Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

Competition

Aug 30, 2010:
Isabella Rossellini to preside over the Jury for the 2011 Berlinale

The Italian-American actress and director Isabella Rossellini will be the President of the Jury for the 61st Berlin International Film Festival (February 10-20, 2011).

"It’s fantastic that Isabella Rossellini will be the President of the Berlinale Jury in 2011," says the festival's director Dieter Kosslick. "She is a multifaceted, creative film artist with extensive experience in European, American and international cinema."

Isabella Rossellini is one of the most renowned actresses in international cinema. Over the past years, she has also become a distinguished producer and director. The daughter of Swedish actress Ingrid Bergman and of Italian director Roberto Rossellini, she first started her career as a fashion designer and journalist. At the time she worked mainly in New York. Her acting debut came in 1976, when she appeared alongside her mother in Vincente Minelli's A Matter Of Time. She then went on to roles in films by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani, Norman Mailer, Robert Zemeckis, Joel Schumacher, John Schlesinger, Peter Weir, Abel Ferrara, Stanley Tucci, Guy Maddin, Peter Greenaway and many others. She acquired international fame above all for her performance in David Lynch's films Blue Velvet (1986) and Wild at Heart (1990). In addition to her career in cinema, Isabella Rossellini was also a top cosmetics model in the '80s onward.

Isabella Rossellini first attended the Berlinale in 1994 as the lead actress in Peter Weir's Competition film Fearless. She has been a regular guest at the Berlin International Film Festival in recent years: in 2005 she created the short film My Dad is 100 Years Old with Canadian experimental filmmaker Guy Maddin, an homage to her father Roberto Rossellini which screened in Berlinale Special in 2006. In 2007 she returned to Berlin as a narrator for Guy Maddin's experimental silent film Brand Upon the Brain! in the festival's Forum section. She presented her directorial debut Green Porno in the Forum Expanded section of the 2008 Berlinale: Eight playful episodic shorts explaining the sexual behaviour of earthworms, dragonflies, snails, bees and praying mantises.

In late July 2010, Isabella Rossellini was in Studio Babelsberg to perform in the movie adaptation of the graphic novel Chicken with Plums by Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud. It was Rossellini's second time shooting in Babelsberg. In 1992 she came to the former DEFA studios to star in The Innocent, directed by John Schlesinger and adapted from a novel by Ian McEwan. Isabella Rossellini can next be seen in Saverio Constanzo's La solitudine dei numeri primi (The Solitude of Prime Numbers), a film adaptation of Paolo Giordano's novel of the same name, screening in the upcoming Venice Film Festival.

Press Office

August 30, 2010

Download Press Release (33 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

Wettbewerb

30.08.2010:
Isabella Rossellini wird Jury-Präsidentin der Berlinale 2011

Die italienisch-amerikanische Schauspielerin und Regisseurin Isabella Rossellini wird Jury-Präsidentin bei den 61. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin (10.-20.02.2011).

„Großartig, dass Isabella Rossellini Präsidentin der Berlinale-Jury 2011 sein wird“, sagt Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick. „Sie ist eine vielseitige kreative Filmkünstlerin mit umfassenden Erfahrungen im europäischen, amerikanischen und internationalen Kino.“

Isabella Rossellini gehört zu den renommiertesten Darstellerinnen des internationalen Kinos. In den vergangenen Jahren hat sie sich zudem als Produzentin und Regisseurin profiliert. Die Tochter der schwedischen Schauspielerin Ingrid Bergman und des italienischen Regisseurs Roberto Rossellini begann ihre berufliche Laufbahn zunächst als Modedesignerin und Journalistin. Sie arbeitete damals vor allem in New York. Ihr Schauspieldebüt hatte sie 1976 an der Seite ihrer Mutter in Vincente Minellis A Matter Of Time, danach spielte sie u.a. in Filmen von Paolo und Vittorio Taviani, Norman Mailer, Robert Zemeckis, Joel Schumacher, John Schlesinger, Peter Weir, Abel Ferrara, Stanley Tucci, Guy Maddin, Peter Greenaway u.v.m. International bekannt wurde sie vor allem durch ihre Rollen in David Lynchs Filmen Blue Velvet (1986) und Wild at Heart – die Geschichte von Sailor und Lula (1990). Neben ihrer Kinokarriere war Isabella Rossellini ab den 80er Jahren auch eines der Top-Modells der Kosmetikbranche.

Erstmals bei der Berlinale war Isabella Rossellini 1994 als Hauptdarstellerin in Peter Weirs Wettbewerbsbeitrag Fearless. In den letzten Jahren war sie regelmäßig zu Gast bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin: 2005 drehte sie mit dem kanadischen Experimentalfilmer Guy Maddin den Kurzfilm My Dad is 100 Years Old, eine Hommage an ihren Vater Roberto Rossellini, der im Rahmen des Berlinale Special 2006 lief. 2007 kehrte sie als Kinoerzählerin in Guy Maddins experimentellem Stummfilm Brand Upon the Brain! im Forum der Filmfestspiele nach Berlin zurück. Ihr Regie-Debüt Green Porno präsentierte Isabella Rossellini bei der Berlinale 2008 bei Forum Expanded: Acht spielerische Kurzfilm-Episoden stellen das Sexualleben von Regenwürmern, Libellen, Schnecken, Bienen oder Gottesanbeterinnen dar.

Ende Juli 2010 stand Isabella Rossellini in Studio Babelsberg für Dreharbeiten der Verfilmung der Graphic Novel Huhn mit Pflaumen (Chicken with Plums) von Marjane Satrapi und Vincent Paronnaud vor der Kamera. Es ist das zweite Mal, dass Rossellini in Babelsberg arbeitete. Bereits 1992 drehte sie auf dem früheren DEFA-Gelände – damals für die Filmadaption des Ian McEwan-Romans The Innocent unter der Regie von John Schlesinger.

Demnächst ist Isabella Rossellini in Saverio Costanzos Romanverfilmung Die Einsamkeit der Primzahlen (La solitudine dei numeri primi) von Paolo Giordano beim Filmfestival Venedig zu sehen.

Presseabteilung

30. August 2010

Download Pressemitteilung (46 KB)