Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

World Cinema Fund

Oct 07, 2009:
WCF Spotlight in Berlin: Berlinale World Cinema Fund Celebrates its 5th Anniversary

This autumn, the Berlinale World Cinema Fund turns five and is celebrating with a presentation of selected WCF films from November 4 to 7 in the "Hackesche Höfe Kino" in Berlin.

The WCF was established in October 2004 as an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlinale in cooperation with the Goethe Institut. Since then, 63 films from Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central and South Asia and the Caucasus have received production or distribution funding. These films have screened internationally in cinemas and/or programmes of renowned international film festivals.

In little time, the WCF has established itself as a facilitator in the cultural-political sector, a seal of approval for projects receiving support and an initiative to promote contacts in the international film industry. To mark this 5th anniversary, the Berlinale, together with the German Federal Cultural Foundation, is organizing a WCF spotlight called Infectious Films. It will highlight ten WCF films to give cineastes and Berlin audiences a taste of the authentic stories and artistic strengths of WCF-supported productions.

"The more local, the more international: The WCF believes that films that show one's own cultural identity, in all its fluctuations, can move and infect international audiences as well," says Festival Director Dieter Kosslick.

"Every film supported by the World Cinema Fund shows determination and artistic courage and opens a window into a world that we otherwise wouldn´t be able to experience in German cinemas. These five years also show that WCF is a cultural-political success story: German producers are systematically involved in the funding programme and thereby hold their ground in the international film industry," comments Hortensia Völckers, Artistic Director of the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

The WCF spotlight Infectious Films will open on Wednesday, November 4 at 8 p.m. with an introduction by famous director of photography Michael Ballhaus in "Hackesche Höfe Kino". It will be followed by the premiere of this year's Berlinale winner The Milk of Sorrow (La teta asustada) by Claudia Llosa, in cooperation with the distributor Neue Visionen, who will release this Peruvian film the next day in German cinemas nationwide.

Directors Salif Traoré, Raya Martin and Kiko Goifman, whose films will screen at the WCF-Spotlight, will also attend the opening on November 4. Until November 7 three WCF-supported films will be shown every day. Renowned German filmmakers will serve as "patrons" and introduce the films and guests: Robert Thalheim, Hannes Stöhr and Emily Atef.

November 5, 2009

6 p.m. Faro (Mali, 2007). Directed by: Salif Traoré.

Guests: director Salif Traoré, German producer Bärbel Mauch

8 p.m. Independencia (Philippines, 2009). Directed by: Raya Martin.

Guests: director Raya Martin, German producers Gerhard Meixner and Roman Paul. Presented by: Robert Thalheim.

10 p.m. Liverpool (Argentina, 2008). Directed by: Lisandro Alonso.

November 6, 2009

6 p.m. Hamaca Paraguaya (Paraguay, 2006). Directed by: Paz Encina.

8 p.m. The Wind Journeys (Colombia, 2009). Directed by: Ciro Guerra.

Guests: lead actor Marciano Martínez, German producers Gerhard Meixner and Roman Paul.
Presented by: Hannes Stöhr.

10 p.m. Ajami (Israel/Palestine, 2009). Directed by: Yaron Shani, Scandar Copti.

November 7, 2009

6 p.m. Paradise Now (Palestine, 2005). Directed by: Hany Abu-Assad.

8 p.m. Pandora’s Box (Turkey, 2008). Directed by: Yesim Ustaoglu.

Guests: director Yesim Ustaoglu, producer Serkan Cakarer. Presented by: Emily Atef.

10 p.m. Filmphobia (Brazil, 2008). Directed by: Kiko Goifman.

Guest: Kiko Goifman

The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival in cooperation with Goethe Institut.

Press office

October 7, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

World Cinema Fund

07.10.2009:
WCF-Spotlight in Berlin: Berlinale World Cinema Fund feiert 5. Geburtstag

In diesem Herbst wird der Berlinale World Cinema Fund fünf Jahre alt und feiert dies mit der Präsentation ausgewählter WCF-Filme vom 4. bis 7. November im „Hackesche Höfe Kino“ in Berlin.

Im Oktober 2004 war der WCF als Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Berlinale in Kooperation mit dem Goethe Institut gegründet worden. Seitdem erhielten 63 Filme aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen/Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien und dem Kaukasus eine Produktions- oder Verleihförderung. Alle bisher davon produzierten Filme liefen international in den Kinos und/oder in den Programmen renommierter internationaler Filmfestivals.

Der WCF hat sich innerhalb kurzer Zeit als kulturpolitisches Förderinstrument, als Gütesiegel für die geförderten Projekte und als Initiative für internationale filmwirtschaftliche Kontakte etabliert. Anlässlich des 5. Geburtstags veranstaltet die Berlinale gemeinsam mit der Kulturstiftung des Bundes nun ein WCF-Spotlight unter dem Titel Filme, die anstecken. Dafür wurden zehn besondere WCF-Filme ausgewählt, die den Cineasten und dem Berliner Publikum einen Eindruck von den authentischen Geschichten und der künstlerischen Stärke der WCF-Filme vermitteln.

„The more local, the more international: Der WCF ist überzeugt, dass Filme, die die eigene kulturelle Identität und deren Bewegungen zeigen, auch international das Publikum bewegen und anstecken können“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

„Mit Eigensinn und künstlerischem Mut stößt jeder Film des World Cinema Fund das Fenster zu einer Welt auf, von der wir in deutschen Kinos sonst nichts erfahren könnten. Nach fünf Jahren zeigt sich, dass der WCF auch eine kulturpolitische Erfolgsstory ist: Deutsche Produzenten sind systematisch in das Förderprogramm eingebunden und behaupten sich damit auf internationalen Filmmärkten“, kommentiert Hortensia Völckers, die Künstlerische Direktorin der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Eröffnet wird das WCF-Spotlight Filme, die anstecken am Mittwoch, den 4. November um 20 Uhr vom renommierten Kameramann Michael Ballhaus im „Hackesche Höfe Kino“. Danach findet die Kino-Premiere des diesjährigen Berlinale-Gewinnerfilms Eine Perle Ewigkeit (La teta asustada) von Claudia Llosa in Kooperation mit dem Verleih Neue Visionen statt, der den Film aus Peru am folgenden Tag deutschlandweit in den Kinos startet.

Zur Eröffnung am 4. November kommen die Regisseure Salif Traoré, Raya Martin und Kiko Goifman, deren Filme beim WCF-Spotlight gezeigt werden. Bis 7. November werden täglich drei weitere WCF-geförderte Filme präsentiert und bei vielen der Vorstellungen werden die Regisseure, Darsteller oder Produzenten anwesend sein. Renommierte deutsche Filmemacher stellen als „Paten“ die Filme der 20 Uhr-Schiene vor: Robert Thalheim, Hannes Stöhr und Emily Atef.

5. November 2009

18 h Faro (Mali 2007) Regie: Salif Traoré

Gäste: Regisseur Salif Traoré, Produzentin Bärbel Mauch

20 h Independencia (Philippinen 2009) Regie: Raya Martin

Gäste: Regisseur Raya Martindie, dt. Produzenten Gerhard Meixner und Roman Paul. Vorgestellt von: Robert Thalheim

22 h Liverpool (Argentinien 2008) Regie: Lisandro Alonso

6. November 2009

18 h Hamaca Paraguaya (Paraguay 2006) Regie: Paz Encina

20 h The Wind Journeys (Kolumbien 2009) Regie: Ciro Guerra

Gäste: Hauptdarsteller Marciano Martínez, die dt. Produzenten Gerhard Meixner und Roman Paul. Vorgestellt von: Hannes Stöhr

22 h Ajami (Israel/Palästina 2009) Regie: Yaron Shani, Scandar Copti

7. November 2009

18 h Paradise Now (Palästina 2005) Regie: Hany Abu-Assad

20 h Pandora’s Box (Türkei 2008) Regie: Yesim Ustaoglu

Gäste: Regisseurin Yesim Ustaoglu, Produzent Serkan Cakarer

Vorgestellt von: Emily Atef

22 h Filmphobia (Brasilien 2008) Regie: Kiko Goifman

Gast: Kiko Goifman

Der World Cinema Fund ist ein Initiativprojekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut.

Presseabteilung

7. Oktober 2009