Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Dec 11, 2009:
“Berlinale goes Kiez”: A Flying Red Carpet Will Bring the 60th Berlinale to Neighbourhood Movie Theatres across the City

What would the Berlinale be without its fantastic audiences? On June 6, 1951 the International Film Festival celebrated its debut and ever since, the visitors’ enthusiasm for film has determined the festival’s atmosphere. Over the decades the Berlinale has been a festival for both the public and the international film industry. In 2009, with 275,000 tickets sold and a total attendance of almost 500,000 in ten days, the Berlinale registered a new record!

At the 60th anniversary, from February 11 to 21, 2010, the Berlinale will not only celebrate with its audiences, but also pay tribute to the movie theatre as the special venue of cinematic art. With “Berlinale goes Kiez” the festival is bringing a flying red carpet to arthouse cinemas in Berlin’s neighbourhoods:

From Weißensee to Zehlendorf, the festival will visit a cinema in another “Kiez” (= neighbourhood) on ten evenings, from February 12 to 21. In these special traditional arthouse cinemas, two films will be showcased each evening from different sections of the Berlinale. At a gala screening a red carpet will be unrolled, and the team of the film will be present. What’s more, a well-known Berlin film personality will act as patron at each event: he or she will welcome the guests and introduce the film. The public will thus have a unique opportunity to see Berlinale films and their stars in their own neighbourhood movie theatres, and so enjoy a touch of festival atmosphere right at their doorsteps.

The following cinemas will hold screenings during “Berlinale goes Kiez”: Adria (Steglitz), Capitol Dahlem (Zehlendorf), Eva Lichtspiele (Wilmersdorf), Hackesche Höfe Kino (Mitte), Kant Kino (Charlottenburg), Moviemento (Kreuzberg), Neues Off (Neukölln), Odeon (Schöneberg), Kino Toni & Tonino (Weißensee) and Union Filmtheater (Köpenick). For further information as the festival nears, see www.berlinale.de

“Audiences and cinemas play leading roles at the Berlinale. Our event ‘Berlinale goes Kiez’ has been conceived to thank the festival’s loyal visitors. At the same time we would like to put the limelight on cinemas and show that they are valuable sites of culture, communication and creativity. There’s no doubt, these sites must be preserved,” declares Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

Press Office

11 December 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Zusätzliches

11.12.2009:
„Berlinale goes Kiez“: Ein Fliegender Roter Teppich bringt die 60. Berlinale in die Kiez-Kinos der Stadt

Was wäre die Berlinale ohne ihr großartiges Publikum? Am 6. Juni 1951 feierten die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ihre Premiere und seither prägt die Kinobegeisterung der Besucher die Festivalatmosphäre. Die Berlinale ist in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten gleichermaßen ein Festival für das Publikum wie für die internationale Filmbranche geworden. 2009 verzeichnete die Berlinale mit 275.000 verkauften Eintrittskarten und fast 500.000 Kinobesuchen in zehn Tagen einen neuen Besucherrekord!

Beim 60. Jubiläum vom 11. bis 21. Februar 2010 feiert das Festival nicht nur mit dem Publikum, sondern möchte die Berlinale auch dem Kino als besonderem Ort der Filmkunst eine Hommage erweisen. Mit „Berlinale goes Kiez“ bringt das Festival den Fliegenden Roten Teppich in die Programmkinos der Berliner Kieze:

Von Weißensee bis Zehlendorf besucht das Festival vom 12. bis zum 21. Februar an zehn Abenden jeweils ein anderes Kiez-Kino. In diesen besonderen, traditionellen Art-House-Kinos werden pro Abend zwei Filme aus unterschiedlichen Sektionen des Festivals gezeigt. Bei einer Galavorstellung wird der rote Teppich ausgerollt und das Filmteam zu Gast sein. Jeweils ein prominenter Berliner Filmschaffender wird als Kinopate die Gäste begrüßen und die Filme vorstellen. Das Publikum erhält so die einmalige Gelegenheit, im eigenen Kiez-Kino Berlinale-Filme und deren Stars zu sehen und die Festivalatmosphäre vor der Haustür zu schnuppern.

Folgende Kinos werden im Rahmen von „Berlinale goes Kiez“ bespielt: Adria (Steglitz), Capitol Dahlem (Zehlendorf), Eva Lichtspiele (Wilmersdorf), Hackesche Höfe Kino (Mitte), Kant Kino (Charlottenburg), Moviemento (Kreuzberg), Neues Off (Neukölln), Odeon (Schöneberg), Kino Toni & Tonino (Weißensee) und Union Filmtheater (Köpenick). Weitere Informationen zum Programm werden zeitnah zum Festival auf www.berlinale.de veröffentlicht.

„Das Publikum und die Kinos spielen bei der Berlinale die Hauptrollen. Unsere Aktion ‚Berlinale goes Kiez’ soll zum Einen ein Dankeschön an die treuen Besucher des Festivals sein. Zugleich möchten wir die Kinos ins Rampenlicht rücken und zeigen, dass die Lichtspielhäuser wertvolle Orte der Kultur, Kommunikation und Kreativität sind. Diese Orte müssen unbedingt bewahrt werden“, kommentiert Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Presseabteilung

11. Dezember 2009