Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Awards

Feb 01, 2010:
Berlinale Camera 2010: Honouring Yoji Yamada, Ulrich and Erika Gregor, and Berlin’s Fine Art Foundry Noack

Since 1986, the Berlin International Film Festival has presented the Berlinale Camera to film personalities or institutions to which it feels particularly indebted and it wishes to express its thanks.

At the 60th Berlin International Film Festival, master director Yoji Yamada, Forum founders Ulrich and Erika Gregor as well as the Fine Art Foundry Noack will be awarded Berlinale Cameras.

The extraordinary oeuvre of Japanese master director Yoji Yamada includes over 80 films. His film career began at Shochiku, where he was a specialist for realistic comedies. This included a series he wrote and, for the most part, directed between 1969-95 (48 episodes). It is about a scoundrel named Tora-san and is one of the most successful series in film history. With his films, Yamada has been a guest at the Berlinale six times, e.g., with his samurai trilogy Tasogare seibei (2002), Kakushi Ken – Oni no tsume (2005) and Bushi no ichibun (2007). His latest work, Otouto will be screened as the closing film of this year’s 60th Berlinale Competition. At the official ceremony on February 20, Yoji Yamada will receive his Berlinale Camera.

Ulrich and Erika Gregor founded the International Forum of New Cinema with the “Friends of Deutsche Kinemathek” (since 2008: “Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art”) at the end of the 1960s, when political debate began to affect more and more areas of society. Initially conceived as a counter-event, the Forum first took place as a parallel festival integrated into the Berlinale in 1971. This brought a new dimension to the entire festival. The Berlinale Camera will be awarded to Ulrich und Erika Gregor at the Cinema Paris in the Institut Français at 9:45 pm on February 14. Following the ceremony, there will be a screening of Nagisa Ôshima’s Gishiki (1971). Film historian Naum Klejman will deliver a speech in their honour.

Since the first Berlin International Film Festival in Berlin 1951 Berlin’s Fine Art Foundry Noack has cast the Bears designed by sculptor Renée Sintenis. Hermann Noack I established the Fine Art Foundry Hermann Noack in 1897 with the support of sculptors August Gaul and Fritz Klimsch. The foundry has always worked closely with artists, who try out their ideas in its workshops and then realize them with its bronze casters. Especially the sculptors of the Secession commissioned their works from this foundry. On this landmark anniversary, the Berlinale wants to express its gratitude to the Fine Art Foundry Noack for cooperating with the festival for 60 years by awarding it a Berlinale Camera at Kino International, at 11 am on February 13. Film journalist Ralf Schenk will give the laudatory speech. Following the ceremony, there will be a screening of the documentary Spur der Bären by Hans-Christoph Blumenberg and Alfred Holighaus.

Since 2004, the Berlinale Camera has been sponsored and manufactured by the Düsseldorf-based goldsmith Georg Hornemann. The trophy was redesigned for the Berlinale in 2008. Modelled on a real camera, it now has 128 components. Crafted and assembled with great artistry, many of its silver and titanium parts, from swivel head to tripod, are movable.

Press Office

February 1, 2010

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Preise und Ehrungen

01.02.2010:
Berlinale Kamera 2010: Ehrungen für Yoji Yamada, Ulrich und Erika Gregor sowie die Berliner Gießerei Noack

Mit der Berlinale Kamera zeichnen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin seit 1986 Filmpersönlichkeiten oder Institutionen aus, denen sie sich besonders verbunden fühlen und denen sie mit dieser Ehrung ihren Dank ausdrücken möchten.

Bei den 60. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin werden der Regie-Altmeister Yoji Yamada, die Gründer des Forums Ulrich und Erika Gregor sowie die Gießerei Noack mit der Berlinale Kamera geehrt.

Das beeindruckende Oeuvre des japanischen Meisterregisseurs Yoji Yamada umfasst über 80 Filme. Seine Filmkarriere begann er bei Shochiku, wo er Spezialist für realistische Komödien war. Eine von ihm zwischen 1969-95 geschriebene und mit wenigen Ausnahmen auch inszenierte Filmserie (48 Folgen) um den Gauner Tora-san ist eines der erfolgreichsten Sequels der Filmgeschichte. Yamada war bereits sechs Mal zu Gast bei der Berlinale, u.a. präsentierte er seine Samurai-Trilogie Tasogare seibei (2002), Kakushi Ken – Oni no tsume (2005) und Bushi no ichibun (2007). Sein jüngstes Werk Otouto wird als Abschlussfilm des Wettbewerbs der 60. Berlinale gezeigt. Am 20. Februar wird Yoji Yamada im Rahmen der offiziellen Preisverleihung mit der Berlinale Kamera geehrt.

Ulrich und Erika Gregor gründeten mit den „Freunden der Deutschen Kinemathek e.V.“ (seit 2008: „Arsenal - Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.“) das Internationale Forum des Jungen Films, als Ende der Sechziger Jahre die politische Debatte immer weitere Bereiche des gesellschaftlichen Lebens erfasste. Anfangs noch als eine Gegenveranstaltung zur Berlinale konzipiert, fand das Forum 1971 erstmals als Parallelfestival an die Berlinale angegliedert statt. Damit wurde eine Neuausrichtung des Festivals in die Wege geleitet. Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Ulrich und Erika Gregor findet am 14. Februar um 21.45 Uhr im Cinema Paris im Institut Français statt, danach wird Gishiki (1971) von Nagisa Ôshima gezeigt. Die Laudatio hält der Filmhistoriker Naum Klejman.

Seit den ersten Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin 1951 stellt die Berliner Gießerei Noack die Bären-Trophäen her, die von der Bildhauerin Renée Sintenis entworfen wurden. Hermann Noack I. gründete 1897 mit Unterstützung der Bildhauer August Gaul und Fritz Klimsch die Bildgießerei H. Noack, in der stets ein enger Kontakt zu den Künstlern gepflegt wurde, die in der Werkstatt ihre Ideen erproben und gemeinsam mit dem Bronzegießer umsetzen konnten. Vor allem die Bildhauer der Secession gaben ihre Werke in Auftrag. Anlässlich ihres 60. Jubiläums möchte sich die Berlinale für die 60jährige Zusammenarbeit bedanken und ehrt die Gießerei Noack am 13. Februar um 11.00 Uhr im Kino International mit der Berlinale Kamera. Der Filmjournalist Ralf Schenk wird die Laudatio halten. Im Anschluss an die Zeremonie wird der Dokumentarfilm Spur der Bären von Hans-Christoph Blumenberg und Alfred Holighaus präsentiert.

Die Berlinale Kamera wird seit 2004 von dem Düsseldorfer Goldschmiedekünstler Georg Hornemann gestiftet. Seit der Berlinale 2008 hat die Trophäe ein neues Design. Sie besteht aus 128 Einzelteilen und ist einer realen Kamera nachempfunden. Viele der Silber- und Titanteile vom Schwenkkopf bis zum Stativ sind beweglich und goldschmiedekunstfertig zusammengefügt.

Presseabteilung

1. Februar 2010