Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Awards

Feb 20, 2010:
Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Lebendkontrolle by Florian Schewe wins the FGYO Prize “Dialogue en perspective”

Today, in the independent juries section of this year's part of the 60th Berlinale, the young Franco-German jury awarded the “Dialogue en perspective” prize. This year the prize goes to the Florian Schewe's film Lebendkontrolle. In 2004, the prize “Dialogue en perspective”, initially sponsored by TV5Monde in cooperation with the Franco-German Youth Office, was awarded for the first time to a film entry in the section Perspektive Deutsches Kino. In 2010 for the first time, the Franco-German Youth Office (FGYO), official Berlinale partner, has been the exclusive sponsor of the “Dialogue en perspective”. This year the prize is awarded the seventh time to a film entry in the section Perspektive Deutsches Kino.

The young jury deciding who will be awarded the “Dialogue en perspective” prize consists of four German and three French film fans between the ages of 20 and 29. Under the direction of the jury foreman, the producer Roman Paul, the jurors watched the 13 entries in the Berlinale section Perspektive Deutsches Kino from a young, German-French perspective, and afterwards led passionate discussions as to which of the films had most impressed them and earned the “Dialogue en perspective” prize.

The jury explains its decision in favour of Lebendkontrolle as follows:

Lebendkontrolle is a powerful and moving film with outstanding actors. The confident production draws the viewer into a nuanced and grippingly told story. Director Florian Schewe and the entire crew know what they want, and they achieve their goal: a thoroughly convincing and remarkable production which looks at the massive difficulties of the penal system for the incarcerated and their relatives.

Special mention must be made of the film Portraits deutsche Alkoholiker. The film is aesthetically and conceptually outstanding, the jury reported, and stated that they wish that more new German films had the same kind of courage to experiment.

The FGYO would like to promote with the “Dialogue en perspective” jury prize on the one hand the young German and French exchange, and on the other hand the intercultural dialogue concerning film, especially young German cinema.

In 2009 Anna Deutsch's film Gitti won the prize, and was subsequently screened at the German Film Festival in Paris. Previous years' winners of the “Dialogue en perspective” jury prize included Prinzessinnenbad by Bettina Blümner (2007), Der Lebensversicherer by Bülent Akinci (2006) and Robert Thalheim's film Netto (2005), all of which went on to achieve widespread recognition in Germany. The chances are good that Lebendkontrolle will also receive similar attention thanks to winning this award.



Press Office
February 20, 2010

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Preise und Ehrungen

20.02.2010:
Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Lebendkontrolle von Florian Schewe mit dem DFJW-Preis „Dialogue en perspective“ ausgezeichnet

Heute wurde auf der 60. Berlinale im Rahmen der Preisverleihung der unabhängigen Jurys der Preis „Dialogue en perspective“ von einer jungen deutsch-französischen Jury vergeben. In diesem Jahr geht der Preis an den Film Lebendkontrolle von Florian Schewe. Der Preis wurde 2004 von TV5Monde und dem Deutsch-Französischen Jugendwerk (DFJW) gemeinsam mit den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin ins Leben gerufen. In diesem Jahr ist das DFJW, offizieller Partner der Berlinale, erstmalig als alleiniger Stifter des „Dialogue en perspective“ aufgetreten. Der Preis wurde zum nunmehr siebten Mal an einen Film aus der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino verliehen.

Die junge Jury, bestehend aus vier deutschen und drei französischen Cineasten zwischen 20 und 29 Jahren, entschied über die Vergabe des „Dialogue en perspective“. Unter der Leitung des Jurypräsidenten, dem Produzenten Roman Paul, sahen die Jurymitglieder die 13 Beiträge der Berlinale-Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino unter einem deutsch-französischen, jungen Blickwinkel und diskutierten anschließend leidenschaftlich darüber, welches filmische Werk sie am meisten beeindruckt hat und somit den „Dialogue en perspective“ verdient.

Warum Lebendkontrolle schließlich gekürt wurde, begründet die Jury wie folgt:

Lebendkontrolle ist ein kraftvoller und berührender Film mit hervorragenden Schauspielern. Eine souveräne Inszenierung zieht den Zuschauer in eine differenzierte und spannend erzählte Geschichte. Der Regisseur Florian Schewe und der gesamte Stab wissen, wohin sie wollen und erreichen ihr Ziel: Eine in allen Bereichen herausragende Produktion, die von den immensen Schwierigkeiten des Strafvollzugs für die Insassen und deren Angehörigen erzählt.

Eine lobende Erwähnung geht an den Film Portraits deutscher Alkoholiker. Der Film sei ästhetisch und konzeptuell herausragend, so die Jury, die sich wünscht, dass noch mehr junge deutsche Filme solch einen Mut zum Experiment wagen.

Das DFJW möchte mit der Vergabe des „Dialogue en perspective“-Jurypreises zum einen den jungen deutsch-französischen Austausch und zum anderen den interkulturellen Dialog über Film, dabei insbesondere über junge deutsche Produktionen, fördern.

2009 wurde der Film Gitti von Anna Deutsch mit dem Preis ausgezeichnet und anschließend beim Festival des deutschen Films in Paris vorgestellt. In den Jahren zuvor gehörten Prinzessinnenbad von Bettina Blümner (2007), Der Lebensversicherer von Bülent Akinci (2006) sowie der Spielfilm Netto von Robert Thalheim (2005) zu den Preisträgern von „Dialogue en perspective“, die in der Folge in Deutschland große Beachtung gefunden haben. Die Chancen stehen gut, dass Lebendkontrolle durch den Preis eine ähnlich große Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wird.



Presseabteilung
20. Februar 2010