Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Retrospective

Viskningar och rop

Cries and Whispers

Schreie und Flüstern

## ##
Sweden, the turn of the century. White gowned figures stand out against the red interior walls of the stately home. Agnes (Harriet Andersson), suffering from terminal cancer, lives here alone, cared for by her maid Anna (Kari Sylvan) and her doctor (Erland Josephson). Her sisters Karin (Ingrid Thulin) and Maria (Liv Ullmann) come to the house with their husbands to be with her in her dying hours. They whisper in Agnes’ presence.

Bergman examines the complicated relationships between the sisters and with their husbands in flashbacks. Agnes was always latently jealous of her mother’s darling, the self-centred Marie. Karin has become cold-hearted and embittered through her domineering husband. In her goodness and naïveté Agnes believes she has an intact, caring relationship with her sisters.

Cries and groans announce Agnes’ approaching death. In a dream-like, but realistically portrayed scene Agnes is laid out in a room after her death. However, she appears to be shedding tears. She has her sisters come to her and begs for their mercy. Both sisters turn away from her. Only the maid Anna climbs into her bed and consoles her.

Sweden 1971/72, 91 min

by

Ingmar Bergman

with

Harriet Andersson
Kari Sylwan
Ingrid Thulin
Liv Ullmann

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Retrospektive

Viskningar och rop

Cries and Whispers

Schreie und Flüstern

## ##
Schweden um die Jahrhundertwende. Weißgekleidete Figuren heben sich gegen die roten Zimmerwände eines großbürgerlichen Hauses ab. Hier lebt Agnes (Harriet Andersson), die an einem unheilbaren Krebsleiden erkrankt ist, allein, aber gepflegt von dem Dienstmädchen Anna (Kari Sylwan) und ihrem Hausarzt (Erland Josephson). Ihre Schwestern Karin (Ingrid Thulin) und Maria (Liv Ullmann) kommen mit ihren Ehemännern zu ihr, um ihr beizustehen. In Agnes’ Gegenwart wird nur noch geflüstert.

Das kompliziere Verhältnis der Schwestern untereinander und zu ihren Ehemännern thematisiert Bergman in Rückblenden. Agnes war schon immer latent eifersüchtig auf die egozentrische Maria, die Lieblingstochter der Mutter. Durch die Ehe mit ihrem herrischen Mann ist Karin kalt und verbittert geworden. In ihrer Güte und Naivität glaubt Agnes an eine heile Beziehung zu den Schwestern.

Stöhnen und Schreie künden Agnes’ Tod an. In einer traumartigen und zugleich realistisch dargestellten Szene liegt Agnes nach ihrem Tod aufgebahrt in einem Zimmer. Sie scheint jedoch zu weinen. Sie lässt die Schwestern nacheinander zu sich kommen und bittet sie um Hilfe. Beide Schwestern wenden sich von ihr ab. Nur die Magd Anna steigt zu ihr ins Bett und tröstet sie.

Schweden 1971/72, 91 Min

von

Ingmar Bergman

mit

Harriet Andersson
Kari Sylwan
Ingrid Thulin
Liv Ullmann