Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Dec 01, 2009:
The Berlinale’s 60th Anniversary – Looking Back at the History of the Festival

From February 11 to 21, 2010, the Berlin International Film Festival will be held for the 60th time. This anniversary will be accompanied by two book publications and a DVD edition that look back at the history of one of the world’s most important film festivals.

“On occasion of the 60th anniversary of the Berlinale, the past six decades will be brought back to life. These two publications recount the history of the festival from entirely different perspectives,” says Festival Director Dieter Kosslick. “We are also especially delighted that our anniversary has inspired the film staff of the Süddeutsche Zeitung to put together a new edition for their SZ Cinemathek.”

In January 2010, journalist and author Peter Cowie’s reflections on the festival will be published with a foreword by French film critic and writer Michel Ciment. Cowie recalls the history of the Berlin International Film Festival and presents the Berlinale today. This book, “The Berlinale. The Festival”, illustrated with historical photos and snapshots from the Berlinale’s many sections and initiatives, is being published by Bertz + Fischer in both German and English.

The Süddeutsche Zeitung publishing house is bringing out another anniversary publication, a book of photos, entitled “The Berlinale”. The Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen has compiled a work dramaturgically arranged in 18 chapters that enacts photos from six decades - from the arrival of the stars to the award ceremony, from the giant fan community to a glimpse behind the scenes. The book will be available from January 9, 2010.

“The history of the Berlinale has been marked by political turbulence – the Cold War, the protests of 1968, the opening of the East and the later political upheaval in Europe. This book of photos impressively reflects the diversity of the festival,” comments Rainer Rother, Director of the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen.

The Süddeutsche Zeitung Cinemathek is releasing a Berlinale edition with 22 films that will also go on sale on January 9, 2010.

The film staff of the Süddeutsche Zeitung has selected their own personal highlights from the films screened in the Competition and the official programme of the Berlinale since 1951. The outcome is an extraordinary DVD series that reflects the enormous range of works presented in the six decades of the Berlinale and international cinema.

“These publications and the DVD edition will enable guests and fans to get into the mood for the coming Berlinale. And then at the festival there’ll be all sorts of other nice birthday surprises”, states Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

Press Office

December 1, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Zusätzliches

01.12.2009:
Das 60. Jubiläum der Berlinale – Rückblicke auf die Festivalgeschichte

Vom 11. bis 21. Februar 2010 finden die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin zum 60. Mal statt. Dieses Jubiläum wird von zwei Publikationen und einer DVD-Edition begleitet, die die Geschichte eines der bedeutendsten Filmfestivals der Welt noch einmal Revue passieren lassen.

„Anlässlich des 60. Jubiläums der Berlinale sollen die vergangenen sechs Jahrzehnte noch einmal lebendig in Erinnerung gerufen werden. Aus ganz unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln erzählen unsere beiden Publikationen die Geschichte des Festivals“, sagt Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick. „Wir freuen uns, dass unser Jubiläum die Kinoredaktion der Süddeutschen Zeitung zu einer neuen Edition der SZ Cinemathek inspiriert hat.“

Im Januar 2010 wird eine Festivalbetrachtung des renommierten Journalisten und Publizisten Peter Cowie mit einem Vorwort des französischen Filmpublizisten Michel Ciment erscheinen. Cowie erinnert an die Geschichte der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin und stellt die Berlinale von heute vor. Das Buch „Die Berlinale. Das Festival“, illustriert mit historischen Fotos sowie Aufnahmen aus den Berlinale Sektionen und Initiativen, wird im Bertz + Fischer Verlag sowohl in deutscher als auch in englischer Sprache veröffentlicht.

Als weitere Jubiläumspublikation wird im Verlag Süddeutsche Zeitung der Bildband „Die Berlinale“ herausgegeben. Die Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen hat einen dramaturgisch arrangierten Bildband geschaffen, der in 18 Kapiteln - von der Ankunft der Stars bis zur Preisverleihung, von der großen Gemeinde der Fans bis zum Blick hinter die Kulissen - Bilder aus sechs Jahrzehnten in Szene setzt. Der Bildband ist ab 9. Januar 2010 im Handel.

„Die Geschichte der Berlinale wurde von politisch turbulenten Zeiten geprägt - der Ära des Kalten Krieges, der 68er-Bewegung, der Öffnung zum Osten und dem späteren politischen Umbruch in Europa. Dieser Bildband spiegelt die ganze Vielfalt des Festivals in eindrücklichen Aufnahmen wider“, kommentiert Rainer Rother, Leiter der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen.

Die Süddeutsche Zeitung Cinemathek veröffentlicht eine Berlinale-Edition mit 22 Filmtiteln, die ebenfalls ab 9. Januar 2010 im Handel ist.

Die Kinoredaktion der Süddeutschen Zeitung wählte aus allen Filmen, die seit 1951 im Wettbewerb und im offiziellen Programm der Berlinale vorgeführt wurden, ihre persönlichen Filmhighlights aus. Das Ergebnis ist eine außergewöhnliche DVD-Reihe, die das breite Spektrum von sechs Jahrzehnten Berlinale und internationalem Film widerspiegelt.

„Mit den Publikationen und der DVD-Edition können sich Gäste und Fans schon auf das kommende Festival einstimmen. Zum Festival gibt´s dann noch einige schöne Geburtstagsüberraschungen“, sagt Berlinale Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Presseabteilung

1. Dezember 2009