Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2012

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Feb 28, 2012:
Record Participation and a Flurry of Business at the European Film Market 2012

The European Film Market 2012 (EFM), which took place from February 9-17 during the 62nd Berlin International Film Festival, had its strongest year to date and was marked by a bustling atmosphere at the Martin-Gropius-Bau and the Marriott Hotel. This year, close to 8,000 participants from 100 countries attended the international trade fair for film and audiovisual content, a 15% increase to the previous year.

In addition to the high volume of participants, Exhibitors reported numerous sales, including Competition titles such as Barbara, Caesar Must Die and A Royal Affair. Films in other festival sections including Panorama selection Parada and Marina Abramovic – The Artist is Present in Panorama Dokumente, or the US production Elektrick Children in Generation were sold to different territories during the EFM following their festival screenings.

“We are extremely satisfied with this year’s Market”, the EFM’s director Beki Probst sums up. “Our industry participants are reporting a very productive EFM with interesting projects and new business contacts.”

Among this year’s industry participants there were 1,739 buyers from all over the world; 760 films – of which 31 were 3D – made up the 1,138 screenings in the 39 EFM screening venues, among them close to 600 market premieres.

The response to the EFM’s initiatives and events was equally positive. Numerous filmmakers made use of the new lounge “American Independents in Berlin” in the Martin-Gropius-Bau. The 60 American Indies in the series’ “Sundance at EFM” and “IFP Selects” also enjoyed enormous popularity during the Market.

The EFM initiative “Meet the Docs” in cooperation with the European Documentary Network was more frequented this year by the documentary industry due to its newly positioned meeting point in the Martin-Gropius-Bau. In addition to the information counter, the daily sessions “Meet the Distributors” and “Meet the Festivals” took place in the EFM Lounge.

A total of around 1,000 industry participants attended the three discussion panels comprising the “EFM Industry Debates”, presented for the first time this year by official partner IFA Berlin, and the new industry talk on crossmedia, organised in cooperation with the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW.

Once again the series “German Cinema – LOLA@Berlinale” in cooperation with the German Film Academy and German Films, which presented films long-listed for a German Film Prize nomination, found widespread favour with the international industry participants.


Press Office
February 28, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (20 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2012

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

28.02.2012:
Teilnehmerrekord und geschäftiges Treiben beim European Film Market 2012

Der European Film Market 2012 (EFM) präsentierte sich vom 9.-17. Februar im Rahmen der 62. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin als bisher stärkster Jahrgang, der von einer geschäftigen Atmosphäre im Martin-Gropius-Bau und Marriott Hotel geprägt war. Den internationalen Handelsplatz für Filme und audiovisuellen Content besuchten in diesem Jahr fast 8.000 Teilnehmer aus 100 Ländern, was einem Anstieg von etwa 15% gegenüber dem Vorjahr entspricht.

Neben regem Besucherverkehr vermeldeten die Aussteller des diesjährigen EFM zahlreiche Verkäufe, darunter Wettbewerbsfilme wie Barbara, Caesar Must Die und A Royal Affair. Auch Filme aus den anderen Festival-Sektionen wie der Panorama-Beitrag Parada und Marina Abramovic –The Artist is Present aus Panorama Dokumente oder die US-amerikanische Produktion Elektrick Children von Generation konnten im Anschluss an die Festivalvorführungen auf dem EFM in verschiedene Länder verkauft werden.

„Wir sind überaus zufrieden mit dem diesjährigen Markt“, resümiert Beki Probst, Direktorin des EFM. „Unsere Fachbesucher berichten uns von einem sehr produktiven EFM, interessanten Projekten und neuen Geschäftskontakten.“

Unter den Fachbesuchern waren 1.739 internationale Einkäufer aus aller Welt, 760 Filme – davon 31 in 3D – wurden in 1.138 Vorführungen in den 39 Spielstätten des EFM gezeigt, darunter fast 600 Marktpremieren.

Ebenso positiv war die Resonanz auf die Initiativen und Veranstaltungsreihen des EFM. Die neue Lounge der „American Independents in Berlin“ im Martin-Gropius-Bau wurde von vielen Filmemachern als Treffpunkt genutzt. Ebenso fanden die 60 US-amerikanischen Independent-Filme in den Reihen „Sundance at EFM“ und „IFP Selects“ regen Zuspruch während des Marktes.

Die EFM-Initiative „Meet the Docs“ in Zusammenarbeit mit dem European Documentary Network wurde durch die neu positionierte Anlaufstelle im Martin-Gropius-Bau von der Dokumentarfilmindustrie noch stärker frequentiert. Neben dem Informationsstand fanden in der EFM Lounge täglich die Veranstaltungsreihen „Meet the Distributors“ und „Meet the Festivals“ statt.

An den drei Diskussionsveranstaltungen der „EFM Industry Debates“, erstmals präsentiert vom Offiziellen Partner IFA Berlin, sowie dem neuen Branchentalk zu Crossmedia, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, nahmen insgesamt rund 1.000 Fachbesucher teil.

Die Reihe „German Cinema – LOLA@Berlinale“ in Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Filmakademie und German Films, die für die Nominierung zum deutschen Filmpreis vorausgewählte Filme zeigte, fand erneut großen Anklang beim internationalen Fachpublikum.


Presseabteilung
28. Februar 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (20 KB)