miyao, and weʼve also invited the renowned British film historian Kevin Brownlow, who describes the striking international reciprocal effects and emphasises the often ignored achievements of cinematographers in the Retrospective publication (in German language). A discussion round with both will open the Retrospective on Saturday, February 8th.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Retrospektive 2014:
Aesthetics of Shadow

Die Retrospektive zur Ästhetik der Schatten stellt filmisches Licht ins Zentrum. Zu entdecken sind Beleuchtungsstile des japanischen, amerikanischen und europäischen Films zwischen 1915 und 1950. Der Leiter der Retrospektive Rainer Rother betont im Interview die Wechselseitigkeit der Einflüsse und lädt dazu ein, bisher kaum aufgeführte wegweisende Werke wie auch echte Klassiker neu zu sehen. Die Retrospektive wird bereits zum zweiten Mal gemeinsam mit dem Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York, kuratiert.

Anna May Wong und Marlene Dietrich in Shanghai Express (Shanghai-Expreß, USA 1932) von Josef von Sternberg

Ausgangspunkt für die Überlegungen zur diesjährigen Retrospektive war die Publikation „The Aesthetics of Shadow. Lighting and Japanese Cinema“ von Daisuke Miyao, Associate Professor an der University of Oregon. Was hat Sie an seinen Forschungen zur japanischen Filmgeschichte fasziniert und wie sah dann die Zusammenarbeit aus?

Daisuke Miyao widmet sich dem filmischen Licht und greift vermittels einer ästhetischen Fragestellung auf die japanische Filmgeschichte zu. Hierbei bindet er die Lichtgestaltung auch in die japanische Kulturgeschichte ein und beschreibt sie als ein Phänomen, das aus der japanischen Gesellschaft hervorgeht. Gleichzeitig zeigt er viele Bezüge zum amerikanischen und europäischen Film auf.
In den Diskussionen mit den Kollegen vom MoMA in New York haben wir die von Miyao gezogenen Verbindungen weiterverfolgt und daraus gemeinsam das Programm für die diesjährige Retrospektive entwickelt. Was passiert in dem Moment, in dem die Beleuchtung nicht mehr als gegeben hingenommen wird, sondern technische Möglichkeiten es den Filmkünstlern erlauben, das Set und die Charaktere bewusst zu modellieren? Dieser Frage gehen wir in bestimmten Genres und unter verschiedenen Gesichtspunkten nach, zugleich wollen wir die komplexen, wechselseitigen Einflüsse auf transnationaler Ebene aufzeigen.
Unsere Auswahl von Filmen ist ein Angebot an das Publikum, sie unter einem ganz bestimmten Aspekt zu sehen – ein Angebot, das auf die Sensibilität der Zuschauer baut und hoffentlich auch ein neues Sehen ermöglicht.

Die gekonnte Inszenierung durch Licht

„Helle und fröhliche Filme von Shochiku“, so lautete in den 1920er Jahren der Slogan des japanischen Filmstudios Shochiku, das eines der ältesten Filmstudios weltweit ist. Welcher Beleuchtungsstil war demzufolge typisch für den frühen japanischen Film? Und wie kam es dazu, dass das Filmstudio den in den USA lebenden japanischen Filmschaffenden Henry Kotani einlud, die Arbeit mit Lichteffekten und Reflektoren zu modernisieren?

Sowohl für Hollywood als auch für Japan lässt sich von einer Art Mainstream-Lichtsetzung in den 1910er und frühen 1920er Jahren sprechen. Miyao zufolge orientierte sich die gesamte Inszenierung des frühen japanischen Films an den Traditionen des Kabuki-Theaters. In Bezug auf das Licht bedeutete dies eine gleichmäßige Ausleuchtung der gesamten Szenerie und den weitgehenden Verzicht auf Schatten. Die in Hollywood entwickelte Dreipunkt-Beleuchtung wurde in den 1920er Jahren auch in Japan praktiziert. Und in beiden Ländern gab es Versuche, sich durch eine expressivere Lichtgestaltung hiervon abzusetzen. Damit ist keineswegs nur die Dualität von Licht und Schatten gemeint, sondern jede Form der bewussten Inszenierung von Stimmungen durch Licht.

Fannie Ward und Sessue Hayakawa in The Cheat (Das Brandmal der Rache, USA 1915) von Cecile B. DeMille

Wie für Filmstudios durchaus üblich, waren für diese Bestrebungen auch bei Shochiku zunächst ökonomische Erwägungen ausschlaggebend. Ziel war es, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der eigenen Filme zu steigern. Von den Fachkenntnissen anderer Kinematografien konnte man dabei nur profitieren. Der Japaner Henry Kotani arbeitete ab 1910 mit dem Regisseur Cecil B. DeMille und dessen Kameramann Alvin Wyckoff in Hollywood zusammen. Wyckoff und DeMille entwickelten die sogenannte Lasky-Beleuchtung, benannt nach der Produktionsgesellschaft Jesse L. Lasky Feature Play Co. Inc. Durch den Einsatz von Reflektoren ermöglichte sie eine selektive Lichtführung und scharf konturierte Schatten. Ein sehr frühes Beispiel hierfür ist The Cheat (Das Brandmal der Rache, USA 1915). Shochiku war an Kotanis Kenntnissen interessiert, auch wenn der expressive Einsatz von Licht der Shochiku-Philosophie nicht ganz entsprach. Nasake no hikari (Light of Compassion, Japan 1926), einer der wenigen überlieferten Filme Kotanis, wird während der Berlinale erstmals in Deutschland zu sehen sein.

In den 1920er Jahren lässt sich in Japan darüber hinaus ein gesellschaftlicher Transformationsprozess beobachten. Einerseits fühlt man sich japanischen Traditionen im Kabuki-Theater, in der Malerei und der Architektur verpflichtet. Andererseits vollziehen sich rasante Modernisierungsprozesse. Tokio erstrahlt auch damals schon im Neonlicht und löst mit diesen leuchtenden Reklamebotschaften nicht zuletzt bei den Filmschaffenden eine starke Faszination aus.

George O'Brien und Janet Gaynor in Sunrise – A Song of Two Humans (Sonnenaufgang – Lied von zwei Menschen, USA 1927) von Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau

Daisuke Miyao beschreibt die Bemühungen um eine Integration dieser unterschiedlichen und zum Teil widersprüchlichen Strömungen und Ideen im Verlauf der weiteren Entwicklung und geht hierbei auf die Einflüsse von außen ein. Neben der Ästhetik Friedrich Wilhelm Murnaus, dessen Meisterwerk Sunrise – A Song of Two Humans (Sonnenaufgang – Lied von zwei Menschen, USA 1927) wir zeigen, sind das auch die Schattenwelten Josef von Sternbergs, beispielsweise in Shanghai Express (Shanghai-Expreß, USA 1932), also vor allem deutsch-amerikanische Einflüsse.


Wie hat sich die Lichtgestaltung in Japan über die Jahre hinweg verändert? Immerhin wandelten sich die Beziehungen zwischen Japan und den USA auf politischer Ebene doch erheblich. Und der japanische Angriff auf Pearl Harbor 1941 war ein Wendepunkt des Zweiten Weltkrieges.

Das Spiel mit den Schatten wird in der japanischen Diskussion durchaus als eine kulturelle Eigenart betrachtet. Es heißt, dass die traditionellen japanischen Häuser eine Inspirationsquelle für die Lichtregie waren. Insofern kann die Ästhetik der Schatten auch in Kriegszeiten weiterhin als eine eigene Errungenschaft gepflegt werden. Das Vorbild Hollywood spielt dann keine ausdrückliche Rolle mehr.
Hinzu kommt, dass ein gewisser Hang zum Minimalen schon im Genre des Kriegsfilms angelegt ist. Eine High-Key-Beleuchtung würde der intendierten Glaubwürdigkeit und Einbindung in die Propaganda nur widersprechen. Kajiro Yamamotos Hawai Mare oki kaisen (‚Die Schlacht von Hawaii und in der Malaien-See‘, Japan 1942) ist beispielweise in Zusammenarbeit mit der japanischen Armee entstanden und wirkt fast dokumentarisch. Gerade der ästhetischen Gestaltung wurde in diesem Film viel Wert beigemessen.
Während sich eine Kontinuität der Ästhetik der Schatten im japanischen Kino relativ deutlich aufzeigen ließe, seien die Begründungen für diese durchaus bestimmten Konjunkturen unterworfen, so Miyaos Argumentation.

Strahlende Stars und blitzende Schwerter

Douglas Fairbanks, Marguerite De La Motte und Robert McKim in The Mark of Zorro (Das Zeichen des Zorro, USA 1920) von Fred Niblo

Ökonomische Beweggründe haben sie bereits erwähnt. Inwieweit hat auch die Entwicklung des Starsystems gewisse Stile und Ästhetiken gefördert?

Die Idee, Darsteller ins Zentrum von Werbemaßnahmen zu stellen, ist etwas älter als die Bemühung, Stars in ein besonderes Licht zu setzen. Die Herausbildung eines Starsystems im Laufe der 1910er Jahre ist sicherlich auch im Kontext technischer und ästhetischer Entwicklungen zu betrachten, die auf eine Hervorhebung des Stars und seine Attraktivität fürs Publikum abzielen.
Hier ist wiederum Cecil B. De Milles Film The Cheat aus dem Jahr 1915 ein gutes Beispiel. Mit lichtbildnerischen Mitteln verwandelt er den japanischen Hollywood-Schauspieler Sessue Hayakawa in eine filmische Ikone. Oder nehmen wir Kazuo Hasegawa, auch bekannt unter dem Namen Chojiro Hayashi, der nicht zuletzt wegen der ausdifferenzierten Lichtkonzeptionen für sein Gesicht zum größten Filmstar in Japan wurde. In Tsuruhachi Tsurujiro (‚Tsuruhachi und Tsurujiro‘, Mikio Naruse, 1938) erstrahlt er in einem seitlichen Glamourlicht, das bemerkenswerte Parallelen zum Beleuchtungsstil für Greta Garbo in dem amerikanischen Film Flesh and the Devil (Es war, Clarence Brown, 1926) aufweist. Für die Inszenierung Marlene Dietrichs wurde wiederum eine ganz eigene Lichtgestaltung entwickelt: In Shanghai Express setzt Josef von Sternberg ein steil einfallendes Führungslicht ein. Auch in der Inszenierung des in Japan sehr beliebten Schauspielers Douglas Fairbanks Sr. lässt sich ein gezielt gesetztes Licht studieren. Noch interessanter ist sein Film The Mark of Zorro (Das Zeichen des Zorro, Fred Niblo, USA 1920) allerdings unter dem Genreaspekt und den Einflüssen der amerikanischen Mantel-und-Degen-Filme auf die japanischen jidaigeki-Filme, die Historienfilme.

Saburo Sawai, Naoe Fushimi, Yoshito Yamaji und Chojiro Hayashi in Yukinojo henge (Yukinojos Verwandlung, Japan 1935) von Teinosuke Kinugasa

À propos. Welche Genres spielen denn innerhalb der diesjährigen Retrospektive eine Rolle?

Wir haben bewusst auf einige Genres verzichtet, für die die Lichtsetzung und das Spiel mit den Schatten ganz besonders typisch sind. So finden sich im Programm keine Horrorfilme im eigentlichen Sinne und auch keine Films noirs. Uns hat vielmehr die Frage interessiert, wie sich Stile und Ästhetiken wechselseitig beeinflussen.
Wenn die Schwerter in der Dunkelheit aufblitzen und die Helden in Aktion treten, ist in den jidaigeki-Filmen die Anverwandlung einer effektvollen Lichtsetzung, wie sie aus Hollywood-Filmen bekannt ist, nicht zu übersehen. Das gilt beispielsweise für Yukinojo henge (Yukinojos Verwandlung, Teinosuke Kinugasa, Japan 1935–1936/1952) mit Chojiro Hayashi/Kazuo Hasegawa in der Titelrolle.
Bei den Kriegsfilmen haben wir uns ebenfalls auf die Gegenüberstellung von japanischen und amerikanischen Filmen konzentriert. So etwa weist die Darstellung des Angriffs auf Pearl Harbor 1941 in Hawai Mare oki kaisen (Japan 1942) und in Air Force (Airforce, Howard Hawks, USA 1943) nicht nur unter ideologischen Gesichtspunkten nationale Besonderheiten auf, sondern auch beim Einsatz von Schatten versus Licht. Das Genre des „Straßenfilms“ ist mit Werken aus unterschiedlichsten kinematografischen Traditionen vertreten. Neben ausgewählten japanischen Filmen gehören hierzu Sunrise, von F. W. Murnau 1927 in den USA inszeniert, Le Quai des brumes (Hafen im Nebel, Marcel Carné, Frankreich 1938), gedreht von dem emigrierten deutschen Kameramann Eugen Schüfftan, oder Dirnentragödie (Bruno Rahn, Deutschland 1927) von Guido Seeber, dem „Altmeister“ unter den Kameramännern.

Mit Licht und Schatten malen

Die Retrospektive richtet ihren Fokus auch auf die Themen „Light and Rhythm“, „Towards Realism” und „Painting with Shadows“. Welche Gestaltungsprinzipien sind hier besonders reizvoll?

Machiko Kyo und Masayuki Mori Ugetsu monogatari (Ugetsu – Erzählungen unter dem Regenmond, Japan 1953) von Kenji Mizoguchi

Mit Oshidori utagassen (Singing Lovebirds, Masahiro Makino, Japan 1939) haben wir ein sehr charmantes Musical im Programm, in dem der Umgang mit Licht und Schatten zu einer Art rhythmischem Prinzip wird. Das gilt auch für Berlin. Die Sinfonie der Großstadt (Walther Ruttmann, Deutschland 1927) und die Avantgarde-Filme, die wir unter dem Gesichtspunkt „Light and Rhythm“ zeigen.

„Towards Realism“ versammelt Filme, die die Grenze zwischen Realität und Fiktion ausloten. Die Annäherung an Schloss Xanadu in den ersten Bildern von Citizen Kane (Orson Welles, USA 1941) lässt sich als Zitat eines Horrorfilm-Anfangs beschreiben. Im weiteren Verlauf ist ein Hell-Dunkel-Wechsel bestimmend, meisterhaft gefilmt von Kameramann Gregg Toland. Auch The Naked City (Stadt ohne Maske, USA 1948) von Jules Dassin, gedreht ausschließlich an Originalschauplätzen, ist sehenswert.

Unter der Überschrift „Painting with Shadows“ zeigen wir neben Faust. Eine deutsche Volkssage (Deutschland 1926) von F. W. Murnau unter anderem Stagecoach (Höllenfahrt nach Santa Fe, USA 1939) von John Ford, über den man in diesem Zusammenhang im ersten Moment stutzen mag. Der Western ist für die Filmkritik ja nicht unbedingt wegen seines Einsatzes von Licht und Schatten interessant. Wir möchten Stagecoach jedoch sichtbar machen als einen Film, der auf virtuose Weise mit Licht und Schatten arbeitet. Dies gilt dann auch für Ugetsu Monogatari (Ugetsu – Erzählungen unter dem Regenmond, Japan 1953) von Kenji Mizoguchi und La Belle et la Bête (Es war einmal, Frankreich 1946) von Jean Cocteau.

Sind im Rahmen der Retrospektive 2014 auch Gesprächsveranstaltungen geplant? Welche Gäste werden erwartet?

Wir freuen uns ganz besonders über das Kommen von Daisuke Miyao und haben auch den renommierten britischen Filmhistoriker Kevin Brownlow eingeladen, der in seinem Aufsatz für die Publikation zur Retrospektive die frappierenden internationalen Wechselwirkungen darstellt und die oft ignorierten Leistungen der Kameramänner hervorhebt. Als Auftakt am Samstag, den 8. Februar, werden wir mit beiden ein Gespräch führen.