Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

Additional Information

Dec 22, 2010:
The Berlinale protests against severe sentences for opposition directors in Iran

The Berlin International Film Festival sharply condemns the harsh sentences handed down to the renowned Iranian director Jafar Panahi and his directing colleague Mohammad Rasoulof. Accused of spreading “propaganda against the system”, Panahi has been sentenced to six years in prison and banned from practicing his profession for 20 years. Rasoulof has also received a six-year prison sentence.

In his films, Jafar Panahi provides a critical perspective on the social situation in his homeland and he is a supporter of the opposition movement against Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad. The conviction of both artists is an infringement of the freedom of opinion and the freedom of art. The unrestricted right of assembly and freedom of speech and opinion are not only a part of international human rights conventions, which Iran has signed, but also part of the Iranian Constitution.

The Berlin International Film Festival invited the renowned Iranian director Jafar Panahi to participate in the International Jury of the 61st Berlin International Film Festival.

Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick: “We are very concerned and filled with indignation over the conviction of Jafar Panahi. It is shocking that a renowned director is punished so severely for his artistic work. Jafar Panahi can be sure he has our full support.”

Press Office

December 22, 2010

Download Press Release, PDF (25 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

Zusätzliches

22.12.2010:
Berlinale protestiert gegen drastische Strafen für oppositionelle Regisseure in Iran

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin verurteilen aufs Schärfste die harten Strafen, die gegen den renommierten iranischen Regisseur Jafar Panahi und seinen Regie-Kollegen Mohammad Rasoulof verhängt wurden. Unter dem Vorwurf der „Propaganda gegen das System“ wurde Panahi zu sechs Jahren Haft und 20 Jahren Berufsverbot verurteilt, Rasoulof zu ebenfalls sechs Jahren Haft.

In seinen Filmen setzt sich Jafar Panahi kritisch mit der sozialen Situation in seinem Heimatland auseinander und er gehört zu den Unterstützern der Oppositionsbewegung gegen den iranischen Präsidenten Mahmud Ahmadinedschad. Die Verurteilung der beiden Künstler ist ein Verstoß gegen die Meinungsfreiheit und die Freiheit der Kunst. Das uneingeschränkte Versammlungsrecht sowie Rede- und Meinungsfreiheit sind nicht nur Teil der internationalen Menschenrechtskonventionen, die Iran mit unterschrieben hat, sondern auch Teil des iranischen Grundgesetzes.

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin haben den renommierten iranischen Regisseur Jafar Panahi in die Internationale Jury der 61. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin eingeladen.

Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick: „Wir sind besorgt und entrüstet über die Verurteilung von Jafar Panahi. Es ist erschütternd, dass ein renommierter Regisseur so hart für seine künstlerische Arbeit bestraft wird. Jafar Panahi kann sich unserer umfassenden Unterstützung gewiss sein.“

Presseabteilung

22. Dezember 2010

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (26 KB)