Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

Retrospective & Homage

Jan 12, 2011:
Retrospective Ingmar Bergman: Guests and Events

Few film directors have worked as consistently over decades with the same team as Ingmar Bergman. With Harriet Andersson, Gunnel Lindblom and Liv Ullmann, three of Bergman’s most outstanding actresses will not only present “their” films at the Berlinale, but also converse in detail publicly about life and work with Bergman for both the screen and the stage.

When Bergman cast the Norwegian actress Liv Ullmann in Persona (1965/66) because of her resemblance to Bibi Andersson, she was the first non-Swedish performer in a Bergman film. Their many other works together include Scenes from a Marriage (Scener ur ett äktenskap, 1972/73) and Autumn Sonata (Herbstsonate, 1977/78). In Bergman’s last film Saraband (2002/03), she appeared in front of the camera with Erland Josephson for the last time. Liv Ullmann has also directed her own films based on screenplays by Bergman, for example, Faithless (Trolösa, 1999/2000).

Harriet Andersson’s first role in a Bergman film was the lead in Summer with Monika (Sommaren med Monika, 1952/53). In the next years, Bergman wrote a number of roles especially for her, including Karin in Through a Glass Darkly (Såsom i en spegel, 1960/61). One of her last performances for Bergman was the dying Agnes in Cries and Whispers (Viskningar och rop, 1971/72). These three films are best summed up by a remark made by Andersson: “So first he made me a maid, then crazy and then he killed me off […].”

Gunnel Lindbloms’s most famous role in a Bergman film is Anna in The Silence (Tystnaden, 1962/63): in this extremely dark and silent movie, she is in bitter conflict with her sister Ester (Ingrid Thulin) who is fatally ill. Lindblom’s intense collaboration with Bergman also included years of working in the theatre together. In the 1970s, before beginning her own directing career, she was Bergman’s assistant director on several productions.

Bergman’s work for the screen and stage are closely intertwined. During the Retrospective, long-standing members of Bergman’s team will publicly discuss his approach in both these fields: for instance, Katinka Faragó who between 1955 and 1992 worked with him on more than twenty films in a number of functions, and Gunilla Palmstierna-Weiss who from 1966 onwards was responsible for the set designs and costumes in many of his stage productions. Anna Bergman, who is also a set and costume designer, worked primarily on Bergman’s last projects.

Colleague and companion Stig Björkman will provide unusual insight into the work atmosphere that prevailed with Bergman not only in a public conversation but also in three films. In Berlin, Björkman will present his documentary Ingmar Bergman (1970-72) and two compilations: Images from the Playground (Bilder från lekstugan, 2009) and … but Film is My Mistress (… men filmen är min älskarinna, 2010). Both these works compile recently restored 9.5- and 16-mm footage that Bergman and his crew shot during production.

All panel discussions will be held in the Deutsche Kinemathek’s Event Room in the Filmhaus at Potsdamer Platz. Admission is free of charge.

Press Office

January 12, 2011

Download Press Release (41 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

Retrospektive & Hommage

12.01.2011:
Retrospektive Ingmar Bergman: Gäste und Veranstaltungen

Wenige Filmregisseure haben so konsequent wie Ingmar Bergman über Jahrzehnte hinweg mit einem festen Team zusammengearbeitet. Mit Harriet Andersson, Gunnel Lindblom und Liv Ullmann werden drei herausragende Bergman-Darstellerinnen auf der Berlinale nicht nur ‚ihre’ Filme vorstellen, sondern in Podiumsgesprächen ausführlich über Leben und Arbeit mit Bergman beim Film wie am Theater berichten.

Die Norwegerin Liv Ullmann war, als Bergman sie wegen ihrer Ähnlichkeit mit Bibi Andersson in Persona (1965/66) besetzte, die erste nicht-schwedische Darstellerin in einem Bergman-Film. Zu den zahlreichen weiteren gemeinsamen Arbeiten zählen Szenen einer Ehe (Scener ur ett äktenskap, 1972/73) und Herbstsonate (1977/78). Bei Bergmans letztem Film Saraband (2002/03) stand sie noch einmal gemeinsam mit Erland Josephson vor der Kamera. Liv Ullmann hat auch eigene Filme nach Drehbüchern von Bergman inszeniert: so zum Beispiel Faithless (Trolösa, 1999/2000).

Harriet Anderssons erste Rolle bei Bergman war die Titelrolle in Die Zeit mit Monika (Sommaren med Monika, 1952/53). In den folgenden Jahren schrieb er ihr unter anderem die Karin in Wie in einem Spiegel (Såsom i en spegel, 1960/61) auf den Leib. Zu ihren letzten Auftritten bei Bergman gehört die sterbende Agnes in Schreie und Flüstern (Viskningar och rop, 1971/72). Sehr prägnant lassen sich diese drei Filme mit einer Äußerung Anderssons zusammenfassen: „So first he made me a maid, then crazy and then he killed me off […].“

Gunnel Lindbloms bekannteste Filmrolle bei Bergman ist wohl die Anna in Das Schweigen (Tystnaden, 1962/63): In dem extrem wortkargen, düsteren Film liefert sie sich eine erbitterte Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer todkranken Schwester Ester (Ingrid Thulin). Ihre intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Bergman umfasst viele Jahre gemeinsamer Arbeit auch am Theater. In den siebziger Jahren war sie in mehreren Produktionen Bergmans Regieassistentin, bevor sie ihre eigene Regiekarriere begann.

Bergmans Film- und Theaterarbeit sind eng miteinander verwoben. Langjährige Mitarbeiterinnen unterhalten sich in einem öffentlichen Gespräch über Bergmans Arbeitweise auf beiden Gebieten: so Katinka Faragó, die zwischen 1955 und 1992 in verschiedenen Funktionen an mehr als zwanzig Filmen mitwirkte, und Gunilla Palmstierna-Weiss, die seit 1966 bei vielen Bühneninszenierungen für Bühnenbild und Kostüme verantwortlich war. Anna Bergman, ebenfalls Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin, war vor allem an Bergmans letzten Projekten beteiligt.

Ungewöhnliche Einblicke in die Arbeitsatmosphäre bei Bergman gibt sein Weggefährte Stig Björkman nicht nur im Gespräch, sondern auch mit drei Filmen. In Berlin stellt er seine Dokumentation Ingmar Bergman (1970-72) sowie die beiden Kompilationen Images from the Playground (Bilder från lekstugan, 2009) und ... but Film is My Mistress (... men filmen är min älskarinna, 2010) vor. Letztere basieren auf unlängst restauriertem 9,5- und 16-mm-Material, das Bergman und sein Team selbst während der Dreharbeiten aufgenommen haben.

Alle Podiumsgespräche finden im Veranstaltungsraum der Deutschen Kinemathek im Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz statt. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Presseabteilung

12. Januar 2011

Download Pressemitteilung (51 KB)