Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2013

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Dec 12, 2012:
High Demand for the European Film Market 2013: All Exhibition Space Fully Booked

The European Film Market (EFM) of the 63rd Berlin International Film Festival is off to a good start: all exhibition space at the Martin-Gropius-Bau and the Marriott Hotel at Potsdamer Platz is now fully booked. Due to the high demand, exhibition space was expanded in the first floor of the Marriott Hotel. The EFM (February 7 – 15, 2013) is the first meeting place of the year for the international film industry and one of the most important platforms for the sale and exhibition of film and audio-visual content in the world.

“We are extremely pleased with the interest in our exhibition space increasing even further,” says EFM director Beki Probst. “It is our goal to respond to the current trends and developments in the global industry and to tailor our offer accordingly. We also hope to continue to facilitate the dialogue among our market participants through the EFM’s many different initiatives.”

The sidebar “Straight from Sundance”, which has continued to expand its offer in recent years, celebrates its tenth anniversary at the EFM 2013. The new initiative “American Independents in Berlin”, organised by IFP (Independent Filmmaker Project) and the Sundance Institute will cater to independent US-American filmmakers again this year.

The successful “EFM Industry Debates” will take place for their sixth consecutive year in 2013. The official partner of this high-profile industry event will again be IFA in cooperation with Screen International, The Hollywood Reporter and Variety. International experts will discuss current trends in the film and entertainment industry from February 8 – 10, 2013.

For the fifth year in a row, the EFM 2013 will present the joint initiative with the European Documentary Network (EDN) „Meet the Docs“. This year the main meeting point for the international documentary industry will again be in the Martin-Gropius-Bau. „Meet the Docs“ will work in close cooperation with the festival sections, which also screen several documentaries.

The series “German Cinema - LOLA@Berlinale” offers an exclusive look at the past year in German cinema. EFM participants and international buyers will be able to view films longlisted for the nomination for the German Film Award with English subtitles.

Further information about the EFM can be found on the website:
www.efm-berlinale.de

Press contact for the European Film Market 2013:
Dr. Kathrin Steinbrenner, stoneburner. Media & PR
T: +49 (0)30 4737 2191


Press Office
December 12, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (23 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2013

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

12.12.2012:
Großer Run auf den European Film Market 2013:
Alle Ausstellungsflächen sind ausgebucht

Guter Start für den European Film Market (EFM) der 63. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin: Die Ausstellungsflächen im Martin-Gropius-Bau und im Marriott Hotel am Potsdamer Platz sind bereits ausgebucht. Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage wurde die Fläche im ersten Stock des Marriott Hotels erweitert. Der EFM (7.-15.02.2013) ist erster Branchentreffpunkt der internationalen Filmindustrie zum Jahresbeginn und eine der wichtigsten Plattformen für den Handel mit Filmen und audiovisuellem Content weltweit.

„Wir freuen uns über das in diesem Jahr nochmals gestiegene Interesse an Standflächen“, so EFM-Direktorin Beki Probst. „Unser Ziel ist es, auf die aktuellen Tendenzen und Entwicklungen der globalen Industrie zu reagieren und unser Angebot entsprechend anzupassen. Den Austausch unter den Marktteilnehmern unterstützen wir weiterhin mit unseren verschiedenen Initiativen.“

Die Reihe „Straight from Sundance“, die ihr Angebot in den vergangenen Jahren kontinuierlich ausgebaut hat, feiert beim EFM 2013 ihr zehntes Jubiläum. Die neu ausgerichtete Initiative „American Independents in Berlin“, organisiert von IFP (Independent Filmmaker Project) und dem Sundance Institute, bietet im Martin-Gropius-Bau erneut einen Treffpunkt für unabhängige US-amerikanische Filmschaffende.

Zum sechsten Mal findet 2013 das Erfolgsformat „EFM Industry Debates“ statt. Offizieller Partner der hochkarätigen Branchenveranstaltungen ist erneut die IFA in Kooperation mit Screen International, The Hollywood Reporter und Variety. Internationale Experten diskutieren vom 8.-10.02.2013 aktuelle Perspektiven in der Film- und Unterhaltungsindustrie.

In Kooperation mit dem European Documentary Network (EDN) bietet der EFM 2013 zum fünften Mal die Initiative „Meet the Docs“. Am Gemeinschaftsstand im Martin-Gropius-Bau trifft sich die internationale Dokumentarfilmindustrie. Die Initiative findet in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Festival-Sektionen statt, bei denen Dokumentarfilme ebenfalls sehr präsent sind.

Einen Rückblick ins deutsche Kinojahr 2012 wirft die EFM-Reihe „German Cinema - LOLA@Berlinale“. Gezeigt werden für die Nominierung zum Deutschen Filmpreis vorausgewählte Filme mit englischen Untertiteln, auch als Angebot an ausländische Filmeinkäufer.

Weitere Informationen zum EFM finden Sie auf der Webseite: www.efm-berlinale.de

Pressekontakt für den European Film Market 2013:
Dr. Kathrin Steinbrenner, stoneburner. Medienberatung & PR
T: +49 (0)30 4737 2191


Presseabteilung
12. Dezember 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (24 KB)