Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Competition

Jan 19, 2010:
60th Berlinale Opens with World Premiere from China, Yoji Yamada's Latest Film to Close Festival

The 60th Berlin International Film Festival will kick off with the world premiere of the Chinese Competition film Tuan Yuan (Apart Together) in the Berlinale Palast on February 11, 2010.

Together with Minister of State for Culture Bernd Neumann, Governing Mayor of Berlin Klaus Wowereit and Jury President Werner Herzog, Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick will open the festival. Anke Engelke will host the gala in this anniversary year.

Tuan Yuan (Apart Together) is the latest film by Wang Quan’an, one of the most important Chinese auteur filmmakers of the younger generation. In 2007 he also participated in the Berlinale Competition with Tuya de hun shi (Tuya’s Marriage) and won the Golden Bear.

Tuan Yuan tells the story of a great love, while depicting the tragedy of a divided country. Decades have passed since the one-time soldier Liu Yansheng, who fled from Shanghai to Taiwan in 1949 to escape Mao Tse-tung’s troops, has seen the love of his life. Their reunion rekindles old emotions. The film stars Lu Yan, Ling Feng, Xu Cai Gen and Mo Xiaoqi.

Following its world premiere in the Competition, Tuan Yuan will be shown again in the programme of Culinary Cinema on February 17, 2010.

Following the award ceremony of the 60th Berlin International Film Festival on February 20, Otouto (About Her Brother) by Yoji Yamada (Kabei) will be screened as the official closing film. This most recent work by the Japanese master director, who over the years has already been a guest of the Berlinale six times, is being presented out of competition.

Press Office

January 19, 2010

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Wettbewerb

19.01.2010:
Weltpremiere aus China eröffnet 60. Berlinale, Yoji Yamadas jüngstes Werk als Abschlussfilm

Zum Auftakt der 60. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin am 11. Februar 2010 wird der chinesische Wettbewerbsfilm Tuan Yuan (Apart Together) seine Weltpremiere im Berlinale Palast feiern.

Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick wird gemeinsam mit Kulturstaatsminister Bernd Neumann, dem Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin, Klaus Wowereit, und dem Jury-Präsidenten Werner Herzog das Festival eröffnen. Im Jubiläumsjahr wird die Eröffnungsgala von Anke Engelke moderiert.

Tuan Yuan (Apart Together) ist der jüngste Film von Wang Quan’an, einem der bedeutendsten chinesischen Autorenfilmer der jüngeren Generation. 2007 war er bereits mit Tuyas Hochzeit im Berlinale-Wettbewerb und wurde mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichnet.

Tuan Yuan erzählt die Geschichte einer großen Liebe und schildert zugleich die Tragödie der Teilung eines Landes. Jahrzehntelang hat der ehemalige Soldat Liu Yansheng, der 1949 vor den Truppen Mao Tse Tungs aus Schanghai nach Taiwan geflohen ist, die Liebe seines Lebens nicht mehr gesehen. Beim Wiedersehen der beiden flammen die alten Gefühle auf. Die Hauptrollen spielen Lu Yan, Ling Feng, Xu Cai Gen und Mo Xiaoqi.

Tuan Yuan wird nach der Weltpremiere im Wettbewerb im Programm des Kulinarischen Kinos am 17. Februar 2010 wiederholt.

Nach der feierlichen Preisverleihung der 60. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin am 20. Februar wird als offizieller Abschlussfilm Otouto (About Her Brother) von Yoji Yamada (Kabei) gezeigt. Das jüngste Werk des 79-jährigen japanischen Meisterregisseurs, der bereits sechs Mal bei der Berlinale zu Gast war, wird außer Konkurrenz präsentiert.

Presseabteilung

19. Januar 2010