Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Feb 12, 2010:
Berlinale Supports UNICEF Emergency Aid for Haiti

The Berlin International Film Festival supports UNICEF Germany’s relief efforts for the victims of the earthquake in Haiti. Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick is pleased that the Berlinale will be cooperating with the UNICEF, and asks people for their support: “The earthquake in Haiti has caused dreadful suffering and grief. It would be wonderful if the Berlinale and its visitors could make a small contribution and help with their donations.”

Korean-American designer Christina Kim, who is creating a symbolic movie-theatre curtain at the Brandenburg Gate for the Berlinale, is also making document folders and small utensil cases from recycled Berlinale materials for the UNICEF campaign. The Festival will sell these items from Monday, February 15, at the Berlinale Shop and at the screening of Moloch Tropical by Haitian director and former Minister of Culture Raoul Peck. The proceeds will go directly to UNICEF.

Moloch Tropical is showing at Cinema Paris in the Institut Francais at 9:45 pm on February 15. Not only will the director attend the screening, but also the French Minister of Culture Frédéric Mitterand, UNICEF ambassador Sabine Christiansen and designer Christina Kim, as well as Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

Moloch Tropical is about a despotic president who does not want to step down even though his people are rebelling against him. This Berlinale Special film was shot on location in northern Haiti.

The Berlinale is also participating in the UNICEF’s text-message donation drive. You can donate by sending a text message with the keyword “UNICEF” to the number 81190.

For more information go to: www.berlinale.de.

Press Office

February 12, 2010

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Zusätzliches

12.02.2010:
Berlinale-Aktion für UNICEF Haiti-Nothilfe

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin werden UNICEF Deutschland bei der Nothilfe für die Erdbebenopfer in Haiti unterstützen. Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick freut sich über die Kooperation von Berlinale und UNICEF und wirbt um Unterstützung: „Das Erdbeben in Haiti hat schreckliches Leid verursacht. Wenn die Berlinale und ihre Besucher einen kleinen Beitrag leisten und mit ihren Spenden helfen können, ist das eine gute Sache.“

Die koreanisch-amerikanische Designerin und Künstlerin Christina Kim, die für die Berlinale den symbolischen Kinovorhang am Brandenburger Tor kreiert, stellt für die UNICEF-Aktion Dokumentenmappen und Utensilientaschen aus Berlinale-Recyclingmaterial her. Die Berlinale wird diese ab Montag, 15. Februar, über das Merchandising sowie anlässlich der Aufführung von Moloch Tropical des haitianischen Regisseurs und früheren Kulturministers Raoul Peck verkaufen. Der Reinerlös wird direkt an UNICEF gehen.

Die Vorführung von Moloch Tropical wird am 15. Februar um 21:45 Uhr im Cinema Paris im Institut Francais stattfinden. Neben dem Regisseur werden der französische Kulturminister Frédéric Mitterand, UNICEF-Botschafterin Sabine Christiansen, Christina Kim sowie Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick anwesend sein.

Moloch Tropical handelt von einem despotischen Präsidenten. Obwohl sein Volk rebelliert, will er nicht abtreten. Gedreht wurde dieses Berlinale Special im Norden Haitis.

Außerdem beteiligt sicht die Berlinale an der SMS-Spendenaktion von UNICEF. Spenden-SMS können mit dem Stichwort UNICEF an die Telefonnummer 81190 gesendet werden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch unter www.berlinale.de.

Presseabteilung

12. Februar 2010