Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2011

World Cinema Fund

Jul 06, 2010:
Berlinale World Cinema Fund: Latest Jury decisions and WCF-Spotlight in South Africa

At the 12th session of the World Cinema Fund (WCF) jury on July 4, three new film projects were selected for production funding.

Since its establishment in October 2004, the WCF has awarded production and distribution funding to a total of 73 projects chosen from 1275 submissions from Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central and South East Asia, and the Caucasus. All of the WCF films completed so far have screened in cinemas and/or in the programmes of renowned international film festivals and are proof of the international success of the initiative – as well as the Palme d’or for Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives by Apichatpong Weerasethakul, and the award by the the Spanish "Festival de Cine de Huesca" for the WCFs commitment to cultural diversity, understanding and the support of film production in many regions around the world.

Latest Funding Decisions

The WCF jury – film scholar and curator Viola Shafik (Germany/Egypt), programme coordinator of Swiss Television Alberto Chollet (Switzerland), dramaturge Alby James (England), as well as WCF project managers Sonja Heinen and Vincenzo Bugno – made their selection from 110 submissions from a total of 42 countries. They awarded funds totalling 130,000 euros to:

Production funding:

Death for Sale, director: Faouzi Ben Saidi (Morocco), producer: Agora Film, Morocco. Feature film. Funding: 30,000 €

The Prize, director: Paula Markovitch (Argentina), producer: Kung Works, Mexico. Feature film. Funding: 50,000 €

I’m Going To Change My Name, director: Maria Saakyan (Armenia), producer: Anniko Films, Armenia. Feature film. Funding: 50,000 €

Submission deadline for the next round of funding: August 5, 2010

For further information, go to www.berlinale.de

WCF-Spotlight in July on the Film Festival in Durban, South Africa

In 2007, the event series World Cinema Fund-Spotlight was created in cooperation with the Goethe Institute. Since the series's inception, selected WCF-funded films have been presented at WCF-Spotlights in Israel, the Palestinian territories, Peru, Chile, Indonesia, Mexico, Colombia, Armenia, Syria and the Philippines.

The next WCF-Spotlight will take place at the 31st Durban International Film Festival (July 22 – August 1, 2010). Films scheduled to be shown include the winner of the 2009 Berlinale Golden Bear, La teta asustada (The Milk of Sorrow) by Claudia Llosa and Gigante by Adrián Biniez. In addition to the film programme, there will be a WCF-Spotlight Case Study on Shirley Adams, the multiple award-winning film by South African director Oliver Hermanus.

The panel "Africa in Focus: Accessing the Funds" will provide the WCF and other international funding institutions an opportunity to introduce themselves to African filmmakers and producers in Durban.

The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival in cooperation with the Goethe Institute.

Press Office

July 6, 2010

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2011

World Cinema Fund

06.07.2010:
Berlinale World Cinema Fund: Neue Förderentscheidungen und WCF-Spotlight in Südafrika

In der 12. Jurysitzung des World Cinema Fund (WCF) am 4. Juli hat die Jury drei neue Filmprojekte zur Produktionsförderung vorgeschlagen.

Damit hat der WCF seit seiner Gründung im Oktober 2004 Produktions- bzw. Verleihförderung an insgesamt 73 Projekte unter rund 1275 Einreichungen aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen/Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien und dem Kaukasus vergeben. Alle bisher produzierten WCF-Filme liefen in den Kinos und/oder in den Programmen renommierter internationaler Filmfestivals und belegen den internationalen Erfolg der Initiative - wie zuletzt die Palme d’or für Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives von Apichatpong Weerasethakul und die Auszeichnung des World Cinema Fund beim spanischen "Festival Internacional de Cine de Huesca" für sein Engagement für kulturelle Diversität, Verständigung und die Unterstützung der Filmproduktion in vielen Weltregionen.

Aktuelle Förderentscheidungen

Die Jury des WCF – die Filmwissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin Viola Shafik (Deutschland/Ägypten), der Programmkoordinator des Schweizer Fernsehens, Alberto Chollet (Schweiz), der Dramaturg Alby James (England) sowie die WCF-Projektleiter Sonja Heinen und Vincenzo Bugno – traf ihre Auswahl aus 110 eingereichten Projekten aus insgesamt 42 Ländern und vergab Fördermittel in Höhe von 130.000 €.

Produktionsförderung:

Death for Sale, Regie: Faouzi Ben Saidi (Marokko), Produktion: Agora Film, Marokko. Spielfilm. Fördersumme: 30.000 €

The Prize, Regie: Paula Markovitch (Argentinien), Produktion: Kung Works, Mexiko. Spielfilm. Fördersumme: 50.000 €

I’m Going To Change My Name, Regie: Maria Saakyan (Armenien), Produktion: Anniko Films, Armenien. Spielfilm. Fördersumme: 50.000 €

Einreichtermin für die nächste Förderrunde: 5. August 2010

Weitere Informationen unter www.berlinale.de

WCF-Spotlight im Juli beim Filmfestival in Durban, Südafrika

2007 wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut die Veranstaltungsreihe World Cinema Fund-Spotlight ins Leben gerufen. Ausgewählte WCF-geförderte Filme wurden seither bei WCF-Spotlights in Israel, den Palästinensischen Gebieten, in Peru, Chile, Indonesien, Mexiko, Kolumbien, Armenien, Syrien und auf den Philippinen gezeigt.

Das nächste WCF-Spotlight findet beim 31. Durban International Film Festival (22.07. – 1.08.2010) statt. Gezeigt werden der Berlinale-Gewinner 2009, La teta asustada (The Milk of Sorrow) von Claudia Llosa und Gigante von Adrián Biniez. Neben dem Filmprogramm wird es eine WCF-Spotlight Case Study zu Shirley Adams, dem vielfach ausgezeichneten Film des südafrikanischen Regisseurs Oliver Hermanus, geben.

Bei einem Panel unter dem Titel „Africa in Focus: Accessing the Funds“ werden sich der WCF sowie weitere internationale Förderinstitutionen den afrikanischen Filmemachern und Produzenten in Durban vorstellen.

Der World Cinema Fund ist ein Initiativprojekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut.

Presseabteilung

6. Juli 2010