Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2012

Awards

Feb 18, 2012:
Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Marten Persiel’s This Ain’t California Wins the “Dialogue en perspective” Prize

Today, during the award ceremony of the Independent Juries of the 62nd Berlinale, the young French-German-Slovak jury awarded the “Dialogue en perspective” prize. This year the prize goes to Marten Persiel’s film This Ain’t California. The award was initiated in 2004 by the German-French Youth Office (DFJW), an official Berlinale partner, in association with the Berlin International Film Festival.

The young jury that decided who would receive the “Dialogue en perspective” prize consisted this year of one Slovak, three German and three French film fans between the ages of 20 and 26. Under the direction of jury president, director, actor and screenwriter Jan Henrik Stahlberg, the jurors watched the 13 entries in the Berlinale’s Perspektive Deutsches Kino section from a young, German-French-Slovak perspective, and afterwards passionately discussed which film had impressed them most and deserved the “Dialogue en perspective” prize.

The jury explains its choice as follows: “The ‘Dialogue en perspective’ award goes to This Ain’t California because of its visual strength and the stylistic confidence of its editing. With gripping dynamics, it mixes personal history with the collective memory of the German Democratic Republic. We’ve rarely been so splendidly manipulated.” With the “Dialogue en perspective” prize, the DFJW would like to promote, on the one hand, the exchange between German and French young people and, on the other hand, the intercultural dialogue on film, especially the dialogue on young German cinema.

In 2011, Dirk Lütter’s film Die Ausbildung (The Education) won the prize. Previous winners of the “Dialogue en perspective” prize included Lebendkontrolle (Outside) by Florian Schewe (2010), Prinzessinnenbad (Pool of Princesses) by Bettina Blümner (2007), Der Lebensversicherer (Running on Empty) by Bülent Akinci (2006) and Robert Thalheim's film Netto (Net) (2005). They all went on to achieve widespread recognition in Germany. The chances are good that This Ain’t California will also receive similar attention after winning this award.


Press Office
February 18, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (38 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2012

Preise und Ehrungen

18.02.2012:
Perspektive Deutsches Kino: This Ain’t California von Marten Persiel mit dem Preis „Dialogue en perspective“ ausgezeichnet

Heute wurde auf der 62. Berlinale im Rahmen der Preisverleihung der Unabhängigen Jurys der Preis „Dialogue en perspective“ von einer jungen deutsch-französisch-slowakischen Jury vergeben. In diesem Jahr geht er an den Film This Ain’t California von Marten Persiel. Der Preis wurde 2004 vom Deutsch-Französischen Jugendwerk (DFJW), offizieller Partner der Berlinale, gemeinsam mit den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin ins Leben gerufen.

Die junge Jury, bestehend aus drei deutschen, drei französischen und einem slowakischen Cineasten im Alter zwischen 20 und 26 Jahren, entschied über die Vergabe des „Dialogue en perspective“. Unter der Leitung des Jurypräsidenten, dem Regisseur, Schauspieler und Drehbuchautor Jan Henrik Stahlberg, sahen die Jurymitglieder die 13 Beiträge der Berlinale Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino unter einem deutsch-französisch-slowakischen, jungen Blickwinkel und diskutierten anschließend leidenschaftlich darüber, welches filmische Werk sie am meisten beeindruckt hat und somit den „Dialogue en perspective“ verdient.

Warum This Ain’t California schließlich gekürt wurde, begründet die Jury wie folgt: „Wir verleihen den Preis ‚Dialogue en perspective’ an This Ain’t California für seine visuelle Kraft und seinen stilsicheren Schnitt. Mit mitreißender Dynamik verbindet er eine persönliche Geschichte mit dem kollektiven Gedächtnis der DDR. Selten wurde man so großartig manipuliert.” Das DFJW möchte mit der Vergabe des „Dialogue en perspective“-Jurypreises zum einen den jungen deutsch-französischen Austausch und zum anderen den interkulturellen Dialog über Film, dabei insbesondere über junge deutsche Produktionen, fördern.

2011 wurde der Film Die Ausbildung von Dirk Lütter mit dem Preis ausgezeichnet. In den Jahren zuvor gehörten Lebendkontrolle von Florian Schewe (2010), Gitti von Anna Deutsch (2009), Prinzessinnenbad von Bettina Blümner (2007), Der Lebensversicherer von Bülent Akinci (2006) sowie der Spielfilm Netto von Robert Thalheim (2005) zu den Preisträgern von „Dialogue en perspective“. Die Filme haben in der Folge in Deutschland große Beachtung gefunden. Die Chancen stehen gut, dass dem Film This Ain’t California durch den Preis eine ähnlich große Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wird.


Presseabteilung
18. Februar 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (49 KB)