Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2012

Additional Information

Feb 14, 2012:
The Berlinale Midway: 250,000 Tickets Sold and a Thriving European Film Market

A splendid opening of the Berlinale’s new venue at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele on Schaperstraße, a decisive increase in participants and films at the European Film Market, and more than 250,000 tickets already sold – these are the midway results of the 62nd Berlin International Film Festival.

“The audience is pouring into cinemas and celebrating world stars such as Shah Rukh Khan, Angelina Jolie, Isabelle Huppert and Christian Bale. People love the Berlinale – no matter how cold or icy it happens to be in Berlin,” Festival Director Dieter Kosslick exclaims in delight. And today, Tuesday, the Festival will host the next highlight: Meryl Streep will be awarded her Honorary Golden Bear.

The European Film Market (EFM) is also thriving. As one of the world’s three most important film markets, the EFM 2012 is the pulsating marketplace of the largest audience festival in the world: the lively flow of visitors at the stands of the more than 400 exhibitors in the Martin-Gropius-Bau and Marriott Hotel as well as the rising numbers of participants attest to the EFM’s steady growth. Also well received have been the EFM Industry Debates and the new panel discussion for the film branch on cross-media distribution with over 1,000 participants in all.


Press Office
February 14, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (37 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2012

Zusätzliches

14.02.2012:
Bergfest bei der Berlinale: Bereits 250.000 Tickets verkauft und erfolgreicher European Film Market

Eine glanzvolle Eröffnung der neuen Spielstätte im Haus der Berliner Festspiele in der Schaperstraße, ein deutlicher Zuwachs an Teilnehmern und Filmen beim European Film Market und bislang schon 250.000 verkaufte Tickets – das ist die Zwischenbilanz der 62. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin.

„Das Publikum strömt ins Kino und feiert Stars wie Shah Rukh Khan, Angelina Jolie, Isabelle Huppert oder Christian Bale. Die Menschen lieben die Berlinale – egal wie kalt und eisig es gerade in Berlin ist“, freut sich Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick. Am heutigen Dienstag gibt es einen weiteren Höhepunkt beim Festival: Meryl Streep wird mit dem Goldenen Ehrenbären ausgezeichnet.

Auch der European Film Market (EFM) floriert: Als einer der drei wichtigsten Filmmärkte weltweit präsentiert sich der EFM 2012 erneut als pulsierender Handelsplatz des größten Publikumsfestivals der Welt: Der rege Besucher¬verkehr im Martin-Gropius-Bau und im Marriott Hotel an den Ständen der über 400 Aussteller sowie die steigenden Teilnehmerzahlen belegen das anhaltende Wachstum des EFM. Die Diskussionsveranstaltungen EFM Industry Debates und der neue EFM Branchentalk zu Crossmedia fanden mit insgesamt über 1.000 Teilnehmern ebenfalls großen Anklang.


Presseabteilung
14. Februar 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (48 KB)