Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2012

Additional Information

Aug 03, 2011:
Culinary Cinema in Europe

The idea behind the Berlinale’s Culinary Cinema event is spreading across Europe. Two international film festivals will officially cooperate with the Berlin International Film Festival and are adopting both the Culinary Cinema’s philosophy and format.

Poland

From August 7-12, “Kino Kulinarne” will be held during the new “TRANSATLANTYK Poznan International Film & Music Festival” in Poland. Five films have been selected from the Berlinale’s Culinary Cinema’s repertoire for screening. Afterwards Woijech Modest Amaro will cook meals that fit not only the films but also the region and the season. Amaro has worked at the best restaurants in Europe, including El Bulli and Noma. Recently he has been inspired by his roots, and created a new and modern Polish cuisine.

Founder and director of the festival in Poznan is the Oscar-winning composer Jan Kaczmarek. A longstanding friend of the Berlinale and guest expert at the Berlinale Talent Campus, he explains why he has established “Kino Kulinarne”: „I believe that bringing the program to Poland will reinforce the already growing support for the Slow Food philosophy, making our quality of life better. It will help increase awareness of the dangers of environmental damage, caused by industrial food production, and global food transportation. I want to thank the Berlinale for its generous cooperation.”

Spain

The “59th International Film Festival of San Sebastian”, the city with the most Michelin stars in the world, will hold the “Zinema Culinaria” for the first time from September 16-24, 2011..

The series will open with the documentary Mugaritz BSO by Felipe Ugarte and Juantxo Sardon. Along with many friends of Basque oral traditions, musician Felipe Ugarte and Andoni Luis Aduriz, chef of the world famous restaurant Mugaritz, have attempted to fuse music and sensations of taste.

As Festival Director José Luis Rebordinos says: „When we decided to create our own section on cinema and gastronomy, we came to the conclusion that the best way to do so would be by working together with one of the biggest festivals worldwide, the Berlinale. Thus we would be able to draw on its experience and prestige in both worlds: cinema and cuisine.”

Curator of the Berlinale’s Culinary Cinema Thomas Struck hopes “that some of the chefs and guests from our partner festivals will also attend the next Berlinale from February 9 -19, 2012.”

Dieter Kosslick, Director of the Berlin International Film Festival, comments on the worldwide response to Culinary Cinema: „The event, which was first presented in 2007 to bring together the worlds of food, film, culture and ecology, is attracting ever more followers internationally. Many filmmakers are investigating this important topic. Like the Berlinale Talent Campus, which in the interim is held in five other countries, and the World Cinema Fund, which backs film productions in Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central and South East Asia as well as the Caucasus, Culinary Cinema is now on its way to an international career.”

Press Office
August 3, 2011

Download Press Release, PDF (31 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2012

Zusätzliches

03.08.2011:
Kulinarisches Kino in Europa

Die Idee des Kulinarischen Kinos der Berlinale verbreitet sich in Europa. Zwei internationale Filmfestivals haben offizielle Kooperationsabkommen mit den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin getroffen und übernehmen die Philosophie und das Format des Kulinarischen Kino.

Polen

Vom 7. bis 12. August 2011 findet im Rahmen des neuen „TRANSATLANTYK Poznan International Film & Music Festival“ in Polen das „Kino Kulinarne“ statt. Es werden fünf Filme aus dem Repertoire des Kulinarischen Kinos der Berlinale gezeigt. Anschließend kocht Woijech Modest Amaro ein Menü, das sowohl auf die Filme als auch auf die Region und die Saison abgestimmt ist. Amaro hat in den besten Restaurants Europas wie dem El Bulli und dem Noma gearbeitet. Nun besinnt er sich auf seine Heimat und schafft eine moderne polnische Küche.

Gründer und Leiter des Festivals in Poznan ist der Komponist und Oscar- Preisträger Jan Kaczmarek. Der langjährige Freund der Berlinale und Experte beim Berlinale Talent Campus begründet die Etablierung des „Kino Kulinarne“: „Indem wir das Programm nach Polen bringen, stärken wir die steigende Unterstützung der Slow Food Philosophie, die unsere Lebensqualität verbessert. Das ‚Kino Kulinarne’ wird das Bewusstsein für die Gefahren der Umweltzerstörung durch die Nahrungsmittelindustrie und die globalen Nahrungsmitteltransporte erhöhen. Ich danke der Berlinale für die großzügige Zusammenarbeit.“

Spanien

Beim 59. Internationalen Filmfestival in San Sebastian, der Stadt mit den meisten Michelinsternen der Welt, findet zwischen 16. und 24. September 2011 zum ersten Mal das „Zinema Culinaria“ statt.

Zur Eröffnung wird der Dokumentarfilm Mugaritz BSO von Felipe Ugarte und Juantxo Sardon gezeigt, in dem der Musiker Felipe Ugarte, der Chefkoch des weltberühmten Restaurants Mugaritz, Andoni Luis Aduriz, und viele Freunde der oralen Kultur des Baskenlands versuchen, Musik und Geschmacksempfindungen miteinander zu verbinden.

Festivaldirektor José Luis Rebordinos: „Als wir uns entschieden haben, eine eigene Sektion über Kino und Gastronomie ins Leben zu rufen, kamen wir zu dem Schluss, dass es das Beste wäre, mit der Berlinale, einem der größten Filmfestivals, zusammen zu arbeiten, und uns auf dessen Erfahrung und Anerkennung in beiden Bereichen, dem Kino und der Küche, zu stützen.“

Der Kurator des Kulinarischen Kinos der Berlinale, Thomas Struck, hofft, „dass einige der gastronomischen Gäste und Köche von unseren Partnerfestivals auch auf der nächsten Berlinale zwischen dem 9. und 19. Februar 2012 präsent sein werden.“

Dieter Kosslick, Direktor der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, über die Resonanz, die das Kulinarische Kino weltweit hat: „Das 2007 erstmals präsentierte Festivalformat Kulinarisches Kino, das Film, Food, Kultur und Ökologie verbindet, gewinnt auch international immer mehr Anhänger. Zahlreiche Filmemacher beschäftigen sich mit diesem wichtigen Thema. Nach dem Berlinale Talent Campus, der inzwischen in fünf weiteren Ländern stattfindet und dem World Cinema Fund, der Filmproduktionen in Afrika, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen/Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien und dem Kaukasus fördert, macht nun auch das Kulinarische Kino international Karriere.“

Presseabteilung
3. August 2011

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (32 KB)