Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

Additional Information

Sep 13, 2010:
The Berlin International Festival mourns the loss of Claude Chabrol

Claude Chabrol
In 2009, Claude Chabrol was awarded the Berlinale Camera

The Berlinale was deeply saddened to hear of the death of the great French director Claude Chabrol. As one of the founders of the Nouvelle Vague, he ranked among the most celebrated and productive filmmakers of French cinema. He made 71 films over the 50 years of his career.

Nine of his films were presented at the Berlin International Film Festival. In 1959, he first participated in the Berlinale with his second feature film Les cousins (The Cousins), which won the Golden Bear. In more recent years, his entries to the Berlinale Competition included La fleur du mal (The Flower of Evil, 2003) and L’ivresse du pouvoir (A Comedy of Power, 2006). Claude Chabrol was invited to the Berlinale in 2009 to screen Bellamy. On this occasion, he was awarded the Berlinale Camera for his impressive oeuvre and remarkable contribution to film.

Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick says of Claude Chabrol’s death: “We have lost a superb director, a critical mind and a bon vivant. In his psychological dramas and crime films, he relentlessly cast a critical eye on the bourgeoisie. Claude Chabrol was full of humour, and knew how to mix social criticism with fun and entertainment. Known for being a gourmet, he also attached great importance to excellent cooking for himself and his team when shooting his films.”

Press Office

September 13, 2010

Download Press Release, pdf (19 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

Zusätzliches

13.09.2010:
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin trauern um Claude Chabrol

Claude Chabrol
2009 wurde Claude Chabrol mit der Berlinale Kamera ausgezeichnet

Mit Betroffenheit hat die Berlinale vom Tod des großen französischen Regisseurs Claude Chabrol erfahren. Der Mitbegründer der „Nouvelle Vague“ zählte zu den bekanntesten und produktivsten Filmemachern des französischen Kinos. In seiner über 50-jährigen Karriere hat er 71 Filme gemacht.

Allein neun seiner Filme wurden bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin präsentiert. Den Auftakt machte Chabrols zweiter Spielfilm Schrei, wenn Du kannst (Les cousins), für den er 1959 den Goldenen Bären gewann. In den vergangenen Jahren war er mit Die Blume des Bösen (La fleur du mal, 2003) und Geheime Staatsaffären (L’ivresse du pouvoir, 2006) im Wettbewerb der Berlinale vertreten. Zuletzt war Claude Chabrol 2009 mit seinem Film Bellamy zu Gast bei der Berlinale und wurde mit der Berlinale Kamera für sein beeindruckendes Lebenswerk und seine Verdienste um den Film ausgezeichnet.

Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick zum Tod von Claude Chabrol: „Wir haben einen großartigen Regisseur, kritischen Geist und Bonvivant verloren. In seinen psychologischen Dramen und Kriminalfilmen hat er immer wieder erbarmungslos das Bürgertum analysiert. Claude Chabrol war voller Humor und verstand es, Gesellschaftskritik mit Genuss und Unterhaltung zu verbinden. Bekannt als Gourmet, legte er auch bei Dreharbeiten Wert auf eine exzellente Küche für sich und das Team.“

Presseabteilung

13. September 2010

Download Pressemitteilung, pdf  (41 KB)