Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Sep 16, 2010:
Berlinale Co-Production Market: Financing and Co-Production Matchmaking for New Feature Film Projects – Submission Deadline on October 28, 2010

Effective immediately and until October 28, 2010, experienced producers from all over the world who are looking for co-production and financing partners may submit their new feature film projects to the Berlinale Co-Production Market.

Promising projects with budgets between two and ten million euros are eligible to apply. They must also be well suited for international co-production and have at least 30% of their financing in place.

At the 8th Berlinale Co-Production Market (February 13 -15, 2011), the producers of the ca. 35 selected projects will meet with interested, potential co-producers, financiers, sales agents, distributors, and representatives of TV stations and of public funds.

For each of the ca. 450 participants, the team of the Berlinale Co-Production Market will arrange an individual meeting schedule that not only takes into account what each party wants and when they are available, but above all makes sure that the respective projects and partners are a good match.

Over the years, countless successful partnerships of this kind have been initiated at the Berlinale Co-Production Market: recent examples of completed films include Bogdan George Apetri’s Romanian-Austrian co-production Periferic (Outbound) as well as Baran bo Odar’s Das letzte Schweigen (The Silence), which had their international premieres at the festival in Locarno. Earlier this year, Shekarchi (The Hunter) by Rafi Pitts, Os Famosos e os Duendes da Morte (The Famous and the Dead) by Esmir Filho and Susa by Rusudan Pirveli were screened at the Berlinale. Cristi Puiu’s Aurora was presented in Cannes, and Javier Fuentes-León’s Contracorriente (Undertow) won an Audience Award in Sundance.

Since 2004, a total of over 100 films that were once presented as projects at the Berlinale Co-Production Market have been completed. This means that 40% of all projects have been produced and screened in cinemas and at international festivals. Among them are films like Sergey Bodrov’s Mongol, which was nominated for an Academy Award in 2008; the German box-office hit Krabat by Marco Kreuzpaintner; Lebanon by Samuel Maoz, which won in Venice in 2009; as well as the crossover success Etz Limon (Lemon Tree) by Eran Riklis which ran in the Panorama section of the Berlinale in 2008 and has since been shown in over 20 countries.

The Berlinale Co-Production Market is part of the European Film Market. The main partners of the Berlinale Co-Production Market are the MDM – Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (since 2004) and the MEDIA-Programme of the European Union (since 2005).

Press Office

September 16, 2010

Download Press Release (41 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

16.09.2010:
Berlinale Co-Production Market: Finanzierungs- und Partnerbörse für neue Spielfilmprojekte - Einreichfrist 28. Oktober 2010

Ab sofort und bis zum 28. Oktober 2010 können erfahrene Produzenten aus aller Welt wieder neue Spielfilm-Projekte für den Berlinale Co-Production Market einreichen, für die sie Koproduktions- und Finanzierungspartner suchen.

Für die Berlinale-Partnervermittlung kommen vielversprechende Projekte mit Budgets zwischen zwei und zehn Millionen Euro in Frage, die sich für internationale Koproduktionen eignen und deren Finanzierung bereits zu mindestens 30% gesichert ist.

Beim 8. Berlinale Co-Production Market (13.-15. Februar 2011) treffen die Produzenten der etwa 35 ausgewählten Projekte auf interessierte potenzielle Koproduzenten, Finanziers, Weltvertriebe, Verleiher, TV-Sender und Förderer.

Für jeden der insgesamt rund 450 Teilnehmer stellt das Team einen persönlichen Terminplan zusammen, der nicht nur die individuellen Wünsche und die zeitliche Verfügbarkeit aller Beteiligten koordiniert, sondern auch daraufhin abgestimmt ist, dass die jeweiligen Projekte und die vermittelten Partner zueinander passen.

Zahlreiche erfolgreiche Verbindungen konnten schon beim Berlinale Co-Production Market initiiert werden: zu den jüngsten Beispielen für fertig gestellte Filme gehören unter anderem die rumänisch-österreichische Koproduktion Periferic (Outbound) von Bogdan George Apetri sowie Das letzte Schweigen von Baran bo Odar, die im Sommer beim Festival in Locarno gezeigt wurden. Zuvor liefen in diesem Jahr bereits Zeit des Zorns von Rafi Pitts, Os Famosos e os Duendes da Morte (The Famous and The Dead) von Esmir Filho und Susa von Rusudan Pirveli bei der Berlinale, Aurora von Cristi Puiu wurde in Cannes präsentiert, und Contracorriente (Undertow) von Javier Fuentes-León gewann einen Publikumspreis in Sundance.

Insgesamt sind aus den Projekten des Berlinale Co-Production Market seit 2004 bereits über 100 Filme entstanden, d.h. 40% aller vorgestellten Projekte wurden bisher produziert und laufen bei internationalen Festivals und im Kino. Darunter sind Filme wie Sergei Bodrovs Mongol, der 2008 für den Academy Award nominiert war, der deutsche Publikumshit Krabat von Marco Kreuzpaintner, Lebanon von Samuel Maoz, der Venedig-Gewinner von 2009, oder auch der Crossover-Erfolg Lemon Tree von Eran Riklis, der 2008 im Berlinale Panorama und seither in über 20 Ländern gezeigt wurde.

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market ist Teil des European Film Market. Hauptpartner des Berlinale Co-Production Market sind seit 2004 die MDM – Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und seit 2005 das MEDIA-Programm der Europäischen Union.

Presseabteilung

16. September 2010

Download Pressemitteilung (52 KB)