Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Sep 14, 2010:
Berlin International Film Festival to present films longlisted for Film Awards of German Film Academy

The Berlin International Film Festival, the German Film Academy and German Films, the national company for promoting German films, have a joint project: as of 2011 the German Cinema series will take on a new form. The programme will then include the films that the commission of the German Film Academy nominates for the long list of the German Film Awards (aka Lola) between November 2010 and January 2011. Entitled German Cinema – LOLA@Berlinale, the works selected in the categories feature, children’s and documentary film will be presented once each in festival theatres – these screenings will be open to accredited national and international professionals as well as to members of the German Film Academy eligible to take part in the nomination. The series will thus remain an outstanding and important component of the European Film Market, a series that for years now has provided its guests with a compact and remarkable annual review of German cinema.

As an expert and avid patron of German film, as well as active honorary member of the German Film Academy, long-standing head of German Cinema Heinz Badewitz will continue to host the series.

German Films, which has supported German Cinema in the past by contributing funds for subtitling the films selected for the series, has also contributed to reforming the programme – and it intends to continue its engagement in the future.

“An international film festival such as the Berlinale, which obviously always has the promotion of German film on its agenda, is a natural partner for the German Film Academy, which has the same objective”, Festival Director Dieter Kosslick says about the cooperation. “With this series, I am convinced that the Berlinale is taking another significant step towards promoting German cinema. It is for this reason that we are also very pleased to receive support from German Films.”

“For the German Film Academy it is both an honour and a grand opportunity to contribute to the programme of the Berlin International Film Festival,” comments Chairman of the Board of the German Film Academy Thomas Kufus with regard to the new concept. “We are not only being given a chance to present films that have been made here and selected by members of the industry to professional viewers from all over the world, but also to offer the films an extraordinary platform where they may be presented on a large screen to interesting and interested audiences.”

Press Office

September 14, 2010

Download Press Release (24 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

14.09.2010:
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin präsentieren die Filmpreis-Vorauswahl der Deutschen Filmakademie

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, die Deutsche Filmakademie und German Films haben ein gemeinsames Projekt: Ab 2011 hat die Berlinale-Reihe German Cinema eine neue Form. Ihr Programm besteht aus den Filmen, die von den Kommissionen der Deutschen Filmakademie zwischen November 2010 und Januar 2011 für die Nominierung zum Deutschen Filmpreis vorausgewählt wurden. Unter dem Titel German Cinema – LOLA@Berlinale werden die vorausgewählten Filme der Kategorien Spielfilm, Kinderfilm und Dokumentarfilm jeweils einmal in einem Festivalkino gezeigt – und sind dabei sowohl einem akkreditierten nationalen und internationalen Fachpublikum zugänglich als auch den zur Wahl der Nominierungen berechtigten Mitgliedern der Deutschen Filmakademie. Die Reihe ist weiterhin ein wichtiger und außergewöhnlicher Bestandteil des European Film Market, der seinen Gästen damit schon seit Jahren einen kompakten und herausgehobenen Rückblick auf das deutsche Kinojahr bietet.

Der bisherige langjährige Leiter von German Cinema, Heinz Badewitz, bleibt als Fachmann und leidenschaftlicher Förderer des deutschen Films und als aktives Ehrenmitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie der Reihe als Gastgeber erhalten.

Auch German Films, die die Reihe bislang unter anderem mit einem Zuschuss zur Untertitelung der teilnehmenden Filme unterstützt hat, beteiligt sich an der Programmreform und setzt ihr Engagement weiter fort.

„Ein internationales Filmfestival wie die Berlinale, die bekanntlich die Pflege des deutschen Films immer auf der Agenda hat, ist ein natürlicher Partner für die Deutsche Filmakademie, die die gleichen Ziele verfolgt“, begründet Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick die Kooperation. „Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass der Berlinale mit dieser Reihe ein weiterer interessanter Schritt zur internationalen Förderung des deutschen Films gelingen könnte. Deshalb freuen wir uns auch besonders über die Unterstützung durch German Films.“

„Für die Deutsche Filmakademie ist die Beteiligung am Programm der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin eine Ehre und eine große Chance, die wir gerne nutzen wollen“, kommentiert der Vorstandsvorsitzende der Filmakademie, Thomas Kufus, die Neuerung. „Wir bekommen nicht nur die Gelegenheit, einer neugierigen Fachöffentlichkeit aus der ganzen Welt die Filme zu präsentieren, die hier entstanden sind und von Mitgliedern der Branche selbst ausgewählt wurden. Wir können den Filmen selbst noch einmal in einem außergewöhnlichen Rahmen die Gelegenheit bieten, auf großer Leinwand und mit interessantem und interessiertem Publikum erlebt zu werden.“

Presseabteilung

14.09.2010

Download Pressemitteilung (42 KB)