Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2013

Panorama

Jan 22, 2013:
Panorama Programme 2013 Now Complete

This year’s Panorama is presenting a total of 52 feature films. 16 of these are fictional works showing in the main programme, another 16 are in Panorama Special. 20 features are screening in Panorama Dokumente. Two short films will be shown as supplements.
29 of the productions from 33 countries are screening as world premieres. 11 of the fictional films are directorial debuts. A total of 20 women filmmakers are presenting their works in the Panorama programme.

Javier Cámara and Candela Peña in Ayer no termina nunca (Yesterday Never Ends) by Isabel Coixet

One film was added to the Panorama Special after the last press release:
Ayer no termina nunca (Yesterday Never Ends) by Isabel Coixet. It’s a day in April 2017. Spain is at the lowest point of the crisis, more than seven million people are unemployed. A couple meet at their son’s grave, which has to make way for a new casino town. Anger, hatred and bitterness erupt. A nightmarish film that goes far beyond personal grief to evoke the end of a society. Coixet presented her second film - Things I Never Told You – in the Panorama in 1996. Since then she has participated in the Official Programme several times.

The final selection for Panorama Dokumente concludes Panorama 2013

Panorama Dokumente will open at the Cinestar 7 at 5.00 pm on February 8 with the world premiere of a Swedish documentary, Simon Klose’s TPB AFK: The Pirate Bay Away from Keyboard. In the early years of the 21st century, the Pirate Bay, a Swedish file sharing platform that allows Internet users to share films and music, grew enormously. The trial against the founders appears to be an unequal fight between Hollywood and three open-minded computer hackers, who come across very differently in Klose’s film than Hollywood’s media lawyers depict them. The film will be released for free online at the same time as it premieres in Panorama.

Art/Violence by Udi Aloni, Batoul Taleb and Mariam Abu Khaled will now reinforce the programme’s previously announced focus on “Palestine and the Middle East”. On April 4, 2011, Palestinian-Jewish actor, director and peace activist Juliano Mer-Khamis was assassinated outside the Freedom Theatre, a project once launched by his mother in Jenin Refugee Camp. Yet his students refuse to give up: “Juliano put us on stage and we will stay on stage.” Mer-Khamis also put on works at, for instance, the Schaubühne in Berlin.

La maison de la radio by Nicolas Philibert, France/Japan
Creator of images Nicolas Philibert has always been fascinated by the “blind” medium of radio and its ability to fire the imagination. Millions share this passion. For many, radio lends life a rhythm and structure, bringing – between kitchen and bathroom – the world to their homes. With this work, Philibert pays tribute to its diligent makers by bringing the invisible to the screen. And so achieves what every filmmaker seeks.

Narco Cultura by Shaul Schwarz, USA
Films dealing with music have a tradition in the Panorama programme, even when they are about the dark sides of the medium, as in “Blut muss fließen” - Undercover unter Nazis in 2012. In Narco Cultura, the brutality of Mexican drug lords - “narcos” - has led to a new pop genre: young people in Mexico and the USA dance to the violence-glorifying music of these new heroes. A disturbing look at a region where graveyards are more magnificent than towns.

Born This Way by Shaun Kadlec and Deb Tullmann follows last year’s multiple prize-winning Panorama entry Call Me Kuchu from Uganda. Like almost everywhere in the world, gays and lesbians in Cameroon flee to the safety of the city where activists have built up a centre to protect them against a homophobia that threatens their existence. Lawyer Alice Nkom tirelessly fights for their legal representation.

British documentary director Kim Longinotto, who presented Gaea Girls in the Panorama in 2001, films strong women who each alter the world in their own way. Now Longinotto is back with Salma: When her Moslem parents in southern India locked Salma up at the age of thirteen and forced her to marry, she rebelled by writing poems that she had to smuggle out. Today she is a famous Tamil poet who challenges rural traditions.

Underground artist Beth B’s earlier works (such as Visiting Desire with Lydia Lunch that screened in the Panorama in 1997) have revolved around issues of sexual repression and breaking normative barriers. With EXPOSED, she now takes a look at New York’s neo-burlesque scene that has reinvented the classic striptease, which has usually catered to the male gaze, and so exposes common gender clichés in a rather cryptic, humorous and at times shocking fashion.

The PanoramaPublikumsPreis (PPP – the Panorama’s audience award) for best fictional and best documentary feature will again be presented in the CinemaxX on the last day of the Festival, at 5.00 pm on February 17. A screening of the winning fictional film will follow. Afterwards, at 8.00 pm, there will be a presentation of the best documentary. Last year almost 25,000 moviegoers were part of the Berlinale’s largest jury.

Following the presentation of the first Heiner Carow Prize in the Cinestar Event Cinema Berlin at 6.30 pm on February 14, there will be a screening of Heiner Carow’s Die Legende von Paul und Paula (GDR 1973). The Heiner Carow Prize, conceived to promote German cinematic art, will be awarded to a documentary, fictional or essay film from the Panorama section.

The three members of the jury are: Stefanie Eckert, representative of the DEFA Foundation Council, Berlin; Stefan Carow, film composer and son of Heiner Carow, Los Angeles; as well as Karim Ainouz, filmmaker, Rio de Janeiro/Berlin.
In 1988 Heiner Carow (1929 -1997) was a member of the Berlinale’s International Jury. In 1990 he won a Silver Bear and the Teddy Award for his film Coming Out.

List of newly announced titles:

Panorama Special

Ayer no termina nunca (Yesterday Never Ends) - Spain
By Isabel Coixet
With Javier Cámara, Candela Peña
World Premiere


Panorama Dokumente

Art/Violence - Palestinian Territories/USA
By Udi Aloni, Batoul Taleb, Mariam Abu Khaled
World Premiere

Bambi - France
By Sébastien Lifshitz
World Premiere

Belleville Baby - Sweden
By Mia Engberg
International Premiere

Born This Way - USA
By Shaun Kadlec, Deb Tullmann
World Premiere

EXPOSED - USA
By Beth B
With Rose Wood, Julie Atlas Muz, Mat Fraser, World Famous *Bob*, Dirty Martini, Bunny Love, Bambi the Mermaid & Tigger!
World Premiere

Fifi az khoshhali zooze mikeshad (Fifi Howls from Happiness) - USA
By Mitra Farahani
World Premiere

La maison de la radio - France/Japan
By Nicolas Philibert
World Premiere

Narco Cultura - USA
By Shaul Schwarz
European Premiere

Out in Ost-Berlin - Lesben und Schwule in der DDR (Out in East Berlin - Lesbians and Gays in the GDR) - Germany
By Jochen Hick
World Premiere

Parade - France/USA
By Olivier Meyrou
World Premiere

Paul Bowles: The Cage Door is Always Open - Switzerland
By Daniel Young
With Paul Bowles, Gore Vidal, John Waters, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ira Cohen
European Premiere

Salma – Great Britain
By Kim Longinotto
International Premiere

TPB AFK: The Pirate Bay Away From Keyboard - Sweden
By Simon Klose
World Premiere


Press Office
January 22, 2013

Download Press Release, PDF (40 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2013

Panorama

22.01.2013:
Panorama-Programm 2013 vollständig

Das Panorama präsentiert insgesamt 52 Langfilme. Davon im Hauptprogramm 16 Spielfilme und 16 im Panorama Special. Panorama Dokumente bringt 20 Filme zur Aufführung. Zwei Vorfilme werden als thematische Ergänzung gezeigt.
Von den Produktionen aus 33 Ländern sind 29 Weltpremieren. Elf Spielfilme sind Erstlingswerke und 20 Regisseurinnen präsentieren ihre Filme im Panorama.

Javier Cámara und Candela Peña in Ayer no termina nunca (Yesterday Never Ends) von Isabel Coixet

Ein Spielfilm kam nach Veröffentlichung der letzten Pressemitteilung hinzu:
Ayer no termina nunca (Yesterday Never Ends) von Isabel Coixet. Ein Tag im April 2017. Spanien befindet sich am tiefsten Punkt der Krise, mehr als sieben Millionen Menschen sind arbeitslos. Ein Paar trifft sich am Grab des Sohnes, das einer Casino-Stadt weichen soll. Wut, Hass und Bitternis brechen auf. Ein alptraumhafter Film, der weit über private Trauerarbeit hinaus auch auf eine gesellschaftliche Endzeit verweist. Coixet zeigte 1996 ihren zweiten Spielfilm Things I Never Told You im Panorama und war seitdem mehrfach Gast des Offiziellen Programms.

Mit Abschluss der Reihe Panorama Dokumente ist das Panorama 2013 komplett

Eröffnet wird am 8. Februar im Cinestar 7 um 17.00 Uhr mit der Weltpremiere des schwedischen Films TPB AFK: The Pirate Bay Away From Keyboard von Simon Klose. Anfang des Jahrtausends wächst die schwedische Filesharing-Plattform The Pirate Bay enorm, die Internetnutzern das einfache Teilen von Filmen und Musik ermöglicht. Der Prozess gegen die Gründer erscheint als ungleicher Kampf von Hollywood gegen drei freisinnige Computerhacker, die in Kloses Film so ganz anders erlebbar werden, als die Medienanwälte Hollywoods sie darstellen. Der Film wird zeitgleich mit seiner Panorama-Premiere frei ins Netz gestellt.

Den bereits gemeldeten Schwerpunkt „Palästina und der Nahe Osten“ ergänzt nun Art/Violence von Udi Aloni, Batoul Taleb und Mariam Abu Khaled. Am 4. April 2011 wurde der palästinensisch-jüdische Schauspieler, Regisseur und Friedensaktivist Juliano Mer-Khamis vor dem von seiner Mutter begonnenen Theaterprojekt Freedom Theatre im Flüchtlingslager Jenin ermordet. Seine Schülerinnen und Schüler aber geben nicht auf: „Juliano put us on stage and we will stay on stage“. Mer-Khamis inszenierte u.a. auch an der Schaubühne in Berlin.

La maison de la radio von Nicolas Philibert, Frankreich/Japan
Schon immer hat Philibert, den Schöpfer von Bildern, das „blinde“, die Fantasie anregende Medium Radio fasziniert. Millionen Menschen teilen diese Leidenschaft. Das Radio gibt für viele den Rhythmus ihres Tages vor, strukturiert ihn, lässt zwischen Küche und Bad die Welt ins Haus. Den eifrigen Machern dahinter setzt Philibert ein Denkmal. Er bringt das Unsichtbare auf die Leinwand, das, was aus dem Blickwinkel gerückt ist. Und damit das, was jeder Filmemacher sucht.

Narco Cultura von Shaul Schwarz, USA
„Musikfilme“ haben im Panorama Tradition, auch wenn es um die dunkle Seite des Mediums geht wie 2012 in „Blut muss fließen“ - Undercover unter Nazis. In Narco Cultura hat die Brutalität der mexikanischen Drogenbosse, der Narcos, zu einem neuen Popgenre geführt: Junge Menschen tanzen in Mexiko und den USA zur gewaltverherrlichenden Musik der neuen Volkshelden. Ein verstörender Einblick in eine Region, in der die Friedhöfe prächtiger sind als die Städte.

Dem letztjährigen vielfachen Preisgewinnerfilm Call Me Kuchu aus Uganda folgt Born This Way von Shaun Kadlec und Deb Tullmann. Wie fast überall auf der Welt flüchten sich im Kamerun Schwule und Lesben in den Schutz der Stadt, wo Aktivisten ein Zentrum aufgebaut haben, das sie vor der existenzbedrohlichen Homophobie schützen soll. Die Anwältin Alice Nkom kämpft unermüdlich um ihre rechtliche Vertretung.

Die britische Dokumentaristin Kim Longinotto, zuletzt 2001 mit Gaea Girls im Panorama, filmt starke Frauen, die jede für sich die Welt verändern. Jetzt ist sie zurück mit Salma: Als die muslimischen Eltern im Süden Indiens Salma mit dreizehn Jahren einsperrten und zur Heirat zwangen, widersetzte sie sich mit Gedichten, die sie aus ihrer Zelle schmuggelte. Heute, als berühmte tamilische Lyrikerin, stellt sie die dörflichen Traditionen in Frage.

Mit EXPOSED gibt die Underground-Künstlerin Beth B, deren frühere Arbeiten (u.a. Visiting Desire mit Lydia Lunch im Panorama 1997) bereits um Themen der sexuellen Repression und das Sprengen normativer Grenzen kreisten, Einblick in die New Yorker Neo-Burlesque-Szene, die den klassischen, meist auf den männlichen Blick ausgerichteten Striptease neu gestaltet und damit auf humorvolle, hintersinnige und teils auch schockierende Weise gängige Geschlechter-Klischees hinterfragt.

Der PanoramaPublikumsPreis PPP jeweils für den besten Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm wird wieder am Kinotag den 17. Februar im CinemaxX 7 um 17:00 Uhr verliehen. Im Anschluss kommt der Spielfilm zur Aufführung, gefolgt von der Präsentation des Dokumentarfilms um 20:00 Uhr. Im letzten Jahr beteiligten sich knapp 25.000 Zuschauer an der größten Jury der Berlinale.

Im Anschluss an die Verleihung des ersten Heiner-Carow-Preises am 14. Februar im Cinestar Event Cinema Berlin um 18:30 Uhr kommt Die Legende von Paul und Paula von Heiner Carow (DDR 1973) zur Aufführung. Der Heiner-Carow-Preis wird zur Förderung der deutschen Filmkunst an einen Dokumentar-, Spiel- oder Essayfilm der Sektion Panorama vergeben

Die Jury besteht aus drei Mitgliedern:
Stefanie Eckert, Referentin des Vorstands der DEFA-Stiftung, Berlin
Stefan Carow, Filmkomponist, Los Angeles, Sohn von Heiner Carow
Karim Ainouz, Filmemacher, Rio de Janeiro/Berlin
Heiner Carow (1929 -1997) war 1988 Mitglied der Jury der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. 1990 erhielt er für seinen Film Coming Out den Silbernen Bären und den Teddy Award.

Titelliste Neumeldungen

Panorama Special

Ayer no termina nunca (Yesterday Never Ends) - Spanien
Von Isabel Coixet
Mit Javier Cámara, Candela Peña
Weltpremiere


Panorama Dokumente

Art/Violence - Paläsinensische Gebiete/USA
Von Udi Aloni, Batoul Taleb, Mariam Abu Khaled
Weltpremiere

Bambi - Frankreich
Von Sébastien Lifshitz
Weltpremiere

Belleville Baby - Schweden
Von Mia Engberg
Internationale Premiere

Born This Way - USA
Von Shaun Kadlec, Deb Tullmann
Weltpremiere

EXPOSED - USA
Von Beth B
Mit Rose Wood, Julie Atlas Muz, Mat Fraser, World Famous *Bob*, Dirty Martini, Bunny Love, Bambi the Mermaid & Tigger!
Weltpremiere

Fifi az khoshhali zooze mikeshad (Fifi Howls from Happiness) - USA
Von Mitra Farahani
Weltpremiere

La maison de la radio - Frankreich/Japan
Von Nicolas Philibert
Weltpremiere

Narco Cultura - USA
Von Shaul Schwarz
Europäische Premiere

Out in Ost-Berlin - Lesben und Schwule in der DDR (Out in East Berlin - Lesbians and Gays in the GDR) - Deutschland
Von Jochen Hick
Weltpremiere

Parade - Frankreich/USA
Von Olivier Meyrou
Weltpremiere

Paul Bowles: The Cage Door is Always Open - Schweiz
Von Daniel Young
Mit Paul Bowles, Gore Vidal, John Waters, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ira Cohen
Europäische Premiere

Salma - Großbritannien
Von Kim Longinotto
Internationale Premiere

TPB AFK: The Pirate Bay Away From Keyboard - Schweden
Von Simon Klose
Weltpremiere


Presseabteilung
22. Januar 2013

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (44 KB)