Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2013

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Sep 13, 2012:
10th Berlinale Co-Production Market is open for submissions

Starting now and until October 24, 2012, experienced producers seeking international co-production and financing partners are invited to submit new feature film projects to the Berlinale Co-Production Market 2013.
The "Berlinale matchmaking platform" is once again looking for promising new projects with budgets between 1.5 and 20 million euros. They should be suited for international co-production and already have partial financing in place.

Approximately 20 projects will be selected from submissions. At the 10th Berlinale Co-Production Market (February 10 - 12, 2013), their producers will then meet with interested potential co-producers, financiers, sales agents, distributors, TV broadcasters and funders in Berlin.
During the run-up to the Berlinale, interested partners can peruse the comprehensive catalogue information, decide which projects are relevant for them and which individual meetings they'd like to request. "The efficiency of the meeting coordination is essential for our event, since the Berlinale Co-Production Market takes place as part of a very large festival, and with a film market as important as the European Film Market," says project manager Sonja Heinen, who together with her team has developed the event into one of the most successful co-production markets worldwide. "We know how busy each of the approximately 450 participants are during the Berlinale, so we pay special attention to which partners match, and that the meetings fit the Berlinale schedule of each individual."

The half-hour meetings between participants have resulted in countless successful international partnerships over the years: of the projects selected for the Berlinale Co-Production Market since 2004, a total of around 140 feature films have been completed thus far, meaning that more than 40% of all projects have been produced and screened at international film festivals and in cinemas.

These include 2012 films such as I, Anna by Barnaby Southcombe, which screened in Berlinale Special and will open in German cinemas this November; the road movie Arcadia by Olivia Silver, which received the Generation Kplus Crystal Bear; and the newest example, the Israeli - French co-production Inheritance by Hiam Abass, which premiered recently in Venice Days.
Several other award-winning films were once introduced in their early project phases at the Berlinale Co-Production Market, for example Lebanon by Samuel Maoz, recipient of the Golden Lion at Venice in 2009; AndreiZvyagintsev’s film Elena, winner of the Un Certain Regard Special Jury Prize; or the Academy Award-nominated film Mongol by Sergei Bodrov.

The Berlinale Co-Production Market is part of the European Film Market. Main partners of the Berlinale Co-Production Market are the MDM - Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (since 2004) and the MEDIA-Programme of the European Union (since 2005).


Press Office
September 13, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (30 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2013

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

13.09.2012:
Anmeldestart für den zehnten Berlinale Co-Production Market

Erfahrene Produzenten können bis zum 24. Oktober 2012 neue Spielfilmprojekte, für die sie internationale Koproduktions- und Finanzierungspartner suchen, für den Berlinale Co-Production Market 2013 einreichen.
Die „Berlinale-Partnervermittlung“ sucht wieder neue, vielversprechende Projekte mit Budgets zwischen 1,5 und 20 Millionen Euro, die sich für internationale Koproduktionen eignen und deren Finanzierung bereits zum Teil gesichert ist.

Etwa 20 Projekte werden aus den Einreichungen ausgewählt. Ihre Produzenten treffen dann vor Ort beim 10. Berlinale Co-Production Market (10.-12. Februar 2013) auf interessierte potenzielle Koproduzenten, Finanziers, Weltvertriebe, Verleiher, TV-Sender und Förderer.
Schon im Vorfeld der Berlinale können diese anhand der detaillierten Kataloginformationen entscheiden, welche Projekte für sie relevant sind und welche Einzelmeetings sie anfragen möchten. „Für unsere Veranstaltung ist Effizienz bei der Meeting-Planung das A und O, denn der Berlinale Co-Production Market findet als Teil eines sehr großen Festivals mit einem so bedeutenden Filmmarkt wie dem European Film Market statt“, sagt Projektleiterin Sonja Heinen, die die Veranstaltung zusammen mit ihrem Team innerhalb von zehn Jahren zu einem der erfolgreichsten Koproduktionsmärkte der Welt auf- und ausgebaut hat. „Das Team weiß, wie beschäftigt die rund 450 Teilnehmer während der Berlinale sind und achtet daher genauestens darauf, welche Partner zueinander passen und dass die Termine mit dem sonstigen Berlinale-Zeitplan jedes Einzelnen abgestimmt sind.“

Aus den halbstündigen Gesprächen der Teilnehmer vor Ort sind im Laufe der Zeit zahllose erfolgreiche internationale Verbindungen hervorgegangen: So sind aus den Projekten des Berlinale Co-Production Market seit 2004 bereits rund 140 fertige Spielfilme entstanden, d.h. mehr als 40% aller Projekte wurden bisher produziert und liefen bei internationalen Festivals und im Kino.

Darunter sind 2012 Filme wie I, Anna von Barnaby Southcombe, der im Berlinale Special lief und im November in die deutschen Kinos kommt, das in Generation Kplus mit dem Gläsernen Bären ausgezeichnete Roadmovie Arcadia von Olivia Silver, und als jüngstes Beispiel die israelisch-französische Koproduktion Inheritance von Hiam Abbass, die erst kürzlich bei den Venice Days Premiere hatte.
Etliche weitere preisgekrönte Filme wurden im frühen Projektstadium beim Berlinale Co-Production Market vorgestellt, so etwa Lebanon von Samuel Maoz, der 2009 in Venedig den Goldenen Löwen gewann, Andrei Zvyagintsev’s Cannes Certain Regard Preisträger-Film Elena, oder der für den Academy Award nominierte Mongol von Sergei Bodrov.

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market ist Teil des European Film Market. Hauptpartner des Berlinale Co-Production Market sind seit 2004 die MDM – Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und seit 2005 das MEDIA-Programm der Europäischen Union.


Presseabteilung
13. September 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (31 KB)