Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2013

International Jury

Wong Kar Wai

Wong Kar Wai (People's Republic of China)

Chinese director Wong Kar Wai has won many international awards and is one of the most important representatives of world cinema. His unique and extraordinary style has inspired countless filmmakers and made him a cult figure of contemporary auteur cinema. He made his directorial debut in 1988 with As Tears Go By. In 1994, he achieved his international breakthrough with Chungking Express, followed by Fallen Angels (1996, Berlinale Forum) and Happy Together (1997), for which he won the Award for Best Director in Cannes. He captivated still another generation of European moviegoers with the nostalgic love story In the Mood for Love (2000, César 2001), as well as with his next film, 2046 (European Film Award 2004). My Blueberry Nights (2007) was the first film that Wong Kar Wai shot in the USA and cast with Hollywood stars. His latest film, the epic martial arts drama The Grandmaster, will be the opening film of the 63rd Berlinale.

Susanne Bier (Denmark)

Danish director Susanne Bier studied art and architecture before surrendering completely to her love of film and attending the National Film School of Denmark. Her directorial debut De saliges ø (1987) won first prize of the Munich International Festival of Film Schools. In 1999 she celebrated her international breakthrough with The One and Only. She then ventured a radical change and turned to the Dogme 95 film movement, applying its principles for Open Hearts (2002) and the Sundance Film Festival award-winning Brothers (2004). Following a stint in Hollywood cinema with Things We Lost in the Fire (2007), she returned to her roots in 2010 with great success: In a Better World won the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film. Love Is All You Need (2012), a romance starring Pierce Brosnan, premiered at the Venice Film Festival. Susanne Bier is currently finishing the drama Serena featuring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper.

Andreas Dresen (Germany)

Andreas Dresen is one of Germany's most outstanding directors. His films frequently move between improvisation and semi-documentary, but always get up close and personal with the landscape of the German soul. With equal parts comedy and tragedy, Andreas Dresen often stages mundane reality in its vulgar beauty and bitter truth. His international breakthrough came in 2002 with Grill Point, which won the Berlinale Silver Bear. In his career spanning over 20 years, he has won numerous awards, many of them for his most successful film to date, Stopped on Track (2011), including the Prize Un Certain Regard at the Cannes International Film Festival. Andreas Dresen has been a regular guest of the Berlinale since 1999. Following Night Shape, his films Grill Point, Herr Wichmann von der CDU, Willenbrock and Herr Wichmann aus der dritten Reihe were programme features.

Ellen Kuras (USA)

With her remarkable style and daring choices in image format and composition, U.S. director and cinematographer Ellen Kuras has influenced contemporary cinema aesthetics like no other woman in her field. She is one of the few female cinematographers to regularly film large-scale Hollywood productions, having collaborated with Martin Scorsese, Michel Gondry, Spike Lee and Jonathan Demme. In addition to feature films, her work includes documentary and advertising work as well as music films. Ellen Kuras gained early recognition for Swoon (1992), for which she received the first of three best dramatic cinematography awards at the Sundance Film Festival. Her visual style has defined Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004), Blow (2001) and Summer of Sam (1999), and her directorial debut The Betrayal (2008) was nominated for an Oscar and won a primetime Emmy. Ellen Kuras is currently in development on a script to direct about the silent film star Wally Reid.

Shirin Neshat (Iran)

The works of artist and director Shirin Neshat swing back and forth between tradition and modernity. A theme central to her work is the complexity of the female experience within Islamic society. Shirin Neshat was born in Iran. She left the country at the start of the 1979 Revolution and studied in the US, where she began her artistic output in photography and later moved on to film and video art. Her short film installation Turbulent won the International Award of the Venice Biennale in 1999. Ten years later, her first dramatic feature film Women without Men was awarded the Silver Lion for best director at the Venice Film Festival. Shirin Neshat is currently working on her second feature-length film, a portrait of the Egyptian singer Umm Kulthum.

Tim Robbins (USA)

Tim Robbins (USA) has acted in films including The Shawshank Redemption, Mystic River, The Player, Short Cuts, Bull Durham, Jacob’s Ladder, The Hudsucker Proxy and The Secret Life of Words. He has received the Academy Award, the Prix D'Interpretation Masculine at the Cannes Film Festival, the Humanitas Prize, the Bronze Prize at the Tokyo International Film Festival for his debut film Bob Roberts, Best Director and Best Film at the Sitges Film Festival in Spain for Cradle Will Rock, and four awards at the Berlinale for Dead Man Walking. Most recently Mr. Robbins was honored to be named Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the Republic of France. For the past 32 years, Mr. Robbins has been the Artistic Director of the Actors' Gang, which has traveled the world to five continents with its productions, and whose arts programs serve at-risk children and the incarcerated.

Athina Rachel Tsangari (Greece)

New Greek cinema would not exist without Greek director and producer Athina Rachel Tsangari. She migrated to the US to study performance studies at NYU, and film direction at the University of Texas, in Austin. Her directorial debut Fit (1994) was nominated for a Student Academy Award. Following her critically successful first feature The Slow Business of Going (2000) she returned to Greece, founded Haos Film with fellow filmmakers Matt Johnson and Maria Hatzakou, and began collaborating with director Yorgos Lanthimos. She produced Lanthimos's Kinetta (2005), Academy Award nominated Dogtooth (as an associate producer, 2009) and Alps (2011). Her own second feature Attenberg (2010) received two awards at the Venice International Film Festival, and her art film The Capsule (2012) premiered at the Locarno International Film Festival. Athina Rachel Tsangari is currently working on the sci-fi comedy Duncharon.

Best First Feature Award Jury

Oren Moverman (Israel)

Complex, human characters are Israeli/American screenwriter and director Oren Moverman's favourite subject. He gained recognition for his script work on Ira Sachs's Married Life and the Bob Dylan biopic I'm Not There. His directorial debut The Messenger was awarded the Silver Bear at the 2009 Berlinale, and his drama Rampart was released in 2012. Oren Moverman is currently working on Love & Mercy, a film about Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys.

Taika Waititi (New Zealand)

New Zealander Taika Waititi celebrated numerous successes as an entertainer and comedian before moving into directing in 2005. His first short film Two Cars, One Night was nominated for an Academy Award that year. Two feature films followed, Eagle vs. Shark (2007), which became an export hit, and Boy, which received the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk at the Berlinale 2010.

Lucy Walker (United Kingdom)

British documentary filmmaker Lucy Walker looks for little stories holding big questions; she combines the biographical with the global and the ordinary with grand ideas. She has won over 50 awards with just five documentaries, has been nominated twice for an Academy Award (Waste Land, The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom), and her films Blindsight (2007) and Waste Land (2010) each won the Berlinale PanoramaPublikumsPreis.

International Short Film Jury

Javier Fesser (Spain)

Spanish director Javier Fesser's film career began with a bang: Both of his first works, Aquel Ritmillo (1995) and El Secdleto de la Tlompeta (1996) are still the two most often awarded Spanish short films of all time. His comedies P. Tinto's Miracle (1998) and Clever & Smart (2003) were box office hits in Spain. His short film Binta y la gran idea was nominated for an Oscar in 2007. With Camino (2008), a film about Opus Dei, Javier Fesser switched to drama, creating a film that sparked international controversy and won six Goya Awards, among other distinctions. Javier Fesser is currently working on a 3D sequel to Clever & Smart.

Hong Hyosook (Republic of Korea (South Korea) )

Hong Hyosook was one of the founders of the Women Film Group and represents the Seoul Visual Collective. As a documentary cinematographer, her works include Doomealee, A New School is Opening (1995), On-Line: An Inside View of Korean Independent Film (1997, Berlinale Forum 1998), and Reclaiming Our Names (1998) which were presented at numerous international film festivals. In 1997 she started to work at the Busan International Film Festival, where she currently is curator of the “Wide Angle” section, Documentary and Short Films, and Director of the Asian Cinema Fund (ACF).

Susanne Pfeffer (Germany)

Art historian Susanne Pfeffer works internationally as a freelance curator. From 2007 to 2012 she was chief curator at the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, as well as a curator and advisor for MOMA PS1 in New York. From 2004 to 2006 she was artistic director at Künstlerhaus Bremen. She has also been a guest curator for the São Paulo Art Biennial, the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the Museion Bozen, among others. Susanne Pfeffer has been the editor of numerous artist monographs and exhibition catalogues. In 2009 she was honoured by the AICA USA with an award for her exhibition “Kenneth Anger”.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.
The members of the 2013 Generation Kplus Children's Jury: Hannah Bulling, Matthias Caspari, Rosa Elina Ehrlich, Rocco Görhardt, Lenius Jung, Felix Katulski, Magdalena Kollmann, Ada Maria Nardi, Lonja Emily, Louise Siebenmann, Maja Tischmann and Fabian Welke.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The members of the 2013 Generation 14plus Youth Jury: Indira Geisel, Maxim Mersini, Jonas Mileta, Zoë Noack, Sarah Rheinfurth, Carla Romagna and Kalvin Schmidt-Rimpler Dinh.

Generation Kplus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury" for the best feature film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation). The "Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk.

Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2013 were: Jan Naszewski, Rosario Garcia-Montero and Katharina Reschke.

Generation 14plus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury" for the best feature film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The "Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

Members of the Generation 14plus International Jury 2013 were: Andrew Okpeaha MacLean, Lucy Mulloy and Xavier García Puerto.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2013

Internationale Jury

Wong Kar Wai

Wong Kar Wai (Volksrepublik China)

Der chinesische Regisseur Wong Kar Wai wurde mit zahlreichen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet und gehört zu den wichtigsten Filmschaffenden des Weltkinos. Sein individueller und außergewöhnlicher Stil hat zahlreiche Filmemacher inspiriert und ihn zu einer der Kultfiguren des zeitgenössischen Autorenkinos gemacht. Seinen internationalen Durchbruch feierte er 1994 mit Chungking Express, es folgten Filme wie Fallen Angels (1996, Berlinale Forum) und Happy Together (1997), für den er den Regiepreis in Cannes erhielt. Mit dem nostalgischen Liebesdrama In the Mood for Love (2000) und dem darauffolgenden Film 2046 eroberte sein Werk eine weitere Generation des europäischen Publikums. My Blueberry Nights (2007) war Wong Kar Wais erster Film, den er in den USA gedreht und mit Hollywoodstars besetzt hatte. Sein neuestes Werk, das epische Martial-Arts-Drama The Grandmaster (2012), ist Eröffnungsfilm der 63. Berlinale.

Susanne Bier (Dänemark)

Bevor sie sich vollends ihrer Liebe zum Film hingab, studierte die dänische Regisseurin Susanne Bier Architektur und Kunst. Im dritten Studiengang entschied sie sich für Filmregie und konnte mit ihrem Erstlingswerk De saliges ø (1987) den Preis beim Internationalen Festival der Filmhochschulen in München gewinnen. 1999 gelang ihr der internationale Durchbruch mit Der einzig Richtige. Danach wagte Bier einen radikalen Schnitt und wandte sich der Dogma95-Filmbewegung zu, unter deren Prämisse sie Für immer und ewig (2002) und das in Sundance ausgezeichnete Drama Brothers – Unter Brüdern (2004) verwirklichte. Nach einem Ausflug ins Hollywoodkino mit Eine neue Chance (2007) kehrte sie 2010 mit großem Erfolg zu ihren Wurzeln zurück: In einer besseren Welt gewann den Oscar für den besten fremdsprachigen Film. Love Is All You Need (2012), eine Liebesgeschichte mit Pierce Brosnan, feierte beim Filmfest Venedig Premiere. Susanne Bier stellt gerade das Drama Serena mit Jennifer Lawrence und Bradley Cooper fertig.

Andreas Dresen (Deutschland)

Andreas Dresen ist einer der herausragenden Regisseure Deutschlands. Seine Filme bewegen sich häufig zwischen Improvisation und (Halb-) Dokumentarischem, immer ganz nah an der deutschen Seelenlandschaft. Stets komisch und gleichsam tragisch inszeniert Dresen oft das Alltägliche in seiner profanen Schönheit und seiner bitteren Wahrheit. Den internationalen Durchbruch erlangte er 2002 mit Halbe Treppe, der auf der Berlinale den Silbernen Bären erhielt. In seiner nunmehr über 20-jährigen Karriere gewann er zahlreiche Preise; viele davon für seinen bisher erfolgreichsten Film Halt auf freier Strecke (2011), unter ihnen auch der Preis der Sektion Un Certain Regard der Internationalen Filmfestspiele in Cannes. Bei der Berlinale ist Dresen schon seit 1999 Stammgast. Nach Nachtgestalten waren auch Halbe Treppe, Herr Wichmann von der CDU, Willenbrock und Herr Wichmann aus der dritten Reihe im Programm.

Ellen Kuras (USA)

Die amerikanische Regisseurin und Kamerafrau Ellen Kuras hat mit ihrem außergewöhnlichen Stil und gewagtem Einsatz von Bildformaten und -kompositionen die zeitgenössische Filmästhetik geprägt wie keine andere. Sie ist eine der wenigen Kamerafrauen, die regelmäßig große Hollywoodproduktionen drehen. Unter anderem arbeitete sie mit Martin Scorsese, Michel Gondry, Spike Lee und Jonathan Demme. Neben Spielfilmen dreht sie auch Dokumentar- und Werbefilme sowie Musikfilme. Bekannt wurde Kuras durch ihre Aufsehen erregende Kameraarbeit in Swoon (1992), für die sie die erste ihrer drei Sundance-Auszeichnungen für die beste Kamera erhielt. Ihr visueller Stil hat Filme wie Vergiß mein nicht (2004), Blow (2001) und Summer of Sam (1999) entscheidend geprägt. Ihr Regiedebüt gab sie mit The Betrayal (2008), das für den Oscar nominiert wurde und den Primetime Emmy gewann. Derzeit arbeitet Ellen Kuras am Drehbuch für einen Film über die Komponistin Wally Reid, bei dem sie Regie führen wird.

Shirin Neshat (Iran)

Zwischen Tradition und Moderne pendeln die Werke der iranischen Künstlerin und Regisseurin Shirin Neshat. In ihrer Arbeit thematisiert sie insbesondere die schwierige Stellung von Frauen in der muslimischen Gesellschaft. Geboren wurde Neshat im Iran. Als junge Frau verließ sie zu Beginn der iranischen Revolution das Land und studierte in den USA. Dort begann sie ihr künstlerisches Schaffen erst als Fotografin und wechselte später zur Film- und Videokunst. Im Jahr 1999 gewann ihre Kurzfilminstallation Turbulent den Internationalen Preis der Biennale von Venedig. Ihr erster Kinofilm Women without Men wurde zehn Jahre später mit dem Silbernen Löwen für die beste Regie bei den Filmfestspielen von Venedig ausgezeichnet. Im Augenblick arbeitet Neshat an ihrem zweiten Langfilm – einem Portrait über die ägyptische Sängerin Umm Kulthum.

Tim Robbins (USA)

Tim Robbins (USA) spielte in Filmen wie Die Verurteilten, Mystic River, The Player, Short Cuts, Annies Männer, Jacob's Ladder - In der Gewalt des Jenseits, Hudsucker - Der große Sprung und Das geheime Leben der Worte. Er wurde mit einem Oscar, dem Preis für den Besten Darsteller beim Cannes Film Festival und dem Humanitas-Preis geehrt. Darüber hinaus wurde er beim Tokyo International Film Festival mit dem Bronze Prize für sein Regiedebüt Bob Roberts ausgezeichnet und gewann beim Sitges Film Festival in Spanien die Preise für die Beste Regie und den Besten Film für Das schwankende Schiff. Bei der Berlinale erhielt er vier Preise für seine Regiearbeit Dead Man Walking – Sein letzter Gang. Zuletzt wurde Tim Robbins von der Republik Frankreich zum Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt. Seit 32 Jahren ist Tim Robbins Künstlerischer Direktor der Theatergruppe The Actor’s Gang, die mit ihren Produktionen auf fünf Kontinenten gastierte und die Programme für sozial benachteiligte Kinder und Häftlinge anbietet.

Athina Rachel Tsangari (Griechenland)

Das neue griechische Kino würde ohne die Produzentin und Regisseurin Athina Rachel Tsangari nicht existieren. Die Griechin studierte in den USA Performance Studies an der NYU und Regie an der University of Texas in Austin. Ihre erste Regiearbeit Fit (1994) wurde für den Studentenoscar nominiert. Nach ihrem erfolgreichen Langfilmdebüt The Slow Business of Going (2000) kehrte sie in ihre Heimat zurück, gründete mit den Filmemachern Matt Johnson und Maria Hatzakou die Produktionsfirma Haos Film und begann eine Kollaboration mit Regisseur Yorgos Lanthimos. Ihre Filme bilden den Kanon des neuen griechischen Kinos: Tsangari produzierte Lanthimos’ Kinetta (2005), den Oscar nominierten Dogtooth (2009, als associate producer) und Alpen (2011). Ihre zweite Regiearbeit Attenberg (2010) wurde zweifach in Venedig ausgezeichnet; ihr Kunstfilm The Capsule (2012) hatte seine Premiere in Locarno. Zurzeit arbeitet Tsangari an der Sci-Fi-Komödie Duncharon.

Jury Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Oren Moverman (Israel)

Komplexe, menschliche Charaktere sind das Lieblingssujet des israelisch-amerikanischen Drehbuchautors und Regisseurs Oren Moverman. Bekannt wurde er durch seine Drehbucharbeit an Ira Sachs’ Married Life und der Bob Dylan Biografie I’m Not There. Sein Regiedebüt The Messenger gewann bei der Berlinale 2009 den Silbernen Bären. 2012 kam das Filmdrama Rampart ins Kino. Zurzeit arbeitet er an Love & Mercy, einem Film über Brian Wilson von The Beach Boys.

Taika Waititi (Neuseeland)

Als Entertainer und Comedian hatte der Neuseeländer Taika Waititi bereits zahlreiche Erfolge gefeiert, bevor er 2005 ins Regiefach wechselte. Gleich der erste Kurzfilm Two Cars, One Night wurde 2005 mit dem Oscar nominiert. Es folgten die Spielfilme Eagle vs. Shark (2007), der zu einem Exportschlager wurde und Boy, der 2010 auf der Berlinale den Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerks erhielt.

Lucy Walker (Großbritannien)

Die britische Dokumentarfilmerin Lucy Walker sucht kleine Geschichten, die große Fragestellungen in sich tragen; sie vereint Biografisches mit Globalem und Alltägliches mit großen Ideen. Mit nur fünf Dokumentationen gewann sie über 50 Preise. Zwei Mal wurde sie für den Oscar nominiert (Waste Land, The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom); bei der Berlinale erhielten Blindsight (2007) und Waste Land (2010) jeweils den PanoramaPublikumsPreis.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Javier Fesser (Spanien)

Die Filmkarriere des spanischen Regisseurs Javier Fesser begann mit einem Paukenschlag: Seine beiden ersten Werke Aquel Ritmillo (1995) und El Secdleto de la Tlompeta (1996) sind bis heute die am häufigsten ausgezeichneten spanischen Kurzfilme aller Zeiten. Seine Komödien P. Tinto’s Miracle (1998) und Clever & Smart (2003) wurden in Spanien zu Kassenschlagern. Sein Kurzfilm Binta y la gran idea wurde 2007 für einen Oscar nominiert. Mit Camino (2008), einem Film über das Opus Dei, wechselte Fesser zum Drama und schuf einen international kontrovers diskutierten Film, der unter anderem sechs Goyas erhielt. Zurzeit arbeitet er an einer 3D-Fortsetzung von Clever & Smart.

Hong Hyosook (Republik Korea (Südkorea))

Hong Hyosook ist eine der Gründerinnen der Women Film Group und repräsentiert das Seoul Visual Collective. Als Kamerafrau arbeitete sie an Dokumentarfilmen wie Doomealee, A New School is Opening (1995), On-Line: An Inside View of Korean Independent Film (1997, Berlinale Forum 1998) und Reclaiming Our Names (1998), die auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals präsentiert wurden. Seit 1997 ist Hong Hyosook für das Busan International Film Festival tätig, derzeit als Kuratorin der Sektion „Wide Angle“ sowie als Direktorin des Asian Cinema Fund.

Susanne Pfeffer (Deutschland)

Die Kunsthistorikerin Susanne Pfeffer ist international als freie Kuratorin tätig. Von 2007 bis 2012 war sie Chefkuratorin des KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin sowie Kuratorin und Beraterin des MoMA PS1 in New York. Von 2004 bis 2006 übernahm sie die Künstlerische Leitung am Künstlerhaus Bremen. Als Gastkuratorin war sie unter anderem auf der São Paulo Biennale, im Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, im Museum für Moderne Kunst in Warschau und am Museion Bozen tätig. Susanne Pfeffer ist Herausgeberin zahlreicher Künstlermonographien und Ausstellungskataloge. Für ihre Ausstellung „Kenneth Anger“ wurde sie 2009 von der AICA USA ausgezeichnet.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.
Die Mitglieder der Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2013: Hannah Bulling, Matthias Caspari, Rosa Elina Ehrlich, Rocco Görhardt, Lenius Jung, Felix Katulski, Magdalena Kollmann, Ada Maria Nardi, Lonja Emily, Louise Siebenmann, Maja Tischmann und Fabian Welke.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus 2013: Indira Geisel, Maxim Mersini, Jonas Mileta, Zoë Noack, Sarah Rheinfurth, Carla Romagna und Kalvin Schmidt-Rimpler Dinh.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk.

2013 wurden in die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury berufen: Jan Naszewski, Rosario Garcia-Montero und Katharina Reschke.

Generation 14plus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

2013 wurden in die Generation 14plus Internationale Jury berufen: Andrew Okpeaha MacLean, Lucy Mulloy und Xavier García Puerto.