Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Retrospective

Bronenosez Potjomkin

Battleship Potemkin

Panzerkreuzer Potemkin

## ## ##
The flagship among Soviet films in Germany per se, and endlessly appealing and exciting. In 1925, the censor's response provoked intense public conflicts in Germany. It was just as unable to harm the film, however, as the various subsequent proposals to add sound.
A perfect social conflict: sailors revolt against their officers – those at the bottom of the pile against those at the top. And it is a question of life or death. Eisenstein's rousing montage lends material form to the tumultuous forces, masters the chaos, and delivers a grandiose finale.
His BRONENOSETS POTYOMKIN, which, in a survey of critics conducted some decades ago, occupied the top position among the ten best films of world cinema, is considered a classic. The fascination of its novel aesthetics remains untouched by this aura.
Although Mezhrabpom-Film did not produce the film, its distributor, Prometheus, launched it in Germany (with film music specially composed by Edmund Meisel), where it was a great success and thus promoted the company's own subsequent work – with a lasting impact.

Print courtesy of Deutsche Kinemathek, Berlin

UDSSR 1925, 73 min

by

Sergej Eisenstein

with

Aleksandr Antonow
Nikolai Lewtschenko
Grigori Aleksandrow

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Retrospektive

Bronenosez Potjomkin

Battleship Potemkin

Panzerkreuzer Potemkin

## ## ##
Das Flaggschiff sowjetischer Filme in Deutschland schlechthin, zeitlos attraktiv und spannend. Heftige öffentliche Auseinandersetzungen begleiteten 1925 die Zensurmaßnahmen in Deutschland. Letztere konnten der Wirkung dieses Films aber ebenso wenig anhaben wie die verschiedenen späteren Vorschläge für seine Vertonung.
Ein lupenreiner sozialer Konflikt: Matrosen revoltieren gegen ihre Offiziere – die da unten gegen die da oben, und es geht ums Leben. Eisensteins furiose Montage materialisiert den Sturm der Kräfte, meistert das Chaos und bietet ein grandioses Finale.
Seit BRONENOSEZ POTJOMKIN vor Jahrzehnten in einer Kritikerumfrage nach den zehn besten Filmen der Weltfilmkunst ganz vorne rangierte, gilt er als Klassiker. Von solchem Nimbus unberührt bleibt die Faszination seiner neuen Ästhetik.
Obwohl Meschrabpom-Film den Film nicht produziert hatte, hat dessen Verleih-Filiale Prometheus den Film (mit der eigens komponierten Filmmusik von Edmund Meisel) in Deutschland gestartet, enormen Erfolg erzielt und damit auch seine weitere Arbeit befördert – und bleibende Wirkungen erzielt.

Filmkopie: Deutsche Kinemathek, Berlin

UdSSR 1925, 73 Min

von

Sergej Eisenstein

mit

Aleksandr Antonow
Nikolai Lewtschenko
Grigori Aleksandrow