Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2012

Forum

Jan 19, 2012:
Everyday Life and Fantasy in the Forum 2012

Differing life plans, generational conflicts and the ambivalence of so-called progress are at the centre of numerous films in the 2012 Forum programme.

As such, Ann-Kristin Reyels’ film Formentera follows a young couple on holiday who run into the ’68 ideals of their parents’ generation and come to realise the extent to which their own ideas about life diverge from one another. Sleepless Knights by Stefan Butzmühlen and Cristina Diz is also set in Spain, telling a story of gay love in the provinces and presenting the co-existence of different generations as an alternative to urban dislocation.

Beziehungsweisen (Negotiating Love) by Calle Overweg also explores the complicated set of compromises involved with living together on a daily basis, blending documentary means and staging techniques to observe different clients attending couples’ therapy. What Is Love by Ruth Mader tackles a similar theme, tracing the various different manifestations of love in five vignettes from the Austrian provinces.

Present-day nomads form the focus of two films in this year’s programme: Habiter / Construire (Living / Building) by Clémence Ancelin, which documents a road construction project in Chad and the effect it has on the local desert population, and Hiver nomade (Winter Nomads) by Manuel von Stürler, a portrait of two shepherds in French-speaking Switzerland in the depths of winter.

European cinema as a whole is particularly strongly represented in the Forum 2012 programme with additional titles from France, the Netherlands, Sweden, Poland, the Czech Republic, Russia, Romania and Turkey.

The Jordanian film Al Juma Al Akheira (The Last Friday) by Yahya Alabdallah tells the story of a taxi driver in Amman who is forced to bring some level of order into his failed existence. The documentary Bagrut Lochamim (Soldier / Citizen) confronts us with the uncompromising views of young Israelis about their Arab compatriots and neighbours. Mani Haghighi’s Paziraie Sadeh (Modest Reception) is an intelligent provocation in which a rich couple distributes plastic bags full of money in the Iranian provinces – a handout aimed purely at degradation.

Rodrigo Plá’s moving Uruguayan film La demora (The Delay) tells the story of a woman driven by her desperate situation to abandon her senile father. Mariano Luque’s directorial debut Salsipuedes is a visionary look at domestic violence that serves as a calling card for the new generation of young filmmakers working in Córdoba in Northern Argentina. For its part, the documentary Escuela normal (Normal School) by Celina Murga observes a secondary school in Parana, Argentina where the pupils imitate the political structures of the adult world.

American independent cinema also has a strong presence in this year’s Forum programme. David Zellner’s fairytale-like Kid-Thing explores the day-to-day life and fantasies of a neglected little girl. Brian M. Cassidy and Melanie Shatzky’s Francine follows a shy woman (played by Oscar-winning actress Melissa Leo) recently released from jail and her overwhelming affinity for animals. And So Yong Kim’s For Ellen shows the final attempts made by a neglectful rock-musician (played by Paul Dano) to build a relationship with his young daughter.

Three films from Japan deal with the tsunami of 11 March 2011 and the meltdown at Fukushima nuclear power station. In No Man’s Zone (Mujin chitai), Fujiwara Toshi advances like a Tarkowskian Stalker into the contaminated zone around the nuclear reactors and evokes images of an invisible apocalypse. Iwai Shunji discusses the political, economic and social situation of a country in a state of dependence in friends after 3.11. And Funahashi Atsushi’s Nuclear Nation creates a portrait of a mayor without a town, who is desperately trying to keep together a community scattered across different emergency shelters in the Tokyo suburbs and is brought to question old certainties in the process.

The 42nd Berlinale Forum will be showing 38 films in its main programme, including 26 world premieres and 8 international premieres. This year’s special screenings will be announced in a second press release.

Main Programme

Al Juma Al Akheira (The Last Friday) by Yahya Alabdallah, Jordan/United Arab Emirates - IP

Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank) byMarlon N. Rivera, The Philippines Avalon by Axel Petersén, Sweden

Bagrut Lochamim (Soldier / Citizen) by Silvina Landsmann, Israel - WP

Bestiaire by Denis Côté, Canada/France

Beziehungsweisen (Negotiating Love) by Calle Overweg, Germany - WP

La demora (The Delay) by Rodrigo Plá, Uruguay/Mexico/France - WP

Escuela normal (Normal School) by Celina Murga, Argentina - WP

Espoir voyage by Michel K. Zongo, France/Burkina Faso - IP

For Ellen by So Yong Kim, USA - IP

Formentera by Ann-Kristin Reyels, Germany - WP

Francine by Brian M. Cassidy/Melanie Shatzky, USA/Canada - WP

friends after 3.11 by Iwai Shunji, Japan - IP

Habiter / Construire (Living / Building) by Clémence Ancelin, France - WP

Hemel by Sacha Polak, The Netherlands/Spain - WP

Hiver nomade (Winter Nomads) by Manuel von Stürler, Switzerland - WP

Jaurès by Vincent Dieutre, France - WP

Kashi (Choked) by Kim Joong-hyun, Republic of Korea - IP

Kazoku no kuni (Our Homeland) by Yang Yonghi, Japan - WP

Kid-Thing by David Zellner, USA - IP

Koi ni itaru yamai (The End of Puberty) by Kimura Shoko, Japan - IP

Die Lage (Condition) by Thomas Heise, Germany - WP

No Man's Zone (Mujin chitai) by Fujiwara Toshi, Japan/France - IP

Nuclear Nation by Funahashi Atsushi, Japan - WP

Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton (Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi and Roman Concrete) by Heinz Emigholz, Germany - WP

Paziraie Sadeh (Modest Reception) by Mani Haghighi, Iran - WP

Příliš mladá noc (A Night Too Young) by Olmo Omerzu, Czech Republic/Slovenia - WP

Revision by Philip Scheffner, Germany - WP

Salsipuedes by Mariano Luque, Argentina - WP

Sekret (Secret) by Przemysław Wojcieszek, Poland - WP

Sleepless Knights by Stefan Butzmühlen/Cristina Diz, Germany - WP

Le sommeil d'or (Golden Slumbers) by Davy Chou, France/Cambodia

Spanien (Spain) by Anja Salomonowitz, Austria - WP

Tepenin Ardı (Beyond the Hill) by Emin Alper, Turkey/Greece - WP

Tiens moi droite (Keep Me Upright) by Zoé Chantre, France - WP

Toată lumea din familia noastră (Everybody in Our Family) by Radu Jude, Romania/The Netherlands - WP

What Is Love by Ruth Mader, Austria - WP

Zavtra (Tomorrow) by Andrey Gryazev, Russia - WP


Press Office
January 19, 2012

Download Press Release, PDF (117 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2012

Forum

19.01.2012:
Alltag und Fantasie im Forum 2012

Die Auseinandersetzung über gegensätzliche Lebensentwürfe, der Konflikt zwischen den Generationen und die Ambivalenz des sogenannten Fortschritts stehen im Mittelpunkt zahlreicher Beiträge zum Forum 2012.

So trifft in dem Spielfilm Formentera von Ann-Kristin Reyels ein junges Paar im Urlaub auf die 68er-Elterngeneration und stellt dabei fest, wie sehr die eigenen Lebensvorstellungen voneinander abweichen. Ebenfalls in Spanien spielt Sleepless Knights von Stefan Butzmühlen und Cristina Diz, die eine schwule Liebesgeschichte in der Provinz erzählen und das Zusammenleben der Generationen als Gegenentwurf zur städtischen Entwurzelung beschreiben.

Um die komplizierten Übereinkünfte des alltäglichen Zusammenlebens geht es auch in Beziehungsweisen von Calle Overweg, der in halb inszenierter, halb dokumentarischer Weise Menschen bei der Paartherapie beobachtet, sowie in What Is Love von Ruth Mader, die in fünf Miniaturen aus der österreichischen Provinz unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen der Liebe nachspürt.

Nomaden der Gegenwart stehen im Mittelpunkt der Filme Habiter / Construire (Living / Building) von Clémence Ancelin, die ein Straßenbauprojekt im Tschad und dessen Auswirkungen auf die Wüstenbevölkerung dokumentiert, und Hiver nomade (Winter Nomads) von Manuel von Stürler, der zwei Schafhirten in der winterlichen französischen Schweiz porträtiert.

Stark vertreten ist im Forum 2012 das europäische Kino auch mit weiteren Beiträgen aus Frankreich, den Niederlanden, Schweden, Polen, der Tschechische Republik, Russland, Rumänien und der Türkei.

Der jordanische Spielfilm Al Juma Al Akheira (The Last Friday) von Yahya Alabdallah erzählt von einem Taxifahrer in Amman, der sich gezwungen sieht, Ordnung in seine gescheiterte Existenz zu bringen. Der Dokumentarfilm Bagrut Lochamim (Soldier / Citizen) konfrontiert uns mit den unversöhnlichen Ansichten junger Israelis über ihre arabischen Mitbürger und Nachbarn. Eine intelligente Provokation ist Mani Haghighis Spielfilm Paziraie Sadeh (Modest Reception), in dem ein reiches Paar in der iranischen Provinz Plastiksäcke voller Geld verteilt – ein Almosen, das der reinen Demütigung dient.

Von einer Frau, die sich in bitterer Not entschließt, ihren demenzkranken Vater auszusetzen, erzählt der bewegende uruguayische Spielfilm La demora (The Delay) von Rodrigo Plá. Für den Aufbruch einer jungen Generation von Filmemachern im nordargentinischen Córdoba steht das Regiedebüt Salsipuedes von Mariano Luque, der visionär von familiärer Gewalt erzählt. Der Dokumentarfilm Escuela normal (Normal School) von Celina Murga wiederum beobachtet an einer Oberschule im argentinischen Parana, wie Jugendliche die politischen Muster der Erwachsenenwelt kopieren.

Mit drei Spielfilmen ist auch das US-Independent-Kino stark im Programm vertreten. David Zellners märchenhafter Kid-Thing beschäftigt sich mit Alltag und Fantasie eines verwahrlosten Mädchens. Brian M. Cassidy und Melanie Shatzky folgen in Francine einer aus der Haft entlassenen menschenscheuen, aber äußerst tierlieben Frau (gespielt von Oscar-Preisträgerin Melissa Leo). Und So Yong Kim lässt in For Ellen einen pflichtvergessenen Rockmusiker (gespielt von Paul Dano) den letzten Versuch unternehmen, eine Beziehung zu seiner kleinen Tochter aufzubauen.

Drei Filme aus Japan beschäftigen sich mit dem Tsunami vom 11. März 2011 und dem GAU des Atomkraftwerks Fukushima. In No Man’s Zone dringt Fujiwara Toshi wie ein tarkowskijscher Stalker in die verstrahlte Zone um die Atomreaktoren vor und evoziert Bilder einer unsichtbaren Apokalypse. Iwai Shunji diskutiert mit friends after 3.11 die politische, ökologische und soziale Lage eines Landes im Zustand der Abhängigkeit. Und Funahashi Atsushi porträtiert in Nuclear Nation einen Bürgermeister ohne Stadt, der verzweifelt seine auf Notunterkünfte in Tokioter Vororten verteilte Gemeinde zusammenzuhalten versucht und dabei alte Gewissheiten in Frage stellt.

Das 42. Forum der Berlinale zeigt insgesamt 38 Filme im Hauptprogramm, davon 26 als Welt- und 8 als internationale Premiere. Die diesjährigen Special Screenings werden in einer zweiten Pressemitteilung bekannt gegeben.

Hauptprogramm

Al Juma Al Akheira (The Last Friday) von Yahya Alabdallah, Jordanien/Vereinigte Arabische Emirate - IP

Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank) von Marlon N. Rivera, Philippinen

Avalon von Axel Petersén, Schweden

Bagrut Lochamim (Soldier / Citizen) von Silvina Landsmann, Israel - WP

Bestiaire von Denis Côté, Kanada/Frankreich

Beziehungsweisen (Negotiating Love) von Calle Overweg, Deutschland - WP

La demora (The Delay) von Rodrigo Plá, Uruguay/Mexiko/Frankreich - WP

Escuela normal (Normal School) von Celina Murga, Argentinien - WP

Espoir voyage von Michel K. Zongo, Frankreich/Burkina Faso - IP

For Ellen von So Yong Kim, USA - IP

Formentera von Ann-Kristin Reyels, Deutschland - WP

Francine von Brian M. Cassidy/Melanie Shatzky, USA/Kanada - WP

friends after 3.11 von Iwai Shunji, Japan - IP

Habiter / Construire (Living / Building) von Clémence Ancelin, Frankreich - WP

Hemel von Sacha Polak, Niederlande/Spanien - WP

Hiver nomade (Winter Nomads) von Manuel von Stürler, Schweiz - WP

Jaurès von Vincent Dieutre, Frankreich - WP

Kashi (Choked) von Kim Joong-hyun, Republik Korea - IP

Kazoku no kuni (Our Homeland) von Yang Yonghi, Japan - WP

Kid-Thing von David Zellner, USA - IP

Koi ni itaru yamai (The End of Puberty) von Kimura Shoko, Japan - IP

Die Lage (Condition) von Thomas Heise, Deutschland - WP

No Man's Zone (Mujin chitai) von Fujiwara Toshi, Japan/Frankreich - IP

Nuclear Nation von Funahashi Atsushi, Japan - WP

Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton (Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi and Roman Concrete) von Heinz Emigholz, Deutschland - WP

Paziraie Sadeh (Modest Reception) von Mani Haghighi, Iran - WP

Příliš mladá noc (A Night Too Young) von Olmo Omerzu, Tschechische Republik/Slowenien - WP

Revision von Philip Scheffner, Deutschland - WP

Salsipuedes von Mariano Luque, Argentinien - WP

Sekret (Secret) von Przemysław Wojcieszek, Polen - WP

Sleepless Knights von Stefan Butzmühlen/Cristina Diz, Deutschland - WP

Le sommeil d'or (Golden Slumbers) von Davy Chou, Frankreich/Kambodscha

Spanien (Spain) von Anja Salomonowitz, Österreich - WP

Tepenin Ardı (Beyond the Hill) von Emin Alper, Türkei/Griechenland - WP

Tiens moi droite (Keep Me Upright) von Zoé Chantre, Frankreich - WP

Toată lumea din familia noastră (Everybody in Our Family) von Radu Jude, Rumänien/Niederlande - WP

What Is Love von Ruth Mader, Österreich - WP

Zavtra (Tomorrow) von Andrey Gryazev, Russland - WP


Presseabteilung
19. Januar 2012

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (128 KB)