Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Jury President 2012: Mike Leigh

“What an honour!” said Mike Leigh, regarding his appointment as this year's president of the International Jury, adding that he had only fond memories of the Berlinale. “Berlin is truly a people's festival, and I love it. It was wonderful in the old days before the wall came down, and it has lost none of its exhilarating charm. The warm, passionate celebration of world cinema in the freezing depths of mid-winter: pure delight!”

Mike Leigh rounded by his jury colleagues

Early on Mike Leigh has been related to the Berlinale very deeply. His black comedy, Meantime, starring Tim Roth, won the prize of the readers´ jury of the «zitty» magazine in 1984. Since then he presented his films in the Forum, Panorama and the Competition section. His film Happy-Go-Lucky competed at the Berlinale in 2008, earning Sally Hawkins a fully-merited Silver Bear as Best Actress in a comedy about a North London schoolteacher. In 2010 Leigh conducted a master-class for young directors at the Berlinale Talent Campus.

Outstanding versatility

Mike Leigh belongs to a generation of British filmmakers who came to the fore during the early 1970’s. Leigh – along with Loach and to some extent Stephen Frears – followed in the slipstream of a previous generation represented by the social commitment of Lindsay Anderson, Karel Reisz, Tony Richardson, and John Schlesinger.

His versatility sets him apart from his contemporaries. Mike Leigh can veer from anarchistic fury (Naked) to social comedy (Topsy-Turvy) or cheerful idealism (Happy-Go-Lucky), from compassionate observation (Vera Drake) to a subtle understanding of family issues (Secrets and Lies or Another Year).

At the age of 29, Leigh made his first feature for the cinema. Set in the drabber purlieus of South London, Bleak Moments (1972) presents a handful of social outsiders who try to communicate with one another and fail – fail humorously, pathetically, grimly, and tragically, all at once.

Yet for more than 15 years, Leigh did not return to the cinema, concentrating instead on television and the theatre. TV movies like Nuts in May (1976) and Abigail’s Party (1977) brought him recognition, and as the Thatcher years began to unfold, so Leigh cast an ever more venomous gaze at the British social landscape of the 1980’s.

Mike Leigh proclaming the winner of the Golden Bear 2012

Individual universes

“My natural instinct,” Leigh has said, “is to see society as society, but really as a society that works because of the nature of the individuality of individuals. I can’t look at a crowd without seeing a thousand individuals. What’s fascinating to me is that each of us is different. So in each of my films, each of the characters, large or small, is properly and organically and thoroughly, in a three-dimensional way, at the centre of his or her universe.”

Throughout his career, Leigh has found it difficult to persuade producers to support his big-screen projects, given that he eschewed carefully-polished screenplays, preferring to work with his favourite actors to develop a film and the ideas within it. Unlike a majority of socially-committed filmmakers, Mike Leigh does not allow his work to become didactic or doctrinaire. His characters gradually emerge from their circumstances, as a bust does from the sculptor’s bronze. Furthermore, actors like Ruth Sheen, Imelda Staunton, Jim Broadbent, and Lesley Manville have contributed immeasurably to Leigh’s world, full as it is of laughter and tears, recrimination and forgiveness.

Only in 1988, in his mid-forties, did he become recognised beyond Britain as a true auteur, with High Hopes. Since then, his nine feature films have captured awards and discerning audiences around the world, with five of the titles earning Oscar nominations, and Vera Drake winning the Golden Lion in Venice and Secrets & Lies the Palme d’Or in Cannes.

Before the beginning of the festival Mike Leigh was excited to take up his work as president of the International Jury at the Berlinale 2012. “My fellow-jurors and I will savour the work of our peers with great gusto, and I look forward to the experience with glee.”

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Jurypräsident 2012: Mike Leigh

„Welch eine Ehre!“, freute sich der Präsident der Internationalen Jury 2012 Mike Leigh über seine Berufung. Denn mit Berlin verbindet er nur gute Erinnerungen: „Die Berlinale ist ein echtes Publikumsfestival und ich liebe sie. Sie war schon vor dem Fall der Mauer wunderbar und hat seitdem nichts von ihrem berauschenden Zauber verloren. Diese warmherzige, leidenschaftliche Feier des Weltkinos in den eisigen Untiefen des Winters ist das reine Vergnügen!“

Mike Leigh inmitten seiner Jurykollegen

Seit langem schon ist Mike Leigh der Berlinale tief verbunden. Seine schwarze Komödie Meantime mit Tim Roth gewann 1984 den Leserpreis des Berliner Stadtmagazins zitty. Seitdem präsentierte der Regisseur seine Filme im Panorama, im Forum und – last but not least – im Wettbewerb: Happy-Go-Lucky, eine Komödie über eine Lehrerin im Norden Londons, brachte Hauptdarstellerin Sally Hawkins 2008 einen Silbernen Bären als Beste Schauspielerin ein. Zuletzt leitete Mike Leigh eine Masterclass für junge Regisseure auf dem Berlinale Talent Campus 2010.

Mike Leigh gehört zu einer Generation von Filmemachern, die in den frühen 1970er Jahren das Ruder im britischen Kino übernahmen. Er ist – wie Ken Loach und bis zu einem gewissen Punkt auch Stephen Frears – im Windschatten der Vorgängergeneration groß geworden. Regisseure wie Lindsay Anderson, Karel Reisz, Tony Richardson und John Schlesinger prägten ein britisches Kino, das sich dem Sozialen verpflichtet fühlte.

Einer der vielseitigsten Regisseure seiner Generation

Mike Leighs Vielseitigkeit ist außerordentlich. Von anarchistischer Raserei (Naked), Sozialkomödie (Topsy-Turvy) oder heiterem Idealismus (Happy-Go-Lucky) über mitfühlende Beobachtung (Vera Drake) bis hin zu einem scharfsinnigen Verständnis von Familienangelegenheiten (Secrets and Lies oder Another Year): Mike Leigh beherrscht die gesamte Bandbreite der filmischen Klaviatur.

Im Alter von 29 Jahren realisierte Mike Leigh seinen ersten Kinofilm. Vor dem düsteren Hintergrund Südlondons zeigt Bleak Moments (1972) die scheiternden Versuche einer Handvoll sozialer Außenseiter miteinander zu leben – ein zugleich humorvolles, rührendes, grimmiges und tragisches Scheitern.

Erst 15 Jahre später sollte Mike Leigh zum Kino zurückkehren. In der Zwischenzeit konzentrierte er sich auf das Fernsehen und das Theater. Seine TV-Filme wie Nuts in May (1976) oder Abigail’s Party (1977) wurden hoch gelobt und als die Thatcher-Jahre begannen, warf Mike Leigh einen giftigen Blick auf die soziale Landschaft im England der 1980er Jahre.

Mike Leigh verkündet den Gewinner des Goldenen Bären 2012

Individuelle Universen

„Mein Instinkt lässt mich die Gesellschaft als Gesellschaft sehen“, hat Mike Leigh einmal gesagt. „Aber Gesellschaft funktioniert eben nur nur auf der Grundlage der Prinzipien von Individualität. Ich kann nicht auf eine Menschenmenge schauen, ohne tausende Individuen zu sehen. Was mich fasziniert ist, dass jeder von uns anders ist. Deshalb ist in meinen Filmen grundsätzlich jede Figur, ob klein oder groß, auf natürliche und vollkommene Weise das Zentrum ihres Universums.“

Während seiner gesamten Karriere war es für Mike Leigh immer recht schwierig, Produzenten von seinen Projekten für die große Leinwand zu überzeugen. Der Grund dafür ist seine Arbeitsweise: Er meidet sorgsam aufpolierte Drehbücher und bevorzugt es stattdessen, seine Filme und die Ideen in ihnen mit seinen Lieblingsschauspielern zu entwickeln. Entgegen der Mehrheit von Filmemachern, die sich dem Sozialen verschreiben, sind Mike Leighs Arbeiten niemals schulmeisterlich oder doktrinär. Seine Figuren schälen sich nach und nach aus ihren Lebensverhältnissen heraus, wie die Büste aus der Bronze des Bildhauers. Dank seiner Arbeitsweise können Schauspieler wie Ruth Sheen, Imelda Staunton, Jim Broadbent und Lesley Manville unermesslich viel zu Mike Leighs filmischen Welten beitragen. So entstehen kinematographische Kosmen voller Gelächter und Tränen, Schuldzuweisungen und Vergebung.

Erst 1988, als er schon Mitte 40 war, wurde Mike Leigh durch High Hopes auch außerhalb Englands als wahrer Auteur anerkannt. Seitdem haben seine neun Spielfilme das weltweite Publikum scharfsinnig unterhalten und zahlreiche Auszeichnungen abgeräumt: Fünf der Werke wurden für den Oscar nominiert, mit Vera Drake (2004) gewann er den Goldenen Löwen in Venedig, mit Secrets & Lies (1996) die Goldene Palme in Cannes.

Vor dem Beginn des Festivals freute sich Mike Leigh auf seine Aufgabe als Präsident der Internationalen Jury bei der Berlinale 2012: „Meine Mitjuroren und ich werden die Arbeiten unserer Kollegen mit großer Begeisterung genießen. Ich freue mich unbändig auf diese Erfahrung.“