Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2012

International Jury

Mike Leigh (United Kingdom)

Mike Leigh has made a name for himself as one of the most outstanding filmmakers of auteur cinema and protagonists of New British Cinema. Leigh portrays British society in a bluntly realistic but humorous manner. His films have received countless international awards and Oscar nominations. Trained as an actor, dramatist and screenwriter, he has directed more than 20 films, including Bleak Moments (1972, Golden Leopard in Locarno), Naked (1993, Award for Best Director in Cannes), Secrets and Lies (1996, Palme d’Or in Cannes) and Vera Drake (2004, Golden Lion in Venice).
Nominated for several Oscars, director Mike Leigh has been invited several times to different sections of the Berlin International Film Festival: Meantime screened in the Forum in 1984; the short film The Short and Curlies, in the Panorama in 1988; as did Life Is Sweet in 1991. His latest contribution was to the Competition in 2008: his social comedy Happy-Go-Lucky featured Sally Hawkins, who won the Silver Bear for Best Actress.

Anton Corbijn (Netherlands)

Dutch photographer, designer and filmmaker Anton Corbijn won international fame with his photos of musicians: the Rolling Stones, U2, Frank Sinatra, Luciano Pavarotti, Tom Waits and others. For bands such as U2 or Depeche Mode, he became like a fifth member and shot and/or designed eight album covers for each of them. Since 1993 he has also designed the stage sets for Depeche Mode`s tours. He started directing music videos in the early 1980s, later also for artists such as Herbert Grönemeyer, Johnny Cash, Coldplay and Nirvana. He made his directorial debut with the film Control about lead singer Ian Curtis of the British post-punk band Joy Division. The film opened Cannes’ Quinzaine section in 2007. It was followed in 2010 by his film The American, a thriller with George Clooney in the lead. Most recently Corbijn has collaborated with Berend Strik on the charitable project “Mandela Landscape”. As a major source of inspiration for the popular culture of his generation, Corbijn was awarded the most important cultural award of the Netherlands in November 2011: the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds Prijs. His next cinema project will be a screen adaptation of John LeCarré’s A Most Wanted Man which will be shot in Germany.

Asghar Farhadi (Iran)

Iranian director and screenwriter Asghar Farhadi shot his first 8-mm and 16-mm films as a teenager, and had already made five short films by the time he went to Tehran University and got his Bachelor and Master degree in theatre directing. He also worked for radio and television. In 2003, he won the Special Jury Prize for his feature film debut Raghs dar ghobar (Dancing in the Dust) at the Moscow International Film Festival. His second feature film Shahr-e ziba (A Beautiful City, 2004) was awarded the Grand Prix as best film in Warsaw. In 2009, he won the Silver Bear for Best Director with his Berlinale Competition film Darbareh-ye Elly (About Elly). About Elly also won at the Tribeca Film Festival and went on to receive another ten awards. His latest work, Jodaeiye Nader az Simin (Nader and Simin. A Separation) took home the Golden Bear and two Silver Bears for the performances of the ensemble at the Berlin International Film Festival in 2011. It was an international success, and after winning the Berlinale it won awards at 22 international festivals. Iran has selected the film as its official entry for the Academy Awards. In summer 2011, Asghar Farhadi was invited to participate in Berlin’s Artist-in-Residence programme of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

Charlotte Gainsbourg (France)

French-British actress Charlotte Gainsbourg, daughter of French artist Serge Gainsbourg and British actress and singer Jane Birkin, made her motion picture debut as a teenager in Parole et Musique (Love Songs, 1985; directed by Élie Chouraqui). She then worked with many different filmmakers, such as Agnès Varda, Paolo and Vittorio Taviani, Jacques Doillon, Eric Rochant, Bertrand Blier and Andrew Birkin. In 1986 she won a César as Most Promising Young Actress for L’éffrontée (Charlotte and Lulu, 1985; directed by Claude Miller). In 1998, she gave a breakthrough performance in La petite voleuse (Little Thief, directed by Claude Miller). In 2001, she starred in Yvan Attal’s Ma femme est une actrice (My Wife Is an Actress) and played the lead in Félix et Lola (Felix and Lola, directed by Patrice Leconte), which also screened in the Berlinale Competition. She has made many other films for the screen, including 21 Grams (2003, directed by Alejandro Gonzalez Inarittu), Prête-moi ta main (I Do, 2006, directed by Eric Lartigau), Michel Gondry’s La science des rêves (The Science of Sleep, Berlinale Competition 2006), Golden Door (2007, directed by Emmanuele Crialese, Golden Lion in Venice) and Todd Haynes’ I'm Not There (2007). In 2009, she played in Patrice Chereau’s Persécution (2009) and won the Best Actress award in Cannes for her role in Lars von Trier’s Antichrist. Most recently she starred in L’Arbre (The Tree, 2010, directed by Julie Bertucelli) and in Melancholia (directed by Lars von Trier), which won the 2011 European Film Prize for Best Film. Charlotte Gainsbourg also performs as a vocal artist and has just released her fourth album “Stage Whisper”.

Jake Gyllenhaal (USA)

Academy Award nominee Jake Gyllenhaal won BAFTA and National Board of Review awards for his poignant performance as Jack Twist in Ang Lee's timeless classic Brokeback Mountain (2005, Golden Lion in Venice). He was last seen starring in Duncan Jones' critically acclaimed sci-fi thriller Source Code (2011, R: Duncan Jones) and Ed Zwick’s Love And Other Drugs (2010), for which he received a Golden Globe nomination for “Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical.” Gyllenhaal recently wrapped production on David Ayer’s End of Watch, a gritty drama shot on the streets of South Central Los Angeles. The film is expected for release in 2012. Working with some of Hollywood's greatest filmmakers, Gyllenhaal has also starred in Richard Kelly's cult hit Donnie Darko (2001), Jim Sheridan's Brothers (2009), David Fincher's Zodiac (2007), Sam Mendes' Jarhead (2005), John Madden's Proof (2005), Miguel Arteta's The Good Girl (2002), Brad Silberling's Moonlight Mile (2002), Nicole Holofcener's Lovely And Amazing (2001), and Joe Johnston's October Sky (1999). Gyllenhaal made his stage debut starring in Kenneth Lonergan’s revival of “This is Our Youth” on London's West End. For his performance he won an Evening Standard Theatre Award for “Outstanding Newcomer”.

François Ozon (France)

After making several highly regarded short films (Summer dress, 1996; See the Sea, 1997), French director and screenwriter François Ozon’s first feature film was Sitcom (1998). He celebrated his international breakthrough with the musical comedy 8 Femmes (8 Women) in 2002. A star-studded ensemble with Catherine Deneuve, Isabelle Huppert, Ludivine Sagnier, Emmanuelle Béart, Firmine Richard, Danielle Darieux, Fanny Ardant and Virginie Ledoyen who sing and dance throughout the film, won a Silver Bear for their performances. Ozon had already participated in the Berlinale Competition in 2000 with Gouttes d’èau sur pierres brulantes (Water Drops on Burning Rocks) which took home the Festival’s queer prize, the Teddy Award for Best Feature. Further great hits by Ozon followed, including Sous le sable (Under the Sand, 2000) and Swimming Pool (2003) with Charlotte Rampling, as well as his drama about death Le temps qui reste (Time to Leave), which premiered at Cannes in 2005. He presented Angel in the Berlinale Competition in 2007 and Ricky in 2009. In 2010, Potiche (Trophy Wife), his satirical and rather biting comedy about emancipation, screened at the festival in Venice; the film went on to top the French movie charts.

Boualem Sansal (Algeria)

Algerian writer Boualem Sansal received his doctorate in economics and worked for the Ministry of Industry, as well as authored a number of technical books, before publishing his prize-winning debut novel “Le serment des barbares” in Paris in 1999. Four novels have followed, all of which have been translated into German. After publishing “Journal intime et politique, Algérie 40 ans après”, a critical political diary about the situation in Algeria 40 years after independence, he was forced to quit his job in the ministry. Ever since he has worked exclusively as a writer and focused increasingly on historical subjects. His most recent publications include the 2008 novel “Le village de l’allemand ou le journal des frères Schiller”. This work is the first of his novels to be translated into English; it was published in the US as “The German Mujahid” and in the UK as “An Unfinished Business”. In 2011, Sansal was awarded the Peace Prize of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

Barbara Sukowa (Germany)

Barbara Sukowa is a prize-winning German film and theatre actress, as well as a singer. She was first discovered for the screen by Rainer Werner Fassbinder who after casting her in Berlin Alexanderplatz (1980) gave her the title role in Lola (1981), one of his most successful films. Barbara Sukowa became known internationally for starring in Die bleierne Zeit (Marianne and Juliane, 1981; Award for Best Actress in Venice) and Rosa Luxemburg (1986, Award for Best Actress in Cannes), both by Margarethe von Trotta. She made The Sicilian (1987) with Michael Cimino and starred in Lars von Trier’s dark thriller Europa (1991). Her most recent German films include Hierankl (2003, directed by Hans Steinbichler); the screen adaptation of the novel, Die Entdeckung der Currywurst (The Invention of the Curried Sausage, 2008; directed by Ulla Wagner, Award for Best Actress in Montreal); and Vision – Aus dem Leben der Hildegard von Bingen (Vision, 2009; directed by Margarethe von Trotta). Sukowa, who lives in New York, started her singing career in the late 1980s. She has won an Echo and been nominated for a Grammy.

Best First Feature Jury

Matthew Modine (USA)

The performances of the award-winning American actor include Stanley Kubrick's Full Metal Jacket, Robert Altman’s Shortcuts and Alan Parker’s Birdy. Matthew Modine made his screenplay/directorial feature debut with If...Dog…Rabbit. Jesus Was a Commie, his award winning short film, is currently playing at festivals around the globe. His recent roles include Girl in Progress, Family Weekend and The Dark Knight Rises.

Hania Mroué (Lebanon)

Hania Mroué is founder and director of the Metropolis Art Cinema, the first art-house cinema in Lebanon opened in 2006. Since 2001 she is the Managing Director of the Arab film festival “Cinema Days of Beirut”. For the release of Arab and international auteur films she started the MC Distribution company. At the Doha Film Institute she is in charge as Chief Arab programmer for the Doha Tribeca Film festival and DFI’s year round initiatives.

Moritz Rinke (Germany)

The dramatist and novelist received the 1997 PEN Club Literature Award for his second play “The Man Who Never Yet Saw Woman's Nakedness”. His new adaptation of “Die Nibelungen” became one of the most successful German theatre productions. In 2008 Franziska Stünkel filmed his award-winning work “The Vineta Republic”, and in 2010 his first novel “Der Mann, der durch das Jahrhundert fiel” became a bestseller.

International Short Film Jury

Sandra Hüller (Germany)

After ten years in the business, renowned and prize-winning actress of the screen and stage Sandra Hüller already boasts a remarkably wide repertoire of roles. She has performed regularly in theatres since 2006, in both classic and modern pieces. For her first major film role in Hans-Christian Schmid’s Requiem she won the Silver Bear for Best Actress at the Berlinale in 2006 as well as the German Film Prize. In 2011 she performed in two Berlinale films: Brownian Movement (2010, directed by Nanouk Leopold - Forum); and Über uns das All (Above Us Only Sky, 2011, directed by Jan Schomburg - Panorama).

Emily Jacir (Palestine)

Emily Jacir, one of the Arab world's leading contemporary artists, works in a variety of media, including installation, performance, social intervention, photography, film and video. She has exhibited her works throughout the world and been honored many times for her artistic achievements including a Golden Lion at the 2007 Venice Biennale. Jacir is currently leading the Home Workspace in Beirut where she has created the curriculum and programming for 2011-2012. She is also preparing a new work for the dOCUMENTA (13).

David OReilly (Republic of Ireland)

The Irish-born filmmaker, now based in California, is known for his groundbreaking contemporary 3D animation. He has received over 75 awards for his short films that have been shown worldwide at more than 200 festivals. His first festival was at the Berlinale 2008, where he presented RGB XYZ. At the 2009 Berlinale he won the Golden Bear for Best Short Film with Please Say Something. His latest short film, The External World, screened at Venice (2010) and Sundance (2011), and went on to win numerous awards.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The members of the 2012 Generation Kplus Children's Jury: Kimia Godarzani-Bakhtiari, Rosa Münchmeyer, Anne Marie Dominik Fittje, Nikita Neitzke, Justin Braun, Fion Mutert, Victor Neumeister, Lale Öztoprak, Anna Luisa Cruz, Pia Jacqueline Heß and Simon Kajdi.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The members of the 2012 Generation 14plus Youth Jury: Klara Kruse Rosset, Gülcan Çil, Solveig Lethen, Jarnail Fang Yu Singh Sekhon, Sami Yacob, Nico Palesch and Lino Steinwärder.

Generation Kplus International Jury

The International Jury of the Generation Kplus competition awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2012 were: Mark Cousins, Scottish documentary filmmaker, author and festival programmer; Rasmus Horskjær from Denmark, film commissioner for children and youth at the Danish Film Institute; Frieder Schlaich, German filmmaker, producer and distributor; Marité Ugas from Peru, director of the film El Chico Que Miente (Berlinale 2011); Maxine Williamson from Australia, artistic director of the Asian Pacific Screen Academy.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2012

Internationale Jury

Mike Leigh (Großbritannien)

Mike Leigh hat sich als einer der herausragenden Filmemacher des Autorenkinos und Protagonisten des New British Cinema profiliert. Leigh zeigt wirklichkeitsnahe, ungeschminkte und dennoch humorvolle Portraits der britischen Gesellschaft. Seine Filme wurden mit zahlreichen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet und erhielten mehrere Oscarnominierungen. Im Laufe seiner fast 40-jährigen Filmkarriere hat der gelernte Schauspieler, Dramatiker und Drehbuchautor über 20 Spielfilme inszeniert, darunter Bleak Moments (Freudlose Augenblicke, 1972, Goldener Leopard in Locarno), Naked (Nackt, 1993, Silberne Palme in Cannes für die beste Regie), Secrets and Lies (Lügen und Geheimnisse,1996, Goldene Palme in Cannes) und Vera Drake (2004, Goldener Löwe in Venedig).
Bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin war der mehrfach Oscar-nominierte Regisseur nach Meantime (Forum 1984), dem Kurzfilm The Short and Curlies (Panorama 1988) und Life is Sweet (Das Leben ist süß, Panorama 1991) zuletzt 2008 mit der Sozialkomödie Happy-Go-Lucky zu Gast, für die Sally Hawkins den Silbernen Bären als Beste Darstellerin gewann.

Anton Corbijn (Niederlande)

Der niederländische Fotograf, Designer und Filmemacher Anton Corbijn ist mit seinen Fotografien von Musikern wie den Rolling Stones, U2, Frank Sinatra, Luciano Pavarotti, Tom Waits und anderen international bekannt geworden. Für Bands wie U2 oder Depeche Mode wurde er wie ein fünftes Mitglied und gestaltete bzw. fotografierte für sie jeweils acht Plattencover. Seit 1993 gestaltet Corbijn zudem die Bühnenbilder für die Konzerttourneen von Depeche Mode. Anfang der 80er Jahre begann er, Musikvideos zu inszenieren, darunter später auch die von Herbert Grönemeyer, Johnny Cash, Coldplay und Nirvana. Mit dem Film Control über den Lead-Sänger Ian Curtis der britischen Post-Punkband Joy Division gab er sein Regiedebüt, das 2007 die Quinzaine in Cannes eröffnete. 2010 folgte sein Thriller The American mit George Clooney in der Hauptrolle. Zuletzt engagierte sich Corbijn zusammen mit Berend Strik für das gemeinnützige Kunstprojekt „Mandela Landscape“. Als wichtiger Impulsgeber der Popkultur seiner Generation wurde Corbijn im November 2011 mit dem wichtigsten Kulturpreis der Niederlande, dem Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds Prijs, ausgezeichnet. Sein nächstes Kinoprojekt ist die John LeCarré-Verfilmung A Most Wanted Man, die in Deutschland gedreht wird.

Asghar Farhadi (Iran)

Der iranische Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Asghar Farhadi drehte bereits als Jugendlicher 8mm- und 16mm-Filme und realisierte fünf Kurzfilme, bevor er an der Universität Teheran sein Bachelor- und Masterstudium in Theaterregie absolvierte. Er arbeitete außerdem für den Hörfunk und das Fernsehen. Bereits für sein Kinodebüt Raghs dar ghobar (Tanz im Staub) wurde er 2003 beim Internationalen Filmfestival in Moskau mit einem Kritikerpreis ausgezeichnet. Seine zweite Regiearbeit Shahr-e ziba (Die schöne Stadt, 2004) wurde in Warschau als Bester Film gefeiert. 2009 erhielt er für den Berlinale-Wettbewerbsbeitrag Darbareh-ye Elly (Alles über Elly) den Silbernen Bären für die Beste Regie. Alles über Elly wurde auch beim Tribeca Film Festival ausgezeichnet und erhielt zehn weitere Preise. Sein jüngstes Werk Jodaeiye Nader az Simin (Nader und Simin – Eine Trennung) gewann bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin 2011 den Goldenen Bären und zwei Silberne Bären für die schauspielerischen Leistungen des Ensembles. Der Film wurde international gefeiert und nach seinem Berlinale-Erfolg bei 22 weiteren internationalen Filmfestivals ausgezeichnet. Von Iran wurde er als offizieller Beitrag für die Oscarverleihung ausgewählt. Asghar Farhadi war im Sommer 2011 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD).

Charlotte Gainsbourg (Frankreich)

Die französisch-britische Schauspielerin Charlotte Gainsbourg, Tochter des französischen Künstlers Serge Gainsbourg und der britischen Schauspielerin und Sängerin Jane Birkin, stand schon als Teenager in Parole et Musique (Duett zu Dritt, 1985, R: Élie Chouraqui) vor der Kamera. Danach arbeitete sie mit vielen verschiedenen Filmemachern wie Agnès Varda, Paolo und Vittorio Taviani, Jacques Doillon, Eric Rochant, Bertrand Blier und Andrew Birkin. 1986 gewann sie für L’éffrontée (Das freche Mädchen, 1985, R: Claude Miller) einen César als beste Nachwuchsschauspielerin. 1998 feierte sie mit La petite voleuse (Die kleine Diebin, R: Claude Miller) ihren Durchbruch. 2001 spielte sie in Yvan Attals Ma femme est une actrice (Meine Frau die Schauspielerin) und in Félix et Lola (Felix & Lola, R: Patrice Leconte), der im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief. Es folgten zahlreiche weitere Kino-Produktionen, u.a. 21 Grams (21 Gramm, 2003, R: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarittu), Prête-moi ta main (2006, R: Eric Lartigau), Michel Gondry’s La science des rêves (The Science of Sleep, Berlinale Wettbewerb 2006), Golden Door (2007, R: Emmanuele Crialese, Goldener Löwe in Venedig) und Todd Haynes’ I'm Not There (2007). 2009 spielte sie in Patrice Chereau`s Persécution und gewann in Cannes für ihre Rolle in Lars von Triers Antichrist den Darstellerpreis. Zuletzt spielte sie in The Tree (2010, R: Julie Bertucelli) sowie in Melancholia (R: Lars von Trier), der als Bester Film den Europäischen Filmpreis 2011 erhalten hat. Charlotte Gainsbourg ist auch als Sängerin künstlerisch tätig und hat kürzlich ihr viertes Studioalbum „Stage Whispers“ veröffentlicht.

Jake Gyllenhaal (USA)

Für seine ergreifende Darstellung des Jack Twist in Ang Lees zeitlosem Klassiker Brokeback Mountain (2005, Goldener Löwe von Venedig) wurde Jake Gyllenhaal für den Oscar nominiert und von der Britischen Akademie für Film und Fernsehen (BAFTA) sowie dem National Board of Review ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt war Gyllenhaal in dem von Kritikern gelobten Science-Fiction-Thriller Source Code (2011, R: Duncan Jones) und in Ed Zwicks Komödie Love and other Drugs – Nebenwirkung inklusive (2010) zu sehen, für die er eine Golden Globe-Nominierung in der Kategorie „Bester Darsteller – Komödie oder Musical“ erhielt. Die Dreharbeiten zu Gyllenhaals neuem Film End of Watch wurden vor kurzem beendet. Das düstere Drama von David Ayer wurde auf den Straßen in South Central, einem Bezirk von Los Angeles, gedreht und soll 2012 in die Kinos kommen. Gyllenhaal arbeitete mit einigen der größten Filmemacher Hollywoods zusammen und spielte u. a. in Richard Kellys Kult-Hit Donnie Darko (2001), Jim Sheridans Brothers (2009), David Finchers Zodiac – Die Spur des Killers (2007), Sam Mendes Jarhead – Willkommen im Dreck (2005), John Maddens Der Beweis – Liebe zwischen Genie und Wahnsinn (2005), Miguel Artetas The Good Girl (2002), Brad Silberlings Moonlight Mile (2002), Nicole Holofceners Lovely And Amazing (2001) und Joe Johnstons October Sky (1999). Sein Theaterdebüt gab Gyllenhaal in Kenneth Lonergans Neuinszenierung von „This is Our Youth“ im Londoner West End und gewann für seine Darstellung einen Evening Standard Theatre Award als „Herausragender Newcomer“.

François Ozon (Frankreich)

Der französische Regisseur und Drehbuchautor François Ozon gab nach mehreren vielbeachteten Kurzfilmen (Summer dress 1996; See the Sea 1997) mit Sitcom (1998) sein Kinodebüt. 2002 feierte er mit der Musical-Komödie 8 Femmes (8 Frauen) seinen internationalen Durchbruch. Dem singenden und tanzenden Starensemble mit Catherine Deneuve, Isabelle Huppert, Ludivine Sagnier, Emmanuelle Béart, Firmine Richard, Danielle Darieux, Fanny Ardant und Virginie Ledoyen brachte dies auf der Berlinale einen Silbernen Bären für ihre schauspielerischen Leistungen ein. Davor war Ozon bereits 2000 mit seinem Film Gouttes d’èau sur pierres brulantes (Tropfen auf heiße Steine) im Berlinale-Wettbewerb und erhielt den „Teddy-Award“, den queeren Filmpreis des Festivals. Mit Filmen wie Sous le sable (Unter dem Sand, 2000) und Swimming Pool (2003) mit Charlotte Rampling sowie dem 2005 in Cannes uraufgeführten Sterbedrama Le temps qui reste (Die Zeit, die bleibt) feierte Ozon weitere Erfolge. Im Berlinale-Wettbewerb war er erneut 2007 mit dem Drama Angel sowie 2009 mit Ricky vertreten. 2010 war seine sozialkritische Emanzipationskomödie Potiche (Das Schmuckstück) beim Festival in Venedig, der Film eroberte später Platz Eins der Kinocharts in Frankreich.

Boualem Sansal (Algerien)

Der algerische Schriftsteller Boualem Sansal war als promovierter Volkswirt im Industrie-Ministerium tätig und verfasste technische Fachbücher, bevor 1999 in Paris sein preisgekrönter Debütroman „Der Schwur des Barbaren“ veröffentlicht wurde. Es folgten vier weitere Romane, die auch ins Deutsche übersetzt worden sind. Nach seiner kritischen Abrechnung mit den politischen Verhältnissen in Algerien in seinem 2003 erschienenen Buch „Persönliches und Politisches Tagebuch, Algerien, 40 Jahre danach“ wurde ihm seine Stellung im Ministerium gekündigt. Seitdem ist er ausschließlich als Schriftsteller tätig und beschäftigt sich zunehmend mit historischen Sujets. Zu seinen jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählt der 2008 erschienene Roman „Le village de l’allemand ou Le journal des frères Schiller“ („Das Dorf des Deutschen“). 2011 wurde Sansal auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse mit dem Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels ausgezeichnet.

Barbara Sukowa (Deutschland)

Die preisgekrönte deutsche Film- und Theaterschauspielerin sowie Sängerin Barbara Sukowa wurde von Rainer Werner Fassbinder für die Kinoleinwand entdeckt, der sie nach Berlin Alexanderplatz (1980) in der Titelrolle seines Erfolgsfilms Lola (1981) besetzte. Durch ihre Hauptrollen in Die bleierne Zeit (1981, Preis für die Beste Darstellerin in Venedig) und Rosa Luxemburg (1986, Preis für die Beste Darstellerin in Cannes) von Margarethe von Trotta wurde Barbara Sukowa weltweit bekannt. Mit Michael Cimino drehte sie Der Sizilianer (1987) und war in Lars von Triers düsterem Thriller Europa (1991) zu sehen. Zu ihren jüngsten deutschen Kinofilmen zählen Hierankl (2003, R: Hans Steinbichler), die Literaturverfilmung Die Entdeckung der Currywurst (2008, R: Ulla Wagner, Preis als Beste Darstellerin in Montreal) und Vision - Aus dem Leben der Hildegard von Bingen (2009, R: Margarethe von Trotta). Ende der 80er Jahre startete die in New York lebende Schauspielerin zudem eine Karriere als Sängerin und erhielt einen Echo sowie eine Grammy-Nominierung.

Jury Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Matthew Modine (USA)

Zu den Credits des amerikanischen Schauspielers gehören Full Metal Jacket von Stanley Kubrick, Shortcuts von Robert Altman und Birdy von Alan Parker. Mit If...Dog..Rabbit hat Matthew Modine sein Spielfilmdebüt als Autor und Regisseur gegeben. Matthew Modines preisgekrönter Kurzfilm Jesus Was a Commie läuft derzeit weltweit auf internationalen Festivals. Seine aktuellen Rollen sind Girl in Progress, Family Weekend und The Dark Knight Rises.

Hania Mroué (Libanon)

Mit dem Metropolis Art Cinema eröffnete Hania Mroué 2006 das erste Arthousekino im Libanon. Bereits seit 2001 leitet sie das arabische Filmfestival “Cinema Days of Beirut”. Zudem gründete sie den Verleih MC Distribution, der arabische und internationale Autorenfilme herausbringt. Beim Doha Film Institute ist sie als arabische Programmchefin für das Doha Tribeca Film Festival sowie weitere Initiativen zuständig.

Moritz Rinke (Deutschland)

Der Bühnen- und Romanautor erhielt für sein zweites Theaterstück „Der Mann, der noch keiner Frau Blöße entdeckte" 1997 den Literaturpreis des PEN-Club. Seine Neu-Dramatisierung von „Die Nibelungen" avancierte zu einem der erfolgreichsten deutschen Theaterstücke. 2008 verfilmte Franziska Stünkel sein preisgekröntes Werk „Republik Vineta". Mit seinem Debütroman „Der Mann, der durch das Jahrhundert fiel“ gelang ihm 2010 ein Bestseller.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Sandra Hüller (Deutschland)

Die renommierte und vielfach ausgezeichnete Film- und Theaterschauspielerin kann mit ihrer zehnjährigen Karriere bereits ein beachtlich breites Rollenrepertoire vorweisen. Im Theater steht sie seit 2006 regelmäßig sowohl in Klassikern als auch in modernen Stücken auf der Bühne. Für ihre erste große Filmrolle in Requiem von Hans-Christian Schmid gewann sie 2006 auf der Berlinale den Silbernen Bären als Beste Darstellerin und den Deutschen Filmpreis. 2011 war sie auf der Berlinale gleich mit zwei Filmen präsent: Brownian Movement (2010, R: Nanouk Leopold) im Forum und Über uns das All (2011, R: Jan Schomburg) im Panorama.

Emily Jacir (Palästina)

Emily Jacir, eine der bedeutendsten zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen aus dem Nahen Osten, bedient sich einer Vielfalt künstlerischer Ausdrucksformen wie Installationen, Performance, Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, Fotografie, Film und Video. Ihre Werke sind weltweit ausgestellt und prämiert worden, unter anderem wurde sie 2007 bei der Biennale in Venedig mit dem Goldenen Löwen geehrt. Aktuell leitet Jacir das Home Workspace - Programm 2011-2012 in Beirut. Außerdem bereitet sie derzeit ein neues Projekt für die dOCUMENTA (13) vor.

David OReilly (Republik Irland)

Der in Kalifornien ansässige, irisch-stämmige Filmemacher ist für seine innovativen, modernen 3D-Animationen bekannt. Für seine Kurzfilme, die weltweit auf über 200 Festivals gezeigt wurden, hat er mehr als 75 Preise erhalten. Sein erster Festivalbesuch war 2008 auf der Berlinale, wo er RGB XYZ vorstellte. 2009 gewann er in Berlin für Please Say Something den Goldenen Bären für den Besten Kurzfilm. Sein letzter Kurzfilm The External World lief in Venedig (2010) und Sundance (2011) und wurde auf zahlreichen Festivals ausgezeichnet.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Mitglieder der Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2012: Kimia Godarzani-Bakhtiari, Rosa Münchmeyer, Anne Marie Dominik Fittje, Nikita Neitzke, Justin Braun, Fion Mutert, Victor Neumeister, Lale Öztoprak, Anna Luisa Cruz, Pia Jacqueline Heß und Simon Kajdi.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus 2012: Klara Kruse Rosset, Gülcan Çil, Solveig Lethen, Jarnail Fang Yu Singh Sekhon, Sami Yacob, Nico Palesch und Lino Steinwärder.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Die Internationale Jury des Wettbewerbs Generation Kplus vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten „Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes“ an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

2012 wurden in die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury berufen: Mark Cousins, schottischer Dokumentarfilmer, Autor und Festivalkurator; Rasmus Horskjær aus Dänemark, Beauftragter für Kinder- und Jugendfilm beim Dänischen Filminstitut; Frieder Schlaich, deutscher Filmemacher, Produzent und Verleiher; Marité Ugas aus Peru, Regisseurin des Films El Chico Que Miente (Berlinale 2011); Maxine Williamson aus Australien, künstlerische Leiterin der Asian Pacific Screen Academy.