Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Homage 2013: Claude Lanzmann

When Steven Spielberg’s film Schindler’s List opened in Germany and France in March 1994, Claude Lanzmann felt the need to respond. He had harsh words for the film he considered an attempt to portray the extermination of Europe’s Jews in an anecdotal, fictionalised and pious way, albeit one that was lauded by critics and received eagerly by the public. "The Holocaust is above all unique in that it erects a ring of fire around itself, a boundary that you cannot cross, because it is impossible to convey a certain absolute horror; claiming to do so is to be guilty of the gravest transgression. Fiction is a transgression; I am deeply convinced that there is a prohibition on representation."

Shoah (1985)

Lanzmann’s judgement, which extended far beyond the specific instance of Spielberg’s film, was in keeping with the position on that subject that he had long since formulated with his own documentary, Shoah (1985, 1st Part, 2nd Part). Lanzmann’s film is a work of indirect representation, in which survivors talk about those who were murdered; in which benign-seeming landscapes stand in for the historical "Bloodlands" (Timothy Snyder); in which an “absolute horror” is evoked by absolute "omission" (Gertrud Koch) – Lanzmann dispenses completely with allegedly documentary images of the annihilation. In doing so, he draws "the boundary between what is aesthetic and imaginable and the unimaginable magnitude of the annihilation" (Koch). From that unimaginability sprung Lanzmann’s policy of irrepresentability, which contributed to a great degree to the “sacralisation of the Holocaust” (Peter Novick).

But despite any debate over its significance, Lanzmann’s colossal work Shoah has nonetheless since then proved to be immune to closure. With Sobibor, 14 Octobre 1943, 16 Heures, Lanzmann produced a shorter film about the "reappropriation of force and violence by the Jews" that carries the same weight of historical-political logic as the significantly longer film about the extermination. Increasingly, additional clusters of material not used in Shoah have been, and are being, made available. Lanzmann has “extracted” one chapter on Jan Karski, and his film Un Vivant Qui Passe (A Visitor From The Living,1997) is also, in the broad sense, part of the Shoah complex. Even some of the footage of his interviews with the controversial Jewish Elder in Theresienstadt, Benjamin Murmelstein, is available and Lanzmann plans to use that material as the basis for his next film, Last of the Unjust. So vis-à-vis the many forms of reappraising history, Shoah holds an authoritative place as documentation, memorial and case study, not least inasmuch as the term Shoah (from the Hebrew for "catastrophe") has, in intellectual discourse, replaced the term Holocaust, with its original meaning of sacrifice.

Yehuda Lerner in Sobibor, 14 Octobre 1943, 16 Heures(2001)

Conversely, Lanzmann’s magnum opus has also proven to be quite open to differentiation, supplementation and reflection. As a 20th century witness and cosmopolite, Claude Lanzmann also represents more than just an author of documentary work on crucial events. He himself embodies the drama of the danger to Jews and (in his case) survival. He is the son of an arranged union of two families of French Jews with deep roots in Eastern Europe, and was himself a victim of anti-Semitism and persecution. But early on he turned to the (communist) resistance movement and fought against the German occupiers. In the post-war years in Paris, he became an important member of the intellectual scene. As long-time companion to Simone de Beauvoir and a friend of Jean-Paul Sartre, he was well connected in the milieu. He broke off contact with Gilles Deleuze after the philosopher broke up with Lanzmann’s sister. As a journalist for "Elle" and the editor-in-chief of the magazine "Les Temps Modernes", Lanzmann proved to have manifold talents.

He visited Israel for the first time in the early 1950s, as a reporter, and there he found his life’s work. With his experiences and investigations, Lanzmann became one of the most important voices in post-war Judaism, despite the fact, or maybe precisely because he was, as he put it, "raised outside any religion, any tradition, any culture that might be called Jewish". His celebrated autobiography, "The Patagonian Hare", betrays the lifelong preoccupation with the forms and empirical knowledge of courage and cowardice that is often also the subject of his film work.

Claude Lanzmann and Uri Ariel in Tsahal (1994)

A committed Zionist, Lanzmann put his weight behind Israel’s right to exist as a sovereign entity. Pourquoi Israël (Israel, Why, 1973) and Tsahal (1994) document his intense sympathies with the creation of the Jewish state on historically Palestinian territory and its right to enforce that sovereignty. It was thus unavoidable that he would draw fire with those two films in particular. He was accused of idealising the Israeli military in Tsahal, ignoring the 1982 Lebanon War, and touching only briefly on the realities of the occupied territories. But those realpolitik-based reproaches undervalue the principal element of Lanzmann’s documentary work. The director specifically addressed the story of the 1943 Sobibor uprising only later. But within the legitimising logic of his oeuvre, it can stand as a motive for the founding of the militarily defensible state of Israel, which Lanzmann seldom criticises directly. The difficult distinction between anti-Zionism and anti-Semitism became manifest in Germany, at a Hamburg screening of Tsahal that was overshadowed by protests, and which prompted Lanzmann to describe the film’s critics as “anti-Semites”.

Appearing at the New York Public Library in 2012, Lanzmann was asked to provide seven words to “describe his life” and chose the following: Jew, trace, fear, death, life, honour, love. With his work, Claude Lanzmann has created a ring of fire not only around the state of Israel, but above all, around historical events, the irrepresentability of which serves as a crucial defence against any repeat.


Bert Rebhandl (Translated by Rebecca Stuart)

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Hommage 2013: Claude Lanzmann

Als Steven Spielbergs Spielfilm Schindlers Liste im März 1994 in Deutschland und Frankreich in die Kinos kam, sah Claude Lanzmann sich zu einer Reaktion veranlasst. Er wandte sich in scharfen Worten gegen den von der Kritik gefeierten und vom Publikum mit großem Interesse angenommenen Versuch, in Form einer ausschnitthaften, fiktionalisierenden, pietätvoll gerahmten Erzählung die Judenvernichtung darzustellen. „Der Holocaust ist vor allem darin einzigartig, dass er sich mit einem Flammenkreis umgibt, einer Grenze, die nicht überschritten werden darf, weil ein bestimmtes, absolutes Maß an Greueln nicht übertragbar ist. Wer es tut, macht sich der schlimmsten Übertretung schuldig. Die Fiktion ist eine Übertretung, und es ist meine tiefste Überzeugung, dass jede Darstellung verboten ist.“

Shoah (1985)

Lanzmanns Verdikt, das weit über den Einzelfall von Spielbergs Film hinausreicht, entsprach der Position, die er mit seinem eigenen Dokumentarfilm Shoah (1985, 1. Teil, 2. Teil) in diesem Zusammenhang längst formuliert hatte. Ein Werk der indirekten Repräsentation, in dem Überlebende über Ermordete sprechen, in dem harmlos wirkende Landschaften für die historischen „Bloodlands“ (Timothy Snyder) einstehen, in dem ein „absolutes Maß an Greueln“ durch eine absolute „Aussparung“ (Gertrud Koch) evoziert wird: Lanzmann verzichtet vollständig auf vermeintlich dokumentarische Aufnahmen der Vernichtung und zieht so „die Grenze zwischen ästhetisch, menschlich Vorstellbarem und dem unvorstellbaren Ausmaß der Vernichtung“ (Koch). Mit einer aus der Unvorstellbarkeit resultierenden Politik der Undarstellbarkeit trug Lanzmann einen gewichtigen Teil zu der „Sakralisierung des Holocaust“ (Peter Novick) bei.

Das Riesenwerk Shoah hat sich seither allerdings, trotz seiner unumstrittenen Bedeutung, in gewisser Weise als unabschließbar erwiesen. Nicht nur hat Lanzmann mit Sobibor, 14. Oktober, 16 Uhr (2001) einen kürzeren Film über die „Wiederaneignung der Kraft und Gewalt durch die Juden“ ergänzt. Dieser Film über den erfolgreichen Aufstand in dem deutschen Vernichtungslager hat in der geschichtspolitischen Logik das gleiche Gewicht wie der deutlich längere Film über die Vernichtung. Zunehmend wurden und werden auch weitere Komplexe aus dem unveröffentlichten Material zugänglich, so hat Lanzmann ein Kapitel über Jan Karski „ausgekoppelt“, sein Film Un Vivant qui Passe (Ein Lebender geht vorbei, 1997) gehört im weiteren Sinn ebenfalls zum Shoa-Komplex, und auch die Aufnahmen mit dem umstrittenen Judenältesten in Theresienstadt, Benjamin Murmelstein, sind inzwischen in Teilen zugänglich und sollen nunmehr die Grundlage für Lanzmanns nächsten Film Der Letzte der Ungerechten bilden. Shoah hat also gegenüber den vielen Formen der Geschichtsaufarbeitung eine autoritative Position als Dokument, Mahnmal, Instanz.

Yehuda Lerner in Sobibor, 14. Oktober, 16 Uhr (2001)

Umgekehrt erweist sich Lanzmanns Hauptwerk in sich als durchaus offen für Differenzierungen, Ergänzungen, Reflexionen. Als Zeuge und Weltbürger des 20. Jahrhunderts stellt Claude Lanzmann auch persönlich mehr dar als nur einen Autor dokumentarischer Arbeiten zu entscheidenden Geschehnissen. Er verkörpert selbst die Dramatik der Gefährdung der Juden und (in seinem Falle) des Überlebens. Als Sohn aus einer arrangierten Verbindung zweier tief in Osteuropa verwurzelter Familien französischer Juden wurde er selbst zum Opfer des Antisemitismus und der Verfolgung, wandte sich aber früh den (kommunistischen) Widerstandsbewegungen zu und bekämpfte die deutschen Besatzer. In Paris wurde er in den Nachkriegsjahren zu einem wichtigen Teil der intellektuellen Szene: als Lebensgefährte von Simone de Beauvoir und Freund von Jean-Paul Sartre knüpfte er wichtige Verbindungen. Mit dem Philosophen Gilles Deleuze brach er, nachdem dieser seine Schwester verlassen hatte. Als Journalist für „Elle“ und als Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift „Les Temps Modernes“ bewies Lanzmann eine vielfache, flexible Begabung.

Als Reporter kam er in den frühen fünfziger Jahren zum ersten Mal nach Israel und fand dort sein Lebensthema. Obwohl oder gerade weil er von sich selbst sagen muss, dass er „außerhalb jeder Religion und Tradition, außerhalb jeder im eigentlichen Sinne jüdischen Kultur (...) erzogen“ worden war, wurde er aufgrund seiner Erfahrungen und Nachforschungen zu einer der wichtigsten Stimmen des Nachkriegsjudentums. Die aus seiner gefeierten Autobiografie „Der patagonische Hase“ deutlich hervorgehende lebenslange Beschäftigung mit Formen und Erfahrungen des Muts und der Feigheit ist immer wieder auch Thema seiner filmischen Arbeiten.

Claude Lanzmann und Uri Ariel in Tsahal (1994)

Als emphatischer Zionist trat er für das Existenzrecht Israels als souveräner Staat ein: Pourquoi Israël (Warum Israel, 1973) und Tsahal (1994) sind Dokumente dieser intensiven Anteilnahme an der Entstehung und Durchsetzung jüdischer Staatlichkeit auf dem Territorium des historischen Palästina. Dass er gerade mit diesen Filmen Angriffe auf sich gezogen hat, war unvermeidlich. Er idealisiere die israelische Armee. in Tsahal. Ihm wurde vorgeworfen, er hätte den Libanonkrieg von 1982 ignoriert und die Realitäten der Okkupation nur gestreift. Diese „realpolitischen“ Vorwürfe unterschätzen das prinzipielle Element von Lanzmanns dokumentarischer Arbeit. Die Geschichte des Aufstands in dem Vernichtungslager Sobibor 1943 rückte Lanzmann erst spät eigens in den Blick, sie kann aber in der Legitimierungslogik seines Werkes als Gründungsmotiv für den wehrhaften Staat Israel gelten, an dessen konkreter Politik Lanzmann selten ausdrücklich Kritik übt. Die schwierige Unterscheidung zwischen Antizionismus und Antisemitismus wurde in Deutschland etwa anlässlich einer Vorführung von Tsahal in Hamburg sinnfällig, die von Protesten überschattet wurde, und anlässlich derer Lanzmann die Kritiker als „Antisemiten“ bezeichnete.

Als Lanzmann anlässlich eines öffentlichen Gesprächs in New York im Jahr 2012 gebeten wurde, sein Leben in sieben Begriffen selbst zu charakterisieren, wählte er die folgenden: Jude, Spur, Furcht, Tod, Leben, Ehre, Liebe. Mit seinem Werk schuf er einen Flammenkreis um den Staat Israel, vor allem aber um ein historisches Geschehen, dessen Undarstellbarkeit wesentlich im Dienst der Abwehr jeglicher Wiederholbarkeit steht.


Bert Rebhandl