Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Culinary Cinema

Make Hummus Not War

## ##
Could a regional love of hummus be the recipe for peace in the Middle East? This was the question on director Trevor Graham’s mind when he set out to film Make Hummus Not War, a documentary about the Middle Eastern conflict you don’t see on the nightly news.
One of the oldest-known prepared foods in human history, hummus is claimed by multiple Middle Eastern nationalities. So when Graham learned of a 2008 Lebanese plan to sue Israel for acting as if it had proprietary rights over the dish, he was intrigued and hungry for more. With Israel, Lebanon and Palestine fighting once again – over who ‘owns’ the hummus heritage – he set off on a personal journey into a colourful culinary history.
Make Hummus Not War is Graham’s humorous journey through the hummus bars and kitchens of Beirut, Tel Aviv, Jerusalem and New York. Along the way he encounters the doyenne of Middle East cuisine Claudia Roden, zealots, Jewish settlers, biblical characters, political activists, chickpea farmers, novelists and Sheiks, for whom hummus is a near religious obsession.
"Hummus and chickpeas are a symbol of our common humanity … I want this movie to say ‘We have more in common than divides us’."

Australia 2012, 77 min

by

Trevor Graham

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Kulinarisches Kino

Make Hummus Not War

## ##
Könnte die Liebe zu Hummus das Rezept für Frieden im Nahen Osten sein? Diese Frage bewegte Regisseur Trevor Graham, als er Make Hummus Not War filmte, eine Dokumentation über den Nahost-Konflikt, wie man ihn nicht aus den Nachrichten kennt.
Hummus ist eines der ältesten bekannten Gerichte und viele Staaten im Nahen Ostens beanspruchen es für sich. Als der Libanon 2008 Israel darauf verklagen wollte, nicht so zu tun, als hätten sie die Eigentumsrechte daran, wurden Grahams Interesse und Wissenshunger geweckt. Israel, der Libanon und Palästina kämften wieder, diesmal um das "Erbrecht" am Hummus, und er begann seine Reise in eine bunte kulinarische Vergangenheit.
Make Hummus Not War ist Grahams humorvolle Reise durch die Hummus-Imbisse und Küchen Beiruts, Tel Avivs, Jerusalems, New Yorks. Unterwegs begegnen wir der Altmeisterin der Nahost-Küche Claudia Roden, religiösen Eiferern, jüdischen Siedlern, biblischen Figuren, politischen Aktivisten, Kichererbsenbauern, Romanautoren und Scheichen, für die Hummus eine quasi-religiöse Obsession ist.
"Hummus und Kichererbsen symbolisieren unsere gemeinsame Humanität … Ich möchte, dass dieser Film sagt: 'Wir haben mehr gemeinsam als uns trennt'."

Australien 2012, 77 Min

von

Trevor Graham