Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

World Cinema Fund

Feb 03, 2010:
Berlinale 2010: World Cinema Fund Day on February 17, 2010 - “Strategy makes sense, and passion does, too…”

On February 17, 2010, the WCF Day will once again provide an opportunity to learn more about the programme, successes, funding strategies, films, initiatives, and partners of the World Cinema Fund (WCF).

On this occasion the World Cinema Fund will present its new promotional DVD edition that has been made possible with the special additional support of the German Federal Cultural Foundation. On the same day, the WCF invites all its friends and fans as well as representatives of the industry and press to a panel discussion on Iranian Cinema.

World Cinema Fund Day Focus: Iranian Cinema

February 17, 2010, 11 am – 2 pm at the Filmhaus, Potsdamer Str. 2,
4th floor

Iranian Cinema: Present and Future. Expectations inside and outside of Iran

For many years now, a large number of Iranian directors have been an integral part of the programme of the Berlinale and other festivals. Directors such as Abbas Kiarostami or Jafar Panahi are well known – and not only to top experts of world cinema. Yet how is the situation of Iranian cinema changing? Especially now, when the country has to cope with the inflexibility of the political system on the one hand, and impresses with the desire of many politically active citizens for change, on the other? How are filmmakers dealing with these issues? Will they be able to reflect the country’s atmosphere and conflicts? Will we soon experience a new versatility in Iranian cinema?

At this event we will investigate these questions as well as many others.

Panellists:

Rafi Pitts, Director (Shekarchi, Competition 2010)

Jafar Panahi, Director (Offside, Silver Bear 2006)

Reza Haeri, Director

Asghar Farhadi, Director (Darbareye Elly, Silver Bear 2009)

Mohammad Farokhmanesch, Director/Producer

Maryam Mameghanian-Prenzlow, cultural theorist

Moderation: World Cinema Fund

The World Cinema Fund was founded in October 2004 as a joint initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlinale. It immediately established itself as one of the leading institutions funding outstanding international productions and rapidly gained recognition from those in the industry. Funding from the WCF has become something like a mark of quality.

Since its establishment, the WCF has awarded production and distribution funding to a total of 70 projects chosen from 1165 submissions from Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central and South East Asia, and the Caucasus. All of the WCF films completed so far have screened in cinemas and/or in the programmes of renowned international film festivals - proof of the international success of the initiative, like Shekarchi (The Hunter) by Rafi Pitts which will be presented in this year´s Competition, and most recently the winner of this year´s Berlinale The Milk of Sorrow (La teta asustada, Peru), which has, alongside Ajami (Israel), just received an Oscar nomination for Best Foreign Language Film.

More information about the WCF at: www.berlinale.de

Or contact:

The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival in cooperation with the Goethe Institute.

Press Office

February 3, 2010

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

World Cinema Fund

03.02.2010:
Berlinale 2010: World Cinema Fund Day am 17.2. 2010 - „Strategy makes sense, and passion does, too…“

Der WCF-Day am Mittwoch, 17. Februar 2010 gibt erneut die Möglichkeit, sich über das WCF-Programm, Erfolge, Förderstrategien, Filme, Initiativen und Partner des World Cinema Fund (WCF) näher zu informieren.

Bei dieser Gelegenheit wird nicht nur die neue WCF-Promotion-DVD-Edition, die der WCF dank einer zusätzlichen Unterstützung der Kulturstiftung des Bundes herstellen konnte, präsentiert, sondern der World Cinema Fund lädt an diesem Tag auch alle WCF-Freunde und Interessierte sowie internationale Branchen- und Pressevertreter zu einer Panel-Veranstaltung „Iranisches Kino” ein.

World Cinema Fund Day Fokus: Iranisches Kino

17. Februar 2010, 11:00 – 14:00 Uhr im Filmhaus, Potsdamer Str. 2,
4. Etage

Iranisches Kino: Gegenwart und Zukunft, Erwartungen innerhalb und außerhalb des Landes.

Zahlreiche iranische Regisseure sind seit vielen Jahren mit ihren Werken fester Bestandteil des Programms der Berlinale und anderer Festivals. Regisseure wie z.B. Abbas Kiarostami oder Jafar Panahi sind ein Begriff - nicht nur für die besten Kenner des Weltkinos. Aber wie verändert sich die Lage des iranischen Filmes? Gerade jetzt, da das Land einerseits mit der Unbeweglichkeit des politischen Systems handeln muss und andererseits mit dem Wunsch nach Veränderungen vieler engagierter Bürger und Bürgerinnen beeindruckt? Wie gehen Filmemacher damit um? Werden sie die Stimmung, die Widersprüche des Landes wiedergeben können? Werden wir bald eine neue Vielseitigkeit des iranischen Filmes erleben?

Mit diesen und vielen anderen Fragen werden wir uns befassen.

Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussion:

Rafi Pitts, Regisseur (Shekarchi, Berlinale Wettbewerb 2010)

Jafar Panahi, Regisseur (Offside, Silberner Bär 2006)

Reza Haeri, Regisseur

Asghar Farhadi, Regisseur (Darbareye Elly, Silberner Bär 2009)

Mohammad Farokhmanesch, Regisseur/Produzent

Maryam Mameghanian-Prenzlow, Kulturwissenschaftlerin

Moderation: World Cinema Fund

Der World Cinema Fund, im Oktober 2004 als Initiativprojekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Berlinale gegründet, hat sich umgehend als eine der führenden Institutionen im Bereich der internationalen Filmförderung anspruchsvoller Produktionen etabliert und sofortige Akzeptanz bei den Filmschaffenden gefunden. Seine Förderung ist eine Art Qualitätssiegel geworden.

Seit seiner Gründung hat der WCF Produktions- bzw. Verleihförderung an insgesamt 70 Projekte unter rund 1165 Einreichungen aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen/Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien und dem Kaukasus vergeben. Alle bisher produzierten WCF-Filme liefen in den Kinos und/oder in den Programmen renommierter internationaler Filmfestivals und belegen den internationalen Erfolg der Initiative, wie jetzt ganz aktuell Rafi Pitts Film Shekarchi (Zeit des Zorns), der im diesjährigen Berlinale-Wettbewerb läuft, und zuletzt auch Berlinale-Gewinner Eine Perle Ewigkeit (La teta asustada, Peru), der gerade – ebenso wie Ajami (Israel) - eine Oscar-Nominierung erhielt.

Weitere Informationen zum WCF unter: www.berlinale.de

Kontakt:

Der World Cinema Fund ist ein Initiativprojekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut.

Presseabteilung

3. Februar 2010