Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Series of Talks at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele

For years, discussions with filmmakers directly after the screenings of their films have been a special attraction of the festival experience for many Berlinale visitors. With the establishment of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele as a new venue in 2012, the Berlinale had the opportunity to use this space to expand discussions between filmmakers and the audience.

“Some topics simply demand more attention and a broader platform than the time allotted to them usually allows,” commented Festival Director Dieter Kosslick. Close contact with international stars in direct conversation after their appearance on the Red Carpet as well as immersion in topical issues –the events at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele offered both.

The talks took place directly after the screenings and varied, depending on the film, in content and form. In the Berlinale’s first year at this location, an impressive new format emerged.

In The Land Of Blood And Honey

Video: Angelina Jolie and Jasmila Žbanić

The new format launched with In The Land Of Blood And Honey, Angelina Jolie’s directorial debut. The film tells a painful love story set against the backdrop the war in Bosnia. Following the screening, Angelina Jolie talked with Bosnian director Jasmila Žbanić, who won the Golden Bear for her post-war drama Grbavica at the Berlinale in 2006. A meeting between two filmmakers who have approached the same controversial topic in very different ways.

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry

Video: Alison Klayman and Klaas Ruitenbeek

For her documentary portrait Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry American director Alison Klayman accompanied Chinese artist Ai Weiwei for years, and reveals the inseparable link between his artistic work and his political engagement. Following the screening, Alison Klayman talked with Klaas Ruitenbeek, director of Berlin’s Museum for Asian Art. The event was held in cooperation with Amnesty International.

Death Row

Video: Werner Herzog

Werner Herzog’s Death Row, a work that has an unusual format for a film festival, was given a platform at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. The former President of the International Jury (Berlinale 2010) presented his four-part TV series, each of which gives an individual portrait of a person who has been sentenced to death in the USA. Afterwards, the audience had the opportunity to discuss what they had seen with Werner Herzog.

Side By Side

Video: Talk on Side by Side

For the documentary film project Side By Side, Keanu Reeves interviewed over the years many masters of contemporary cinema. He asked them about the significance of digital technology for cinema and the art of filmmaking. The result is a number of very interesting conversations with legendary directors, such as Martin Scorsese and Steven Soderbergh. Following the screening, Keanu Reeves discussed the topic with Chris Kenneally, the film’s director, and Michael C. Donaldson, a lawyer who is an important advocate of independent filmmakers and an expert on digital rights.

Althawra... Khabar (Reporting ... A Revolution)

Video of the discussion

Althawra ... Khabar (Reporting ... A Revolution) by Bassam Mortada accompanies six journalists from a Cairo daily paper, all of whom received training in video journalism right before the first demonstrations. With their newly acquired skills, they unexpectedly find themselves in the middle of a revolution. In a panel discussion with film journalist Alaa Karkouti from Kairo, Kismet El Sayed, Noura Younis, Shaayma Adel and Samah Abdel Aaty reflected on the events and the conflict of having to position themselves between journalist duty and active participation.

Hijos de las nubes, la última colonia (Sons Of The Clouds, The Last Colony)

Video: Vincenzo Bugno, Álvaro Longoria and Javier Bardem

Javier Bardem presented Hijos de las nubes, La última colonia (Sons Of The Clouds, The Last Colony) by Álvaro Longoria. The film draws attention to the current plight of the people of Western Sahara – a region that for decades has been a pawn on the board of European colonial interests. Following the film, Javier Bardem and Álvaro Longoriawill discussed the political situation with the audience. Berlinale delegate for the Maghreb & Mashreq and head of the World Cinema Fund Vincenzo Bugno moderated the panel.

Magyarország 2011 (Hungary 2011)

Video: Béla Tarr, Bence Fliegauf and Nikolaj Nikitin

The film from Berlinale Shorts Magyarország 2011 (Hungary 2011) is an omnibus film initiated by Béla Tarr (Berlinale 2011 Silver Bear for A torinói ló / The Turin Horse) about the current situation in Hungary. Eleven contributions including those by Bence Fliegauf, whose film Csak a szél (Just The Wind) was also in the Competition 2012, György Pálfi, Márta Mészáros, Péter Forgács and Miklós Jancsó showed the diversity of contemporary Hungarian cinema despite strict restrictions that had been imposed on freedom of the press and expression in the arts. Following the screening, Béla Tarr and Bence Fliegauf were talking with Berlinale delegate Nikolaj Nikitin about the possibilities of art, and film in particular, to influence or even change the political situation in a country. With this event, the Berlinale sent a clear signal of support for independent Hungarian cinema.

Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton

Arno Brandlhuber, Gertrud Koch, Hanns Zischler, Heinz Emigholz, Anselm Franke

Following the screening of Heinz Emigholz´s Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton (Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi and Roman Concrete), the Forum hosted a panel discussion with the filmmaker. Emigholz discussed the final film in his series “Architecture as Autobiography” with urban planer and architect Arno Brandlhuber, film scholar Gertrud Koch and curator Anselm Franke. The conversation was moderated by Hanns Zischler.

Der Blaue Engel, Münchhausen, Die Mörder sind unter uns (The Murderers Are Among Us)

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of Studio Babelsberg, three films from different political eras were presented from the special series “Happy Birthday, Studio Babelsberg”. Josef von Sternberg’s Der Blaue Engel (1930) represented the Weimar Republic, followed by Münchhausen, which had been made in 1943 during the Nazi era. Wolfgang Staudte’s Die Mörder sind unter uns (Murderers Are Among Us, 1946) paintsed a striking picture of postwar Germany. In a discussion about responsibility and the enmeshment of politics and studio system, film journalist and author Ralf Schenk took a critical look at history. The panel also included Daniela Sannwald, co-author of the book “Die Frauen von Babelsberg”; Klaus Kreimeier, an undeniable expert on cinema of these eras; as well as Christoph Fisser, one of the current directors of Studio Babelsberg. Rudolf Jürschik, who had been DEFA’s last head dramaturge, gave insight into the work of the studio before the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Anton Corbijn Inside Out

Director Klaartje Quirijns and moderator Anatol Weber on the stage of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

The director Klaartje Quirijns presented Anton Corbijn Inside Out, her documentary portrait of the member of the International Jury 2012. Besides many music videos, Anton Corbijn has made two feature films: Control (2007) about Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis and The American (2010). He is internationally renowned for his photography of musicians such as the Rolling Stones, U2 and Sting. Anatol Weber moderated the panel.

Da Nao Tian Gong 3D (The Monkey King - Uproar in Heaven 3D)

The section director of Generation Maryanne Redpath with the film crew of Da Nao Tian Gong 3D

The Chinese animation Da Nao Tian Gong 3D (The Monkey King – Uproar in Heaven 3D) from Generation was screened out of competition. In collaboration with the 3D specialists from Avatar and Harry Potter, The Monkey King - which originally consisted of some 130,000 drawings - is one of the first films to have been restored using modern 3D technology.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Gesprächsreihe im Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Die Anwesenheit der Filmemacher und Filmemacherinnen im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen macht seit Jahren den besonderen Reiz der Festivalerfahrung für viele Berlinale-Besucher aus. Mit der Etablierung des Hauses der Berliner Festspiele als neuer Spielstätte nutzte die Berlinale 2012 die Möglichkeit, den Raum für den Dialog konsequent zu erweitern.

„Manche Themen erfordern einfach mehr Aufmerksamkeit und eine breitere Plattform als die Gesprächszeit, die in der Regel zur Verfügung steht“, kommentierte Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick. Auf Tuchfühlung mit internationalen Stars im direkten Gespräch nach dem Auftritt auf dem Roten Teppich und die Vertiefung aktueller Themenschwerpunkte – beides boten die Veranstaltungen im Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

Die Gespräche fanden jeweils direkt im Anschluss an die Filmvorführungen statt und waren je nach den Ansprüchen der jeweiligen Werke offen gehalten und individuell gestaltet. Gleich im ersten Jahr wurde so ein beeindruckendes neues Format auf die Beine gestellt.

In The Land Of Blood And Honey

Video: Angelina Jolie im Gespräch mit Jasmila Žbanić

Mit In The Land Of Blood And Honey, dem Regiedebüt von Angelina Jolie wurde das neue Format feierlich eröffnet. Der Film erzählt die schmerzhafte Liebesgeschichte zwischen dem Befehlshaber eines Vergewaltigungscamps und einer jungen Gefangenen zur Zeit des Bosnienkrieges. Im Anschluss traf Angelina Jolie in einem Gespräch auf die bosnische Regisseurin Jasmila Žbanić, die mit ihrem Nachkriegsdrama Grbavica (Esmas Geheimnis) 2006 den Goldenen Bären gewonnen hat. Zwei Regisseurinnen, die sich demselben Konflikt auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise genähert haben.

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry

Video: Alison Klayman im Gespräch mit Klaas Ruitenbeek

Für das dokumentarische Portrait Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry hat die amerikanische Regisseurin Alison Klayman den chinesischen Künstler Ai Weiwei über Jahre begleitet und zeigt, dass sein künstlerisches Schaffen und sein politisches Engagement untrennbar verbunden sind. Im Anschluss trat Alison Klayman in ein Zwiegespräch mit Klaas Ruitenbeek, dem Direktor des Museums für Asiatische Kunst in Berlin. Die Veranstaltung fand in Zusammenarbeit mit Amnesty International statt.

Death Row

Video: Werner Herzog im Dialog mit dem Publikum

Mit Death Row von Werner Herzog, dem Präsidenten der Internationalen Jury der Berlinale 2010, fand ein filmfestivaluntypisches Format seine Plattform im Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Herzog präsentierte seine vierteilige TV-Serie mit Einzelportraits von in den USA zur Todesstrafe Verurteilten. Im Anschluss hatte das Publikum Gelegenheit zum Gespräch mit Werner Herzog.

Side By Side

Video: Gespräch zu Side By Side

Für den Dokumentarfilm Side By Side hat Keanu Reeves über Jahre hinweg mit Größen des modernen Kinos vor laufender Kamera Interviews geführt. Seine Frage: „Was bedeutet die Digitalisierung für das Kino und die Filmkunst?“ Entstanden sind hoch interessante Gespräche mit Persönlichkeiten wie Regielegende Martin Scorsese und Steven Soderbergh. Im Anschluss an die Vorführung von Side By Side diskutierte Keanu Reeves mit Regisseur Chris Kenneally und Michael C. Donaldson, einem der wichtigsten Anwälte und Fürsprecher unabhängiger Filmemacher sowie Experte für Digital Rights.

Althawra... Khabar (Bericht ... einer Revolution)

Video des Gesprächs

Althawra ... Khabar (Reporting ... A Revolution | Bericht ... einer Revolution) von Bassam Mortada begleitet sechs Journalisten und Journalistinnen einer Kairoer Tageszeitung, die in der unmittelbaren Zeit vor den ersten Demonstrationen für den Videojournalismus ausgebildet wurden. Völlig unerwartet finden sie sich mit ihrem neu erlernten Wissen inmitten einer Revolution wieder. Im Gespräch mit dem Filmjournalisten Alaa Karkouti aus Kairo reflektierten Kismet El Sayed, Noura Younis, Shaayma Adel und Samah Abdel Aaty die Ereignisse und den Konflikt, sich zwischen journalistischer Pflicht und aktiver Teilnahme positionieren zu müssen.

Hijos de las nubes, la última colonia (Sons Of The Clouds, The Last Colony)

Video: Vincenzo Bugno, Álvaro Longoria und Javier Bardem

Javier Bardem präsentierte Hijos de las nubes, La última colonia (Sons Of The Clouds, The Last Colony) von Álvaro Longoria und machte auf die heutige Situation der Bewohner der Westsahara aufmerksam - eine Region, die über Jahrzehnte hinweg Spielball der kolonialen Interessen der Europäer war. Im Anschluss diskutierten Javier Bardem und Álvaro Longoria die politische Situation mit dem Publikum. Die Moderation übernahm Vincenzo Bugno, Maschrek- und Maghreb-Delegierter der Berlinale und Leiter des World Cinema Fund.

Magyarország 2011 (Ungarn 2011)

Video: Béla Tarr, Bence Fliegauf und Nikolaj Nikitin

Der Beitrag der Berlinale Shorts Magyarország 2011 (Ungarn 2011) ist ein von Béla Tarr (Berlinale 2011 Silberner Bär für A torinói ló / The Turin Horse) initiierter Omnibusfilm zur aktuellen Situation in Ungarn. Elf Beiträge - unter anderem von Bence Fliegauf, der mit Csak a szél (Just The Wind) auch im Wettbewerb 2012 vertreten war, György Pálfi, Márta Mészáros, Péter Forgács und Miklós Jancsó - zeigten, wie vielfältig das aktuelle ungarische Kino trotz rigider Einschränkungen der Kunst- und Pressefreiheit ist. Im anschließenden Gespräch diskutierten Béla Tarr und Bence Fliegauf mit dem Berlinale-Delegierten Nikolaj Nikitin die Möglichkeiten der Kunst und insbesondere des Films die politische Situation in einem Land zu beeinflussen oder gar zu verändern. Damit setzte die Berlinale ein klares Statement für das unabhängige ungarische Kino.

Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton

Arno Brandlhuber, Gertrud Koch, Hanns Zischler, Heinz Emigholz, Anselm Franke

Auch das Forum lud zu einer Gesprächsveranstaltung ein. Heinz Emigholz diskutierte nach der Vorführung seines Films Parabeton - Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton, dem Abschluss seiner Serie „Architektur und Autobiographie“, mit dem Stadtplaner und Architekten Arno Brandlhuber, der Filmwissenschaftlerin Gertrud Koch und dem Kurator Anselm Franke. Moderiert wurde das Gespräch von Hanns Zischler.

Der Blaue Engel, Münchhausen, Die Mörder sind unter uns

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstages von Studio Babelsberg waren drei Werke aus der Sonderreihe „Happy Birthday, Studio Babelsberg“ zu sehen. Drei Filme aus drei verschiedenen politischen Epochen: Josef von Sternbergs Der Blaue Engel (1930) vertrat die Weimarer Republik, gefolgt von Münchhausen, der 1943 zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus entstanden war. Ein eindrückliches Bild der deutschen Nachkriegszeit zeichnete Wolfgang Staudte mit Die Mörder sind unter uns von 1946. Eingebettet in Gespräche über die Verantwortung und die Verzahnung zwischen Politik und Studiosystem warf Filmpublizist und Autor Ralf Schenk einen kritischen Blick auf die Geschichte. Zu seinen Gesprächspartnern gehörten Daniela Sannwald, Co-Autorin des Buches „Die Frauen von Babelsberg“, der unumstrittene Experte für das Kino dieser Epochen Klaus Kreimeier, sowie Christoph Fisser, einer der heutigen Betreiber des Studios Babelsberg. Mit Rudolf Jürschik gab der letzte Chefdramaturg der DEFA Einblick in die Arbeit des Studios vor der Wende.

Anton Corbijn Inside Out

Regisseurin Klaartje Quirijns und Moderator Anatol Weber auf der Bühne des Hauses der Berliner Festspiele.

Die Regisseurin Klaartje Quirijns präsentierte ihr dokumentarisches Portrait Anton Corbijn Inside Out. Anton Corbijn, der 2012 Mitglied der Internationalen Jury war, hat neben zahlreichen Musikvideos mit Control über Joy Division Frontmann Ian Curtis und The American zwei Spielfilme inszeniert und ist als Fotograf von Musikern wie den Rolling Stones, U2 und Sting international anerkannt. Anatol Weber moderierte das Gespräch.

Da Nao Tian Gong 3D (Der Affenkönig - Aufruhr im Himmel 3D)

Die Sektionsleiterin der Generation Maryanne Redpath mit dem Filmteam von Da Nao Tian Gong 3D

Generation zeigte den chinesischen Animationsfilm Da Nao Tian Gong 3D (Der Affenkönig - Aufruhr im Himmel 3D) außer Konkurrenz. In Zusammenarbeit mit den 3D-Experten von Avatar und Harry Potter ist mit The Monkey King, der ursprünglich aus 130.000 Tuschezeichnungen bestand, eine der ersten Restaurierungen in 3D-Technik entstanden.